Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/4408490

I'm assuming thats for the 4 of them :rolleyes:
    Yeah and probably get a luck penney as well !!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 tkehoe

leg wax wrote: »
    well were you in ross, was there enough cows for you?

hi leg wax,
    didnt get a chance,had to get slurry out when i had a chance,will be there next sat all going well:)
    anyone there? many there? what were they going like? tried to ring them but i got through to some woman giving out about that im the 5th person ringing in relation to the mart :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

reilig wrote: »
    I wouldn't like to have you knocking on my gate intent on bargaining with me for my heifers :D

They are nice heifers. I bought heifers 3 months ago at Eur1500. They have gone up in price a bit since then - maybe not to Eur 2200, but up a bit from 1500 anyway.

A buddy of mine gave E4000 for two incalves.
    first one calved had a pi calve hard to take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

1500 more than enough for them if not too much, I have similar bunch here I would like rid off, nice big quite charalois heifers didnt bother looking for a buyer as I taught there would be no interest.

Well theres always an odd one making a big price but, one with the other, yeah 1500 is plenty.
    Here in the NW you will get an increase in interest as the spring progresses (weather permitting!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

caseman wrote: »

bet he wont be buying unless tested for BVD in the future, a sure if she is a good heifer she will come into 1500 on the hook so all is not lost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

caseman wrote: »

That's a tough one allright. Just shows that this BVD scheme is badly needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

r.i.p paddy o keeffe.. always found his column interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MfMan

whelan1 wrote: »
    r.i.p paddy o keeffe.. always found his column interesting

Has he passed away? He got married recently again, fair play to him. In his last column he mentioned having to attend the Blackrock clinic for what sounded like a routine nosebleed.

MfMan wrote: »
    Has he passed away? He got married recently again, fair play to him. In his last column he mentioned having to attend the Blackrock clinic for what sounded like a routine nosebleed.
    died in his sleep yesterday...

reilig wrote: »
    That's a tough one allright. Just shows that this BVD scheme is badly needed.
    but just because the calf came back a pi doesnt mean the dam is too.... what way does this work now? will previous owner compensate?

Just a quick qestion to ye,"What would ye expect to pay per hour for a man with a tractor and post driver(post driver is heavy duty).
    Farmer to supply all fencing materials.Sorry if this has already been posted,one of my new years resoloutions is to be more active here,not to be hurling from the side line!!!
    thanks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

No idea per hour. But I'd usually agree a price per metre run before hand. Last time it was around 1.20e per m for 1 strand of hi-tensile. Normally I'd supply all the materials separately.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

hoseman wrote: »
    Just a quick qestion to ye,"What would ye expect to pay per hour for a man with a tractor and post driver(post driver is heavy duty).
    Farmer to supply all fencing materials.Sorry if this has already been posted,one of my new years resoloutions is to be more active here,not to be hurling from the side line!!!
    thanks

I paid a lad around 20 an hour with a minimum price of 100 to make it worth his while. about 18 months ago. In fairness you would put up a lot of stakes in a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

sea12 wrote: »
    I paid a lad around 20 an hour with a minimum price of 100 to make it worth his while. about 18 months ago. In fairness you would put up a lot of stakes in a few hours.

40e an hour round these parts. In fairness with right conditions you could drive a lot of posts in that time if set up right. Paid me better to get the lad with the track machine last time, had him doing a few other bits as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

thanks
    last time we paid someone forthat job he charged 1 europer stake with a bit off because they were all laid out and he could do it real quick. have my own now and would charge 45 per hour including vat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

You have to laugh !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

pakalasa wrote: »
    You have to laugh !
    236342.jpg
    Wasn't there a similar campaign to encourage cycling by the elderly?:
    236350.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

thanks

35euro / hr here.

Thanks for the quick replies,now I have a guide price to work off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Where is best place to get rubber mats, do they come in diff sizes, want one for bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

sea12 wrote: »
    did he arrive with a mallet on his shoulder cause if he brought a tractor and post driver to a job for 20 euro an hour he would want a good kick up the asre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

charityboy wrote: »
    did he arrive with a mallet on his shoulder cause if he brought a tractor and post driver to a job for 20 euro an hour he would want a good kick up the asre

Id tell him he was a great lad and ask him if he does any other work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

hugo29 wrote: »
    Where is best place to get rubber mats, do they come in diff sizes, want one for bull

http://www.easyfix.ie/ We got ours here. They come in several different sizes to match the slat dimensions. Solid rubber mats are supplied to cover lie back areas etc. I think they were 6'x4'.

Your bull wont know himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    Alfco trim have a good selection of mats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

whats the going rate (cash in hand) for a lad coming on farm for a few hours per day for the next few weeks of calving .... just a local lad working between school drop off/pick ups .
    i dont want appear too stingy ... :D cheers

whats the going rate (cash in hand) for a lad coming on farm for a few hours per day for the next few weeks of calving .... just a local lad working between school drop off/pick ups .
    i dont want appear too stingy ... :D cheers
    €8/hr??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

td5man wrote: »
    €8/hr??

would you do it for that?

dzer2 wrote: »
    would you do it for that?
    was thinking more like 10 euro myself , if you want to keep the person

Last time i worked in dublin that was what i was taking home. :(
    I thought the op said it was for a lad after school, someone that can work on their own initiative would be worth €10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

td5man wrote: »
    Last time i worked in dublin that was what i was taking home. :(
    I thought the op said it was for a lad after school, someone that can work on their own initiative would be worth €10.
    Yeah it sounded a bit like that. Although reading it again it's a father who is available between dropping off the kids and collecting them. Unfortunately there is alot of them out there these days.

Agree €10/hr. It would be a huge help to him.