Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Unlucky there RR. I am lucky in that my hamstring didn't tear, I pulled up just as I felt it tighten up so I was lucky. Hopefully it is not too serious. Definitely get a physio to have a look at it if you can, hamstring injuries are generally due to a tightness/weakness elsewhere in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Hows the Hamstring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Hows the Hamstring?

Still sore.Wearing compression bandage as we speak and elevating the leg.Plan is to rest it completely for next few days. Hopefully do so easy cycling nearer end of week with some gentle stretching and then next week see how it feels and maybe some gentle running around middle of week. Pondering a visit to physio but reluctant to spend 50-55 euros to be told to rest and stretch etc etc. Very frustrated as I was targeting Raheny 5 on 27th as a goal race but now I won't have had enough time to put in any "hard" training beforehand.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Still sore.Wearing compression bandage as we speak and elevating the leg.Plan is to rest it completely for next few days. Hopefully do so easy cycling nearer end of week with some gentle stretching and then next week see how it feels and maybe some gentle running around middle of week. Pondering a visit to physio but reluctant to spend 50-55 euros to be told to rest and stretch etc etc. Very frustrated as I was targeting Raheny 5 on 27th as a goal race but now I won't have had enough time to put in any "hard" training beforehand.

Thats a pity, but look up the next target, identify the next 'A' race and use that as your motivation.
    I'd still encourage you to go to one as it could be caused by something in your back/glutes/knees etc that s/he could identify?

Thats a pity, but look up the next target, identify the next 'A' race and use that as your motivation.
    I'd still encourage you to go to one as it could be caused by something in your back/glutes/knees etc that s/he could identify?

yeah youre probably right...will see if I can get an appointment tomorrow

3 days no running, 6 days no chocolate and only getting out of work now...how depressing! Physio appointment booked for Thurs night. could be good timing as my back is giving me problems again today on top of the hammer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

3 days no running, 6 days no chocolate and only getting out of work now...how depressing! Physio appointment booked for Thurs night. could be good timing as my back is giving me problems again today on top of the hammer...
    Fair play (she says as she finishes off another kitkat :o) Hope the physio sorts you out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

Feel better soon RR. Having just spent a couple of weeks doing very little, I know how frustrating it is. Best of luck this evening.

Fair play (she says as she finishes off another kitkat :o) Hope the physio sorts you out :)

I had some chocolate cake today but only because it's my son's birthday. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭pansophelia

Sorry to hear the injury has you completely out of action! It's really frustrating about Raheny, especially since you were flying along lately.
    I read an article in Runners World last week that had me thinking, it was about a guy who has been running most of his life and the lessons he had learned over the years. Anyway, one of them was that when you think about a life of running, thirty, forty or fifty years (well, longer for some of us than others;)), then taking a week or two off here and there to allow an injury to heal is so important, and such a small fraction of time. I don't think I'm paraphrasing very well, but it did make me think about longer term goals - like completing my thousandth Parkrun when I'm 65!

Sorry to hear the injury has you completely out of action! It's really frustrating about Raheny, especially since you were flying along lately.
    I read an article in Runners World last week that had me thinking, it was about a guy who has been running most of his life and the lessons he had learned over the years. Anyway, one of them was that when you think about a life of running, thirty, forty or fifty years (well, longer for some of us than others;)), then taking a week or two off here and there to allow an injury to heal is so important, and such a small fraction of time. I don't think I'm paraphrasing very well, but it did make me think about longer term goals - like completing my thousandth Parkrun when I'm 65!

That's gas I was just thinking that today. My big goal for the year is to go sub4 in DCM so I was just think today that I shouldnt worry too much about the injury now. I'd rather it now than in October! I reckon I'll still make Raheny 5 (depending on what physio says tomw) and still post a PB ,just not as big a one as I'm capable of.

The most frustrating thing is that I was hoping to give the local club a real go in january and now I have to delay that, but I supppose that can wait. Will give this one every chance to heal then I will be back with a vengeance!;)

Went to physio this evening....Good News...not a tear, most likely just a strain. She did a bit of work on it and gave me some strengthening exercises for back and glutes.

Recommendation is to apply heat and stretch as long as no pain and do strengthening exercises for back and glutes. If in 7-10 days , stretching on injury side is as painfree as good side then I can begin to ease back into the running. This should give me a week of running before Raheny 5 so should be able to run it but not race it hard, which I can deal with.

Signed up for Balbriggan Half Marathon on St Patrick's Day, not because its part of "The Plan" mostly for sentimental reasons. I lived there from age 6-19 and the charitable cause that is benefiting from the race is the Balbriggan Cancer Support Group. My Dad (God rest his soul) died from Cancer 4 years ago.

Assuming I recover quickly from this current injury which I am confident I will, this gives me a good target after Raheny 5 which will allow me to focus properly on my running. I'm hoping I can get back running by middle of next week so this would give me approximately 8 weeks training which should be enough. I've got a decent base of running since DCM of 20-30 miles per week so I've something to work with once I get back out on the road. If anyone can recommend a good training plan over 8 weeks, feel free to post suggestions here!

In terms of where I'm at...My current HM pB is 1:56 but I'm pretty confident I could go close to 1:50 in March if training goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

My dad is going through his battle with cancer right now. I lost a nephew to it a couple of years ago too. If I didn't already have wicklow on the following week I would join you.

guinang wrote: »
    My dad is going through his battle with cancer right now. I lost a nephew to it a couple of years ago too. If I didn't already have wicklow on the following week I would join you.

Sorry to hear that Guinang. I feel your pain. There's a possibility I might be doing the 10k option in Wicklow so might see you then.

No running since Jan 5th but just one more sleep and Im back.

U doing Raheny? Signed up today.

Yes, I'm signed up for it since before Christmas so ,assuming the next week goes ok with the injury, I'll do it, if even just to test the leg under race conditions. Won't be looking for any big PBs though. Another opportunity to sport the Boards AC t-shirt:)

What's your target for the race? You've had some great 5k times recently and training going well.

Not sure, my only 5m todate is the DCM series in June 2012 - I done 32:30. I'd be hoping to just break 32:00.
    Based on my 5k time Various race predictors say 32:01.

So happy to get out for a run this evening after 10 days off with Hamstring injury. Took it very easy at almost recovery pace. Didnt look at watch once during run, just wanted to do a short very comfortable run to see how the injury reacted . A bit of stiffness there but not sore so should be able to get out again tomorrow and maybe add another mile but still take it at easy pace.

3.47 miles @9:21 avg

WTD : 3.47m
    YTD : 23.5m

Good man. Take it handy now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭pansophelia

Delighted to see you back!

Raining and very blustery wind but didn't care because I'm back running again. Easy run tonight,pushed it a little harder than last night but not too much, still have to mind the leg a little bit and slowly build back up to where I was at 2 weeks ago.

4.25 miles @8:40 avg

Avg HR 144
    Max HR 192( That has to be wrong!)

WTD : 7.72m
    YTD : 27.75m

^^^^ Forgot to add, that miraculously despite 10 days of no running I've managed to lose 5lbs !:D The reduction of chocolate in the diet has obviously paid off.

Just when I thought things were going well and I was on the road to recovery....I put my back out!

my own stupidity of course...lifting the dog , bed and all from one room to the other , I was just putting him down on the floor and I felt my lower back give way. Same problem as I had at Christmas. There's obviously a weakness there that I need to fix.. Sooo frustrating...and painful!:mad: Walking around like an old man now , that's when I can eventually get myself to my feet.

Raheny 5 now looking in doubt....sick I am , sick!

Having a hard time of it now, those damn dogs will be the death of us.

Back not improved that much today. Didn't sleep well with the pain of it last night. Spent most of this morning debating with myself whether I should go back to Physio, see my GP, find a chiropractor, an osteopath, or spine specialist....Hmmmmmm:confused:

Finding it hard to get to standing position from seated position or lying down. Sometimes even when I'm walking , it's like my back gives way and is not able to take the weight of my upper body.

Decided to do nothing over weekend and probably go to GP on Monday, take the day of work. Maybe he will refer me on. An MRI would probably tell what the problem is but not sure how easy it is to get one of those. In the meantime its Solpadeine and lots of HTFU. Hate being injured but this awful because I feel so useless around the house too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Take it easy RR. Hope you feel better soon

Well, I've been to the Doctor and the diagnosis is that I have a prolapsed disc, or slipped disc as it is commonly known. Ordered to stay out of work for two weeks and not do anything silly, so I guess running is probably off the cards for next week anyway! He gave me a difene injection and I'm on a cocktail of painkillers and anti-inflammatorys.

Interestingly I still have to keep on the move as lying around doin nothing could be counterproductive. So plenty of walks over next while but no running just yet.

I'll be at Raheny 5 at end of the week but purely as a spectator to shout on a friend, some colleagues from running club at work and any Boardsies' I see.

Jaysus!