Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Nice Herald !
    Yeah, the dashcam is great - wouldn't be without one now, to be honest. That one is a Blackvue 400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭ianofitz

Really nice Herald! Not very nice parking though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

jimmyw wrote: »
    Nice curves, cute rear end too..................................

.............................oh, .and the merc is not bad either:p

Jaysus! You don't get out much do you? I've seen better Mercs too........;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

jimmyw wrote: »
    Nice curves, cute rear end too..................................

.............................oh, .and the merc is not bad either:p
    Uh, is that not a dude with a ponytail? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Dades,
    I dont think Jimmy commented either way.
    After all ,we live in modern times

Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Dades wrote: »
    Uh, is that not a dude with a ponytail? :pac:

Looks like a Bean Garda - not much difference :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Capri wrote: »

Looks like a Bean Garda - not much difference :p:p
    Ha ha can't tell the difference From behind hairy arse and all

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Well I would have taken a pic IF
    a) I had the camera ready when I first past it (it was broken down and being worked on)
    b) the car not moved from where it was fixed by the time I was coming back
    c) I had the camera ready when I past it the second time further up the road, but coming back from wherever.

One red ZAZ 968M, only caught the first part was a 73-KE-???, but a "M" version is a bit too late for 1973, so providing my eyesight hasn't gone/I've misread the number, it's suffering from an ID crisis too. ???

a) I had the camera ready when I first past it (it was broken down and being worked on)
    c) I had the camera ready when I past it the second time further up the road, but coming back from wherever.

One red ZAZ 968M, only caught the first part was a 73-KE-???, but a "M" version is a bit too late for 1973, so providing my eyesight hasn't gone/I've misread the number, it's suffering from an ID crisis too. ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Blue850

macplaxton wrote: »

View2-16321277.jpeg

This yoke?

That's the one!

No wonder I didn't catch the rest of the serial, 16001, it was sooooooooo long. Had it been five hundred and something like it was in the past...:rolleyes:

Thank you Blue850 for confirming I wasn't seeing things. I did see seventy-three and - an "earless" - 968M. They're just not the same without the ears....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

Two classics I saw in the underground car park in dun laoghaire on sunday, a 911 and a big merc

The porsche had a cover on it an hour later so obviously lives in there

Photo0932.jpg

Photo0931.jpg

Its dark in the underground and my phone has no flash so excuse the poor quality pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

few days ago (behind the wall of Esso petrol station on South Link Road) this youngtimer with a parking ticket (right under the ticket on dashboard is a note written on a parking disc saying: 5min /phone number) ... :)

IMG_4781.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Its dark in the underground and my phone has no flash so excuse the poor quality pictures

Hold the device still next time, the pictures won't be that blurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

Diabhalta wrote: »
    Hold the device still next time, the pictures won't be that blurry.

I've tried that several times, doesn't make them any better, when its dark, its dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

A friend of mine has just completed a long restoration on this rarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

aujopimur wrote: »
    A friend of mine has just completed a long restoration on this rarity.

That going to the Garda museum ? - interesting restoration :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The Vauxhall Victor was the first (factory) police-spec vehicle used by AGS, I don't know how many they had but it remained the only police spec car ever used by AGS until the introduction of the Volvo XC70's used by Regional Support Units in 2008.

That one above looks absolutely stunning and I wish more people would restore old Garda cars.

Capri wrote: »
    That going to the Garda museum ? - interesting restoration :)
    I'd say not.

The Vauxhall Victor was the first (factory) police-spec vehicle used by AGS, I don't know how many they had but it remained the only police spec car ever used by AGS until the introduction of the Volvo XC70's used by Regional Support Units in 2008.

That one above looks absolutely stunning and I wish more people would restore old Garda cars.

It seems they became interested in the Victor FD police specials when they were offered and purchased, at a too good to refuse price, a couple of dark wine coloured ones when a UK police force failed to complete on an order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

aujopimur wrote: »
    a couple of dark wine coloured ones when a UK police force failed to complete on an order.
    Is that definitely true? I always remember having seen a dark red Garda car as a kid, but i'd managed to convince myself that i'd imagined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

I think we need to see more photos of this Victor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I may well be voting for myself as Wally of the Year,, and could have done a bit of Wiki before typing, but is it not a Ventora?

Regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I always thought they were the VX4-90, same as this:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/retroscenemag/4440756567/

rugbyman wrote: »
    I may well be voting for myself as Wally of the Year,, and could have done a bit of Wiki before typing, but is it not a Ventora?

Regards, Rugbyman

No, it's not a Ventora, these were Police/Garda specials, they were Victors fitted with 3300cc straight 6 cylinder engines and manual gearboxes.
    They also had the Ventora dashboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Is there many more ex Garda cars about? I know there's the SSI reg facelift MKII Granada, but can't think of any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

was it out near kilmainham where the Garda auctions used to be in the 80s?
    vaguely remember being at one as a kid with the ouldfella,came away with a kawasaki 750z with half a saddle and two Austin montegos:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

another one of those ex garda ventoras/victors in walkinstown ..AI reg ...

also ex department of defence one been restored here

http://totalopel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21540

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

manta mad wrote: »
    another one of those ex garda ventoras/victors in walkinstown ..AI reg ...

also ex department of defence one been restored here

http://totalopel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21540

I did'nt think any Garda/Defence Forces vehicles were registered outside Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

I remember my first job and the boss had a VENTORA 3.3 straight 6.. I thought it was the dogs at the time.. would have been about 76 reg ?

I later drove a ex UK Police Victor Estate with the 3.3 as a garage runaround ,,on gas .. It was a bit scary trying to get parking when you are only driving a few months !!! what a tank