Romanian carol singers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Voltex wrote: »
    Get you who's never been shafted by the young kid begging on the Dublin street with the minder standing ten feet away to make sure the child is begging hard enough....or sending 12 and 13 YO kids to peoples doors late at night to ask for money or camp on the M50 and have Special Branch monitor their activities and describe how they monitor people make substantial cash transfers while at the same time going out and robbing every shop on Henry St

....because they're all the same? They were singing Christmas Carols, not stealing. What are they supposed to do to survive? Get jobs? I'm sure people are dying to hire them all around Europe as people have such an open and non-prejudice attitude towards them. They try and do something relatively honest and you call the police. They are actually human you know and they're also children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Extinction

foxinsox wrote: »
    You can have mine!

They are Irish ( not that that makes any difference).

They thump my front door down, then if I don't answer quick enough they bang the window.

Heaven forbid I'm on the loo, or on the phone.

At least twice a night since mid November!

They aren't very good at singing. In fact they are really bad. They demand money and are rather intimidating lil feckers.

Swapsies houses?

Is your garden big?

Nah I don't have any garden and if your gut instinct is similar to the OP's you wouldn't want my to live in my house anyway, my neighbours are foreign and speak broken english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Higher wrote: »
    Ah o.k, so you saw they were Roma and decided to take it out on them. Because they all must be the same right?

Pathetic attitude. What a little person you are.
    Ok...the point of boards is that we debate issues through reasoned argument...what you've just done there is spat the dummie out of the pram and sh*t yourself in temper!
    Lets play like adults!!! Make s*itE outtamy argument...but not me..Im a good person really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

What did the Garda say? Are they sending out the SWAT team?

I'll just leave this article here. People view Roma gypsies as sub-human. No sympathy, just hate. The sooner people start to understand their plight, the sooner we can start to help them. Hating them and tarring them all with the same brush won't solve anything.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/jul/21/italy.race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Duzzer

why?

They beg and busk around the town adding to ethnic diversity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Wasn't Mary with the little baby jebus turned away from the inn keepers door? History's repeating itself

Boombastic wrote: »
    Wasn't Mary with the little baby jebus turned away from the inn keepers door? History's repeating itself

No they were given rent allowance and a fixed regular income.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Extinction wrote: »

Nah I don't have any garden and if your gut instinct is similar to the OP's you wouldn't want my to live in my house anyway, my neighbours are foreign and speak broken english.

Ah, here. Don't go making silly assumptions about me.

Read my post again.

I was addressing you.

I didn't mention the OP, or anything about foreigners.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I'll just leave this article here. People view Roma gypsies as sub-human. No sympathy, just hate. The sooner people start to understand their plight, the sooner we can start to help them. Hating them and tarring them all with the same brush won't solve anything.

Ok..without even clinking on the link it screams "irrelevant" by virtue of Guardian..UK..and Italy in the hyperlink. Apologies poster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Duzzer wrote: »
    No they were given rent allowance and a fixed regular income.
    Just as well Jesus wasn't born in Ireland, his ma would have been locked in a Magdelene laundry and he would have been put up for adoption against her will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/jul/21/italy.race[/QUOTE]

a person feels uneasy because at night there are people at his door.......and they get accused of hatred and tarring people with the same brush........

is the world gone bloody mad.....

the plight of other people are not the concern of an uneasy householder....

Ok..without even clinking on the link it screams "irrelevant" by virtue of Guardian..UK..and Italy in the hyperlink. Apologies poster!

:rolleyes: I can find the same story in the paper of your choice if you like. Just name the paper.

It's very relevant to what we're talking about here.

Just as well Jesus wasn't born in Ireland, his ma would have been locked in a Magdelene laundry and he would have been put up for adoption against her will.

Not these days pal. Is this a conversation about modern Ireland or the one controlled by priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭dozy doctor

Just had a knock on the door 5 mins ago (so 21.25) with 2 Roma Romanian kids (confirmed by the Guards) singing or trying to in their broken English sing a bunch of Chirstmas carols.
    I asked were they from our estate and if not where they were from...and I then noticed that when I started asking the questions a big bald dude appeared at the bottom of my driveway.
    I handed them €0.50 between them and then went to look out the bedroom window. I saw the big bald dude surrounded by about 6 kids, giving them directions and instructions as to what to do. I then rang the guards and they told me theyve had a few calls this evening about them.

Just thinking that this type of begging is getting worse.Anyone else experience this?

No one else seems to realise that this is a form of exploitation, and yeah sure they are singing carols, but it is unwanted and the last time I checked organized begging was illegal in Ireland, so the majority if you are saying, bah humbug.... I say, go get yourself a proper job baldy and stop exploiting these kids of which I'm sure are not getting to keep 100% of their earnings.... Just one to think about...

foxinsox wrote: »
    Ah, here. Don't go making silly assumptions about me.

Read my post again.

I was addressing you.

I didn't mention the OP, or anything about foreigners.

Only taking the pish with you, anyway the answer is still no, I'm in lust with my foreign neighbours wife and I just couldn't leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The wren, the wren, the king of all birds,
    On St. Stephen's Day was caught in the furze :)

I won't be singing on your doorstep on Stephen Day OP!

I don't know if this done throughout Ireland anyway
    I did it as a young 'un

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

a person feels uneasy because at night there are people at his door.......and they get accused of hatred and tarring people with the same brush........

No, he got uneasy because a "certain type" of people were at his door

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/jul/21/italy.race[/QUOTE]

Somebody calls the police because some poor kids were singing Christmas Carols. Yep, the world certainly has gone mad.

the plight of other people are not the concern of an uneasy householder....[/QUOTE]

Yes it is quite mad that the OP called the guards on 6 year olds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭cosbloodymick

They are not sub human, just badly behaved humans. they are in every country in Europe and never work in any of them. Professional beggars and welfare scammers. They have earned their bad name and have only themselves to blame for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

They are not sub human, just badly behaved humans. they are in every country in Europe and never work in any of them. Professional beggars and welfare scammers. They have earned their bad name and have only themselves to blame for it.

Funny, Americans said pretty much the exact same thing about Irish people when we started emigrating there

No one else seems to realise that this is a form of exploitation, and yeah sure they are singing carols, but it is unwanted and the last time I checked organized begging was illegal in Ireland, so the majority if you are saying, bah humbug.... I say, go get yourself a proper job baldy and stop exploiting these kids of which I'm sure are not getting to keep 100% of their earnings.... Just one to think about...
    Well said...its funny how we can be all moralistic and p.c and ignore the obvious criminal activities that go on under our noses when it doesnt come to our front door. The truth is...we Irish dont like to be robbed....and we really dont like to be robbed when the person robbing us uses emotional tactics against us..i.e using kids to sing festive songs. This is probaly why I started this thread and not one when my car window was done in and some stuff robbed.

....or they beg and steal and busk on public transport (in the city I live in...busking!! Can you imagine! Those animals!!) because they're despised in Europe and no one would hire them. But you wouldn't open your mind a bit and try to see it that way, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I dont give them anything.

Give them a cent and they'll eat your dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭scwazrh

If they had been Irish kids would you have been intimidated ?You are making a mass generalisation about people just because of the country you think they are from and because the media only portrays the bad element of Romanian people.

How would the op feel if Everyone in Australia , Canada , the states or anywhere else in the world starting calling the police because there was a group of Irish kids with a bald adult singing carol songs at their door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭cosbloodymick

orestes wrote: »
    Funny, Americans said pretty much the exact same thing about Irish people when we started emigrating there

Irish people went to the US and worked their socks off and made a major contribution to American society as we did in other countries we emigrated to. The Roma are an age old people and have never worked anywhere or built anything wherever they have gone, and never will either. But thats our fault too I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭scwazrh

orestes wrote: »

They did but to be fair that was at least 70-80 yrs ago.I would like to think that attitudes have changed a little since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Well said...its funny how we can be all moralistic and p.c and ignore the obvious criminal activities that go on under our noses when it doesnt come to our front door. The truth is...we Irish dont like to be robbed....and we really dont like to be robbed when the person robbing us uses emotional tactics against us..i.e using kids to sing festive songs. This is probaly why I started this thread and not one when my car window was done in and some stuff robbed.

Which of the kids robbed you? Nobody did!
    Bearing in mind you only parted with 50 cents I would reckon it was the kids who were robbed!:D

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

I think the issue people have is the fact that its quite clear that the ONLY reason the OP actually rang the Guards on them was because they were Roma.

If that had been a group of white, Irish kids and big fat baldy bogger from Leitrim I doubt the OP would have even thought about ringing the guards.