Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipping the postman at xmas

• 20-12-2012 5:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭

I was at home earlier and was asked to go to shop for bottle of whiskey for the postman. I thought this country tradition was long dead.i find it strange.surely his doig his job actually delivering the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

So are taxi drivers and hairdressers and they usually expect tips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

sfwcork wrote: »
    I was at home earlier and was asked to go to shop for bottle of whiskey for the postman. I thought this country tradition was long dead.i find it strange.surely his doig his job actually delivering the post.

He's not asking for it, is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Better you giving him a tip than him giving your wife a tip ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Taxi drivers and hairdressers deliver our post too? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

Postmen are grand, and never ask for it, unlike the binmen who used to call around looking for something at Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

We tip the binmen, never the postman though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

No was the mothers idea.she wanted to get him the whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Duberlin Chick

Ah sure it depends on the postman I suppose.

My postman ignores me flat out everyday I see him. I refuse to stop saying hello to his face cause I've started to get a kick out of it. How someone's ignores a person greeting them face to face is beyond me.

He'll be thirsty this crimbo that's for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Tips are welcome but not expected.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

sure that's nothing, every year my bin men knock in looking for a tip :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

didn't realise that still happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

phasers wrote: »
    sure that's nothing, every year my bin men knock in looking for a tip :rolleyes:

Tell them to go fook

vicwatson wrote: »
    Tell them to go fook
    Flip them the bird.see how they like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

My folks used to invite the postman in for a whiskey while he was on his rounds. I haven't heard of it being done in a while though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 eth2

I don't tip them anymore after one of them tried to sue me when he landed in the gravel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Whatever about the post man, if you are in therapy don't forget to get you get something for your therapist; they have ahd to listen to the inner working of your mind for the past year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Mr. Pink: [rubbing his middle finger and thumb together] You know what this is? The world's smallest violin playing just for the postman and the taxi man and the fucking hairdresser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I used to be a post man a few years ago, it was coming up to christmas week and I went to a house to deliver some letters, suddenly the door opened and this extremely sexy woman dressed in her negligee opened the front door to me and summonsed me inside.

I followed her upstairs to a bedroom were she went on to give me the best ride I'd ever had in my life.

After that, we both got dressed, then she bought me down to the kitchen were she had a MONSTER of a breakfast laid on for me, sausages, rashers, pudding, eggs, delicious to say the least.

Anyway, I finished up the brekkie, was getting ready to leave the house when she handed me €2,

At this point I asked her what was all this in aid off? Hot sex, lovely breakfast, and some money?

She said, 'I asked me husband what should i give the post man this year for Christmas, and he said "fcuk em! Give him a couple of euro"! The breakfast was my idea love ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Culleeo

Why would you tip the barer of bad news, that fucker only brings me bills :(

Interviewer asked Mario Ballotelli why doesn't he celebrate when he scores a goal, his reply was "I'm paid to score goals, it's my job. Does the postman celebrate every time he delivers a letter? No, it's his job to deliver letters".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 eth2

Ghandee wrote: »
    I used to be a post man a few years ago, it was coming up to christmas week and I went to a house to deliver some letters, suddenly the door opened and this extremely sexy woman dress in her negligee opened the front door to me and summonsed me inside.

I followed her upstairs to a bedroom were she went on to give me the best ride I'd ever had in my life.

After that, we both got dressed, then she bought me down to the kitchen were she had a MONSTER of a breakfast laid on for me, sausages, rashers, pudding, eggs, delicious to say the least.

Anyway, I finished up the brekkie, was getting rest to leave the house when she handed me €2,

At this point I asked her what was all this in aid off? Hot sex, lovely breakfast, and some money?

She said, 'I asked me husband what should i give the post man this year for Christmas, and he said "fcuk em! Give him a couple of euro"! The breakfast was my idea love ;)

Oldie but a goldie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

don't do the bin men, they just throw the bins anywhere now.

postman if I see him, will give him a few bob, he's a nice chap.

barbers/hairdressers all get something extra for xmas, and then all the teachers/creches/coaches. get a little pressie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Our postman is very friendly and we always give him a bottle of wine. Don't actually know if he drinks wine though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Ghandee wrote: »
    I used to be a post man a few years ago, it was coming up to christmas week and I went to a house to deliver some letters, suddenly the door opened and this extremely sexy woman dress in her negligee opened the front door to me and summonsed me inside.

Anyway, I finished up the brekkie, was getting rest to leave the house when she handed me €2,

Jim Davidson is alive and well, I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Where To wrote: »
    Jim Davidson is alive and well, I see.

FHM i believe, good few years ago.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

My postmen do not even attempt to deliver parcels. All you get is a letter to collect at the local sorting office.

Not a chance in hell of a tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

bollix to that, he is getting paid to do his job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Considering a good proportion of the post addressed to the house goes missing, it'll be a no on tipping the post man. I'm not saying he's taking it, I don't think he is because he always knocks on the door when he has packages to deliver. I just know stuff that has definitely been posted has disappeared in the mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I went to a postman's birthday party today.
    We played pass-the-sorry you weren't in note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yes he'll get a tip.........tip of my boot up his hole

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ah sure it depends on the postman I suppose.
    also depends on the location

if you are an OAP and half relying on the postman to make sure you are still alive in the depths of winter then probably not a bad idea

if you live in a city chances you wouldn't recognise the postman and it's probably a temporary one at christmas anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I wish the people who say their post goes missing, or that the postperson never delivers their parcels would report them instead of pissing and moaning. How is your service supposed to get better if you don't? We do take complaints like that very seriously, you know.

Anyway I got plenty of pressies back when I did deliveries, people can be so generous and it was always a lovely surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Could be tupping the postman if I have too many beers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

This doesn't sit well with me if I'm honest. While most people groan about having to drive or take public transport to work (indoors), there are still people that have to face the elements for their jobs.

My postman calls me by my first name, is smiley and chirpy, is always around at the same time every day regardless of the weather. The last few mornings here was nothing but rain, or fog or ice. Can't say I'd fancy it much myself.

When bins were no longer free to lift people lost the love for bin men. Its not their fault, but I don't see the same set of bin men every week, so I don't know who to give what to unfortunately.

I'll give the post man a small bottle of whiskey or something, he's a good and hard working man that never complains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We always tip the postman at christmas,if you can afford it there is no harm in showing some gratitude and like wise with anyone else you want to tip.

Binman there used to tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

The father used to be a postman back in the 80's and 90's. Used to wait for him coming home late(they do crazy hrs over the christmas period) to help him open his "Christmas boxes". Some days he'd have pockets full of cards with cash in most. He woulda easy got over a weeks wages in tips over xmas and am sure it came in handy feeding and buying toys for 5 kids. God I loved christmas as a kid lol. R.I.P Pops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I always buy a case of whiskey at Christmas and give a bottle to my regular customers. It's a small gesture that pays for itself in terms of customer goodwill.

I have a stack of diaries on my desk right now from my customers.

I'm not bitter... Honest! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

It's a nice gesture to tip those who give you good service.

You will always get more with a carrot than a stick!

Gave our postie his tip this morning.

The selfish and mean traits in people have really come to the fore during and since the Celtic Tiger period, Ok many can't afford to tip but maybe the country would be in a better way if a few bob was given in this way.

Put yourself in the position of the one who you would like to tip, you would like to be appreciated too.........
    For those who are strapped financially a simple card with a thank you message would suffice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

OP, in all likeyhood your biological father is the postman. Is the coalman tipped as well by any chance? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

We tipped the bin men during the heavy snow becuase they actually went & knocked on people's doors telling them to put bins out, or took the bins if in front garden (people didn't know they were coming because there was a few day delay from the snow). They also took bags of extra rubbish. No one else wanted to give them anything - but I thought they deserved it because they went above & beyond what they needed to do.

My granddad was a binman & collected rubbish from pubs & a toyshop. For Christmas my dad & siblings had some of the best toys because the toystore gave them to the bin men as a happy christmas/thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Mr. Nice

phasers wrote: »

If they don't know where the tip is, they shouldn't be collecting rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I give the postman a 20 tip every Xmas.Can't see why not, he delivers the post in all types of weather, must be the most thankless job going imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Christmas time, the only time the guards will actually show up when asked so they can collect their Xmas tip
    They got a slab of cans from the offo I worked in

OP, in all likeyhood your biological father is the postman. Is the coalman tipped as well by any chance? ;)
    your momma is like a washing machine.black nobs turn her on!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Odysseus wrote: »
    ... don't forget to get you get something for your therapist; they have ahd to listen to the inner working of your mind for the past year!!!
    Don't forget the poor clinical supervisors. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

My postman delivers the post in his bmw so I dont think he need's my tip or is short of money :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Withe regard to tipping the postman at xmas (whenever that is) or any other time, no, no and no again - see here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056836568

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

i gave the postman a bottle of whiskey three years ago , he almost needed a trailer to haul home all the hard liquor he had with him in the van , gave him a box of biscuits ever since , if shane mc gowan was a postman , he could get through the amount of stuff our local lad gets every xmas

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

staker wrote: »
    I give the postman a 20 tip every Xmas.Can't see why not, he delivers the post in all types of weather, must be the most thankless job going imo.

im all for giving the postman a present but ive never understood this business of a particular job being a thankless one , if your paid , thats gratitude in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

mathepac wrote: »
    Withe regard to tipping the postman at xmas (whenever that is) or any other time, no, no and no again - see here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056836568

An Post looking to raise the price of stamps has nothing to do with individual postmen and wishing them a happy christmas though has it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I've heard that if you don't tip the postman he comes and pisses in your letterbox. Likewise if you have one of those big fancy outside postboxes he comes and does a big curly sh1te into it.