Is this as sick as I think it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Chain_reaction

squod wrote: »
    Still only about 36% in favour of liberal abortion. That's no majority. The UK might still move on reforms to its abortion legislation too.

Tha days of using abortion as a means of contraception are drawing to a close.

They won't remove it completely the worst they will do is bring it down to 12 weeks and leave the 24 week period open for emergencies/fetal abnormalities.

No British government is going to leave themselves open to a back street abortion fiasco.

As for using it as a means of contraception, don't be so offensive and demeaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Stinicker wrote: »
    For what it is worth I am in favour of abortion in circumstances such as which we saw last year in the tragic case in Galway. However I am totally against the liberalisation of the law which would lead to abortion on demand and what is needed is to protect the mother equally and suicide imo is not grounds for an abortion.

There's already abortion on demand, women just go to the UK for it.

How many times must this be pointed out to anti-choicers?

Their slogan, "If you protect my right to live, some day I will protect yours". Don't know about most people, but if it came to it, I would much rather they protect my right to die.
    Yes, the thoughts of vegetating in a nursing home fill me with dread!
    I'd rather take a long walk on a short pier than do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Shinaynay wrote: »

I started scrolling down that page seeing all the photo's of abortion marches.

i was actually shocked when i saw this
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=482618728450312&set=a.251654994880021.60172.126266120752243&type=1&relevant_count=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

really the pro live people are nut jobs
    3 weeks ago outside a shopping center in wicklow i saw 3 teenage boys ( around 13/14 ) standing at a roundabout with OBSCENE pictures of aborted a fetuses
    they looked mortified , freezing cold and getting dogs abuse from passers by
    children with parents out shopping , seeing these images

my wife had to stop me from telling the boys to go home, and take their placards off them ,
    what kind of parent puts the children up to do something like that?
    and dont tell me for one second tell me they volunteered,
    feckin pro life nut jobs scaring not only their own children, but of innocent children seeing these images

the only way they know is scare and bully boy tactics - your time is coming to a end - just like the church , a relic of the dark ages
    good riddance to the lot of you. woman hating ****tards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

krudler wrote: »
    There's already abortion on demand, women just go to the UK for it.

How many times must this be pointed out to anti-choicers?
    Only if the woman is fortunate enough to be in a position to fund the trip. This is the main reason we must rip the pi55 out of the anti- brigade at every opportunity. There's lots of reasons to disagree and debate, but for me, this is the reason for the tone of my debate.

Away with ye now, and say an aul' rosary. It'll stop ye getting in the way of the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I heard an aborted baby's brain was transplanted into a members of youth defences head but the host body rejected it.

For what it is worth I am in favour of abortion in circumstances such as which we saw last year in the tragic case in Galway. However I am totally against the liberalisation of the law which would lead to abortion on demand and what is needed is to protect the mother equally and suicide imo is not grounds for an abortion.

It was stated by every professional in the hearings they had that legislating for suicide would not lead to abortion on demand.
    If a girl said she was suicidal, she would be referreed to one of the three neonatal psychiatrists in the country. they would then treat her. She may or may not be referred to for an abortion. But either way the process is so long winded that if a girl did want an abortion, it's far quicker to hop on a flight/ferry than it is to try and lie to a GP and then a psychiatrist.

There is absolutely no way that any of the current proposals could lead to abortion on demand. This is known to everyone.
    It's just that the catholic church feel they need to be relevant.
    Because they're irrevelant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Bambi wrote: »
    I heard an aborted baby's brain was transplanted into a members of youth defences head but the host body rejected it.

Increased his iq by fifty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Personally, I'm in favor of abortion on demand, but I haven't really decided on the cut off (weeks) point yet.
    It was stated by every professional in the hearings they had that legislating for suicide would not lead to abortion on demand.
    If a girl said she was suicidal, she would be referreed to one of the three neonatal psychiatrists in the country. they would then treat her. She may or may not be referred to for an abortion. But either way the process is so long winded that if a girl did want an abortion, it's far quicker to hop on a flight/ferry than it is to try and lie to a GP and then a psychiatrist.

I just had a rather horrible image of a woman wanting an abortion enough to go through the process and getting stonewalled at every turn:(

Also, kind of random, but it's strange to see someone on Facebook post a rather extreme feminist (or just hipster) meme, and then a picture from the pro-life brigade. I know, I know, some feminists are quite anti-abortion, but it's just strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

The mother could always hop on a plane over to england to get the abortion done no matter what the outcome in ireland anyway. So what would be your stance then if the mother was going to commit suicide if she was refused? as i siad she could go to england to get the abortion. Would you let the mother die

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Personally, I'm in favor of abortion on demand, but I haven't really decided on the cut off (weeks) point yet.

I just had a rather horrible image of a woman wanting an abortion enough to go through the process and getting stonewalled at every turn:(

Also, kind of random, but it's strange to see someone on Facebook post a rather extreme feminist (or just hipster) meme, and then a picture from the pro-life brigade. I know, I know, some feminists are quite anti-abortion, but it's just strange.

I agree, I'm firmly pro choice but would like to see the timeframe as short as possible.

But the thing about suicide risk is this. If a girl is pregnant and feeling suicidal, should she be treated for depression and the suicidal tendancies, or should she have access to an abortion?
    Personally I'm in favour of the former. Simply because abortion might not always be the best choice. I can imagine a woman from a pro life background who gets pregnant, gets suicidal and wants an abortion. She gets one but actually feels worse afterwards.

In cases where suicide is a risk, abortion should be considered an option that the doctor decides after an assessment. The mental welfare of the patient should always be the deciding factor.

But that's why it'd take so long that anyone who's trying to pull a fast one, would actually be taking the longest slowest route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

btw, I found this article earlier.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/belief/2009/aug/19/religion-catholic-agnostic

It contained a link to this story.
    A South American bishop was recently censured for excommunicating the medical staff who had carried out an abortion on a nine year-old child to save her life after she had been raped by her father, but the fact that he saw nothing wrong with his decision – he also excommunicated the child's mother, though not her father – is a dazzling revelation of church attitudes that are all too common.

Tha days of using abortion as a means of contraception are drawing to a close.

Considering it happens post conception, stop talking sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That abortion by the back door that's gotta hurt like hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 billysweeney

Firstly I would like to state that I don't believe in any god, afterlife etc, etc, but honestly some of the pro choice people on here would want to cop on a bit.. I think abortion should be available for any instances of rape, incest, abuse etc, and without a huge rigamarole. Abortion on demand should be available up to early pregnancy, maybe 12 weeks. But after that you have to start thinking that it is dodgy ground morally. Seeing as there is most likely no such thing as a soul, the consciousness must reside in a formed brain.. once that is there, or nearly there is it really right to terminate what is very arguably a life?
    a woman, or a couple, will presumably be adult enough to have made the sexual choices that led her/them to the scenario of a pregnancy.. surely they could have decided whether they are capable/financially furnished/ bothered to raise a child within three months.. if not then go ahead and have an abortion.. just do it yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

dj jarvis wrote: »
    keep you propaganda to yourself - the ****e dont wash with me

as for days drawing to a close , did you see the age profile of the majority at that american prep rally ??? plenty of them will be drawing to a close soon enough

and you see , trotting out the " abortion as contraception " mantra just is total bull**** , EVERYONE knows it is , what is being discussed at the moment has NOTHING to do with contraception , its about saving SERIOUSLY sick women's lives but your black flag propaganda will only muddy the waters for these women and put their lives in MORE danger - well done you

so sure of your views being the majority ??? dont hear your lot calling for a full referendum on the issue - afraid the real opinion of the people actually might win

Lots of words there. Waste of time posting this stuff. It's all wrong. I would like a referendum. We do have abortion here already. 4,000 abortions per year is madness from any sane persons perspective.

4000 a year? Where is that number coming from. I think I asked in another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

darced wrote: »

no no , they were late term - easily identifiable as late term,
    it would make no impact if it was a bunch of cells would it

and in fairness , no way of even knowing they were aborted , they were just shock value pictures of dead babies

scum

and in fairness , no way of even knowing they were aborted , they were just shock value pictures of dead babies

scum

just pointing out that your use of the term 'babies' is interesting...
    Well, they weren't apples. What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why were people like Mickey Harte down protesting today.. would they not be better off protesting in their own country; where abortion is actually legal already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

endacl wrote: »
    Well, they weren't apples. What's your point?

Well for someone who has stated that they were pro choice.. calling them babies would seem to indicate that they acknowledge that aborting late term foetuses is killing babies:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

scum

Hardly a fair discussion if you're using late-term, or even photo-shopped, pictures as "evidence".

Seriously, a serious debate about this subject could be a beautiful thing, but acts like this undermine your own debate more than the pro-choice could even dream of doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I would have so much more respect for their point of view (even if I don't agree with it) if they didn't make this kind of shíte up.

Seriously, idiots may actually believe that stuff and join in because of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

really the pro live people are nut jobs
    3 weeks ago outside a shopping center in wicklow i saw 3 teenage boys ( around 13/14 ) standing at a roundabout with OBSCENE pictures of aborted a fetuses
    they looked mortified , freezing cold and getting dogs abuse from passers by
    children with parents out shopping , seeing these images

my wife had to stop me from telling the boys to go home, and take their placards off them ,
    what kind of parent puts the children up to do something like that?
    and dont tell me for one second tell me they volunteered,
    feckin pro life nut jobs scaring not only their own children, but of innocent children seeing these images

the only way they know is scare and bully boy tactics - your time is coming to a end - just like the church , a relic of the dark ages
    good riddance to the lot of you. woman hating ****tards
    darced wrote: »

It may be upsetting to a woman who has miscarried

That "side effect" may not bother the mentally unwell ones who came up with the idea of the posters

To be honest both sides are as bad as the other.. it seems that many posters have done very little actual thinking about the subject.. real detailed thinking such as what it would be like to be forced to have the child of some sick bastard who had abused you or the contrarian point, is it right to snuff out a potential life in a gruesome manner just because someone chooses not to be a parent.. if you don't want to be a parent get sterilised imo.

Well for someone who has stated that they were pro choice.. calling them babies would seem to indicate that they acknowledge that aborting late term foetuses is killing babies:)
    I'm pro-choice. No argument there. I've no problem with calling them babies. Call them little miracles if it makes you feel good.

The upper limit is between the woman, her conscience and her doctor. Restricted by legislation. What I want is legislation, and an end to interference in other people's lives.

End of.