hello and where's your money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Poster Boy

There's the same guy on the Millennium Bridge in Dublin every day, in the exact same spot. Likewise there's two other guys who switch their shifts at about 3pm every day outside a phone box on Upper Ormond Quay. All non-nationals as it happens.

It seems clear these cases are not individuals temporarily in hard times, but are professional operators out of choice.

The space they occupy is prime city centre real estate that cost a lot to instate and uphold.
    It seems logical the City Council should charge these guys appropriately high Commercial Rates and Rent - or tell them to GTFO :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Why can't people just say no. It works for me, a quick sorry mate and that is the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Perhaps the answer is to license the beggars, so only the really good ones get to ply their trade. Then, as part of their licence, they are only allowed to beg from chuggers.

This would tie both groups up all day, as they would be engaged in a constant battle to extort money from each other, leaving the plain folk of Ireland to go about their daily business unhindered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

In Tbilisi the beggar kids actually grab onto your leg while you're walking and don't let go.
    Something for everyone to look forward to in Dublin when that business idea spreads.

This already happens in Dublin - first time a beggar kid wrapped himself around my leg was in 92/3 on Grafton St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Poster Boy

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Perhaps the answer is to license the beggars, so only the really good ones get to ply their trade. Then, as part of their licence, they are only allowed to beg from chuggers.

This would tie both groups up all day, as they would be engaged in a constant battle to extort money from each other, leaving the plain folk of Ireland to go about their daily business unhindered.

I love it. You've used my idea to make a brilliant one.

Give that guy a cigar :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Odysseus wrote: »
    Why can't people just say no. It works for me, a quick sorry mate and that is the end of it.

I've managed to say no 364 out of 365 days this year. The problem is that if you live in or near the city centre, you're doing it every day. Just because you said no to the last one doesn't stop the next one approaching you.

At the rate of 3 chuggers/beggars a day - which wouldn't be out of the ordinary - that would mean you're having to deal with upwards of 1,000 requests annually for you to part with cash.

Even living just outside the main dregs, I'd say I've had to listen to about 500+ spare-some-change/donate-to-needy-cause solicitations in 2012.

Part of the answer is to say no; probably the bigger part is to get Dublin City Council stopping the question being asked all the time, each and every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

People need to be assertive. Problem is there's too many do-gooders so it makes it worthwhile for the beggars and chuggers to harass and annoy people until they get a win. It's just like spam except on a smaller scale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

People need to be assertive. Problem is there's too many do-gooders so it makes it worthwhile for the beggars and chuggers to harass and annoy people until they get a win. It's just like spam except on a smaller scale

We should start throwing the fookers into the recycle bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭TwoBirds

To be honest, I'm surprised that people are so irritated by chuggers. I've always found that a simple 'No thank you', looking them straight in the eye while walking on is enough of a deterrent. Yeah, it's annoying being approached, but I've never been harangued or harassed by them after politely declining to speak to one. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

ColeTrain wrote: »
    We should start throwing the fookers into the recycle bin.

Or use the best spam-filter ever invented: earplugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

then the ex drug addicts are out side the supermarket after you get past the bloody bag packers.

I have seen these ex druggie guys outside the shops popping into the bookies (wonder are they spending there own cash :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I've noticed a new one actually.

When I was doing my Christmas shopping a few shops I went into, Easons, Clearys etc. had some homeless guy outside holding the door open with a cup in his hand.

anyone else notice this?

Brendog wrote: »
    I've noticed a new one actually.

When I was doing my Christmas shopping a few shops I went into, Easons, Clearys etc. had some homeless guy outside holding the door open with a cup in his hand.

anyone else notice this?

That was nice of him to follow you around and hold the doors open for you on his coffee break. I hope you said thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Shop Street in Galway is full of them. I just walk so that there is someone between me and them. I wonder how many of these people have a permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

token101 wrote: »
    And with grammar and punctuation like that you've nailed your demographic. It looks like this guy was in charge of typing.

ah , well sorry to burst your bubble , but im using a Finnish keyboard , and the keys are all over the place , so up yours

and where did i say i was from Dublin?
    i dont live there and have not for years , so once again einstein, you are off the mark , i find that happens often with someone trying to be a smart arse

and my original point stands , some one from castlebar slagging Dublin off ?? Really , have you been to castlebar

Grammar Nazis - nearly as hated on line as pedophiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

There's still people in this day and age that feel they're being good samaritans giving money to these professional beggars. If beggars weren't getting money the town wouldn't be saturated with them. Trying to police them is a waste of time though.

I think we should hit the people that are donating, 150yoyo on the spot fine. Make people think twice about supporting this industry.

Castlebar is just a town of about 12,000, why would you even compare it to Dublin? No need to call it a pig sty when you don't know what you're talking about.

you are missing the point , some one from castlebar was slagging Dublin off, and i responded by saying he had some neck, seeing he comes from castlebar , which is a kip , so what of it ? , it a **** hole compared to Dublin , whats not to understand , and im sorry , but it is a pig sty in my opinion

some people really have a blinkers on in this debate , not once did i not agree that begging and chugging was a big problem in Dublin , what i do take issue with is people calling it a third world capital , seeing they come from a cow shed , and in fairness , its our capital , if you cant show some respect for your own capital , why should i show any for your one horse town ?

but as i said in a previous post , once a week some numpty will start slagging dublin , in some cases justified , but most not
    let see the slagging start for cork , galway limerick , who have the very same issues as dublin , just on a smaller scale seeing Dublin has more people living in it + what is it about some people who cant figure out this simple formula , more people , bigger problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Sparklygirl

I used to shop in Dublin a couple of times a year. I used to love the atmosphere. I don't go anymore precisely because of this issue. I stand out like a sore thumb, I may as well have my wellies on! For they know I am not a Dub. Blanch all the way for me now, no one annoying me for my money. I happily donate to charity boxes and have a couple of standing orders that I set up without being chugged. I can't stand being hassled for money in the street and worst of all on my doorstep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Duck Soup wrote: »

I saw a chugger and a Hari Krishna get stuck into a debate with each other on Wicklow Street one day - both trying to push their point (donate to charity VS join my religion) at the other. Was fairly amusing, never-ending argument :P

dj jarvis wrote: »
    you are missing the point , some one from castlebar was slagging Dublin of and i responded by saying he had some neck seeing he domes fr pom castlebsr , witch is a kip , so what of it ? , it a **** hole compared to Dublin , whats not to under stand , and im sorry , but it is a pig sty in my opinion
    i

I haven't missed the point. comparing a town with a city is idiotic. fire away though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A Roma girl approached me in a bookies in Limerick a few years ago and handed me a piece of paper. I clicked what was going on then, and the paper had something about having no home written on it. I said something like, "no, sorry", and then she actually got onto her knees and took up a praying/begging position. I looked at her and said, "I'm not giving you any money" so she got up and left.

The next day I saw her walking out of Curry's with a printer in her hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm not from Dublin, but if there are so many of these "chuggers" around, there is bound to be some of them on boards. So fess up, who's a chugger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

I don't want to sound like some villain from a dickens novel, but I honestly think for most begging is just a solid days wage on top of the dole. Its rife in america, but the circumstances are very different there, I'd love to know really what the typical begger here is making/spending.

As for chuggers, they need to feck off big time, I'm fine with shaking the tin or whatever, but cornering people is so lame. I remember getting into an argument with one who was trying strong arm me into doing a direct debit. He seemed to think it was fine to give out my bank details to some random fecker on the street, and that "its only 2 euro a month". At the time I was young and overly polite, I think if I met him again asking the same question in the same tone I would go bat **** crazy at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Just read the title - didnt even read your big long post - but my response would be - "Dont have any friggin money - apart from about two grand in the credit union" and finally my brother paid me back for the bike he owes me for through the cycle to work scheme.

(totally dont know what anyone else has posted, so apologies if my response is totally not right in here).

Happy new year? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭goingpostal1

In slane village last wednsday there was a crowd collecting at the traffic lights
    One of them stood in the middle of the road blocking traffic shaking a bucket

That happens in my town regularly too. At the busiest, most dangerous crossroads, with about three lanes of traffic going in each of the four directions. How is it even legal for them to stand out in the middle of moving traffic like that? Who is liable, if one of those fools doesn't get out of the way quickly enough when the traffic starts moving again? And I have to say, the absolute barrage of charity advertising I have heard on the radio and seen on the TV, has really got on my nerves this year. Do charities get special low rates from media organisations to advertise for more donations, or do they pay full whack, does anybody know? Is it just an endless circle, collecting donations, to pay for advertising, to try and collect more donations? It is high time charities were regulated in this country. 1) Show exactly how much the charity collected and how it was collected. 2)Show a detailed account of exactly what the money was spent on, not some crappy pie-chart that would insult a six-year-old. 3)Show us how their methods of helping work to improve peoples live. There is a difference between being a fuzzy-headed do-gooder and actually doing good. Good intentions are not enough on their own.

And as for National Schools collecting money in buckets when I do my shopping in Tesco's?? I pay taxes remember? Towards things like hospitals and schools? Its not my fault if the Blueshirts want to divert all that tax revenue towards French and German plutocrats. When are people in this country going to wake up and realise that shaking a bucket in a fellow citizens face is not the solution to all our problems, and maybe, just maybe, a political campaign for social and economic justice might be called for?

I haven't missed the point. comparing a town with a city is idiotic. fire away though.

are you drunk , i did NOT compare it to Dublin
    i said the poster had some neck slagging Dublin seeing he came from a **** hole , what are you not getting about that`?

do you not understand irony in mayo? obviously not , this is the 3rd time i have had to spell it out for you

brummytom wrote: »
    You're not from Dublin by any chance, are you?

Having lived in two cities larger than Dublin (Birmingham and Manchester), and having been to London dozens of times, I have never seen anywhere near as many beggars/chuggers as I have in the centre of Dublin. It can't make a good impression on tourists.

i did live in Dublin years ago , and yes Dublin has a problem with these pan handlers , but so do other European capitals
    i was in Frankfurt a week ago , main train station OVERRUN with beggars and roma , im in Helsinki now , same thing , main streets and train station has loads of beggars , roma and drunks , so the assertion that its only " ****ty " Dublin is horse ****

it makes the same impression on tourists in Dublin as it does anywhere else , not a good one
    But lets not let the facts get in the way of a good AH culchie mafia kicking of Dublin.

Its getting to be seriously boring at this stage , AH its getting so bad that only grammar Nazis and rednecks fit in.
    pity, some good debate and laughs were commonplace - off to reddit i go :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Send a local child to the USA for treatment not available in Ireland, good cause :)

Send the local kids and their soccer coaches to a blitz tournament in Germany, gwanuptheyard :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Don't see the big problem. Just a simple and firm "No" does the trick for me every time.

"'Ere bud I jus' need 50cent to get me bus" ---- "No"
    "Money for da baby pleese"
    "No"
    "Can I stop you there for one second mate" ----"No"

With chuggers I used to even do the line, "I'm already signed up" or "I was talking to your colleague back there" but then I decided that was too much effort for what it's worth. My dad has great craic with them when they call to the door. He actually enjoys their spiel but when it comes to the money part he loves to play the part, "Oh you're looking for money, ah jaysis I just thought you wanted to tell me about your situation." *Closes door*...

Actually, having been to many capital cities, Dublin is not so bad considering. London has the best beggars. Cocky cockneys with a vibrant attitude trying to sell you the big issue. "Big issue mate, last copy in all o' London, get it 'ere guvnor, get the last big issue..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

Begging is an unearned income, So let them pay Tax & PRSI on it and if in receipt of a welfare payment deduct quid pro quo.