Man falls from moving train in Siberia at -40C and lives

• 21-01-2013 12:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭

He leaned on the door at the back of the train while having a smoke and the door swung open causing him to fall on the tracks.

He then ran 7km at night after the train while only wearing a tshirt and slippers.

Luckily for him the next station was only 7km away.

They said if the cold wouldnt kill him it would be a pack of wolves.

http://en.rian.ru/russia/20130118/178871740.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

...Police launched an inquiry into the train conductor who left the door unlocked...

One dead after rail accident. The victim lives but the train conductor disappears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 HandsomeJonny

I love Russia. But if you go outside in January or February without wearing bear skin and a balaclava death is nearly guaranteed :) Unless you run really fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

In Soviet Russia cold catches you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

What a ninja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Freezing cold story bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

His name Chucki Norriski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I bet there was strong vodka involved somewhere along the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Now everyone in Russia will be expected to finish their train journey by running 7 km in -40c with nothing on but a pair of slippers and a tee shirt while puffing on a fag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

He was damn lucky he was just 7km from the station. Otherwise he wouldn't have lasted long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I bet there was strong vodka involved somewhere along the line

Do they really leave bottles of vodka on every few km of railway line in Russia? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

The Russians are grand with cold weather
    remember the sopranos had a Russian running through pine barrens :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

extraneous use of C in thread title

/nerd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭Calibos

It happened in the Amur region. If it wasn't the cold or the wolves it might have been a Siberian Tiger!! (Recently renamed as the Amur Tiger because Amur is the only place in Siberia that there are any left)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

He then ran 7km at night after the train while only wearing a tshirt and slippers.

Luckily for him the next station was only 7km away.
    What a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Calibos wrote: »
    It happened in the Amur region. If it wasn't the cold or the wolves it might have been a Siberian Tiger!! (Recently renamed as the Amur Tiger because Amur is the only place in Siberia that there are any left)

They very rarely attack humans (much less than the Bengal Tiger).

But yeah, that guy had a seriously lucky escape- my ex did the Trans Siberian Train and said what a desolate and unforgiving landscape it is.

I'd say it sure is purdy to look at though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's bears that scare me, they just start eating you while you're still screaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I did that train journey two weeks ago. (Beijing to Moscow).

The cold is insane.

Here's a picture from outside my room on the train:

http://imgur.com/LTftoZL

****ing cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Bet he was rushin' to catch that train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Do they really leave bottles of vodka on every few km of railway line in Russia? :confused:

Vodka isn't yellow, train drivers don't have toilets in the cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bad Santa wrote: »
    What a coincidence.
    If the station was 6klm away he would have run right past it.
    Ush1 wrote: »
    It's bears that scare me, they just start eating you while you're still screaming.
    So do wolves, wolves are scary as feck! Bears only have one mouth, if your getting attacked by one wolf your getting attacked by several, all biting you to pieces at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭Calibos

Actually now that being eaten alive is mentioned, maybe the Amur Tiger would actually be the preference. Big Cats have the good manners to grab you by the throat and asphyxiate you before they start eating you unlike bears and wolves.

Horrendous injuries from big cats like Mountain lions and Jaguars in the Americas or Leopards in Africa and Asia is due to the fact that they aren't quite big enough to take down a human without a struggle first. Once they've softened you up then they can asphyxiate you before eating you.

Tigers?? One whallop with a paw to stun you and straight for the throat. No painful striping of flesh be it in the process of softening you up in the case of the smaller big cats or eating you alive in the case of wolves and bears.

Jaysus though. Everyones worst nightmare...being eaten alive.....[shudders] !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

must have been cold around the old Town Halls :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Pherekydes wrote: »

Nah, the wolves do as bait :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Russians are fecking hard-ass people. I'd be frozen and/or eaten after 300 yards.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

biko wrote: »
    Russians are fecking hard-ass people.
    That they are. I remember when the Chernobyl reactor blew up and they needed volunteers to dig out the area around the reactor to make it safe and the queues to sign up went around the block and this was essentially a death sentence and a horrible death with it. Their actions saved the rest of the world from a much worse outcome. Hard as nails. I suppose the environment has much to do with it. Many areas are boiling in summer and beyond freezing in winter, living in that for countless generations is bound to rub off. It's only above freezing today and I'm near having heart failure.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

He'll probably get a fine for disembarking between stations.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wolves worldwide aren't very dangerous. Attacks are very rare, though there have been a few in recent years in Russia and Siberia. One nightclub bouncer was attacked and killed after he locked up the place one night and a russian bouncer aint gonna be a weedy bloke. He might have been able to fend off one, but as ScumLord says they attack in numbers and in a well practiced way. That's their thing and like humans they're one of the few predators that routinely take down prey much bigger than themselves. Even polar bears avoid them.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wibbs wrote: »
    Hard as nails. I suppose the environment has much to do with it.
    It's Communism, makes you strong. We should all be communist for a year, knock the soft out of this generation of Celtic pandas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Wolves wouldn't normally prey on people though and could be half scared, a bear is just gonna jack you straight away. One swipe of a paw and your face is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

We're talking Russian wolves here mate, big as horses and eats trees if there's no moose or humans around*

*might not be true