Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

very windy here last night, hope theres not too much damage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Nice story by Leo Cullen about the turkey season in the Indo: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/the-fruits-of-the-season-by-leo-cullen-3334498.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

The gun itself is a prima tech 70ml one which your man told be is 65e by itself, he wanted 79e for the gun and the hook but I got it for 75. The hook itself is a fairly solid piece of equipment and the gun comes with a normal dosing nozzle and a nozzle for putting on pouron. I cant tell ye how good the gun is until I get to use it but your man made out they are one of the best of them.

Well redz, it's it worth getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

bbam wrote: »

IMHO, once you don't sell an animal within a week it needs to be tested in your herd before selling.. Even within the week I think there is a limit on the number you can sell on each year without being registered as a dealer...

The dealer thing is within 30 days, any joe soap can sell 100 cattle within 30 days in a 12 month period without requiring a licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    Awful here too...
    No damage just a mess.. We had a pallet of 20ft box sheeting put bye for a wee job and they are strewn through the machinery shed.. Just a pain really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

just do it wrote: »
    i got one free when i was in a good while back buying dosing and boluses. i think the vet is having pity on me, he didnt charge me for a few of the callouts. i found lately if paying for a lump of stuff at the one time the vets will work with you on price our lad was telling me no more than the rest of us he is finding it seriously difficult to collect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

just do it wrote: »

Didn't use it yet jd, will test it out before the end of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Just downloaded info from my small weather station...
    Since Mid Oct 2011 (when I reset it) the longest rain free spell was 4 days, with 21 days being the most constitutive days with rain..

Not much wonder the place is like a swamp !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

bbam wrote: »
    Just downloaded info from my small weather station...
    Since Mid Oct 2011 (when I reset it) the longest rain free spell was 4 days, with 21 days being the most constitutive days with rain..

Not much wonder the place is like a swamp !!

i'd say the temp reading is relatively mild for this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What sorta weatherstation is it, and do they cost much, easy to install etc? It's certainly something that would be useful to have, to be able to compare grassgrowths each year etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Timmaay wrote: »
    What sorta weatherstation is it, and do they cost much, easy to install etc? It's certainly something that would be useful to have, to be able to compare grassgrowths each year etc.
    Aldi had one in the last few weeks dont know if theyre any good.

Timmaay wrote: »

Same as this.
    http://www.amazon.com/Ambient-Weather-WS-1080-Wireless-Logging/dp/B003E7H5HW/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Santa brought it two years ago. Very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Brussel sprouts are like that. Keep a distance from hubby and kids to keep effects to a minimum

spent over an hour yesterday at local out of hours doctor with youngest child, bedlam is the word, no seats, was talking to a friend who was in later and she had to wait 2.5 hours with a sick child... even with an appointment time... ear and throat infection, tis the season, other 2 are on calpol:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

spent over an hour yesterday at local out of hours doctor with youngest child, bedlam is the word, no seats, was talking to a friend who was in later and she had to wait 2.5 hours with a sick child... even with an appointment time... ear and throat infection, tis the season, other 2 are on calpol:mad:

You can beat GP for an un-organised f*ck up. its a joke. Sis in law is a med in foreign land, and cannot understand what the hell our GP's are up to. Those out of hours are worst again, where else would you find such un caring professionals, its - here's the strongest antibiotic just incase your sick and visit your own doctor asap. I would have to be missing a major part of me nowadays to consider going to our local GP

Hope your little munchkins are on the mend Whelan1, another bad wet night here, its really not giving up the fight on the weather front, we will pay for this wet weather hopefully in 2013

is anyone else just finding it serious tough finishing out 2012, just dragging myself from the scratcher this last month have being torture. crappy weather is really keeping the motivation levels low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Those out of hours are worst again, where else would you find such un caring professionals, its - here's the strongest antibiotic just incase your sick and visit your own doctor when asap.

I couldn't disagree with you more Bob. The Caredoc in Waterford is brilliant. I've had plenty of occasion to use them over the past few years and was always very impressed with how well run they were. I needed them on Stephens morning at 4.30 a few years ago. They decided the case needed a home visit which I wasn't going to argue with as the patient was extremely sick very suddenly. The caredoc car was at my house by 4.55, if you know the road you'd do the trip in between 15 and 20 mins at that hour of the morning. My patient was starting to recover by morning so instead of spending Stephens day in A&E with a very sick individual and the next few days visiting the hospital we were at home with a fairly sick but on the mend patient. It saved us and the health system a fortune and a pile of hassle. On the antibiotics I'd say the caredoc guys would normally be on the lower end because they mightened have full histories to hand though they do seem to have access to the GP records on some sort on intranet. With them it's more if that doesn't work then you need to go and see your doctor after the weekend or in a couple of days.

hopefully just a localized thing so, the service our GP provides is a joke. min wait would be a couple of hours, this probably translates upwards to the regional doc. only ever being to the regional doc is minor problems and I found they way over prescribed for each condition

out of hours doc is normally ok, normally only 10 minute wait if even that... now the doctor you get can be hit and miss.... luckilly one of the last times i went it was my own gp that was on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

hopefully just a localized thing so, the service our GP provides is a joke. min wait would be a couple of hours, this probably translates upwards to the regional doc. only ever being to the regional doc is minor problems and I found they way over prescribed for each condition
    A good few of our neighbours use out of hours docs for flu, throat infections,etc, they aren't bothered by over prescribing, in and out in a few mins, great service compared to long waits at gps

Looking at other posts ye must've gotten the s**t end of the stick in your area Bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I have the misfortune to be in a few hospitals over the years in a couple of different hospitals and have to say that recently any visits to hosptials recently have been grand, had two accidents in australia and one of the hospitals in the out back was grand, the other was a joke. a beam fell on me on site and i couldnt walk, the hospital said before they would treat me i had to pay up front. i was after coming off a building site and had enough to buy fags and lunch.
    Aside from that ive all the feed rails loaded with silage and i'm headin for a few pints. happy christmas everyone.

went doing a bit of xmas shopping early this morning so would be spotted. Standing with the head down at the Fragance section in Boot's and I look up to see two other local farmers I know equally lost. Our eyes crossed but the feeling was mutual - I wont mention it to anyone. to anyone else we must have looked as out of place as snowmen in the Sahara desert. Thankfully we spotted each other then as I was just after being looking at the Durex stand as they were doing a half price offer. I practice a JIT stock system for such items so the offer didnt catch me. :D

Listen boy until you've gone into the chemists to collect the OH's pill prescription you haven't lived.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Listen boy until you've gone into the chemists to collect the OH's pill prescription you haven't lived.;)
    Ah here this is a catholic country :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Actually walking down henry street with an Ann summers bag is better again;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Actually walking down henry street with an Ann summers bag is better again;)

Bested:(

ah, the jack and jill collection, at least you can give them a smile:). Walking around with a Victoria Secrets bag, guilty your honor:D, back in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Down on the small holding in the West atm and not the best start to Christmas for me. Bust my knee in the gym yesterday and this morning one of our "guests" left open a gate, which meant the 2 big ears and half a suckler herd paid an unwelcome visit to some neighbours front gardens:(:rolleyes:.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Not the best start to Christmas for me. Bust my knee in the gym yesterday and this morning one of our "guests" left open a gate which meant the 2 big ears and half a suckler herd paid an unwelcome visit to some neighbours front gardens:(:rolleyes:.

and its considered all your fault:(, know the feeling