Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8994314.stm

Yes, he was.

Bet you were delighted with yourself there an all haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Eirebear wrote: »
    Rangers are religious bigots according to a poorly translated Sandaza interview?
    Jelle posts pictorial evidence of Sandaza blessing himself as he enters the field of play.
    This of course it entirely ignored, because Rangers booed a couple of Man Utd players.
    Jelle points out that one of these Man Utd players didn't even appear for Man Utd that day - despite supposedly anecdotal evidence of it happening.
    This is completely ignored.

Anyone spot a theme here?

Ye have well documented religious bigotry institutionalised at every level in the club hierarchy for decades. Is that a wrong statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8994314.stm

Yes, he was.

Bet you were delighted with yourself there an all haha

LOL.

You're so full of it, it's unbelievable.

So Gibson being booed at Old Trafford by the away section was perfectly audible on TV, yeah I'm sure that happened.
    By the way, didn't you say O'Shea was booed as well ?

He never even came off the bench.

Come on, give it another go, I'm sure you can find something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Dempsey wrote: »
    Ye have well documented religious bigotry institutionalised at every level in the club hierarchy for decades. Is that a wrong statement?

Again, you're ignoring the point are you not?
    If Sandaza has said this in interview, then it must be looked into - however, it's quite obvious that Sandaza does bless himself as he enters the field of play, and I certainly havn't heard him taking any abuse from fans over it.
    Have any of you?

This is simply another case of you lot jumping onto any little morsel of a chance to jump aboard the "You're all nasty disgusting bigoted racist homophobic puppy hating ****" bus, and to be quite honest untill there's something more than a poorly translated article then i don't particularly think you have anything to go on in this case.

Yes, we've had our problems in the past, and yes, we've got elements within our support who are not particularly agreeable - but to try and tell me that the club has not moved on from those days, using this as you're example?
    Not really worth it.

To be honest, I ****ing hate it when a gay puppy ****s on the carpet, little bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

donald findlay
    andy goram
    bob malcolm
    paul gascoigne
    signing policys

LOL.

You're so full of it, it's unbelievable.

So Gibson being booed at Old Trafford by the away section was perfectly audible on TV, yeah I'm sure that happened..
    Yeah imagine that, the away fans being audible at Old Trafford :rolleyes:
    By the way, didn't you say O'Shea was booed as well ?

He never even came off the bench.
    I'm not sure how to explain this without patronising you. In the Champions League group stage you play 2 games against each team.

It's been a while for you I suppose :pac:

Oh holy ****...i've just seen who "broke" this news to the english speaking world.
    I'll await further information before commenting any further on this one.

Again, you're ignoring the point are you not?
    If Sandaza has said this in interview, then it must be looked into - however, it's quite obvious that Sandaza does bless himself as he enters the field of play, and I certainly havn't heard him taking any abuse from fans over it.
    Have any of you?

This is simply another case of you lot jumping onto any little morsel of a chance to jump aboard the "You're all nasty disgusting bigoted racist homophobic puppy hating ****" bus, and to be quite honest untill there's something more than a poorly translated article then i don't particularly think you have anything to go on in this case.

Yes, we've had our problems in the past, and yes, we've got elements within our support who are not particularly agreeable - but to try and tell me that the club has not moved on from those days, using this as you're example?
    Not really worth it.

The fact that he had to be warned should be worrying for ye because its not exactly a selling point! Its not really "jumping" on anything because agents are always going to look after the business end of things and avoiding a potential shít storm is one of them. He was told this because the reaction has potential to be significantly negative, its good to see that it didnt become a significant issue for the player

I'm not saying Rangers aren't trying enough to eradicate the issue but its annoying to hear the usual claptrap from Baghdad Bob

donald findlay
    andy goram
    bob malcolm
    paul gascoigne
    signing policys

Anthony Stokes.

Oh no, wait, 'that was different' :pac:

Bhosca: Give it up, you've been proven time and time again to talk out of your arse.
    One could even think that you're lying.

Anthony Stokes.

Oh no, wait, that was different :pac:

More deflection and finger pointing, at least your consistent

What on earth did Stokes do that was bigoted anyway :confused: what a desperate attempt at changing the subject

They certainly were, because I watched the game with a few United fans who had to ask me did either start off at our youth team or something to warrant it.
    Yeah imagine that, the away fans being audible at Old Trafford :rolleyes:

I'm not sure how to explain this without patronising you. In the Champions League group stage you play 2 games against each team.

It's been a while for you I suppose :pac:

So you watched both of these games with Utd fans, yes?
    When did they ask you? During the first game, or the second - or are you just changing your story to suit?
    The fact that he had to be warned should be worrying for ye because its not exactly a selling point! Its not really "jumping" on anything because agents are always going to look after the business end of things and avoiding a potential shít storm is one of them. He was told this because the reaction has potential to be significantly negative, its good to see that it didnt become a significant issue for the player

I'm not saying Rangers aren't trying enough to eradicate the issue but its annoying to hear the usual claptrap from Baghdad Bob

I reckon first and foremost it might be an idea to find out who supposedly "advised" him before slamming the club as a whole.
    As you point out, maybe it was an agent and not someone from the club at all, maybe it was another player who may or may not have been involved with Rangers in the past?

I very much doubt there was anything official in this, and as i say - there has obviously been no issue for either the player, or for the fans, or for the club with him doing so.

What did Donald Findlay (singing The Sash, which is not sectarian), Andy Goram (posing with terrorists, a bit like attending a RIRA guy's memorial) and Paul Gascoigne (playing an imaginary flute) do that was sectarian or bigoted ?

Answers on a postcard.

I reckon first and foremost it might be an idea to find out who supposedly "advised" him before slamming the club as a whole.
    As you point out, maybe it was an agent and not someone from the club at all, maybe it was another player who may or may not have been involved with Rangers in the past?

I very much doubt there was anything official in this, and as i say - there has obviously been no issue for either the player, or for the fans, or for the club with him doing so.

I dont think I blamed the club in my posts or insinuated that the club told him this tbh. I thought everyone thought it was an agent or a 3rd patry tbh but I dont doubt that some players are still being warned for financial reasons by their reps. Considering how players are often scapegoats for poor performances, their 'team' will want to avoid giving ammo!

On a side note I keep reading in the media that Hulk was the 1st black player to sign for Zenit. Thought that honour went to Bruno Alves. A case of fans picking and choosing when to apply their 'club ethos' to me. Maybe a bad, or not like for like, example but i think its relevant in terms of fans reactions and how what goes for one player might not apply to the next

I dont think I blamed the club in my posts or insinuated that the club told him this tbh. I thought everyone thought it was an agent or a 3rd patry tbh but I dont doubt that some players are still being warned for financial reasons by their reps. Considering how players are often scapegoats for poor performances, their 'team' will want to avoid giving ammo!

On a side note I keep reading in the media that Hulk was the 1st black player to sign for Zenit. Thought that honour went to Bruno Alves. A case of fans picking and choosing when to apply their 'club ethos' to me. Maybe a bad, or not like for like, example but i think its relevant in terms of fans reactions and how what goes for one player might not apply to the next

I wasn't particularly singling you out dude, but you must admit there is a generally gleeful reaction from sections of the Celtic support whenever this kind of story rears it's head - and at the end of the day, when the story was broken to us english speakers by "Big Phil", we all know the angle that it was going to take.

As for the Zenit comparison, i've nt really been following the story in all honesty - Is Hulk not playing well for them?
    I think it's often the case that the more vocal racists/bigots or whatever else will always be louder when they are able to criticise a player, that cannot be denied.

Anthony Stokes.

Oh no, wait, 'that was different' :pac:

Bhosca: Give it up, you've been proven time and time again to talk out of your arse.
    One could even think that you're lying.
    it would be a nice little excersise for you to review what i said on the topic of Anthony Stokes

I wasn't particularly singling you out dude, but you must admit there is a generally gleeful reaction from sections of the Celtic support whenever this kind of story rears it's head - and at the end of the day, when the story was broken to us english speakers by "Big Phil", we all know the angle that it was going to take.

As for the Zenit comparison, i've nt really been following the story in all honesty - Is Hulk not playing well for them?
    I think it's often the case that the more vocal racists/bigots or whatever else will always be louder when they are able to criticise a player, that cannot be denied.

Not meant as a comparison but more how fans as a group can be very fickle.

Hulk had bit of a falling out with the management recently, declared to never play again but mended those broken bridges after he realised that he cant change clubs in january over the 2 club in 12 months rule. Then I saw statements from their biggest fan group about the "types" of players they were signing, British media saying hulk was the 1st "non white player" but I'm sure it was Bruno Alves and they took to him like a duck to water, i think! I wouldnt be 100% on Russia Football though

What did Donald Findlay (singing The Sash, which is not sectarian), Andy Goram (posing with terrorists, a bit like attending a RIRA guy's memorial) and Paul Gascoigne (playing an imaginary flute) do that was sectarian or bigoted ?

Answers on a postcard.
    donald findlay is overtly anti catholic
    andy goram wore a black armband for billy wright
    but then again theres nothing a feeble excuse cant cover up

In fairness lads, there are footballing and off field reasons (very recent too) why Celtic should get rid of Stokes at the moment, I'm not going to start that argument in this thread though. It nearly needs its own thread

So you watched both of these games with Utd fans, yes?
    Is it inconceivable that I didn't?
    When did they ask you? During the first game, or the second - or are you just changing your story to suit?
    Except there are no inconsistencies with what I said. I did not originally claim both players played in the same match, did I? You are the one changing my story, not me.

If - hypothetical if - a player was booed for being Irish in the first game, it is not unlikely a different player may have been booed for being Irish in the second game.

You are resorting to ad hominem as a means of squirming away from the truth. And besides, what is your argument here? "Oh well I think you'll find only one of them was booed for being Irish not both so it's ok!".

donald findlay is overtly anti catholic
    andy goram wore a black armband for billy wright
    but then again theres nothing a feeble excuse cant cover up

Findlay has also mocked Protestantism, but don't let the facts get in the way.

Not to mention that he was cleared of any allegation regarding supposed anti-Catholic remarks in 2007.

Once again, those pesky facts eh.

Bhosca: Admit it, you don't know what game you're talking about.
    You can keep blaming others of 'squirming away from the truth' but you have absolutely nothing to back your claims up and you can't even admit you got it wrong.

Which game was it ?
    The one at Ibrox ? Because no player was singled out there.
    The one at Old Trafford ? Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Except there are no inconsistencies with what I said. I did not originally claim both players played in the same match, did I? You are the one changing my story, not me.

You did actually.
    They certainly were, because I watched the game with a few United fans who had to ask me did either start off at our youth team or something to warrant it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Merry Christmas Bears

Same to you and yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

You mean Arveladze, who was booed when playing for Georgia in Dublin ?
    Behaviour which was described by the FAI's own president as “racist but also bigoted and sectarian” ?

The reason why players at Rangers don't tend to bless themselves is because nobody cares.
    Maybe some of them don't do it because they feel it might bring more problems than it's worth, but that is their own choice.
    People like Novo, Bougherra, Amuroso,... made no secret of their religion and guess what: Nobody cared if they were Christian, Muslim, Jew or Jedi.

I remember when we played ManU and on their message boards people were claiming that the likes of Hernandez would be abused because he blesses himself before the game.
    Of course nothing like that happened.

But don't let that stop the usual suspects though (rather talk about that than your own fans kicking the living daylight out of each other in Dundee I'd guess).

Ostrich springs to mind. Nothing like a bout of 'whataboutary' when you want to evade answering a question properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

FIFA boycott?
    http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/news/newsid=1977017.html

Rangers go under
    14 June
    Rangers’ perilous financial position had been an open secret but there was still shock when, after 140 years of history and a world record 54 league titles, the club was consigned to liquidation in mid-June. The Glasgow giants were subsequently reformed as a new company and granted entry to the Third Division, Scotland’s fourth tier, which they currently lead by nine points with a game in hand.

But don't let that stop the usual suspects though (rather talk about that than your own fans kicking the living daylight out of each other in Dundee I'd guess).

Really? Score of injuries and arrests were there? I must say im dreading watching the pictures and videos of all this trouble. Must be loads of evidence knocking about? Talk about ****ing exaggeration. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Really? Score of injuries and arrests were there? I must say im dreading watching the pictures and videos of all this Talk about ****ing exaggeration. :rolleyes:

Oh come on Lawell has come out and apologised for the behaviour, Lennon has said he doesn't want them at games some 70 ejected from the ground and the Police looking at cctv footage with the view to making more arrests. Of course it was nothing

I didnt say it was nothing. Yes there were unsavoury incidents and i hope those involved in serious disorder are dealt with but jellie made it sound like a full scale riot which it was not. Also Lennon will say whatever the board tell him, and i dont blame him for that.

Anyone else think its ridiculous having an evening kick off on Stephens Day? Must be a nightmare dealing with fans who have been n the tear all day regardless of who they are.

Actually i didnt realise as many as 70 were ejected.