Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipping the postman at xmas

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

I've been at my current address 4 years. In that time I've not received a minimum of 20 items of post I know I should have received (and that's just the stuff I know about). I've repeatedly come home to see letters thrown in the porch as the postman couldn't be bothered putting them through the actual letter box (including letters stamped "Private & Confidential). Parcels left on the step, sorry we missed you noticed where they didn't even bother to try deliver it

So no, I won't be tipping my post man

So the postman left the packet at the door, you dont like it, he left you a "sorry we missed you" you didnt like it, hmmm. and your lucky to get the mail put in the porch, because as a law, the letter box is supposed to be at the first door, either on or outside, he is not due to open any door to get to a letterbox as it, believe or not, is trespassing, say the door fell when he opened it, say he slipped on tiles inside, he gets the bolliking from the company, then gets another for being out on sick leave, if hurt. But as with everything, everything is grand, till it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

I've been at my current address 4 years. In that time I've not received a minimum of 20 items of post I know I should have received (and that's just the stuff I know about). I've repeatedly come home to see letters thrown in the porch as the postman couldn't be bothered putting them through the actual letter box (including letters stamped "Private & Confidential). Parcels left on the step, sorry we missed you noticed where they didn't even bother to try deliver it

So no, I won't be tipping my post man

see below

selous wrote: »
    So the postman left the packet at the door, you dont like it, he left you a "sorry we missed you" you didnt like it, hmmm. and your lucky to get the mail put in the porch, because as a law, the letter box is supposed to be at the first door, either on or outside, he is not due to open any door to get to a letterbox as it, believe or not, is trespassing, say the door fell when he opened it, say he slipped on tiles inside, he gets the bolliking from the company, then gets another for being out on sick leave, if hurt. But as with everything, everything is grand, till it's not.

this ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

we aint insured to go past the post box or through a door at private residence.

as said, sure its grand till its not, and ya see a thread saying, my postie is suing me for slipping on my tiles in my porch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

either way barone it's the postie who is a prick regardless of what way he delivers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

no we don't. live in a built up area which isn't exactly a challenge to deliver to. don't see why i would. he get's paid to do it

btw tomorrow is the last day for xmas tips this year..just sayin

taking paypal now also :pac:

:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

As Barone says, last day for tips tomorrow, as we fly to Lichtenstein on the 26th to lodge our christmas tip booty in the tax free offshore account that's set up for retirement. But we'll still accept them in the New Year, hahahaaa!
    Or you'll never get a wrongly addressed important letter again, but a bill, yes.
    Happy Christmas to all Contributers on this thread begrudging and otherwise, especially the Posties, have a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

What time are we scheduled into Monaco on wednesday for that spa treatment gentlemen ?

Supraman wrote: »
    What time are we scheduled into Monaco on wednesday for that spa treatment gentlemen ?

Another day..another dollar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

barone wrote: »

Another day..another dollar
    Jaysus lads are yous only starting now? I've been leaving fragile packages on doorsteps all . :(

Collections later.. on till 6pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I expect to see my postie swerving all over the road

Locals give a man 15 bottles of whiskey and what do you think will happen :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

I always leave him a bottle or tin of sweets .
    I buy a lot of stuff on eBay and I don't be home juring the day so he leaves the packages in my spare wheelie bin out the back for me .

Guess what i had today??? Panda waste Charges and Gas bills, guess who got them?? thats right, the non tippers, hahahaaaaaa!
    Have a good one guy's.