Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Christmas swim done and dusted for yet another year:D, huge turnout.

I'm on peeling duties, potatoes done, now for the carrots and parsnips:rolleyes:

Happy Christmas to everyone:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

just do it wrote: »

I'm on peeling duties, potatoes done, now for the carrots and parsnips:rolleyes:

Seen a few pics on Facebook, there was a great turnout for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

just do it wrote: »

I chickened out on the swim this year ha, but was at a goal mile, that was good craic but a mile certainly wasn't isn't near enough to run off the xmas dinner I had :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Had a cow bulling this morning. Coundn't do it to the AI man. He's too nice a guy.I wonder if he would have answered the call. She'll just have to wait for another 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

same as that. if thats the worst that happens to us we'll be alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

pakalasa wrote: »
    Had a cow bulling this morning. Coundn't do it to the AI man. He's too nice a guy.I wonder if he would have answered the call. She'll just have to wait for another 3 weeks.
    There's a good chance shed hold tommorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

11 years of Santa; first one that we had no batteries as grandma brought toys that took odd ball ones. Still young ones had great day off all pressies got, the guns and jigsaws still win out. sitting back now with french coffee and Christmas cake ready to play monopoly snakes and ladders and cluedo. You cant beat the day in fairness. Hope you all had a great day and I wish ye all the best for the new year just be careful out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

wrecked. all un bed had a great day. cant wait for next year

pakalasa wrote: »
    Get him tomorrow Paka. You know in NZ they've moved to once a day AI. The window for AI post-bulling is 6-24hrs;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

F'N batteries not included. Total amatuer mistake:(

Was that the Mrs' present!??! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

whelan1 wrote: »
    wrecked. all un bed had a great day. cant wait for next year

one of my FB friends who had a rough year to say the least just posted this comment, on her wall.

"It's funny how someone who was just a stranger last year, can mean so much to you now. It's terrible that someone who meant so much to you last year can be a stranger just now. It's amazing what a year can do".

enjoy the rest of the festivities and stay safe during the coming year,
    Joey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jomoloney wrote: »

"It's funny how someone who was just a stranger last year, can mean so much to you now. It's terrible that someone who meant so much to you last year can be a stranger just now. It's amazing what a year can do".

What are you trying to say Joey.... you not going to be our friend this time nest year?? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

one of my FB friends who had a rough year to say the least just posted this comment, on her wall.

enjoy the rest of the festivities and stay safe during the coming year,
    Joey

She sounds desperate:D, any chance a facebook link and I will poke her :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Muckit wrote: »
    Was that the Mrs' present!??! :D:D

Now, now................

......;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I've stick a thread up in Irish Economy about cuts in the last five years

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056839518

If there've been any specifically farm-related cuts, maybe you'd be so kind as to add them, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Muckit wrote: »
    What are you trying to say Joey.... you not going to be our friend this time nest year?? :p

who knows , whelan is looking forward to next year, I live life a little differently I savour every moment of the present

She sounds desperate:D, any chance a facebook link and I will poke her :D:D

yep she had tough time and was amazed at the support she got from people she hardly knew when some of her so called "friends " didn't want to know

Thanks for your offer Bob, but the last thing she needs at the moment is a poke from you.

On a side note strolled through my local village yesterday morning about 9.30 am , beautiful mild morn and the sun was trying to break out, met just one child with his miniature pony which Santa had brought , not another kid to be seen, roll back 15 years and the street would have been full of kids with their bikes, roller blades. footballs hurleys etc, seem like PS2 and the i pad or whatever era has truly gripped

f€cking washing machine gave up on Xmas eve off now to now to see what Harvey Norman or sound store have to offer :(

woke this morning to a pedigree calf on deaths door. waiting on vet

off to doctor with second child this morning. mad temperatures. she suffers from febrile convulsions so has to get meds for temperatures

^^you win^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

f€cking washing machine gave up on Xmas eve off now to now to see what Harvey Norman or sound store have to offer :(

Our one packed up 10 days ago. Priced around and got a 7 kgs bosch like for like replacement for €399 in DID. Last one lasted 12 years with a family that grew to 6 over that time.

On a side note strolled through my local village yesterday morning about 9.30 am , beautiful mild morn and the sun was trying to break out, met just one child with his miniature pony which Santa had brought , not another kid to be seen, roll back 15 years and the street would have been full of kids with their bikes, roller blades. footballs hurleys etc, seem like PS2 and the i pad or whatever era has truly gripped

Yeah it's a pity alright. Ours requested and got skateboards. But we are very active parents compared to the norm. It takes effort and commitment to keep the kids active. They only get to see tv at the weekends, and even then that's only a few hours worth.

Calf died.:(

feck, do you know what happened it? have appointment for child at 12.40 hope we aren't waiting too long

scour that wasnt helped by the fact that half of what little milk the mammy had was being stolen by anopther calf but we only copped that recently.

The mammy is also very protective and made close examination more difficult.

Probably should have copped it earlier but he went downhill quickly. He died while the vet was here.

In hindsight I should never have bulled her to calve in December. with our set up its just too hard on a small calf.

Serriously considering getting out of pedigrees now. I've gotten more heart-ache than enjoyment from them and commercial cattle probably leave a better profit at the end of the day

Hope the little one get seen too quickly Whelan1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    off to doctor with second child this morning. mad temperatures. she suffers from febrile convulsions so has to get meds for temperatures
    Have 2 here with high temps since the weekend seem to be coming right now
    Fibrile convulsions are frightening especially the first time it happens,one of ours used to suffer with them luckily she grew out of them think it had somethng to do with her teeth.
    Youd think you were mad standing outside on a cold winters night holding a child until her temperature came down but you got used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Feckin lashing rain again...
    Huge drops, seems like each one is a litre of water...

Herself is off on a 7k fundraising run :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

At least it was out side the house door. Unfortunately my wife and I had the worst Christmas ever. She had a miscarriage with our second child on Xmas eve and spent yesterday in hospital. So as bad as things are they could be worse.
    Can't wait for 2012 to end. Roll on 2013

sea12 wrote: »

At least it was out side the house door. Unfortunately my wife and I had the worst Christmas ever. She had a miscarriage with our second child on Xmas eve and spent yesterday in hospital. So as bad as things are they could be worse.

Very sorry to hear that sea. It has to be heart breaking. My thoughts are with the two of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

sea12 wrote: »

Sorry to hear that.