Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Here are the samples of the GS5000 cam, testing with sunlight and at dusk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Shane_ef wrote: »
    My latest, Car cuts across me at the lights, and a Taxi basically runs a red light

Looks like the taxi driver was just predicting the light change :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

cormie wrote: »
    Looks like the taxi driver was just predicting the light change :)

There's predicting the light change and then there's what he did, i end up stopping at the line as he's gone past it already, he's in the middle of the junction when the light changes.

Try using that excuse if a Guard saw you :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

When I caught this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxxCCpdQ7Xw

I told the bus driver and got a phone call later from a garda asking me to hand it in to them. Had to fill out a statement saying it wasn't edited in any way etc. I'm not sure if anything happened as the last I heard the cyclist was fine and just had a few bruises.

Dash cam saves bus drivers ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭cormie

yeah his road positioning is way off!

That bus driver was delighted when I told him I caught it on camera!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

yeah his road positioning is way off!

That bus driver was delighted when I told him I caught it on camera!

That bus has up to 9 cams on it so it would have picked up the guy on the bike no problem but it is great to have all angles covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

That bus has up to 9 cams on it so it would have picked up the guy on the bike no problem but it is great to have all angles covered

Been told they are never on or never maintained, so either way your lucky if they catch anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i'm thinking of upgrading mine to something a little more discreet and maybe adding one in the back window as well.

i'm wondering if it's worth bothering with the GPS ones at all, i'm not really interested in journey logging, just a record of someone causing me to be in an accident and i reckon GPS data could actually work out as more of a hindrance if i have to hand in all my data in the event of an accident and happen to have caught myself speeding at an earlier time or something like that and end up incriminating myself.

i was contemplating just buying two of these and having one pointing out of the back window and one in the front: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/2012-NEWEST-HD-720P-Smallest-CAR-DVR-with-120-degree-wide-angle-support-G-Sensor-D/636525022.html

234010.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Not my video but just to make people smile check out 5:08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

Christmas Day driver

*Just to note: on the first occasion we were originally behind this car and moved out to overtake, but he seemed to have some sort of problem with this so he accelerated. You can't see it, but he was alongside accelerating for the first part of the video - we weren't just sitting in the middle lane the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

When people hog the middle lane this is what happens.

Cedrus wrote: »
    When people hog the middle lane this is what happens.
    *Just to note: on the first occasion we were originally behind this car and moved out to overtake, but he seemed to have some sort of problem with this so he accelerated. You can't see it, but he was alongside accelerating for the first part of the video - we weren't just sitting in the middle lane the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

AfterDusk wrote: »

Your edit passed my comment in the ether, it was not intended to be personal and as such it stands, a lot of people do hog the middle and outside lanes and people will undertake in these cases.

It might have been better if you had posted the full video that told the full story in your case.

What he did does appear to be lunatic but unless the ?gold volvo? in the outside lane was doing an insane speed you do not appear to be travelling at an appropriate speed for the centre lane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

AfterDusk wrote: »
    Christmas Day driver

Tbh there were plenty of times where you should have returned to the left lane,specifically the point where you pass the black clio (fiesta?)

Cedrus wrote: »
    unless the ?gold volvo? in the outside lane was doing an insane speed you do not appear to be travelling at an appropriate speed for the centre lane.

We were doing 70.

There were not plenty of opportunities to return to the left lane. As I said, you cannot see off camera (directly to our left) where the Avensis was sitting matching our speed when he noticed we were overtaking.

After passing the black Corsa, the driver made a judgement that the car further up the road was too close to warrant moving back into the left lane. In hindsight maybe this was incorrect, however it does not excuse the dangerous driving.

After overtaking the Corsa, the Avensis had plenty of opportunity to use the 3rd lane to overtake us safely if he wanted to. Instead he swept back into the left lane and again sped up to match our speed before the undertaking manoeuvre.

this is why i want to get a camera in the back window as well. :D

as long as the lens is a wide angle one (and the one i was looking at seems to either be 120-140 degrees), there would be very little around you that wouldn't be visible on one camera or the other.

also, the mischeivious part of me wants to see what the expression actually looks like on the face of someone as they rear end my car. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

You were driving in the overtaking lane throughout that clip - the other guy is a dangerous fool though

born2bwild wrote: »
    You were driving in the overtaking lane throughout that clip - the other guy is a dangerous fool though
    he's already said that the other guy (the dangerous fool) accelerated so that he was alongside him for pretty much the whole time preventing them from pulling in, except for the bit after they passed the black corsa, which the driver had judged would have been a pointless exercise to pull in and then have to pull out again to overtake the next car in the inside lane.

to put it into perspective (the sped up portion covers this up a little bit), the time was 13:52:30 when they passed the corsa and 13:52:59 when you can see the avensis coming up the inside on the left, so was only just 30 seconds in total between them passing the black corsa and them getting cut up by the avensis driver and that's not even taking into account the amount of time the avensis would have spent cutting in again behind them and speeding up their inside before you can see him.

also bear in mind that the perspective is going to be skewed by the wide angle lens on the dashcam, making the distances between the cars look further than they actually were.

yes *maybe* they could have pulled in after overtaking the black corsa, but as always in those kinds of situations it's a judgement call and personally i don't think they had any wrongdoing there at all given the circumstances (traffic levels and spacings etc.) and times involved.

the avensis driver is an a**ehole though, he could have easily passed on the outside but chose to act the bollix instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,723 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Alternatively, once he saw the Avensis was acting the twat, why not just decelerate a bit and slot in behind him?

Just playing devils advocate, but is it not up to all of us to watch out for our own safety?

If someone is behaving the way the avensis driver did then either floor it and get the hell away from his stupid carry on, or drop back and let him carry on with his twattishness

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,690 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Alternatively, once he saw the Avensis was acting the twat, why not just decelerate a bit and slot in behind him?

Just playing devils advocate, but is it not up to all of us to watch out for our own safety?

If someone is behaving the way the avensis driver did then either floor it and get the hell away from his stupid carry on, or drop back and let him carry on with his twattishness

Then the Avensis would slow down and the OP would need to overtake again and the whole situation re-occurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,723 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

antodeco wrote: »
    Then the Avensis would slow down and the OP would need to overtake again and the whole situation re-occurs

How do we know?

And if that's what the avensis is doing then just floor it and get well ahead, then back into the driving lane.

After passing the black car he could have returned to the left and allowed the avensis to overtake if needed.The car in front was way too far off,so it would have been easy to return to the left lane and continue on safely.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    After passing the black car he could have returned to the left and allowed the avensis to overtake if needed.The car in front was way too far off,so it would have been easy to return to the left lane and continue on safely.
    at which point, given the way the avensis was driving, he probably would have made a point of doing exactly the same thing and driving alongside them to box them in on the left hand lane once they got close to the gold vectra(?), just to act the bollix like he has already showed he was determined to do.

lots of things *might* have happened given any number of different scenarios, but we only know what actually did happen in the video so anything else is just random speculation of what might have been. as the old saying goes "if my aunt had balls, she'd be my uncle". :p

i'm sure we can all just agree that the avensis driver was driving like an agressive prick on christmas day when he should have been chilling out listening to chris rea's "driving home for christmas" and enjoying the day that was in it.

i'm just thankful that he's not someone i know because if he drives like that on christmas day, i have no doubt he'd have been a miserable cnut to be around and would no doubt have spent the day ruining christmas for everyone around him and i don't know about you lot, but i had a great chirstmas. :D

vibe666 wrote: »
    at which point, given the way the avensis was driving, he probably would have made a point of doing exactly the same thing and driving alongside them to box them in on the left hand lane once they got close to the gold vectra(?), just to act the bollix like he has already showed he was determined to do.

lots of things *might* have happened given any number of different scenarios, but we only know what actually did happen in the video so anything else is just random speculation of what might have been. as the old saying goes "if my aunt had balls, she'd be my uncle". :p
    the avensis was held back by the car already in the left lane,the avensis would have had to come into the middle lane and return to the left lane (which is in fact the proper conduct on motorways).In the time the posters car passed the black car,he should have returned to the left lane and let the avensis overtake him in the middle lane or allowed him back in behind him in the left lane.There is now way the avensis could have been stuck behind the black car,overtaken the car and returned to the left lane in the time it took for the poster to pass the black car.What i am trying to say is,after the poster overtook the black car,there was no need for him to be in the middle lane,and there was no way for the avensis to obstruct him after passing the black car.

as for the avensis blocking them in,what does it take to lose a little speed,and have the avensis pass on.

i think you might need to go back and actually read the posts from the OP explaining exactly what the avensis driver was doing leading up to him cutting them up?

he ended up blocking himself in behind the corsa as he was going out of his way to drive like a cnut, speed matching the OP's car just to be annoying after the OP had already overtaken him and he has nobody to blame for that but himself.

regardless of whatever way the OP handled the situation, i have no doubt that someone who drives like that would have made a point of blocking him in if the OP had pulled in simply because that's the kind of driver he is, as clearly evidenced in the video by his actions.

if he wasn't that kind of driver and he had wanted to drive faster than he already was, he'd have just done what a normal sane human being would have done and just driven faster to begin with, then pulled out into one of the freely available and unobstructed overtaking lanes, overtaken everyone and gone on his merry way with no stress or hassle at all on anyone's part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

Sorry Afterdusk but you were in the wrong! Its an overtaking lane! You should have pulled in after you passed the corsa! End of! If you did, nothing would have happened! It was caused by your own doing! And before vibe666 says "what if the avensis then blocks him in"...drive like an idiot because someone might box you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

nacimroc wrote: »
    Sorry Afterdusk but you were in the wrong! Its an overtaking lane! You should have pulled in after you passed the corsa! End of! If you did, nothing would have happened! It was caused by your own doing! And before vibe666 says "what if the avensis then blocks him in"...drive like an idiot because someone might box you in?

Eh? Did you watch the video, and read the comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

Eh? Did you watch the video, and read the comment?

What do you find confusing? In the only 0:54 seconds of video he posted there was 2 points where he should have moved to the inside lane. When you expect people to cross 6 lanes of traffic to pass you because you can't use lanes...you bring it on yourself.

Avensis driver was obviously a dangerous idiot, but it all would have been avoided had they pulled in.

Would be a lot clearer if we had the 5 mins before and after this I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

What do you find confusing? In the only 0:54 seconds of video he posted there was 2 points where he should have moved to the inside lane. When you expect people to cross 6 lanes of traffic to pass you because you can't use lanes...you bring it on yourself.

Avensis driver was obviously a dangerous idiot, but it all would have been avoided had they pulled in.

Would be a lot clearer if we had the 5 mins before and after this I reckon!

My apologies, I completely missed the black Corsa at 20 seconds in. Yeah, I agree, maybe he should have pulled in after passing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

So you're saying that if someone drives in the middle lane, leaving the right lane totally open and free, you'll undertake them because you think they are wrong and then you'll cut in front of them like a twat... You'll put the lives of everyone around you at risk just because you feel that this person should have moved over. You'll save yourself the 5 or 10 seconds of moving to the 3rd lane by acting a complete and utter d**khead?????

ANYONE who condones the behaviour of the Avensis driver in ANY way needs to take a good look at their own driving because under no circumstances should anyone, be they skilled or not, drive like this. Anything could have happened and several people could have been killed. Men, women and children all put at risk because some vigilante ape thinks he needs to make a point. F**king **sehole!!

EDIT: @nacimroc seemed like you took away the fault of the avensis driver and placed it all on the poster but you did say it was stupid of the avensis driver thankfully. But I don't see how so much blame can lie on the poster? Yes it wasn't the right choice, but you can't blame the poster as much as that...