Well done Mr's Browns Boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭passremarkable

this show is brutal...o carroll is so irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Fair play to BOC. He's been plugging away at the showbiz thing for decades and he finally made it big.

MBB's wouldn't be my favourite type of comedy but that's neither here nor there - lots of people enjoy it and that's what matters.

Really wanted to blast it but you had to ruin my fun with your reasonable assertion that taste is subjective and what matters is that people are happy. You inconsiderate bastard. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

shoos wrote: »
    I always thought I'd hate it just from all the negativity I've seen it get from people on Boards, watched it over the xmas holidays and found myself having a good chuckle loads of times! Yeah its rude and its crude, but has some absolute gems that still have me laughing.

There's far worse tbh!

so you arrived with low expectations, indeed rock bottom where the only way was up - for every piece of plagiarized 'gold' ten shockers will ensue.

I like rude / I like crude, but over the likes of this trying to appeal to us working class I will opt for Rab Nesbitt anyday. Give My Head Peace, even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/mrs-browns-boys-named-best-sitcom-at-the-national-television-award-in-britain-3363476.html

Mr's Browns Boys wins best sitcom at the national television awards in the UK beating the likes of the Big Bang theory. A very funny show with a huge fan base all over the world. Well done Brendan.

Most bizarre misuse of apostrophe s ever. Congratulations. Prize is in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

so you arrived with low expectations, indeed rock bottom where the only way was up - for every piece of plagiarized 'gold' ten shockers will ensue.

I like rude / I like crude, but over the likes of this trying to appeal to us working class I will opt for Rab Nesbitt anyday. Give My Head Peace, even

No, not even close to rock bottom. I can't even remember what I'd heard about it, all I knew was that there was a general dislike towards it. Watched a couple episodes with fairly open mind and really quite enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

shoos wrote: »
    No, not even close to rock bottom. I can't even remember what I'd heard about it, all I knew was that there was a general dislike towards it. Watched a couple episodes with fairly open mind and really quite enjoyed it.

Counselling could be an option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

maybe laughing at their own lines is natural enough in that stageplay / audience environment but from where I'm sat it was torture!

Whatever about the actual programme how it's filmed is unique enough but hardly award winning. The material certainly put paid to that but eh, the jokes on us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

I'm no begrudger I'm glad BOC is doing well, have no personal view of him either way, but my god this is poorly written rubbish. Everything seems so forced, so contrived and in the build up to all gags you know where they're going because, yes, we've seen it all before, see that Simpsons gag for instance (wheres the any key). Its lifted straight from Homer Simpson but they made a balls of it. Now, there have been many bad shows in the past just as bad as this, but I'm actually worried about where society is going and how dumb we're getting, the amount of times I've heard it compared to Fr Ted sickens me. Its in the same league as Tallafornia for cleverness, it shouldnt be winning awards, they must have some PR machine behind them or someone is sleeping with the right person. Sone people love it, including my own parents, my dad especially had great taste (only fools/fr ted etc) so i'm surprised he likes this drivel. Maybe old age numbs the mind. Men dressing up as women, being sexually explicit, cursing, Lily Savage springs to mind and thats not funny either. Its the only show I can remember having such strong views negatively about, steaming pile of horse ****e.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Most bizarre misuse of apostrophe s ever. Congratulations. Prize is in the post.

Most bizarre use of a space, ever. Congratulations. Your prize is not in the post though, as it's after midnight but I'll post it first thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Pottler wrote: »
    I think it's funny, I also like the Big Bang Theory and get a laugh out of it. Maybe the people who don't just have a different sense of humour. Different as in missing. It's a bit of fun, have a laugh and get over your own "sophistication". I usually find "sophisticated" people have vanished slightly up their own holes anyway. But then again, I like a Chinese take-away on a saturday, enjoy the odd mcDonalds and wear a lot of hoodies. I might be a bit common. I can live with it though. Quite happily actually.

Big Bang Theory is kinda funny like Frazier or The Office.

I like Chinese "they only come up to your knees", McDonalds has it's place in the food chain. Hoodies are fine, but I used to dress a lot more scary in my youth.

My problem is (honestly) that Mrs Brown's Boy is never funny.
    I'm from Dublin and I get the Finglas accent and the family stuff.
    It's ****.

just to prove I like Chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

TheUsual wrote: »
    You know the brits love it more than life. I spent Christmas in Manchester.

It's so big over there. Jesus wept.
    I had to watch it, and it was worse than you would believe.
    is it? :confused: have never got that feeling whether we be talking about on a local or national level.
    am originaly from manchester and parents [both irish pensioners] still live there,the most localy obsessed programmes have had the misfortune to grow up around people obsessing over is/are that bloody 'royle family' and corination street,what is it with people and the royle family? if they want to watch a bunch of people sat on a couch why dont they put a fking mirror in front of themselves whilst theyre sat down and save on the licence fee or dvd?:confused: how in the hell did that ever become a programme.

dads favourite programms are royle family repeats,last of the summer wine repeats,some stupid game show called pointless repeats and that brendan o carroll crap,why is it people take their pets to the vet to get them euthanised when they get to old to live with any quality yet ancient programmes like last of the summer wine are still going?
    oh the humanity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Scruffles wrote: »
    is it? :confused: have never got that feeling whether we be talking about on a local or national level.
    am originaly from manchester and parents [both irish pensioners] still live there

I'm not picking on Manchester as the only place in britain that like "Mrs Browns Boys". It's only because I spent Christmas there and had to watch it..
    They are Number 1 over there as far as I can see, in HMV best selling Christmas DVD sales too. But it's all over the UK and a bit of Ireland too.

I grew up close to Finglas and I know the old biddy granny he tries to take the piss out of. But it's just not funny.
    Scruffles wrote: »
    dads favourite programms are royle family repeats,last of the summer wine repeats,some stupid game show called pointless repeats and that brendan o carroll crap

Nora Batty !!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

Surprised the bbc didn't get loads of complaints about the effing and blinding throughout, but the show is a good laugh. Mrs browns facial expressions always do it for me. And her effort at a posh accent. D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Maybe i just getting "get it".....

I have no problem with lowbrow easy viewing but find this show completely unwatchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

What we have here folks is the common or garden Begrudgerigar.

Ah, the old "anything Irish being criticised is begrudgery" argument. Not that BOC is a fcuking woeful comedian, his audience seem to find someone saying words a 5 year old would giggle at hilarious.

1. walk on stage
    2. say something provocative, like how's yer wibbly something or other, say "fanny" a few times to really get them rolling in the aisles.
    3.???????
    4. BAFTA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I just don't get it. It's utterly rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I don't mind it myself,Surprised it done so well but fair play to him and good luck as it has no influence in my life either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Did someone mention toilet humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I have only seen it 2 or 3 times but I have to say as bad as it is and as obvious and crude as the jokes are, it has a certain charm to it. If for nothing else, to pick its faults.

My parents who hate everything love this, fair play to him he found the niche in the market and its working out for him. Haters gonna hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I think it's funny, I also like the Big Bang Theory and get a laugh out of it. Maybe the people who don't just have a different sense of humour. Different as in missing. It's a bit of fun, have a laugh and get over your own "sophistication". I usually find "sophisticated" people have vanished slightly up their own holes anyway. But then again, I like a Chinese take-away on a saturday, enjoy the odd mcDonalds and wear a lot of hoodies. I might be a bit common. I can live with it though. Quite happily actually.

its the hipsters that slag it, like they slag everything that is mainstream.

I think it is ****ing hilarious, especially the bits when BOC and other members of the cast have a fit of the giggles. You can see that they are having a laugh making it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

It's even less funny than The Big Bang Theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Truman Burbank

Where To wrote: »
    I am not ashamed to say I like it.

Be very ashamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

While it's not my cup of tea, I'm delighted to see it doing well.

I think aspects of comedy went a bit too high brow. There's a big market there for traditional slap-stick comedies that come from that old music-hall tradition.

The likes of 'Allo 'Allo and Are You Being Served all come from that kind of history and I think Mrs Brown's Boys continues in that genre.

It's a lot more watchable than some of the stand-ups who seem to take themselves FAR too seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

its the hipsters that slag it, like they slag everything that is mainstream.
    As sure as night follows day...

Look, lots of people simply think it's crap - completely unoriginal and unwitty. It's not because they have no sense of humour, or that they're "hipster" (it's disputed that these people even exist) or pretentious or a snob - that's in YOUR heads; it is your persecution complex. They simply don't like it, and at the same time would still enjoy McDonalds/a Chinese/wear hoodies. As you well know.

Why is it a problem that others don't find funny what you find funny? Taste is subjective as you know - it's not something people can control. Imagine if someone said to you you need to cop on and like a particular band/TV programme/film because other people like it and therefore you should. This allegation of cultural snobbery bullsh1t is way more snobbish and judgemental than the snobbery you're talking about... which is usually non existent. But it's ok to throw that sh1t at people who aren't into something that's mainstream (while possibly liking plenty of other stuff that's mainstream) because it's simply being "down-to-earth" and "unpretentious".

I think The Big Bang Theory is funny enough - no way would I be arrogant enough though to tell other people that they actually like it, they're just being snobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's been picked up in Australia and if the locals there find it hilarious then you know it's a load of shite.

Insufferable bollox imo, just like The Big Bang Theory, Two and a Half Men and all that other drivel which seem to go hand in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

It's even less funny than The Big Bang Theory.

True.. and impressive that something could be intended as a comedy and still be worse than Big Bang Bull****... although i find i hate Big Bang Thingy more because everyone seems to thinks is good.
    At least most people agree the Ms Brown is terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Some other things that are wildly popular in Britain:

X Factor

The Sun

The Daily Mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Madam_X wrote: »
    As sure as night follows day...

Look, lots of people simply think it's crap - completely unoriginal and unwitty. It's not because they have no sense of humour, or that they're "hipster" (it's disputed that these people even exist) or pretentious or a snob - that's in YOUR heads; it is your persecution complex. They simply don't like it, and at the same time would still enjoy McDonalds/a Chinese/wear hoodies. As you well know.

Why is it a problem that others don't find funny what you find funny? Taste is subjective as you know - it's not something people can control. This allegation of cultural snobbery bullsh1t is way more snobbish and judgemental than the snobbery you're talking about... which is usually non existent. But it's ok to throw that sh1t at people who aren't into mainstream stuff because it's simply being "down-to-earth" and "unpretentious".

+1 ^
    Anytime a member of the cast or O'Carroll is on the media, they spend most of their time defending this sh*** from imaginary begrudgers and fail to deal with actual criticism, not a bit of wonder it's fawning public spend most of their time doing the same. I just think it's tragic that some adventurous, novel and progressive show gets shelved because television execs now invariably programme for the lowest common denominator.
    As RTE know to their eternal shame and cost, it takes balls to invest in something like Father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The Big Bang Theory used to be funny, but now its just the same jokes every episode, with zero character progression, oh look Raj still cant talk to women, despite being around them constantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Happyman42 wrote: »
    +1 ^
    Anytime a member of the cast or O'Carroll is on the media, they spend most of their time defending this sh*** from imaginary begrudgers and fail to deal with actual criticism, not a bit of wonder it's fawning public spend most of their time doing the same. I just think it's tragic that some adventurous, novel and progressive show gets shelved because television execs now invariably programme for the lowest common denominator.
    As RTE know to their eternal shame and cost, it takes balls to invest in something like Father Ted.
    Amazing the way criticism is just criticism in most contexts but when it's criticism that a person doesn't like, it's magically transformed from criticism to "begrudgery".
    And of course those "begrudgery" shriekers, being human, are critical of stuff themselves, but that's not begrudgery of course.