Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could travel back in time to one historical event, what would it be?

• 22-01-2013 11:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

I think for me it would have to be the assassination of JFK. I'd love to witness it first hand on the grassy knoll and see if any of the conspiracy theories stack up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Anything to do with dinosaurs. Because y'know. Dinosaurs are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Anything to do with dinosaurs. Because y'know. Dinosaurs are awesome.

Ah, to roam with the dinosaurs, like man did 6,000 years ago. Good times. Good, good, times. Before the flood, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The largest Euromillions draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

1973, go see Nick Drake play live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Some time around when the bible was written, and kill the liars who wrote it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

The largest Euromillions draw.

I'd also go to the Largest Euromillions draw, and buy 500 tickets with the winning numbers - your move CreepingDeath!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'd go back to last Saturday.

I had a lovely pastrami and swiss cheese sandwich with relish on rye bread. I was just ready to bite down into it when my cousin burst through the kitchen door, knocked into me and the sandwich ended up on the ground.

If I could go back I'd punch my cousin in the face like I should have done then. Or maybe stop him bursting through the door so I could have the sandwich. One or the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Moon landing.

else the Wright bros flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'd go back to last Saturday.

I had a lovely pastrami and swiss cheese sandwich with relish on rye bread. I was just ready to bite down into it when my cousin burst through the kitchen door, knocked into me and the sandwich ended up on the ground.

If I could go back I'd punch my cousin in the face like I should have done then. Or maybe stop him bursting through the door so I could have the sandwich. One or the other.

That's not a historical event, in fairness. That's a pretty uninteresting family anecdote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I'd like to see the moment when a solitary Gladiator murdered the Roman emporer in the Colloseum, when Eamon Broys body was dumped on Capel St and when William Wallace famously shouted 'Freedom' while being executed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

i would back to the night of the bank guarantee and choke a few feckers with their own garlic...

daithi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'd also go to the Largest Euromillions draw, and buy 500 tickets with the winning numbers - your move CreepingDeath!
    I'd go back to the draw before it and win 80+ million, leaving you with just 15 for the following week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

There's lots of shit happening right now which is equally amazing as anything that's happened in the past, but I'm sure in 40 years time you'll be sitting beside you're computer fantasizing about coming back to experience it all if only you could.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

2006 top of the housing market. Rent a flat, get my money out of the bank and bury it as cash all over the place. Borrow nothing, work three jobs. Live a modest lifestyle.

and wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

lazygal wrote: »
    That's not a historical event, in fairness. That's a pretty uninteresting family anecdote.

It happened in the past. It's historical to me dude.

A suggestion for an event you could travel back in time to: The moment when the concept of humor was invented and then explained in a painstakingly obvious manner. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭murphyaii

:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I think for me it would have to be the assassination of JFK. I'd love to witness it first hand on the grassy knoll and see if any of the conspiracy theories stack up.
    I think I'd pick the same. Or around the Civil war here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Put all my savings on Greece to win Euro 2004. 100/1 odds ffs!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

1973, go see Nick Drake play live.

Pretty sure his live gigs were'nt that good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

21st June 1970 Estadio Azteca ,Mexico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

Five minutes before the conception of Hector/ Bertie/ any of the Healy raes.

Force feed their daddy whiskey until the ol equipment won't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I'd like to see the Titanic being launched. And maybe if I was lucky enough a stroll around it. Before it set sail :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

21st June 1970 Estadio Azteca ,Mexico

I'd love to see that live too, Pele was an amazing player, but I don't think Id waste one time travel event on that.

I'd probably go back and educate a family member to invest in apple, microsoft, facebook, etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Garzard

To see Halley's Comet passing by Earth in 1986.

Or back to the snow we had 2 years ago! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

id go back to the 17th of September 2011.

When ireland were playing Australia in the rugby and Dublin playing kerry in the football the next day.

Id do the same double I did that day :) but add in cluxton to score the last point of the game and the final score to be 1-12 to 1-11.. might not be millions.. but ill be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Here Come The Pretzels

I love to be present for the Earl of Sandwich creating the first sandwich. What a gift to the world that was...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

1908 Russia, I would really like to know what happened here....:cool:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tunguska_event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Birth of Christ. Very little is written about his early years, would love to see what he was like growing up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I'd probably go back to 11/22/63, if the book was anything to go by it would be a head melting day.

Either that or 9/11,but how could you evacuate those buildings without people thinking you're a looney? Probably a few anonymous phone calls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

The moment Hitler was made Kanzler so I can shoot a nice silver bullet through his eye.

Go back and give Franz Ferdinands driver some directions......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'd like to see the Titanic being launched. And maybe if I was lucky enough a stroll around it. Before it set sail :)

Yeh and I'd piss myself if you didn't get off in time and it started sailing, so you then went to jump over board and a guard stopped you and then you got all aggressive and then they chucked you in a cell at bottom of ship and you started shouting that you had to be left off because you had to reply to this thread on boards but you couldn't because your stuck on that dam ship and you are going down .....

Your not so smart now are ye ....

I could not pick there are so many I often think of what event or time in the past I would like to have been at, it one of my favourite day dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Not an event as such - really one big party. Would have loved to have gone to Studio 54 in NYC every weekend at the height of it's popularity simply because I LOVE disco and I LOVE NYC!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The day Bertie Ahern was born, so I could smother the batsard!:mad:
    Failing that, the day Sir Alex Ferguson (not you Super-Rush) was born so I could smother...ahh ye get the point!

Christ.... Somebody go around this persons place and take all the pillows away ... :)

Yeh and I'd piss myself if you didn't get off in time and it started sailing, so you then went to jump over board and a guard stopped you and then you got all aggressive and then they chucked you in a cell at bottom of ship and you started shouting that you had to be left off because you had to reply to this thread on boards but you couldn't because your stuck on that dam ship and you are going down .....

Your not so smart now are ye ....

Be grand if he met some beur onboard first who could go down and find him and free him when the ship started sinking. She could get an axe and have a test go on some wooden press but then try break off the handcuffs despite the test go not going so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Garzard wrote: »

Or back to the snow we had 2 years ago! :cool:
    You would be better off going back to 1910 to see Halley's comet it wasn't as clear in 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'd love to go back to Dublin about 300 years ago with a small digital camera and have a stroll around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I'd love to have been in the bunker in Berlin in April 1945 to see what Hitlers final hours were like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

That's for sure though I wouldn't call the birth of a maggot historical :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

The night Liverpool won the Champions League in 2005, what a night

Be grand if he met some beur onboard first who could go down and find him and free him when the ship started sinking. She could get an axe and have a test go on some wooden press but then try break off the handcuffs despite the test go not going so well.

Hang on a second. There was no kinky sh1yte in my story . The person just got put in a cell... I didn't say anything about handcuffs .. Anyway the thread says if you could go back in time. There's nobody els going on board . He or she is on own , end of ......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Garzard wrote: »
    It was pretty crap TBH.

Like to see dinosaurs, or go even further back to just when plants and animals first made it onto land, orback further again when life was just in the oceans and look up at night at a moon 3 times the size in the sky. You'd need an oxygen mask for that though. In dino times it would be boiling hot and with extra O2 so that might be uncomfortable too. Meeting Neadertals would be another brilliant one.

Historical? Seeing the pyramids when new, or walking through the streets of ancient Athens would be well cool,

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

does it have to be back on time on earth? id love to go back and watch neil armstrongs first steps from the moon standing just opposite the lunar module that would be fricken amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

GPO 1916

tell the lads not to bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

1400s at the time of first Europeans, either Africa or North America

I'd tell them not to let the pale faces on land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

GPO 1916

tell the lads not to bother

23/09/1989

Tell the lads not to bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Would love to have seen ancient Rome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    Would love to have seen ancient Rome.

A lot of it is still there.