Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Kenny can't afford to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Live within your means and you be grand, obviously Grandma Kenny never passed that wisdom onto her Grandson.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

cazzak79 wrote: »
    His brother! The pension ombudsman obiviously didn't advise him very well!

Yes, I've thought that myself. I'd say Christmas Day round their house is interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He is the only one at the trough who deserves a big feed

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He is the only one at the trough who deserves a big feed

Joe deserves it as well for having to listen to that show.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

kneemos wrote: »

Not in the same league as Pat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Having to listen?

I've got news for you, Joe drives that show. If someone rings up to say the world is not ending, and that things aren't as bad as they'd have you believe, suddenly their line goes bad, and it's back to Tom from Ballyfermot whose house has been stolen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

syklops wrote: »
    Having to listen?

I've got news for you, Joe drives that show. If someone rings up to say the world is not ending, and that things aren't as bad as they'd have you believe, suddenly their line goes bad, and it's back to Tom from Ballyfermot whose house has been stolen.

Every time I see or hear Joe Duffy mentioned, I get a mental image of him in S&M gear pulling the nipples off himself-damn you Savage eye..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

glynf wrote: »
    Every time I see or hear Joe Duffy mentioned, I get a mental image of him in S&M gear pulling the nipples off himself-damn you Savage eye..

He loves the old misery porn.

I remember years ago when Marion Finucane did liveline and it was light hearted but still entertaining and I quite liked it, and now and again Joe would do it on a Friday, you always knew he would have some abuse victim on talking about their woes or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I like pat i think he's sound even if he did do a land grab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

where's that tiny violin of mine?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

i dont mind pat kenny, he is great on the frontline

I'd gladly send him to any Frontline.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Now we know what to do with the SSF money.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

moonshadow wrote: »
    RETIRE...........I wish he fooking would !!

Any source OP or are you just spouting bullsh!t?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Pat was moaning about how tough it is to be a freelancer? he's delusional. I'd love to be a freelancer on his T and Cs. he and his "freelancer" colleagues were quite happy to stay outside the PAYE system for years, on an artificial arrangement with RTE, so **** him if the recession is biting.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

He ain't called the "Pat the Plank" for nothing!

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

edgecutter wrote: »
    Pity it ain't the frontline I would like :D

Preferably around Aleppo in Syria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

I'd gladly send him to any Frontline.

Even the Pats offensive line. Poor auld Tom Brady woudnt know what hit him

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

My mum says that too

What times dinner at ?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

I think if he has to work on past when most other professions would force you to retire it should be doing something we'd actually enjoying watching.

We could have a weekly text voting show on the Thursday and then on Friday Pat would have to do whatever the public have decided. So maybe one week it would be Pat taming a hideous wild and dangerous Lion (or Twink his call) and the next week it could be using his face to crack 100 eggs in a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Fcuking begrudgers.Pathetic
    How is it begrudgery, he is not a self made man he works for a state owned public service company paid for by the tax payers. he should be payed the going rate like presenters on commercial stations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

He works for himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How is it begrudgery, he is not a self made man he works for a state owned public service company paid for by the tax payers. he should be payed the going rate like presenters on commercial stations.

He's a private company who works for what someone is willing to pay the same as a plumber or carpenter or any other sole trader.If you have a problem with his wages it's RTE you should be critical of.

dd972 wrote: »
    In a similar vein, how on earth was Gerry Ryan skint ?, he was on €300+K a year FFS.
    A big house, mortgaged, an ex wife, an assload of kids, an apartment, a fondness for the finer things in life and of recreational drugs.

I believe Frontline is great to get rid of fleas.........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Read some of the later post on this subject and "asinine" would be a polite way to describe them.

Look ! Kenny is not to blame for his salary...it's the goons in the pink palace management that have spent way above the odds on the likes of Kenny ,Maid Marian and the Dufficer.

The old argument that it was necessary to pay them huge wedges to "keep the talent in the Station" has been disproved by TV 3 and Newstalk who have equally as good presenters ,newsreaders and current affairs journos.

If I was looking for heads on a plate it would be at management level....so pack up your silly comments and address the real issues.....M,Kay ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Two words when it comes to Pat Kenny not being able to retire & thats EXCESSIVE GREED.

The country has been built on it & now were suffering for it & will be for many a year
    I can see the man's point in fairness !

Has a major pad up Gorse Hill way...as a previous poster has mentioned the long legal battle for the adjoining field soaked up a lot of funds plus what he had to actually shell out for the property in the end.

Probably has a couple of overseas propertys plus a few additional gaffs in Ireland.

Mortgages on these....now the real problem for the likes of Pat and Gaybo is that the money that they had squirrelled away for the rainy day has taken a huge hit...probably had a bit of it in bank shares.

So delivering a fairly puny income by their standards......so no mystery why the man has to work on.

He is approaching 65 so he knows this question is going to come up....this is purely a pre-emptive strike...... probably on the advice of his PR people.

Still has "The Book" to fall back on if he needs a little extra wedge.....
    I suspect you might be right - there may well be property investments or banking investments gone bad at the root of Pat's problem. Any half-decent investment advisor would insist on diversifying investments - both sectoral diversification and geographic diversification. The investment returns on a diversified portfolio are fairly decent, even during these difficult times. Any 'cute hoor' who thought that they could ignore decades of advice about managing risk by investing solely in property or in Irish financial shares deserve everything they got as a result of the high risks going bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

RainyDay wrote: »
    I suspect you might be right - there may well be property investments or banking investments gone bad at the root of Pat's problem. Any half-decent investment advisor would insist on diversifying investments - both sectoral diversification and geographic diversification. The investment returns on a diversified portfolio are fairly decent, even during these difficult times. Any 'cute hoor' who thought that they could ignore decades of advice about managing risk by investing solely in property or in Irish financial shares deserve everything they got as a result of the high risks going bad.

Yeah..I see where your coming from pilgrim....problem is .....even diversification would not leave a person immune to the investments bloodbath over the past few years.

A more salient point and indeed "on topic" point is should RTE continue to employ Kenny ..to the detriment of younger talent ?

Me..I think the guy is very competent on a current affairs but if I were in RTE management I would be scaling down his exposure and salary over the next few years...witha view to saying ...thanks for the memories plank...cheeers now and close the door on your way out ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

You're all missing the point. RTE has to pay big money to its "talent" so it can sustain its delusion that its one of "the top broadcasters in the world" (once in the 90s someone who used to work there told me with a straight face that it was the "third best" broadcaster after the BBC and CNN or something.)

Paying Pat Kenny what he's actually worth would be like not stroking Miriam O'Callaghan's ego by giving her her own chatshow. It's all part of a perfect circle - RTE feed its stars' egos, and in turn they feed RTE's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Yeah..I see where your coming from pilgrim....problem is .....even diversification would not leave a person immune to the investments bloodbath over the past few years.

I have to disagree. 3 year returns and 10 year returns are almost all in the black, with 5 year returns still in the red - see http://www.finfacts.ie/irishfinancenews/article_1022870.shtml

No bloodbath there for anyone who chose a standard investment fund. It's only the 'cute hoors' who were so sure that they could beat the market that lost the big money.

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Yep put me down for a tenner. He NEEDS to retire!
    Do you mean retire or ...retire click click? ;)

Never a fan of PK, but after many years I have come to respect old-Pat, reminds me a bit of Steve Davis, he was such a boring snooker player, taking ages to make a shot, but today semi-retired, is a relaxed true professional of the sport.
    Pat has a professionalism of Journalistic style, even if he had millions I wouldn't like to see him retire.

Now there is someone else I can think off that I wished took very early retirement, but that's a Friday night thrend.