Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

whelan1 wrote: »
    ye. id say the dimmensions where wrong, bloody stupid thing to do anyway
    Ya, and it's the kind of thing they'd want to 'nip in the bud'. No point to it, at all. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/4354205

A well was good while it lasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

1chippy wrote: »
    Took a call last night just after 12 to a cow calving. Had to be collected (few beers) to go down and took a pair of twins, from a cow that calved another pair 350 days ago. Twin heifers both times.

Twins is hereditary in humans, I wonder is it the same in cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

first death of the year, just incase we may get off to a good start:D, done a c-section on this heifer late sunday evening with a monster of a calf, obviously dead, we taught we done a perfect job and presumed heifer would be okay. 30hrs late and dead. the usual craic bought as a maiden heifer, and seller wont play ball as I noticed her about 2 months back. I couldnt return her as my herds restricted. there is going to have to be some sort of protocol put in place by the marts for this constant problem, the financial hit were taking is unfair IMV

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

ye. id say the dimmensions where wrong, bloody stupid thing to do anyway

I'd love to know what the hell he thought he was doing? Damn right that there is a file going to the DPP- no-one deserves to be poked with a needle.

The dimensions do seem a bit bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

first death of the year, just incase we may get off to a good start:D, done a c-section on this heifer late sunday evening with a monster of a calf, obviously dead, we taught we done a perfect job and presumed heifer would be okay. 30hrs late and dead. the usual craic bought as a maiden heifer, and seller wont play ball as I noticed her about 2 months back. I couldnt return her as my herds restricted. there is going to have to be some sort of protocol put in place by the marts for this constant problem, the financial hit were taking is unfair IMV

You know the story- sold as maiden and proved not, seller at fault.

Took a shovel to a field this morning. Spent about an hour digging a trench to let off water from about 1 acre of surface pond. It will make no difference but shure it made me happy. I am easily amused I suppose!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

You know the story- sold as maiden and proved not, seller at fault.

if the seller wont play ball where am I going, not worth the time and effort chasing it up:(. Marts down these parts accept no responsibility which I think if challenged is wrong as my transaction is between me and the mart, not me and the seller. The animal leaves the sellers herd once entered into the mart and goes into there mart number and is then transferred into my herd when I buy it off the mart.

Its the same with renting ground through an auctioneer. Most people think that they will get paid no matter what. unfortunately if the leasee doesnt pay the auctioneer, they dont pay the lessor which seems crazy to me. why involved an auctioneer in the first place if this is the story and why are they entitled to their fees

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/sheep/4353374

Someone extracting the urine me thinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Serious problem in this part of the country too. We sold 1 in 2011 that proved in calf last spring. We would like to think that we have a good reputation with buyers in this area and we took her back, paid the compensation that was demanded and cut our losses. Not going to get caught for 2012. We kept bulls and heifers separated and to be double sure, we scanned all heifers the day before selling.

The guy that bought our incalf heifer in 2011 had bought over 200 heifers and over 20 of them proved in calf!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Question

Going away for few days to visit outlaws in sunny south east
    Have bull in creep gettin half bucket of meal in morning and half bucket in evening, while away should I just give him 3 days supply in one hit

Heifers in calf -
    I think there will be even more problems in the years ahead. With all the new breeding on the Maternal side of things, heifers will start bulling at a younger age. I had one myself, bulling at 8 months during the year. Panic to get her our of the field before the teaser bull did her serious damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

hugo29 wrote: »
    Question

Have bull in creep gettin half bucket of meal in morning and half bucket in evening, while away should I just give him 3 days supply in one hit
    no... wont do him any harm to be hungry when you get back, there is a risk he will eat it all and be ill while you are away

pakalasa wrote: »
    Heifers in calf -
    I think there will be even more problems in the years ahead. With all the new breeding on the Maternal side of things, heifers will start bulling at a younger age. I had one myself, bulling at 8 months during the year. Panic to get her our of the field before the teaser bull did her serious damage.

The one that I had was bulled at 7 months by an 8 month weinling bull and calved down at 16 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

hugo29 wrote: »
    Question

no... wont do him any harm to be hungry when you get back, there is a risk he will eat it all and be ill while you are away

Wouldn't whoever's doing the herding for the 3 days be able to feed him as per his normal routine, or even a slightly bigger feed once a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Back in the office today :(
    I'm not sure which is worse, being back or being back and having nothing to do here - knowing I'll be foddering in the dark when I do get home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

bbam wrote: »
    I'm not sure which is worse, being back or being back and having nothing to do here - knowing I'll be foddering in the dark when I do get home!

yep bit of sickening morning heading back to the day job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭farmerjack

reilig wrote: »

Serious problem in this part of the country too. We sold 1 in 2011 that proved in calf last spring. We would like to think that we have a good reputation with buyers in this area and we took her back, paid the compensation that was demanded and cut our losses. Not going to get caught for 2012. We kept bulls and heifers separated and to be double sure, we scanned all heifers the day before selling.

The guy that bought our incalf heifer in 2011 had bought over 200 heifers and over 20 of them proved in calf!!

I reckon 20 out of 200 would be fairly common, I'd say we had between 7-8% of bought in heifers turned out to be in calf in 2012.

farmerjack wrote: »
    I reckon 20 out of 200 would be fairly common, I'd say we had between 7-8% of bought in heifers turned out to be in calf in 2012.

We also had a second heifer that we sold in September 2011. In may 2012 we got a call from the buyer to say that she was in calf. Again, we're honourable enough when it comes to selling cattle. I drove 70 miles each way to pick her up. Paid the guy what he demanded and brought her home. By the first week in July and 10 months after she had left our yard the first time, she hadn't calved and was showing no sign of calving. The vet checked her and reconed she wouldn't calve till August at least. I loaded her back into the trailer, brought her back that 70 miles, collected my money + my travel and keep expenses. I wasn't happy but I was satisfied!!

I hope she was lucky for him - he had fed her a lot of meal so it was quite possible that a section was in order for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Rovi wrote: »
    Wouldn't whoever's doing the herding for the 3 days be able to feed him as per his normal routine, or even a slightly bigger feed once a day?

Brother and he not into the farming, be afraid to send him in to the bull

Funny, but that was the first thing I thought about when I came into work this morning. Sunset is 16.20PM at the moment, but will be bright till 5pm by the end of the month. That extra 30mins of daylight makes all the difference, when you finish at 4.30.:)
    http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/astronomy.html?n=78&month=1&year=2013&obj=sun&afl=-11&day=1

Funny, but that was the first thing I thought about when I came into work this morning. Sunset is 16.20PM at the moment, but will be bright till 5pm by the end of the month. That extra 30mins of daylight makes all the difference, when you finish at 4.30.:)
    http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/astronomy.html?n=78&month=1&year=2013&obj=sun&afl=-11&day=1

Most days I don't get home till six so hopefully I'll have them out by the time it's bright at six, out part time at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Rovi wrote: »
    "The needle has been seized as evidence in the investigation and a source said it measures approximately 3cm long and the hollow tip is about 1cm wide."
    WTF??? :confused:

That's not a needle that's an inch of 6mm piping.

Seriously though that's some worry for that girl to have to go through no matter how remote the chances of infection are.

Heifers in calf -

AFAIK puberty is more weight driven than age driven. I don't think the type of sire will have much impact TBH.

Next door neighbour hit off there around half an hour ago with slurry tanker. I thought he had plenty of storage TBH. Ground needs another couple of dry days before travelling really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Same here. Still glad to have the job, we'll be a long time waiting for the farm to make us rich ;)

Now this what we need...

http://www.met.ie/climate-ireland/weather-events/Oct1974_Dry.PDF

No wonder I remember my childhood summers as being long, hot and sunny :rolleyes:
    Cavan had less than 25% of its average rainfall for the whole period..

Now this what we need...

http://www.met.ie/climate-ireland/weather-events/Oct1974_Dry.PDF

No wonder I remember my childhood summers as being long, hot and sunny :rolleyes:
    Cavan had less than 25% of its average rainfall for the whole period..

The feckers with dry land would be complaining then. If we could get it north of the Esker Riada and a normal summers for those in the south then the majority of the farmers in the country would be happy :)

reilig wrote: »
    The feckers with dry land would be complaining then. If we could get it north of the Esker Riada and a normal summers for those in the south then the majority of the farmers in the country would be happy :)

Never. It'll always balance out. You can't beat a dry summer. If grass is suffering the wholecrops will be booming.

You only have to go back to posts from March and April 2012 in this thread to see lads complaining of a lack of rainfall after 2 dry weeks. I can only imagine the crys if we got a whole month without rain!!