Likely False Rumours of Gardai Deployed in Belfast

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Over the past few years I've heard an increasing amount of southern accents in the PSNI. I always took these to be former members of the Gardai. What else would they be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

if the guards chase a car and the car crosses into the north they can no longer pursue.intelligence yes,visible policing big no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It's rabble rousing by the press, probably an attempt to sell more papers but if they're not careful they risk dragging the peace process back another 10 years (one would hope that's not what's going on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Over the past few years I've heard an increasing amount of southern accents in the PSNI. I always took these to be former members of the Gardai. What else would they be.
    Ordinary people. I know a few people in yhe PSNI from this side of the border. None of them were Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I know a good few lads who joined up with the PSNI after getting fed up waiting around for the Gardai to recruit again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I live very close to what was known as a 'concession road'. This meant that during the troubles, police from both sides of the border could use this road without worrying about the question of incursion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I've never seen police of any kind on the concession road,soldiers I've seen but never police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

if the guards chase a car and the car crosses into the north they can no longer pursue.intelligence yes,visible policing big no.

AFAIK On duty Gardai often travel to the UK to escort wanted people back to Ireland! I dont think they would be in uniform though, so would have no visible presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

kfk wrote: »
    AFAIK On duty Gardai often travel to the UK to escort wanted people back to Ireland! I dont think they would be in uniform though, so would have no visible presence.

Or authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

justshane wrote: »
    Or authority.

They would have authority to be there on duty and authority to detain the person being escorted! I imagine that it will only be a matter of time before cross border rules are relaxed for the Gardai and the PSNI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

New recruits (never having been in the Gardai) to the PSNI.
    With the recruitment embargo here, why not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Funny that someone should mention the Donegal Daily
    http://www.whois.com/whois/belfastdaily.co.uk