If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

pakalasa wrote: »

Zero-Grazing O Naturale :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

So was milkin daisy there the other day when a message comes up saying I need an update for my farmville profile.I accept and when I get back on daisy,s milk bucket is empty and I have to start over.I tell ya I almost broke my keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

pakalasa wrote: »
    Stanflt put the cows out today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

td5man wrote: »
    Stanflt put the cows out today?
    I don't think he'd be associated with those jersey x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

caseman wrote: »
    Those Jex are very clever even able to press button to move fence:p

caseman wrote: »
    Maybe hes changed to a low input system!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Beefbaron

Can you advise on how to do the photothread thing please??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Lads have any of ye any experience of these linden agri powerboxes? Had planned to buy one over the next few months, havnt priced any other brands yet but was just wondering if they are any good because I wouldnt be familiar with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Beefbaron wrote: »
    Can you advise on how to do the photothread thing please??

When you go to create a new post look at the icon's above where you are writing. The paperclip icon is for attachments, when you click it a window will open and then choose the file to upload from your computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

just do it wrote: »
    Like the slurry, is there closed period for spreading N fertilizer? You guys are giving me ideas....
    Just reading the journal, same opening day for slurry, farmyard manure and chemical fertiliser ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Jaysus, since I was last here there's been a lot going on!
    Both good and bad news from the look (read) of things:(

I spent New years Eve/Day in hospital so I can side with the bad stories.
    On the plus side, weather is clear enough here today although I still wouldn't dare walk in any of the fields yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Kovu Murr wrote: »

On the plus side, weather is clear enough here today although I still wouldn't dare walk in any of the fields yet.
    feck, hope you're ok... yup plenty of reading on here to keep you occupied:D

Sorry to hear it Kuvo, I hope the tide turns for you this year.

Do you not have a smartphone? I thought everyone your age had one

Sorry to hear it Kuvo, I hope the tide turns for you this year.

Do you not have a smartphone? I thought everyone your age had one

My age! Cheek:eek: I haven't even reached the quarter century yet (just)

I have a blackberry but don't use it for much other than email and texting.
    I'm back to myself again now.....I think.
    Raging at the nurses though, had a canula in one arm so they were taking blood from the other and one day they came 4 separate times to take blood from me, why couldn't they do it all at once!:confused:

Edit- Oh and since I hadn't read anything since Dec 23rd, I had a LOT of catching up to do!
    Regarding the testing, it's only female animals that need to be blooded in your herd if you want to sell them within the 60 days. Dealers can sell next day from a purchase if they like.

And as for the videos, sure don't I backflip like that at work every week in the passageways :D

My age! Cheek:eek: I haven't even reached the quarter century yet (just)

I have a blackberry but don't use it for much other than email and texting.
    I'm back to myself again now.....I think.
    Raging at the nurses though, had a canula in one arm so they were taking blood from the other and one day they came 4 separate times to take blood from me, why couldn't they do it all at once!:confused:

Exactly, you're a young 'un ;)

They must be selling your blood on the black market!

Exactly, you're a young 'un ;)

They must be selling your blood on the black market!

Either that or they like inflicting pain!

Least it wasn't a 1cm dimension gauge :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

delaval wrote: »
    Those Jex are very clever even able to press button to move fence:p

Had a cow who could reach up and grab with her mouth the string for the feeder in the parlour and pull her own nuts! Drove us mental, ended up covering all the ropes to stop it. Some of them Holsteins have plenty of brains also ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Timmaay wrote: »
    Had a cow who could reach up and grab with her mouth the string for the feeder in the parlour and pull her own nuts! Drove us mental, ended up covering all the ropes to stop it. Some of them Holsteins have plenty of brains also ha!

Cows will always learn fast when it has to do with their bellies.

Have heard that brown swiss cows are really clever.

Didn't know a cow had nuts are you sure it wasn't a bull!!

Cow moved into calving pen. Sit and watch on the phone now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Cow moved into calving pen. Sit and watch on the phone now ;)

Have one meself goin to calf tonight ..
    Unfortunatly il be keepin tabs the old fashioned way :o

had one like that, she ended up getting ulcers from too much nuts;) she also opened gates into parlour during the night and fed herself and her mates:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

Was on a friends farm today and they have a jcb 3c one of the first ones. They have a shear grab mounted on the front bucket and can hitch off in a matter af seconds. They cut out two holes in the back of bucket near top and have welded on two pieces of heavy flat like an upside down L that hook into it and the a hole drilled on bottom of bucket and a bar through a bushing and into it and that keeps it from tilting. Also has a set of forks for same

Richk2012 wrote: »

Have one meself goin to calf tonight ..
    Unfortunatly il be keepin tabs the old fashioned way :o
    How're you getting on Rich? Mine's just calved all the while watching Inglorious Basterds :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

wrong tread oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Snip
    The KPMG girl telling us about daddy.

i didnt watch it but i get a horrible feeling about any of these videos, god help her after it was posted, she was obviously drunk at the time, no need to publicise it for the world to see, i am sure she will regret it every day for the rest of her life.... also i am sure we have all done things in our younger days that we are not proud of and thank god no one was videoing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

You should be on politics.ie. scratch beneath the surface.