Well done Mr's Browns Boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

It's not funny. It's popular because people can't afford to go to bingo anymore.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

.I suppose the people that don't like Ms BB don't like two and a half men, that 70's show etc. I hate big bang theory, worst show on TV.
    I don't like MBB, like 2 and 1/2 men(won't go down well :)) and that 70's show has it's moments, TBBT was pretty good and has the odd laugh still, but I find it quite cruel about nerdy blokes, but there you go. MBB for me and as has been noted is horribly derivative and obvious, low brow music hall stuff. Just my humble. On the other hand I would say fair play to any success story, no matter how base.
    It is generally aimed at an older audience though.
    Well I'm middle aged and I find it as appealing as genital warts myself. Are we talking decrepit age here?
    you know there doing a movie and the 4th series and thats it he said :(
    Hopefully it pans out better for all concerned on the production and reception than previous efforts.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Grandad Wibbs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

You know the brits love it more than life. I spent Christmas in Manchester.

It's so big over there. Jesus wept.
    I had to watch it, and it was worse than you would believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

"Middle Aged" = no penis function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

squod wrote: »
    The Taoiseach is a big fan. Even dresses up like him on the weekends.

And talks as much shîte as him on a daily basis.

I like it in small doses though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Grandad Wibbs :D
    Grandson!!! I knew you were out there. I love you man *cries* and the gene for cheese and onion, you got that from me and if you're lucky you also got the sexeh silver fox genes from me too... :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

TheUsual wrote: »
    "Middle Aged" = no penis function be the hokey, thank fuq for Viagra.
    FYP:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What we have here folks is the common or garden Begrudgerigar.

What's wrong with begrudging the success of someone whose main talents include plagiarism, nepotism, falling over and saying "fuck" while dressed as an old woman? Or are we supposed to just blindly celebrate anyone who happens to be Irish and achieves success in the UK?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 107 ✭✭smellsfunny

Hilarious!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Where To wrote: »
    I am not ashamed to say I like it.

You really should be.

and over the years I've observed what AC does like so this does not reflect well for your preferences. :D

RayM wrote: »

What's wrong with begrudging the success of someone whose (insert whinge moan moan)?

Simple.

Scumbags begrudge.

Logic?

Lazy scumbags do nothing but complain.

Begrudgers do nothing but complain.

Ergo, begrudging = lazy tracksuit chainsmoking Mr.T jewelled baseball cap "ah heor" "ghetto wha?" scumbag activity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

The Brits love to put embarrassing Irish /stuff up on a pedestal, well done Brendan the formulaic could not fail *swats fanny with tea towel* give that man a bafta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I think it's funny, I also like the Big Bang Theory and get a laugh out of it. Maybe the people who don't just have a different sense of humour. Different as in missing. It's a bit of fun, have a laugh and get over your own "sophistication". I usually find "sophisticated" people have vanished slightly up their own holes anyway. But then again, I like a Chinese take-away on a saturday, enjoy the odd mcDonalds and wear a lot of hoodies. I might be a bit common. I can live with it though. Quite happily actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/mrs-browns-boys-named-best-sitcom-at-the-national-television-award-in-britain-3363476.html

Mr's Browns Boys wins best sitcom at the national television awards in the UK beating the likes of the Big Bang theory. A very funny show with a huge fan base all over the world. Well done Brendan.

I'm not a fan (not my type of thing) but I do say fair play to Brendan O'Carroll for making it such a success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Pottler wrote: »
    I think it's funny, I also like the Big Bang Theory and get a laugh out of it. Maybe the people who don't just have a different sense of humour. Different as in missing. It's a bit of fun, have a laugh and get over your own "sophistication". I usually find "sophisticated" people have vanished slightly up their own holes anyway. But then again, I like a Chinese take-away on a saturday, enjoy the odd mcDonalds and wear a lot of hoodies. I might be a bit common. I can live with it though. Quite happily actually.

You're eating a fair bit of horse there, fellow. I think that might be the cause of you finding MBB's funny.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Brendan O'Carroll = not funny any more (to me), had enough of listening to him in the 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I'm not a fan (not my type of thing) but I do say fair play to Brendan O'Connor for making it such a success.

same could be said for westlife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

You're eating a fair bit of horse there, fellow. I think that might be the cause of you finding MBB's funny.:pac:
    I've the sense of humour of a 14 year old as well though, when I lose that I'll be sad, there's enough seriousness in the world without me joining in 24/7. And I love Horse, sure I've been eating it furlong enough not to notice anymore..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭aca101

I'm not a fan (not my type of thing) but I do say fair play to Brendan O'Connor for making it such a success.

Didn't know he was involved in making it, fair play, can't have been easy given his great work on the Saturday Night Show.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Fair play to them, he's keeping his whole family employed with that I hear.

In fairness i have no objection to seeing this chick appear on my tv set

http://mrsbrownsboysukfanclub.weebly.com/uploads/8/4/8/0/8480568/1640548.jpg?254

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Agricola wrote: »
    Does this mean Mrs Brown will spoken about in the same hushed tones as Fr Ted 10 years from now!

Everyone on boards in 2023 quoting the show!
    Please don't mention MBB and Father Ted in the same sentence. Have a bit of respect for real genius....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Didn't O'Carroll have a stage show called 'How's Your Jolly Rodgers?' a few years back. Wasn't he booed off stage or something on opening night?

My memory is a bit hazy I'm not sure if it was him or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I know Derek Mooney is at least one of the posters on this thread.
    Jaysus Christ, you don't have to be a begrudger to dislike hacknied, plagarised badly pathetically acted dross. The fascists are gonna make us sit down and enjoy ourselves at gunpoint, because the BBC and the peurile, toilet humour fed from birth British public say it's great. Get a grip folks or a critical faculty or two.

A crap version of Mrs Doubtfire is all it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

I always thought I'd hate it just from all the negativity I've seen it get from people on Boards, watched it over the xmas holidays and found myself having a good chuckle loads of times! Yeah its rude and its crude, but has some absolute gems that still have me laughing.

There's far worse tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

TheUsual wrote: »
    You know the brits love it more than life. I spent Christmas in Manchester.

It's so big over there. Jesus wept.
    I had to watch it, and it was worse than you would believe.
    The Brits also loved the 'Carry On' films and thought 'Are You Being Served' was hilarious, so they're probably not the best judges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Didn't O'Carroll have a stage show called 'How's Your Jolly Rodgers?' a few years back. Wasn't he booed off stage or something on opening night?

My memory is a bit hazy I'm not sure if it was him or not.

I used to drink in the Penny Black across from the basket ball arena in Tallaght back in the early nineties. He had a show there one evening. Some of his audience called in after the show, mostly young guys with their girlfriends. A few of us asked the guys that came up to the bar to order, what was the show like.
    The most of them were in their early twenties, their comments were of being disgusted and embarrassed in front of their girlfriends. His big gig consisted of discussing periods and the consequences of having sex,during it.
    They confirmed my opinion of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

coolhull wrote: »
    The Brits also loved the 'Carry On' films and thought 'Are You Being Served' was hilarious, so they're probably not the best judges

You are missing the point, those programs had talent.