Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man falls from moving train in Siberia at -40C and lives

• 21-01-2013 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭

He leaned on the door at the back of the train while having a smoke and the door swung open causing him to fall on the tracks.

He then ran 7km at night after the train while only wearing a tshirt and slippers.

Luckily for him the next station was only 7km away.

They said if the cold wouldnt kill him it would be a pack of wolves.

http://en.rian.ru/russia/20130118/178871740.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

...Police launched an inquiry into the train conductor who left the door unlocked...

One dead after rail accident. The victim lives but the train conductor disappears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 HandsomeJonny

I love Russia. But if you go outside in January or February without wearing bear skin and a balaclava death is nearly guaranteed :) Unless you run really fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

In Soviet Russia cold catches you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

What a ninja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Freezing cold story bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

His name Chucki Norriski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I bet there was strong vodka involved somewhere along the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Now everyone in Russia will be expected to finish their train journey by running 7 km in -40c with nothing on but a pair of slippers and a tee shirt while puffing on a fag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

He was damn lucky he was just 7km from the station. Otherwise he wouldn't have lasted long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,214 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I bet there was strong vodka involved somewhere along the line

Do they really leave bottles of vodka on every few km of railway line in Russia? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

The Russians are grand with cold weather
    remember the sopranos had a Russian running through pine barrens :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

extraneous use of C in thread title

/nerd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

It happened in the Amur region. If it wasn't the cold or the wolves it might have been a Siberian Tiger!! (Recently renamed as the Amur Tiger because Amur is the only place in Siberia that there are any left)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

He then ran 7km at night after the train while only wearing a tshirt and slippers.

Luckily for him the next station was only 7km away.
    What a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Calibos wrote: »
    It happened in the Amur region. If it wasn't the cold or the wolves it might have been a Siberian Tiger!! (Recently renamed as the Amur Tiger because Amur is the only place in Siberia that there are any left)

They very rarely attack humans (much less than the Bengal Tiger).

But yeah, that guy had a seriously lucky escape- my ex did the Trans Siberian Train and said what a desolate and unforgiving landscape it is.

I'd say it sure is purdy to look at though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's bears that scare me, they just start eating you while you're still screaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I did that train journey two weeks ago. (Beijing to Moscow).

The cold is insane.

Here's a picture from outside my room on the train:

http://imgur.com/LTftoZL

****ing cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Bet he was rushin' to catch that train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Do they really leave bottles of vodka on every few km of railway line in Russia? :confused:

Vodka isn't yellow, train drivers don't have toilets in the cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bad Santa wrote: »
    What a coincidence.
    If the station was 6klm away he would have run right past it.
    Ush1 wrote: »
    It's bears that scare me, they just start eating you while you're still screaming.
    So do wolves, wolves are scary as feck! Bears only have one mouth, if your getting attacked by one wolf your getting attacked by several, all biting you to pieces at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

Actually now that being eaten alive is mentioned, maybe the Amur Tiger would actually be the preference. Big Cats have the good manners to grab you by the throat and asphyxiate you before they start eating you unlike bears and wolves.

Horrendous injuries from big cats like Mountain lions and Jaguars in the Americas or Leopards in Africa and Asia is due to the fact that they aren't quite big enough to take down a human without a struggle first. Once they've softened you up then they can asphyxiate you before eating you.

Tigers?? One whallop with a paw to stun you and straight for the throat. No painful striping of flesh be it in the process of softening you up in the case of the smaller big cats or eating you alive in the case of wolves and bears.

Jaysus though. Everyones worst nightmare...being eaten alive.....[shudders] !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

must have been cold around the old Town Halls :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Pherekydes wrote: »

Nah, the wolves do as bait :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Russians are fecking hard-ass people. I'd be frozen and/or eaten after 300 yards.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

biko wrote: »
    Russians are fecking hard-ass people.
    That they are. I remember when the Chernobyl reactor blew up and they needed volunteers to dig out the area around the reactor to make it safe and the queues to sign up went around the block and this was essentially a death sentence and a horrible death with it. Their actions saved the rest of the world from a much worse outcome. Hard as nails. I suppose the environment has much to do with it. Many areas are boiling in summer and beyond freezing in winter, living in that for countless generations is bound to rub off. It's only above freezing today and I'm near having heart failure.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

He'll probably get a fine for disembarking between stations.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wolves worldwide aren't very dangerous. Attacks are very rare, though there have been a few in recent years in Russia and Siberia. One nightclub bouncer was attacked and killed after he locked up the place one night and a russian bouncer aint gonna be a weedy bloke. He might have been able to fend off one, but as ScumLord says they attack in numbers and in a well practiced way. That's their thing and like humans they're one of the few predators that routinely take down prey much bigger than themselves. Even polar bears avoid them.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wibbs wrote: »
    Hard as nails. I suppose the environment has much to do with it.
    It's Communism, makes you strong. We should all be communist for a year, knock the soft out of this generation of Celtic pandas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Wolves wouldn't normally prey on people though and could be half scared, a bear is just gonna jack you straight away. One swipe of a paw and your face is gone.

We're talking Russian wolves here mate, big as horses and eats trees if there's no moose or humans around*

*might not be true

IIRC the eastern ones are bigger than average for wolves. Bigger the the European anyway which tends to be smaller. Not as large as the big Canadian feckers though. They stand a metre at the shoulder and take down musk ox and bison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

make sure you have a few irish wolfhounds when you go to Siberia so yeah? :pac:

Lol, look at her there with the axe.
    Rock hard granny!

Whatever about the wolves and the bears,but has anybody else considered that a man ran nearly naked for probably at least 45 minutes in -40 deg.

That will surely have the scientists scratching their heads about the human body's ability.

Id say he was damn close to a heart attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

For some reason I keep thinking of "Me, Myself and Irene" and the two of them running after the train. I'd have been feckin praying the station was about 1km away, any more and a coughing fit would have done me in, not the cold.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

For those of you in America that's -40F

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That they are. I remember when the Chernobyl reactor blew up and they needed volunteers to dig out the area around the reactor to make it safe and the queues to sign up went around the block and this was essentially a death sentence and a horrible death with it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-13598607
    A group of more than 200 Japanese pensioners are volunteering to tackle the nuclear crisis at the Fukushima power station.

The Skilled Veterans Corps, as they call themselves, is made up of retired engineers and other professionals, all over the age of 60.

They say they should be facing the dangers of radiation, not the young

But yeah sometimes you have to wonder if Russians are from a different planet.

make sure you have a few irish wolfhounds when you go to Siberia so yeah? :pac:
    One of the few breeds of wolfhounds bred to take on a wolf singlehanded. Most other wolfhound breeds were designed to attack a single wolf as a pack of hounds. At one point under Cromwells orders IIRC the export of Irish wolfhounds was banned and funding was put into breeding because of the serious problem of wolf attacks in Ireland. Irish wolves seemed to be particularly aggressive towards people compared to the European norm and from the earliest annals wolf attacks usually resulting in death were regularly noted. Except for various sainted monks who would be left alone apparently. Though "sainted Irish monks" of them days weren't Father Wishy Washy. Hard bastards and practical with it. Columbanus left his Austrian German monk guide behind(who seemed for a while to have had enough of this mad Mick) and crossed the alps in winter in his 70's, oh and then founded and helped built a church with his bare hands on the other side in Italy Colmcille killed a hundred men in battle. As you do when you're a monk. The sight of a monks habit was probably enough to give wild Fido a dose of the squits.
    biko wrote: »
    Lol, look at her there with the axe.
    Rock hard granny!
    Yep, Hard. Animal kingdom, word to the wise, leave Russian grannies the fuq alone. I recall seeing a doc on Italian feral dogs and in the middle of it there was this Italian granny who used to open her farmhouse to the "stray dogs" of the area. They stuck a hidden camera in her kitchen and what comes in only four or five wolves, cubs and all. Now that's a pensioner living on their own I'd like to see a bunch of scumbags try to rob on "stray dog Tuesday". :D
    Whatever about the wolves and the bears,but has anybody else considered that a man ran nearly naked for probably at least 45 minutes in -40 deg.

That will surely have the scientists scratching their heads about the human body's ability.

Id say he was damn close to a heart attack.
    Yes it's actually amazing he could do it. Then again when the bloods up and most importantly the survival instinct really kicks in it's truly amazing what the human body can do through sheer force of bloodyminded fcuk you and the horse you rode in on human will. The slightly built mother who lifts car off her baby effect, or the Russian granny who takes out wolves for sport and in the video she can barely swing the heavy axe. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

poor guy, no smoker likes to have to run 7k.

Yep, Hard. Animal kingdom, word to the wise, leave Russian grannies the fuq alone.

http://i.imgur.com/0u91VtH.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Pottler wrote: »
    For some reason I keep thinking of "Me, Myself and Irene" and the two of them running after the train. I'd have been feckin praying the station was about 1km away, any more and a coughing fit would have done me in, not the cold.
    The same :) Another thing comes into my head. The old cigarette slogan ''Your never alone with a Strand'' :D

Video of story here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vk2VZRwi2Q

He is one tough looking fcuker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Hardy boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

In Soviet Russia Grandma kill big bad wolf and eat Little Red Riding Hood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I miss those doors on Irish trains, you had to open them yourself by sliding the window down and putting your hand out to catch the handle on the outside. I think the IE workers were supposed to open all the doors first. anyway for local stations it was ok, timing it just right so that you jump out exactly as the train stops, or if your feeling a little 007 jumping out while its still in motion.

some people died tho over the years, I remember a young guy just got home from a long backpacking holiday, poor guy fell out from the moving train on his way home to see the family

edit* just remembered how nice it was to be able to actually open a window and get some fresh air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

One of the few breeds of wolfhounds bred to take on a wolf singlehanded. Most other wolfhound breeds were designed to attack a single wolf as a pack of hounds. At one point under Cromwells orders IIRC the export of Irish wolfhounds was banned and funding was put into breeding because of the serious problem of wolf attacks in Ireland. Irish wolves seemed to be particularly aggressive towards people compared to the European norm and from the earliest annals wolf attacks usually resulting in death were regularly noted. Except for various sainted monks who would be left alone apparently. Though "sainted Irish monks" of them days weren't Father Wishy Washy. Hard bastards and practical with it. Columbanus left his Austrian German monk guide behind(who seemed for a while to have had enough of this mad Mick) and crossed the alps in winter in his 70's, oh and then founded and helped built a church with his bare hands on the other side in Italy Colmcille killed a hundred men in battle. As you do when you're a monk. The sight of a monks habit was probably enough to give wild Fido a dose of the squits.

Yep, Hard. Animal kingdom, word to the wise, leave Russian grannies the fuq alone. I recall seeing a doc on Italian feral dogs and in the middle of it there was this Italian granny who used to open her farmhouse to the "stray dogs" of the area. They stuck a hidden camera in her kitchen and what comes in only four or five wolves, cubs and all. Now that's a pensioner living on their own I'd like to see a bunch of scumbags try to rob on "stray dog Tuesday". :D

Yes it's actually amazing he could do it. Then again when the bloods up and most importantly the survival instinct really kicks in it's truly amazing what the human body can do through sheer force of bloodyminded fcuk you and the horse you rode in on human will. The slightly built mother who lifts car off her baby effect, or the Russian granny who takes out wolves for sport and in the video she can barely swing the heavy axe. :)
    you just reminded me, wasnt there an ancient Irish martial arts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭vektarman

Ush1 wrote: »

That's bears for ye, absolutely thoughtless creatures.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

I miss those doors on Irish trains, you had to open them yourself by sliding the window down and putting your hand out to catch the handle on the outside. I think the IE workers were supposed to open all the doors first. anyway for local stations it was ok, timing it just right so that you jump out exactly as the train stops, or if your feeling a little 007 jumping out while its still in motion.

some people died tho over the years, I remember a young guy just got home from a long backpacking holiday, poor guy fell out from the moving train on his way home to see the family

edit* just remembered how nice it was to be able to actually open a window and get some fresh air

I was late for an old train years ago and as it was exiting the station I pulled the window down, jumped on and climbed through it. Those windows were great. Was a difficult enough move.

They had a good locking system when even half closed the lock engaged.

Looking through them windows on a diesel train could mean your face would be black a few miles later !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

you just reminded me, wasnt there an ancient Irish martial arts?

hitemwithabigstick..itsu :D