Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,702 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

dwighet wrote: »
    you know...the sh!t that comes up before and you have to wait...
    You know what I mean..

Man I hate them, yahoo is a bitch for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Bu33les wrote: »
    adblock?

Edit:looking at dwig post history, methinks their is a joke a foot...

Thanks for checking my history.....I have blue eyes.6 foot tall.45 yrs old..I like long walks along the beach with the wind blowing through my baldy head...

How about yu:rolleyes:
    thanks for the link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

I've never had a single ad on Youtube. I've seen them in the US, but never here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Fluffy88

The adblocker addons for firefox and Chrome stop those ads too as far as I know.

EDIT: <td class="linecart" align="center"> .... dodedooo

Fluffy88 wrote: »
    The adblocker addons for firefox and Chrome stop those ads too as far as I know.

That might be it. Haven't run without AdBlock in a long time.

Serephucus wrote: »
    I've never had a single ad on Youtube. I've seen them in the US, but never here.

Ahhh.now im out in the sticks and on a wi fi connection... maybe that has something todo with it...

That might be it. Haven't run without AdBlock in a long time.

Im still using igoogle...guess i should get up to speed what ye think...???
    Hard to change from what you know thou. You know the saying..."old dog new tricks"

Took me a while to get used to Chrome coming from Firefox. A month in though, I couldn't believe I hadn't switched sooner. Six months later and I'm still happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Plenty of adverts on youtube in Ireland. Adblock is the reason you have not seen any yet.

Took me a while to get used to Chrome coming from Firefox. A month in though, I can't believe I hadn't switched sooner.

I must check it out....Tried it in the past but kept going back...I have no patience these days... grumpy pold fook syndrome me has...

I use srware Iron myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bu33les

Thanks for checking my history.....I have blue eyes.6 foot tall.45 yrs old..I like long walks along the beach with the wind blowing through my baldy head...

How about yu:rolleyes:
    thanks for the link

I thought you were messing! I'm not with it at all tonight.

Just hooked up with that "adblocker" NICE...... no more sh!te.. Thanks lads...Especially the lad that looked up my history... Your my man:cool:

Stick on no script aswell, that blocks more crap. Takes abit of getting use to but speeds things up and stops tracking sites following ya and all that.

nice one...cheers dude..will take a look tomorrow...Need me old man nap now.. work in the morning...

Thanks lads..:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

You buy headphones, marked down from 100 to 35, they're pretty bad, is that a reason enough to return them(got away with it once before)?

ED E wrote: »
    You buy headphones, marked down from 100 to 35, they're pretty bad, is that a reason enough to return them(got away with it once before)?

yap

Your covered by the EU sale of goods law (if bought recently)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

If bought online, you are able to return under the EU 7 day Cooling-Off Period law:

http://www.eccireland.ie/topic.php?topic=6#subtopic_47

In store today. Reviews other than amazon were pretty much non existent.

ED E wrote: »
    In store today. Reviews other than amazon were pretty much non existent.

Ya bring them back ED with your receipt

Headshot wrote: »
    Ya bring them back ED with your receipt

Will do. Was just concerned that it could be argued that they are fit for purpose, just bad at it.

Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭settings

thinking about replacing the power supply on my htpc since i changed the cooler from a stock to a shuirken I notice that the PSU makes more noise than I would like. Basically, I want one as quiet as possible and all it has to power is an i3 sandybridge, 3.5" sata HD (the current PSU is 180w). Any ideas? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Lol the irony..me giving advice on returns, and now I have to do same. One of the nose pads just fell off a new pair of glasses I got & I can't find the receipt. No idea if the credit card stub part is sufficient, I hope so or I'm down over 300:(

Yes credit card receipt should be grand too

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/consumer_affairs/consumer_protection/consumer_rights/consumers_and_the_law_in_ireland.html
    If things go wrong
    If you have a problem with an item that you have bought it is always the seller who should put things right. As a general rule, the seller can either repair or replace the item. Alternatively, they can refund the costs of the item or service to the consumer.

If you are not satisfied with the quality of goods or services you can:

Return the goods to the supplier who sold it to you (you should not return the goods to the manufacturer)
    Act as soon as you can – a delay can indicate that you have accepted faulty goods or services
    Do not attempt to repair the item yourself or give it to anyone else to repair it
    Make sure that you have a proof of purchase (a receipt, cheque stub, credit card statement or invoice)
    You have no grounds for redress if

You were told about the defect before you bought the item (for example, if the goods were marked 'shopsoiled')
    You examined the item before you bought it and should have seen the defect
    You bought the item knowing that it wasn’t fit for what you wanted it to do
    You broke or damaged the product
    You made a mistake when buying the item (for example, if you bought an item of clothing thinking it was black when it is actually navy)
    You change your mind

btw ED have a read of the above too

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Yeah adblock is great but the author, god damn... he lays it on THICK.

CAN I FEED MY WIFE? HUH? HUH?

MUCH subtler ways to guilt people into handing over money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

aye got that adblock myself just now. ads on youtube just do my head in. specially when you got a music playlist on shuffle!

p.s. did we got support for spotify in ireland? or still no?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

aye got that adblock myself just now. ads on youtube just do my head in. specially when you got a music playlist on shuffle!

p.s. did we got support for spotify in ireland? or still no?

We did and it's great. Just feckin' great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

We did and it's great. Just feckin' great.

awesome just made an account!

Andy!! wrote: »
    Yeah adblock is great but the author, god damn... he lays it on THICK.

CAN I FEED MY WIFE? HUH? HUH?

MUCH subtler ways to guilt people into handing over money.
    is that the guy that updates it? Near sure the guy that wrote it is dead.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

is that the guy that updates it? Near sure the guy that wrote it is dead.

The original coder? How? **** thats sad, kinda in bad taste to leave the original message up there then, there should be a new one if anything.