suitcase stealers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

To Limerick :P I was waiting on the Dublin coach!

From bad to worse! Better make sure that case is handcuffed to you now! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

On holiday resorts a regular one is that people take your suitcase when you get off the bus, pretending to be hotel staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

On holiday resorts a regular one is that people take your suitcase when you get off the bus, pretending to be hotel staff.
    They're almost as bad as the wallet inspectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Glad it worked out ok in the end OP! It goes to show the length people are going to anymore to rob your stuff!

I had an experience near Connolly Station a while ago. I was walking along Amiens Street (about 8.30pm on a weekend) and a guy came towards me staggering really badly and barely able to keep his balance. He came to an entrance to some car park or something and fell onto the wall and seemed to be clinging on to it to stay upright.

At first I thought he was some drunk / strung out young fella (which wouldn't be uncommon), but when I got closer, he was an older guy, fairly well dressed, and looked terrified - visibly shaking. So, against my better judgment, I went over to see if he was ok (because he could have taken ill or need help).

So, I came up and asked if he needed any help, and he was just mumbling at me. I was trying to ask him where he lived and thinking should I call an ambulance or see if I could get him into a taxi, and next thing, I could see his face change and look really alert and he made a grab for my handbag. I let out a scream and he let go and went racing off the road (no bad balance anymore!). A few people passing by came over to me, but nobody went after him. I went into Store Street Garda Station afterwards to report what happened and give a description of the guy and, while they said they'd look into it, they also said that I shouldn't stop to help anybody anymore.

This is a sad state of affairs. I remember a few months ago there was a guy walking along Stephen's Green. He was walking a bit oddly and had a bit of a droop in his face. He was ahead of me, and I saw him trying to stop a few people and they all just walked on. When I came up to him, I asked if he needed help, and it turns out he was a visitor to Ireland and just wanted directions. His walk and look was due to a disability, and, despite our reputation as being a hospitable nation, nobody would help him because of all the messing going out around here!

I don't have a solution - you have to stay safe. But it's a shame that these chancers are ruining things for everybody else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Maybe he wasn't so interested in your suitcase after all but had just gotten tired of the ever changing nicknames and the eternal anal and Florida stories? :confused:

mod

Don't post like that again please. Fair warning.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

MORE POLISH, LESS HOMELESS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Higher wrote: »

sad to say , but a good portion of the homeless and drunks around the city are polish, Latvian ect
    migrants also are a good proportion of the users of the soup kitchens and shelters

like the irish in london in the 70's and 80's

this could have been a very different thread if the attacker was a migrant homeless guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Limerick, you say? Come here to me and I'll teach you to love cuddles.

http://media-cache-ec6.pinterest.com/upload/168110998562404505_8JXV56NL_c.jpg

Damn straight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

WindSock wrote: »
    Pink suitcases all the way. No one would touch a pink suitcase. Or get a picture of Beiber on it. No one would touch a Beiber suitcase. And you could call it your Justin Case too. Advantages are endless. Except for the Justin Beiber head on your suitcase.

Or if you want to be really extreme and put a bomb in your suitcase, that way if someone ever steals it, you can just hit a button, and KABOOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

MORE POLISH women, LESS HOMELESS.

Fixed your post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

Or if you want to be really extreme and put a bomb in your suitcase, that way if someone ever steals it, you can just hit a button, and KABOOM

Someone already made that point earlier in the thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

There are head cases in every county/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

realies wrote: »
    There are head cases in every county/

County or Country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Lars1916 wrote: »
    County or Country?

Well county as in this case :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

polish pfft!!

If it was a brazilian, the homeless guy would have got hammer fists and a knee to the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

This goes to prove my theory that everyone who stops to talk to you should get punched in the face.

Posted from Mountjoy Prison, Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

the Polish guy was bloody gorgeous too

I love Polish men! So big, so brave, so handsome! Come back Polish men! Breed with our Irish population! Make a better looking future!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

csi vegas wrote: »
    I love Polish men! So big, so brave, so handsome! Come back Polish men! Breed with our Irish population! Make a better looking future!

I would also like if the Polish women came back for breeding purposes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I suppose he got a roide in the jacks instead, as usual?

Yeah course he did, Im not ungrateful like...

:rolleyes: Welcome to boards friend,you wont last long. You seem to know me so well for someone so new.

RaRa has competition :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I got the airport bus from the airport to Heuston station. There were already people on the bus and only a few seats downstairs as the luggage racks take up a lot of space.

I was fortunate to get a seat downstairs, but it did seem to me that the suitcases were very vulnerable for people who had to go upstairs. People were getting off and there was no knowing which were passengers getting their own bags and which were just randomers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

mfceiling wrote: »
    This goes to prove my theory that everyone who stops to talk to you should get punched in the face.

Posted from Mountjoy Prison, Dublin

Did somebody forget to pay their TV license again???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Yeah course he did, Im not ungrateful like...

:rolleyes: Welcome to boards friend,you wont last long. You seem to know me so well for someone so new.

RaRa has competition :rolleyes:

You roide a guy in the toilets? Gents or ladies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

csi vegas wrote: »

Or you could go over to them!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Boombastic wrote: »
    Are the Gardai going to investigate the case?
    I see what you did there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    I see what you did there

:confused: Seriously, I hope they're looking in to it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Roki

On the 24th of January 2015 My mom travelled back from Dublin to Shannon on JJKavanagh when she went out of the bus in Shannon (She was the last person in the bus to get out) she noticed her Suitcase was not there. Someone couldn't have made a mistake, stolen the suitcase I believe. There were very important MRI scans inside which My mom did, she was very stressed after she lost very important items in the suitcase I felt really awfull seeing her cry, people steal but they don't know how much pain others are going through because of stealing. :(

Actually if anyone would see such Black suitcase with shoes, macaroons, white phone charger, MRI scans and clothing inside I'd be veeeery grateful if someone could message me. MRI scans are the most important. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Roki wrote: »
    Actually if anyone would see such Black suitcase with shoes, macaroons, white phone charger, MRI scans and clothing inside I'd be veeeery grateful if someone could message me. MRI scans are the most important. :)

Sorry to hear it. Surely the hospital or clinic would have the originals or the MRI scans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Roki

To be honest They should have them but I am not sure if they'll want to give them away again. If yes I bet they'll want us to pay or something. Honestly I am not sure :( I hope they will, My mom cannot stress herself anymore :(