Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Likely False Rumours of Gardai Deployed in Belfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

The smell of bull**** off that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

DrumSteve wrote: »

I suspect they're trying to fire up Loyalists ahead of their day trip to Dublin next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

DrumSteve wrote: »

Indeed BUT if true they have nobody to blame but themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I suspect they're trying to fire up Loyalists ahead of their day trip to Dublin next week.

Pretty much, even the picture used is designed to provoke (even if it is the PSNI).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

That makes the opposite of sense if it's true (which it probably isn't).

Why would they get the police force of a republican state to try and stop the Loyalists from rioting? It's almost like an incitement to keep on rioting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Complete and utter bullshít!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Some very interesting comments on that article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

some of the comments are hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Belfast Daily can reveal that the deployment of Irish police......
    Yes, the Police service of Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Why why why..would make not an once of sense if true..doubt if the fruit cakes over in conspiracy theories could come up with a good reason for this one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Ok, please, let's think about this, for just one second. Please, turn off the tv, close the tab on your browser that has whatever stupid page you are looking at, take a deep breath, and engage the part of your brain that engages in critical thinking.

Are Irish police officers being deployed to Belfast, in order to stop riots by Loyalists.

Thought about it? For even just one second?

Yeah, sounds pretty fukking stupid now, doesn't it?

I think it's fairly obvious it's fake. From what I can tell the images used are of the ERU.

What I'm concerned about it how this raises tensions.

I have a feeling Dublin is going to get torn to shreds like last time Wilie came down.

I guess the motivation for Loyalists in spreading the rumour is to keep the fire lit.

orestes wrote: »
    Ok, please, let's think about this, for just one second. Please, turn off the tv, close the tab on your browser that has whatever stupid page you are looking at, take a deep breath, and engage the part of your brain that engages in critical thinking.

Are Irish police officers being deployed to Belfast, in order to stop riots by Loyalists.

Thought about it? For even just one second?

Yeah, sounds pretty fukking stupid now, doesn't it?

Is there really a need for that?

Everyone here agrees it's a false rumour. Steady on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

No time to waste verifying facts.
    We need to get outraged immediately and we need to mindlessly and violently act on that outrage.
    Spread the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Not true. It's a squadron of Protestant virgin-raping Swiss Guards sent directly from the Vatican by the Pope himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

What day are they due down in Dublin and are they marching in protest or what have they planned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

ah so there are more dailys out there than donegal daily, i see though they follow the same easy format (& web design)
    1-jim from up the road "exclusively revealed" something... no matter what was said its a source worth publishing
    2-write the most sensationalist (often grammatically incorrect) story possible
    3-claim ridiculous website views for advertising purposes

in otherwords is this the winning formula to;
    bull****
    ??
    ??
    profit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

a senior security source... a nameless and faceless made up "source" for a made up article which will only serve to validate what those idiots are doing in their minds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Is there really a need for that?

Everyone here agrees it's a false rumour. Steady on.

Yes, yes there was a need for it. The fact that crap like this even exists is a step backwards for a peace that was decades in the making, and people giving it even a moment of consideration as anything other than pure bloody stupidity is helping to fan the flames of a ridiculous shit-storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I suspect that there may be some truth in the Gardai going up North, but solely for intelligence gathering and to formulate a plan for next weeks march on Dublin. This is common place for any international sports event or gathering where trouble may take place. In fact members of Scotland Yard on particular travel abroad to assist and advice foreign police on how to handle the British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Conrach

It is loyalist instigated propaganda! There is very, very little support for these flag protests outside of the usual city enclaves.
    One journalist, during the week, estimated that there was only 500 people in the whole of the North supporting these protests. Peaceful or otherwise.
    3 weeks ago, an "official" fleg protest was organised for my town. I went down for a nosey (as you do) and there were 4 young lads wrapped in Union Jacks. 4 in a town with a population of 15,000

They are desperately trying to instill fear and reaction within the protestant community.
    Another story that is being spread is that the Royal Victoria Hospital and Queens University are going to be renamed.

It is desperation at its best!!
    Also from twitter--"PSNI state categorically no officers from English Welsh or Scottish Forces or Garda helping police protests"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

ted1 wrote: »
    members of Scotland Yard on particular travel abroad to assist and advice foreign police on how to handle the British.

How do they intend to handle them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

When I see Gardai referred to as "Cops" I stop reading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

What a joke. Bloody idiots lapping it up.

They were mentioning having the protest in Dublin on the 12th I think.

Sure the local gurriers are busy making their shopping list of things they want to loot from Foot Locker and the like if the Gardai don't manage to contain things again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

of course false. if an on duty Garda even steps across the border he or she is likely to be arrested and the same if the psni step in the republic.they'd share intelligence alright,that would be about it.Seriously all this rioting is worldwide news,would anybody think that the British government Will go onto the world stage and admit 'we had to call in the Irish to sort it' i don't think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Online advertising revenue > responsible journalism

Same model as the Sindo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

After 43 years of meticulous planning the Irish Government is pleased to announce that Exercise Armageddon is finally ready for execution.

In one last minute change, the targets to be protected will no longer be the Nationalist Community of Northern Ireland but rather motor vehicles and wheelie bins, as these seem to be bearing the brunt of the current unrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How do they intend to handle them?

They learn what provoke them , how far they would go, who the troubles makers are . Will they fight once themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

of course false. if an on duty Garda even steps across the border he or she is likely to be arrested and the same if the psni step in the republic.

That's completely untrue. There are constantly on-duty Garda and PSNI on both sides of the border. They're swapping information and learning from each other constantly. It's what good police forces do when the only thing separating two countries is a sign on the side of the road. However it's like saying America has invaded us because they have officials in the embassy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Over the past few years I've heard an increasing amount of southern accents in the PSNI. I always took these to be former members of the Gardai. What else would they be.

if the guards chase a car and the car crosses into the north they can no longer pursue.intelligence yes,visible policing big no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It's rabble rousing by the press, probably an attempt to sell more papers but if they're not careful they risk dragging the peace process back another 10 years (one would hope that's not what's going on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Over the past few years I've heard an increasing amount of southern accents in the PSNI. I always took these to be former members of the Gardai. What else would they be.
    Ordinary people. I know a few people in yhe PSNI from this side of the border. None of them were Gardai.

I know a good few lads who joined up with the PSNI after getting fed up waiting around for the Gardai to recruit again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I live very close to what was known as a 'concession road'. This meant that during the troubles, police from both sides of the border could use this road without worrying about the question of incursion

I've never seen police of any kind on the concession road,soldiers I've seen but never police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

if the guards chase a car and the car crosses into the north they can no longer pursue.intelligence yes,visible policing big no.

AFAIK On duty Gardai often travel to the UK to escort wanted people back to Ireland! I dont think they would be in uniform though, so would have no visible presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

kfk wrote: »
    AFAIK On duty Gardai often travel to the UK to escort wanted people back to Ireland! I dont think they would be in uniform though, so would have no visible presence.

Or authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

justshane wrote: »
    Or authority.

They would have authority to be there on duty and authority to detain the person being escorted! I imagine that it will only be a matter of time before cross border rules are relaxed for the Gardai and the PSNI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

New recruits (never having been in the Gardai) to the PSNI.
    With the recruitment embargo here, why not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Funny that someone should mention the Donegal Daily
    http://www.whois.com/whois/belfastdaily.co.uk