Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Liverpool supporters crack me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

At least we did try and fix the problems we got it wrong but at least we didn't sit back and say ahwell .

Does it not bother you that you are in the Champions League year after year get to Quarters and will more then likely be out of the competition . I would rather not be in it at all then to not stand a chance . That seems to be the Attitude at Arsenal now and its quite sad to see .

Tryed to fix it with a 100 odd million on **** players, Wenger got better players than pool last few seasons at half the expense.

Yes it really bothers Arsenal fans to be in it every year they'd much prefere not, that must be great crack altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Worth pointing out there's been a little thing in the Champions League while ye've been in the eastern Russian wilderness the past few years called the Greatest Team in living memory, if not ever, who we ran into twice, pushing pretty close at least the second time.

If ever there's been a model to follow, it's theirs. It's certainly not Liverpool's.

I admire what Rodgers is doing, and I'm fond of Liverpool as a club, but I wonder will you back here sympathising with Arsenal fans after your next 3 away games? You're clearly a very optimistic fan, but you might be underestimating just how far Liverpool have to go.

Out of interest, do you think they were right to sack Benitez? Had the players and the manager lost their winning mentality? Had the club gone stale? Did things need shaking up?

How has it worked out since?

This isn't the Liverpool thread. It's the Arsenal one. However it sums there are a lot of sensitive little creatures or children who post in the thread who can't seem to take any type of criticism or opinion about their own club with throwing the toys out of the pram.

My opinion on Arsenal has no relevance to my supporting of Liverpool Honestly Emeralds opinion that someone can only comment on another club is arguable one of the most ridiculous things I've read on these boards. If you lads want some Arsenal cirlce jerk than go to whatever Arsenal forum is popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

bought a couple of tickets for the loliverpool game via red membership tonight (remarkable that you can buy them considering oppositon and the fact that the game is in less than 3 weeks) but had to pay 92 pounds sterling per ticket - for seats in the fcuking ozone layer. Luckily they're not for me and I'm not paying for them on the end - but fcuk me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

This isn't the Liverpool thread. It's the Arsenal one. However it sums there are a lot of sensitive little creatures or children who post in the thread who can't seem to take any type of criticism or opinion about their own club with throwing the toys out of the pram.

My opinion on Arsenal has no relevance to my supporting of Liverpool Honestly Emeralds opinion that someone can only comment on another club is arguable one of the most ridiculous things I've read on these boards. If you lads want some Arsenal cirlce jerk than go to whatever Arsenal forum is popular.

Haha seems you're a lot touchier than I am pal. You've come in here to give your opinion on the state of our club, I've asked you a few straightforward ones about your opinion on your own and you freak out?!

Well I don't want to be warned for taking the thread off-topic, I've no problem answering the questions at all. I will though if you really want, hopefully the mods won't mind.

The next 3 Liverpool results have no bearing on my opinion on Arsenal or my desire to express it, why would they?:confused:

No Rafa shouldn't have been sacked. Previous season Rafa finished 2nd and made a good stab at the league. I don't think they lost the winning mentality, I think the strain of the clown owners took it's toll and the negative press Rafa received. We needed new owners, could call that shaking up. Worked out very poorly since we did it, as expected really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Worth pointing out there's been a little thing in the Champions League while ye've been in the eastern Russian wilderness the past few years called the Greatest Team in living memory, if not ever, who we ran into twice, pushing pretty close at least the second time.

If ever there's been a model to follow, it's theirs. It's certainly not Liverpool's.

I admire what Rodgers is doing, and I'm fond of Liverpool as a club, but I wonder will you back here sympathising with Arsenal fans after your next 3 away games? You're clearly a very optimistic fan, but you might be underestimating just how far Liverpool have to go.

Out of interest, do you think they were right to sack Benitez? Had the players and the manager lost their winning mentality? Had the club gone stale? Did things need shaking up?

How has it worked out since?

But correct me if I'm wrong , didn't Chelsea and Inter beat them during that time ?
    Our model was brought on by mental owners and there lack of investment in the playing staff kind of like your board is doing now .
    Two of our next three away games are the toughest in the league but sure you have to play everybody twice . if your referring to the Arsenal game as a tough one for us its a fairly even game yous have weak points in your team and so do we .
    I didn't want Rafa to be sacked he has us within touching distance of the winning the League but the money had dried up and he was tossed out the door like it was his fault . When in fact it was the owners who made a mess of everything .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was just looking over the records of some of our players and how we can afford to retain players who are injury prone is baffling. Here is Diaby's record -

2. Abou Diaby - Full Arsenal Record
    Prem Lge Europe FA Cup Lge Cup C. Shield Total
    Player Ap Gl Ap Gl Ap Gl Ap Gl Ap Gl Ap Gl
    2005-2006 9+3 1 0+2 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 11+5 1
    2006-2007 9+3 1 0+1 0 1 0 3+1 0 0 0 13+5 1
    2007-2008 9+6 1 5+1 2 2 0 4+1 1 0 0 20+8 4
    2008-2009 16+8 3 5+2 1 4+1 0 0 0 0 0 25+11 4
    2009-2010 26+3 6 9+1 1 0+1 0 0 0 0 0 35+5 7
    2010-2011 13+3 2 1 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 17+3 2
    2011-2012 0+4 0 0+1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0+5 0
    2012-2013 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0
    Totals 87+30 14 21+8 4 11+2 0 8+2 1 0 0 127+42 19
    Key:Prem Lge = Barclays Premier LeagueC. Shield = Community ShieldEurope = UEFA Champions LeagueAp = AppearancesFA Cup = FA Cup sponsored by E-onGl = Goals ScoredLge Cup = Carling Cup

He has been at the club since 2005 and has only played in 127 games.
    This guy owes us big-time and it's time he began to pay us back. I like him and think he is a great player but jaysus he only averages less than 20 games a season.

But correct me if I'm wrong , didn't Chelsea and Inter beat them during that time ?
    Our model was brought on by mental owners and there lack of investment in the playing staff kind of like your board is doing now .
    Two of our next three away games are the toughest in the league but sure you have to play everybody twice . if your referring to the Arsenal game as a tough one for us its a fairly even game yous have weak points in your team and so do we .
    I didn't want Rafa to be sacked he has us within touching distance of the winning the League but the money had dried up and he was tossed out the door like it was his fault . When in fact it was the owners who made a mess of everything .

did we not already batter ye earlier in the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

He can't just be unlucky his make up seems to be the issue, if his body hasn't strengthened and settled by now I don't think it ever will. It's a shame because he has the potential to be a top player

Either way we are stuck with him for a few years more, would love to see what he could do fully fit for a season

jonny666 wrote: »
    did we not already batter ye earlier in the season?

Did we not batter you's last time we played at the emirates ? Didn't we also have our 100 million wasters on the pitch that day ? One result doesn't define a season .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Did we not batter you's last time we played at the emirates ? Didn't we also have our 100 million wasters on the pitch that day ? One result doesn't define a season .

Did for Man City :D

blobby360 wrote: »
    Did for Man City :D

Yeah true ! But I don't think we will see something like that again any time soon .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

If you lads want some Arsenal cirlce jerk than go to whatever Arsenal forum is popular.

What?

The very last thing this Arsenal Thread is is a "circle jerk"

The majority of posts here from us fans are usually moaning about the team and where our weaknesses are both on and off the field. and more often than not we are questioning when was the last time any of us saw Diaby. (Last time I rememeber he was pissing all over the scousers at Anfield) Cheap shot my bad :P But in all seriousness its not very often you'll hear any of us championing this Arsenal team.

Match threads are different as its usually knee reactions to goals ect but this team thread a "circle jerk" nah pal your wrong there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

This. From a Liverpool supporter?

What?

The very last thing this Arsenal Thread is is a "circle jerk"

The majority of posts here from us fans are usually moaning about the team and where our weaknesses are both on and off the field. and more often than not we are questioning when was the last time any of us saw Diaby. (Last time I rememeber he was pissing all over the scousers at Anfield) Cheap shot my bad :P But in all seriousness its not very often you'll hear any of us championing this Arsenal team.

Match threads are different as its usually knee reactions to goals ect but this team thread a "circle jerk" nah pal your wrong there

Circle jerk was a poor phrase. It seems that it's only Arsenal fans who are allowed/wanted to give their opinion on Arsenal in here according to some. Otherwise it's cheap shots galore. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Does it not bother you that you are in the Champions League year after year get to Quarters and will more then likely be out of the competition . I would rather not be in it at all then to not stand a chance .

The irony here is that if you aren't in the Champions League you stand literally zero chance of winning it. Where Arsenal qualify for it each season, giving it a go against Europe's elite teams. This year we are very unlikely to win (In fact, I'd say we are very unlikely to get past Bayern Munich), but we've gotten further than both City and Chelsea with their teams that costed hundreds of millions to assemble.
    So long as a team qualifies to play in the Champions League they have a chance of winning it, however small. The team that doesn't qualify has absolutely no chance. I'd rather have a 1 in a 100 shot at winning it than a 0 in a 100.
    The old adage, "You can't win if you aren't in".

Galvasean wrote: »
    The irony here is that if you aren't in the Champions League you stand literally zero chance of winning it. Where Arsenal qualify for it each season, giving it a go against Europe's elite teams. This year we are very unlikely to win (In fact, I'd say we are very unlikely to get past Bayern Munich), but we've gotten further than both City and Chelsea with their teams that costed hundreds of millions to assemble.
    So long as a team qualifies to play in the Champions League they have a chance of winning it, however small. The team that doesn't qualify has absolutely no chance. I'd rather have a 1 in a 100 shot at winning it than a 0 in a 100.

Yeah that is true but Man City had an awful group and that kind of excuses them . To me even though Arsenal are in the champions league it will get harder to attract the top players if they see them going home at the early stages of the knockout rounds . They will just view Arsenal as a filler team and thats not what Arsenal is all about in my eyes .

I sort agree with the part in bold. To me though Arsenal are an attractive prospect for players wanting to break the big time. Come over, play some Champions League football, make a name for yourself, then move on. It's a big problem when we have promising youngsters coming in and then sodding of and enjoying their best years elsewhere.
    That said, I definitely cannot see how players of a very high quality would prefer to join a team with no Champions League football (unless the wages were significantly better). Certainly, someone like Santi Cazorla would probably have chosen Arsenal over Liverpool had he been given the option of either/or all things being equal money-wise. Certainly 'Pool pipped us to Sahin, but that's because we weren't willing to pay the wages required to land him.
    When you look at the players Liverpool have been signing lately they are by and large from teams who weren't playing Champions League football in any case, so the idea that they might prefer a non-Champions League outfit to Champions League also-rans doesn't really hold water.

I sort agree with the part in bold. To me though Arsenal are an attractive prospect for players wanting to break the big time. Come over, play some Champions League football, make a name for yourself, then move on. It's a big problem when we have promising youngsters coming in and then sodding of and enjoying their best years elsewhere.
    That said, I definitely cannot see how players of a very high quality would prefer to join a team with no Champions League football (unless the wages were significantly better). Certainly, someone like Santi Cazorla would probably have chosen Arsenal over Liverpool had he been given the option of either/or all things being equal money-wise. Certainly 'Pool pipped us to Sahin, but that's because we weren't willing to pay the wages required to land him.
    When you look at the players Liverpool have been signing lately they are by and large from teams who weren't playing Champions League football in any case, so the idea that they might prefer a non-Champions League outfit to Champions League also-rans doesn't really hold water.

I know what you are saying about us and buying players we will have to spend big to get decent players or hope the ones we buy turn into something special .

What I can't really understand is the fact yous are in such a great finicial position and won't kill out the opposition ie Liverpool , Spurs and Everton . If yous went and did one big shop yous could really assemble a great team but it seems alot of people are content with champions league football . If Liverpool went down this route it would drive me up the wall .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Tell that to our board our problems are weirdly similar in a way you lot spends loads and haven't a clue what to do with it (carroll,Henderson,Downing)

Our Owners spend **** all so our manager has to be clever with it bar the obvious bollocks ups (santos,chamakh,gervinho)

What I can't really understand is the fact yous are in such a great finicial position and won't kill out the opposition ie Liverpool , Spurs and Everton . If yous went and did one big shop yous could really assemble a great team but it seems alot of people are content with champions league football . If Liverpool went down this route it would drive me up the wall .

Actually, it frustrates the hell out f us. We've been one or two key signings from having a great team for the best part of a decade now.
    I've heard rumours of an impending board takeover and that's why they are so reluctant to spend, but it has been going on for years now so I doubt that is the cause. I think the board are happy to collect their big dividends and are over-relying on Wenger to keep the ship afloat by unearthing hidden gems at bargain prices. They get their money every year so see no reason to change.
    I don't speak for everybody, but it's not that we, the fans are content with 4th place every season and no trophies; we just think it naive to expect anything else from a club which has seemed content to do so for seven years and counting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Its funny, we haven't a chance of winning the champions league this season yet the ironic thing about it is Liverpool didn't have a chance right up until the 54th minute in the 2005 final. On paper that was a pretty average team bar a few obvious exceptions, and must rank as one of the most unlikely to lift the trophy in the last 20 years(bar maybe Porto?). Yet they still pulled some immense performances out of the hat along the way. That Liverpool team is pretty much the reason I think we might win the champions league every season even though we haven't a hope in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Yeah true ! But I don't think we will see something like that again any time soon .

Do you remember the previous time something like that happened? Or have you tried to black it out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Well, that was an interesting few pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Best Wenger pic ever - plus a nice article from back in the day.
    http://angryofislington.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/standard-15may1998-aw-feature.jpg

Taken off twitter this morning - DarrenArsenal1 account.

Is it me or with Chamack and Gervinio gone are we really short on players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Whats new with us? Plus SSN are reporting we've pulled out of the Wilfried Zaha race.... What the **** is wrong with this club, we will be severely found out if we don't add some quality to the first team! Looking at Spurs starting 11 I could only see Cazorla & Wilshere getting a start for them, its frightening how far were behind them in terms of quality.

Arsene surely has to have something up his sleeve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

We were short with them IN the team in fairness.