Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

suitcase stealers!

• 12-01-2013 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭

Was standing at the bus stop on Westmorland St in Dublin this morning with a suitcase.
    A homeless man came over and started chatting to me, very friendly I have to say. I kept my hand on the handle while he asked me things, where I'm going, how long, taxi men are men are knobs etc.

As he was talking to me he kept touching my case and looking at my hand. As this was happening a Polish man came over and stood near us, looking at us out of the corner of his eye.
    The homeless man asked had I any drink in my case or was it just clothes.
    Then he grabbed my hand and pulled it off the case. He asks if its heavy and went to pick it up, I tried to stop him and he pushes my hand away, grabs my case and legs it!
    The polish man darts after him with me and gets it back for me! The air coach driver came running over and chased him off. I was so grateful to both, I have a bad back and my purse was in the case because I can't carry weight on my shoulders, dragging a case was all I could manage.

The air coach driver said it happens a lot. Has this happened to anyone else?? I felt so stupid for not keeping a proper hold on it But I knew I couldn't wrestle him off with my back so bad.
    I am so thankful to the men that helped m not many would have. The man could have had a knife or anything.

TL;DR- Be carefull with suitcases, don't be an idiot like me, and strangers are kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

You're right, Dublin is a bit of a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Fair play to the Polish lad pity he didn't punch him while he was at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

It's Lawless:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Were you dressed as a gorilla at the time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

You're right, Dublin is a bit of a kip.

Bit of a sweeping and general statement! Could happen in any city.

Glad it worked out for you OP, must've been scary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

did you give them a cuddle

Are the Gardai going to investigate the case?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I work for Irish Rail and this happens a lot more than it really should.

The country is full of scummers, sorry, I mean 'disadvantaged' people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Was standing at the bus stop on Westmorland St in Dublin this morning with a suitcase.
    A homeless man came over and started chatting to me, very friendly I have to say. I kept my hand on the handle while he asked me things, where I'm going, how long, taxi men are men are knobs etc.

As he was talking to me he kept touching my case and looking at my hand. As this was happening a Polish man came over and stood near us, looking at us out of the corner of his eye.
    Then he grabbed my hand and pulled it off the case. He asks if its heavy and went to pick it up, I tried to stop him and he pushes my hand away, grabs my case and legs it!
    The polish man darts after him with me and gets it back for me! The air coach driver came running over and chased him off. I was so grateful to both, I have a bad back and my purse was in the case because I can't carry weight on my shoulders, dragging a case was all I could manage.

The air coach driver said it happens a lot. Has this happened to anyone else?? I felt so stupid for not keeping a proper hold on it But I knew I couldn't wrestle him off with my back so bad.
    I am so thankful to the men that helped m not many would have. The man could have had a knife or anything.

TL;DR- Be carefull with suitcases, don't be an idiot like me, and strangers are kind.

Jesus, have they not reported that area if the bus driver said this happens all the time?
    Glad your ok cuddles

Jesus, have they not reported that area if the bus driver said this happens all the time?
    Glad your ok cuddles

OP you might have a strong enough case to start a law suit/case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I was shaking after, the Polish guy was bloody gorgeous too. He stood there for a while knowing what was going to happen! He could have just kept going, but he stayed to help knowing I needed it.

Just thought I'd share a nice story :) hopefully people will be extra careful the coach driver said it happens all the time and half the time they get away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Just so you know, Polish peeps give great cuddles.

But you will never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Pink suitcases all the way. No one would touch a pink suitcase. Or get a picture of Beiber on it. No one would touch a Beiber suitcase. And you could call it your Justin Case too. Advantages are endless. Except for the Justin Beiber head on your suitcase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Maybe he wasn't so interested in your suitcase after all but had just gotten tired of the ever changing nicknames and the eternal anal and Florida stories? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Didn't your mum and dad tell you not to talk to strangers so just ignore these people and you have sadly learned the hard way.

Glad you got it back and hope people do actually see that there are people always looking for an easy target like yourself.

Always keep your personal belongings as close to you as possible and keep your money and cards on your person not in the bag.

He would have hit the jackpot with my case, a rake of booze! And cash!

I would have cuddled the man who helped, I was going to hug him I was so grateful! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

He would have hit the jackpot with my case, a rake of booze! And cash!

I would have cuddled the man who helped, I was going to hug him I was so grateful! :o

your user name really is spot on isnt it :pac: glad it all worked out for you anyway, some scummy fookers around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

This is why everyone should place large quantities of time-controlled explosives in their suitcases.

Maybe he wasn't so interested in your suitcase after all but had just gotten tired of the ever changing nicknames and the eternal anal and Florida stories? :confused:

Ah, my biggest fan. How I've missed you giving out about absolutely everything I do/say ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Jacob T wrote: »
    This is why everyone should place large quantities of time-controlled explosives in their suitcases.

So you'd have to be home by a certain time to disarm it then?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭upforit101

Sorry that this awful thing happened to you op.
    This story is yet more evidence of what A ****-HOLE INNER CITY DUBLIN IS.
    Are you listening cosseted Politicans?
    Do you even care?
    What's it going to take for you to do something?
    Would wide-scale muggings of tourists sharpen the mind?
    What if someone from the Troika was robbed coming out of the Merrion?

A few days ago I was in Wroclaw Poland - a similar sized city to Dublin.
    Not a scumbag ,homeless, junkie in sight.
    I was depressed on the flight home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I agree OP, bus stops are incredibly dangerous places, if only there were a safer way of getting from destination A to destination B, whilst carrying luggage.

Hmmmm. . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

What an absolute pieball. Lucky that fella was there or your knickers would of been getting sold at Tara st train station! I'm starting to think s vigilante group is needed around Dublin at times.

Off on holidays IHC?! Well for bloody some!! :D

upforit101 wrote: »
    Sorry that this awful thing happened to you op.
    This story is yet more evidence of what A ****-HOLE INNER CITY DUBLIN IS.
    Are you listening cosseted Politicans?
    Do you even care?
    What's it going to take for you to do something?
    Would wide-scale muggings of tourists sharpen the mind?
    What if someone from the Troika was robbed coming out of the Merrion?

A few days ago I was in Wroclaw Poland - a similar sized city to Dublin.
    Not a scumbag ,homeless, junkie in sight.
    I was depressed on the flight home.
    I don't know this one, but if you hum the tune I'll have a go at it.

What an absolute pieball. Lucky that fella was there or your knickers would of been getting sold at Tara st train station! I'm starting to think s vigilante group is needed around Dublin at times.

Off on holidays IHC?! Well for bloody some!! :D

To Limerick :P I was waiting on the Dublin coach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

TV3 are filming a documentary as we speak. "Dublin Bus ****,Passengers Under Siege"

Used to see this a lot in my student days.The bus would pull up outside the college & the scumbags from the estate opposite would wait until the luggage compartment doors opened & grab what they could before the passengers all got off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Fair play to the Polish man, you must have gotten an awful shock.

I'd be like that, I'd talk away to a stranger, never thinking they might have more sinister ideas.

Hope you enjoyed Limerick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Where To wrote: »
    I agree OP, bus stops are incredibly dangerous places, if only there were a safer way of getting from destination A to destination B, whilst carrying luggage.

Hmmmm. . . . .

Yeah that's what I wondered too! How does your PM Inbox not be full on a Saturday night? :D

I'm glad the OP is ok and things worked out and she got her stuff back, and to anyone that says "Dublin this that and the other", this could've, and DOES happen, in any city in the world, no matter how careful you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Limerick, you say? Come here to me and I'll teach you to love cuddles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

From bad to worse! Better make sure that case is handcuffed to you now! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

On holiday resorts a regular one is that people take your suitcase when you get off the bus, pretending to be hotel staff.

They're almost as bad as the wallet inspectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Glad it worked out ok in the end OP! It goes to show the length people are going to anymore to rob your stuff!

I had an experience near Connolly Station a while ago. I was walking along Amiens Street (about 8.30pm on a weekend) and a guy came towards me staggering really badly and barely able to keep his balance. He came to an entrance to some car park or something and fell onto the wall and seemed to be clinging on to it to stay upright.

At first I thought he was some drunk / strung out young fella (which wouldn't be uncommon), but when I got closer, he was an older guy, fairly well dressed, and looked terrified - visibly shaking. So, against my better judgment, I went over to see if he was ok (because he could have taken ill or need help).

So, I came up and asked if he needed any help, and he was just mumbling at me. I was trying to ask him where he lived and thinking should I call an ambulance or see if I could get him into a taxi, and next thing, I could see his face change and look really alert and he made a grab for my handbag. I let out a scream and he let go and went racing off the road (no bad balance anymore!). A few people passing by came over to me, but nobody went after him. I went into Store Street Garda Station afterwards to report what happened and give a description of the guy and, while they said they'd look into it, they also said that I shouldn't stop to help anybody anymore.

This is a sad state of affairs. I remember a few months ago there was a guy walking along Stephen's Green. He was walking a bit oddly and had a bit of a droop in his face. He was ahead of me, and I saw him trying to stop a few people and they all just walked on. When I came up to him, I asked if he needed help, and it turns out he was a visitor to Ireland and just wanted directions. His walk and look was due to a disability, and, despite our reputation as being a hospitable nation, nobody would help him because of all the messing going out around here!

I don't have a solution - you have to stay safe. But it's a shame that these chancers are ruining things for everybody else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

mod

Don't post like that again please. Fair warning.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

MORE POLISH, LESS HOMELESS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Higher wrote: »

sad to say , but a good portion of the homeless and drunks around the city are polish, Latvian ect
    migrants also are a good proportion of the users of the soup kitchens and shelters

like the irish in london in the 70's and 80's

this could have been a very different thread if the attacker was a migrant homeless guy

Limerick, you say? Come here to me and I'll teach you to love cuddles.

http://media-cache-ec6.pinterest.com/upload/168110998562404505_8JXV56NL_c.jpg

Damn straight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

WindSock wrote: »
    Pink suitcases all the way. No one would touch a pink suitcase. Or get a picture of Beiber on it. No one would touch a Beiber suitcase. And you could call it your Justin Case too. Advantages are endless. Except for the Justin Beiber head on your suitcase.

Or if you want to be really extreme and put a bomb in your suitcase, that way if someone ever steals it, you can just hit a button, and KABOOM

MORE POLISH women, LESS HOMELESS.

Fixed your post!

Or if you want to be really extreme and put a bomb in your suitcase, that way if someone ever steals it, you can just hit a button, and KABOOM

Someone already made that point earlier in the thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

There are head cases in every county/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

realies wrote: »
    There are head cases in every county/

County or Country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Lars1916 wrote: »
    County or Country?

Well county as in this case :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

polish pfft!!

If it was a brazilian, the homeless guy would have got hammer fists and a knee to the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

This goes to prove my theory that everyone who stops to talk to you should get punched in the face.

Posted from Mountjoy Prison, Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

the Polish guy was bloody gorgeous too

I love Polish men! So big, so brave, so handsome! Come back Polish men! Breed with our Irish population! Make a better looking future!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

csi vegas wrote: »
    I love Polish men! So big, so brave, so handsome! Come back Polish men! Breed with our Irish population! Make a better looking future!

I would also like if the Polish women came back for breeding purposes

I suppose he got a roide in the jacks instead, as usual?

Yeah course he did, Im not ungrateful like...

:rolleyes: Welcome to boards friend,you wont last long. You seem to know me so well for someone so new.

RaRa has competition :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,090 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I got the airport bus from the airport to Heuston station. There were already people on the bus and only a few seats downstairs as the luggage racks take up a lot of space.

I was fortunate to get a seat downstairs, but it did seem to me that the suitcases were very vulnerable for people who had to go upstairs. People were getting off and there was no knowing which were passengers getting their own bags and which were just randomers.