Jobless What Should i do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

Thanks for the advice guys! I have been told i must wait at least twelve weeks before they will think about me? And for the people who think i don't support my 1st born i would like to say i paid support from day one even though it was a one night stand! After eight years paying it i miss a couple of weeks because my wife and other two kids have to eat also! My wife can't work due to serious problems i won't go into! I am insulted at the comments of the pay up attitude! But still nice to know some decent people out there when your desperate! To every on else with real advice cheers meansalot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Thanks for the advice guys! I have been told i must wait at least twelve weeks before they will think about me? And for the people who think i don't support my 1st born i would like to say i paid support from day one even though it was a one night stand! After eight years paying it i miss a couple of weeks because my wife and other two kids have to eat also! My wife can't work due to serious problems i won't go into! I am insulted at the comments of the pay up attitude! But still nice to know some decent people out there when your desperate! To every on else with real advice cheers meansalot
    The 12 week wait is normal at the moment if you have been sacked or left your job as opposed to being made redundant.
    What area of the country are you in as the wait after those 12 weeks may be longer again for your claim to be processed.
    Shítbuzz all in all but look, at least it can't get much worse and you get to spend some quality time with your wife and kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Thanks for the advice guys! I have been told i must wait at least twelve weeks before they will think about me? And for the people who think i don't support my 1st born i would like to say i paid support from day one even though it was a one night stand!

Wow aren't you great, what do you want a pat on the back or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Felexicon

eviltwin wrote: »
    Wow aren't you great, able to determine a mans character from one short post and then take the opportunity to hit him while he's down.
    Well done, hope you have a nice New Year

Have i offended you in some way? No i do not want a pat just looking for some advice! Not smart comments like that!

TheUsual wrote: »
    Community welfareofficer is what you want.
    I have heard bout those! Where do i have to go for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Women are the devil in disguise

How so?

The child still needs to be clothed, fed and homed whether their father is working or not. The court is only doing it's job by seeking this maintenance.

OP, I sympathise, but I'm not sure why you have been denied the dole if you've paid all your contributions and are in genuine need of assistance. What reason did they give?

CianRyan wrote: »
    So his other two kids suffer instead?
    What's stopping his ex from looking after her their child?

It takes two people to make a child, so why should all the financial responsibility fall on just the mother??!

Have i offended you in some way? No i do not want a pat just looking for some advice! Not smart comments like that!

Just your comment about supporting your child even though the conception was as a result of a one night stand. I sympathise with your situation re the wait for social welfare and I think your ex should give you some leeway if possible after all its not your fault but its not her fault either and someone has to support the child.

How so?

The child still needs to be clothed, fed and homed whether their father is working or not. The court is only doing it's job by seeking this maintenance.

OP, I sympathise, but I'm not sure why you have been denied the dole if you've paid all your contributions and are in genuine need of assistance. What reason did they give?
    I agree the child does need all that! The child's mother and her partner both work full time! I have no income and i was told i have on wait a number of weeks before i can be thought of? I started this for advice not to be a target for bitterness and ridicule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

What a great post ! I hope your proud with yourself .

To the OP fair play for paying your child support for the last 8 years at least you done the right thing . Some people would have tried to not pay it . Maybe it could be hard signing onto the dole because you could be owed redundancy and that is usually what they tell you will tie you over until they can sort you out . But if you walked or got sacked you do have to wait 12 weeks before you can sign on .

Just your comment about supporting your child even though the conception was as a result of a one night stand. I sympathise with your situation re the wait for social welfare and I think your ex should give you some leeway if possible after all its not your fault but its not her fault either and someone has to support the child.

And what comment would that be? I really am confused? The fact i have said every week eight years and fall on hard times and fall behind?

I just fail to see what relevance it has how your first child was born. One night stand or long term relationship does it really matter? The child is here and needs to be supported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

When I seen the thread title I was gonna say do what everyone else without a job does, get an xbox live subscription a play the day away. But that obviously doesn't apply to your situation so I am gonna go with, sell your xbox.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I have heard bout those! Where do i have to go for them?

Your local Health Office or Community Centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

What a great post ! I hope your proud with yourself .

To the OP fair play for paying your child support for the last 8 years at least you done the right thing . Some people would have tried to not pay it . Maybe it could be hard signing onto the dole because you could be owed redundancy and that is usually what they tell you will tie you over until they can sort you out . But if you walked or got sacked you do have to wait 12 weeks before you can sign on .
    I don't think you can say well done for paying what he should be paying. From other people I don't think he should be ridiculed for things he is doing right.
    The community welfare officer is the way to go and maybe a solicitor from the free legal aid system, the Irish citizen information services should be able to help you out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So the mother of the first child and her partner are working full time and you havent a pot to pIss in and still they wont give you a bit of breathing space till you get yourself back on your feet

mother of jaysus:rolleyes::mad:

I just fail to see what relevance it has how your first child was born. One night stand or long term relationship does it really matter? The child is here and needs to be supported.

Well without pointing some people out and being offensive unlike some? I was pointing out that unlike a lot of fathers i stand by my kids no matter what and even though she won't let me see the child i support the child! And no i have done nothing wrong except be male in Ireland i.m not violent or abusive or on drugs or drink anything of the sort she just won't allow next see the child that's it.. All that's happened is i got sacked for not agreeing to travel for a week every three weeks.

He is supporting the child. He needs a little break or he'll find himself in the ****ter unable to help anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭barney 20v

He is supporting the child. He needs a little break or he'll find himself in the ****ter unable to help anybody.
    HE was let go because he refused to a change in work conditions.
    He should have helped himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,911 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Well without pointing some people out and being offensive unlike some? I was pointing out that unlike a lot of fathers i stand by my kids no matter what and even though she won't let me see the child i support the child! And no i have done nothing wrong except be male in Ireland i.m not violent or abusive or on drugs or drink anything of the sort she just won't allow next see the child that's it.. All that's happened is i got sacked for not agreeing to travel for a week every three weeks.
    Look horse, you are starting to remind me of Chris Rock's sketch about black people wanting credit for doing normal stuff.

barney 20v wrote: »
    HE was let go because he refused to a change in work conditions.
    He should have helped himself!

Yes i should of helped myself? But i can't afford to be away from home that long as i stated i have a wife with serious health problems? I am not looking for pity or the likes! I am asking advice because i have never been unemployed since i left school and know nothing about the system!

Thanks guys, just got told by a friend whos a social worker that i have to appeal it for them to put my claim through? Going to give that a bash.

Yes i should of helped myself? But i can't afford to be away from home that long as i stated i have a wife with serious health problems? I am not looking for pity or the likes! I am asking advice because i have never been unemployed since i left school and know nothing about the system!

I don't know much about employment law but would you have a case for constructive dismissal? Asking you to go away one week in every three when you didn't have to before is a massive change to your work schedule. Might be an idea to get some legal advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Citizens Info is a fantastic service

You can call them, you can read their excellent website

You can also drop into your local office and they'll chat with you.
    There are private rooms, don't worry, nobody else will hear your business.
    And they will make phonecalls on your behalf

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Look horse, you are starting to remind me of Chris Rock's sketch about black people wanting credit for doing normal stuff.
    Dude, he is only replying to what other people have said. I haven't herd him ask for praise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Tough crowd in here tonight:D

I agree the child does need all that! The child's mother and her partner both work full time! I have no income and i was told i have on wait a number of weeks before i can be thought of? I started this for advice not to be a target for bitterness and ridicule.

Oh, I wasn't getting at you at all. I was responding to a really dumb comment made about women in general.
    I honestly wish you and your family the best of luck and hopefully you'll get everything sorted soon and find employment. Lots of people in the same boat as yourself at the moment unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Op, you've done the first bit which is go to welfare office and apply for job seekers. Next get the community officers number and contact them , tell them, the situation and afaik they will give you a small payment until your jobseekers is processed.At the same time apply for rent / mortgage assistance .

While doing this apply for every job you hear of no matter how crap it is.Go through all your bills and prioritise payments. Maybe ask your first child's Mam can she wait for the maintenance money but remember that you have as much responsibility to pay your corner for you first child as you do for you 2nd and third.

you've mentioned your current partner is unwell , can she not claim disability or similar ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

Go down to your local HSE officer.....do not take no for an answer