If you could travel back in time to one historical event, what would it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Go back and give Franz Ferdinands driver some directions......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'd like to see the Titanic being launched. And maybe if I was lucky enough a stroll around it. Before it set sail :)

Yeh and I'd piss myself if you didn't get off in time and it started sailing, so you then went to jump over board and a guard stopped you and then you got all aggressive and then they chucked you in a cell at bottom of ship and you started shouting that you had to be left off because you had to reply to this thread on boards but you couldn't because your stuck on that dam ship and you are going down .....

Your not so smart now are ye ....

lazygal wrote: »
    I think for me it would have to be the assassination of JFK. I'd love to witness it first hand on the grassy knoll and see if any of the conspiracy theories stack up.

I could not pick there are so many I often think of what event or time in the past I would like to have been at, it one of my favourite day dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Not an event as such - really one big party. Would have loved to have gone to Studio 54 in NYC every weekend at the height of it's popularity simply because I LOVE disco and I LOVE NYC!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The day Bertie Ahern was born, so I could smother the batsard!:mad:
    Failing that, the day Sir Alex Ferguson (not you Super-Rush) was born so I could smother...ahh ye get the point!

Christ.... Somebody go around this persons place and take all the pillows away ... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Yeh and I'd piss myself if you didn't get off in time and it started sailing, so you then went to jump over board and a guard stopped you and then you got all aggressive and then they chucked you in a cell at bottom of ship and you started shouting that you had to be left off because you had to reply to this thread on boards but you couldn't because your stuck on that dam ship and you are going down .....

Your not so smart now are ye ....

Be grand if he met some beur onboard first who could go down and find him and free him when the ship started sinking. She could get an axe and have a test go on some wooden press but then try break off the handcuffs despite the test go not going so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Garzard wrote: »
    To see Halley's Comet passing by Earth in 1986.

Or back to the snow we had 2 years ago! :cool:
    You would be better off going back to 1910 to see Halley's comet it wasn't as clear in 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'd love to go back to Dublin about 300 years ago with a small digital camera and have a stroll around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,589 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I'd love to have been in the bunker in Berlin in April 1945 to see what Hitlers final hours were like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

That's for sure though I wouldn't call the birth of a maggot historical :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

The night Liverpool won the Champions League in 2005, what a night

Be grand if he met some beur onboard first who could go down and find him and free him when the ship started sinking. She could get an axe and have a test go on some wooden press but then try break off the handcuffs despite the test go not going so well.

Hang on a second. There was no kinky sh1yte in my story . The person just got put in a cell... I didn't say anything about handcuffs .. Anyway the thread says if you could go back in time. There's nobody els going on board . He or she is on own , end of ......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It was pretty crap TBH.

Like to see dinosaurs, or go even further back to just when plants and animals first made it onto land, orback further again when life was just in the oceans and look up at night at a moon 3 times the size in the sky. You'd need an oxygen mask for that though. In dino times it would be boiling hot and with extra O2 so that might be uncomfortable too. Meeting Neadertals would be another brilliant one.

Historical? Seeing the pyramids when new, or walking through the streets of ancient Athens would be well cool,

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

does it have to be back on time on earth? id love to go back and watch neil armstrongs first steps from the moon standing just opposite the lunar module that would be fricken amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

GPO 1916

tell the lads not to bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

1400s at the time of first Europeans, either Africa or North America

I'd tell them not to let the pale faces on land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Funkfield

GPO 1916

tell the lads not to bother

23/09/1989

Tell the lads not to bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Would love to have seen ancient Rome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    Would love to have seen ancient Rome.

A lot of it is still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

last weeks lotto draw, I know the numbers now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Two chicks at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

Vienna, pre WW1. To find a struggling artist, punch him in the face hard and say "That's for the Jews!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dartz wrote: »
    Vienna, pre WW1. To find a struggling artist, punch him in the face hard and say "That's for the Jews!"

He then spends his next decade brooding over how dem ****ing jews got him a punch in the face that he didnt deserve and resolves to settle their hash once and for all..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Wibbs wrote: »
    It was pretty crap TBH.

What was the 1910 one like Wibbs? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

I love to be present for the Earl of Sandwich creating the first sandwich. What a gift to the world that was...

I'd go back to when Francis Bacon invented Bacon, and Mr.Donut created the first donut.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You would be better off going back to 1910 to see Halley's comet it wasn't as clear in 1986.

I'd go back to meet Halley for a drink, get him plastered, use his telescope and get to see Maninasia's Comet returning every 76 years :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I'd go to Washington during the Vietnam War, to witness the anti-war protests and whatnot.

But I'd also like to see ancient Rome and Greece. And Victorian London. And the inter-war years in Germany, to see what sort of atmosphere produced Nazi domination there.

D-Day would be cool to witness too.

I would go back to meet Giordano Bruno, tell him a bit about the state of the universe as we know it. He'd probably say I knew a lot of that already.
    Then I'd give him an option to teleport to the future where he belonged away from the Catholic Church, perhaps not to Ireland though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Or back to the snow we had 2 years ago!! :cool:
    definitly