Archbishops issue strongly worded statement on Government decision for abortion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Same could be true if his father had a ****, or his mother was more amenable to a spot of bum loving on that faithful day. Do you have a point at all?
    Also, pro deathers? ha ha
    Sarky wrote: »
    Or if they'd shagged in a different position, another sperm would have gotten there first and someone else entirely would have been born.
    Ah jaysus lads, you're giving me some fierce mental images of my parents going at it here!!! :eek:
    creeper1 wrote: »
    Classy. But what do you expect from pro-deathers like yourself?

It is a moral issue. We need to stay human. Unborn don't have a voice.

If your mother had an abortion you wouldn't be here.

So you GFyourself.

Mod: Banned.
    If my mother's life was at stake, if she was suicidal at the thought of giving birth or if her life would have been ruined by having me, I'd fully support her decision to terminate me.

I'm not arrogant enough to make this decision on behalf of the entire populous. Unlike the Church.

I stand by my earlier point: they've done nothing good for this country and its people. Why they think we care or heed anything they say now is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

creeper1 wrote: »
    what do you expect from pro-deathers like yourself?

'Pro-deathers'.

As opposed to the immortalists?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Killing your child is wrong. Always!

However, removing some cells that could eventually grow into a child is not wrong.

Happy now?

Embryo then foetus then child I think.
    Nobody is killing children.
    Why? Because children are already born!

PS Did I leave out the zygote?
    The god gang think that a zygote should have the same rights as a woman. Nutters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ah jaysus lads, you're giving me some fierce mental images of my parents going at it here!!! :eek:

The question is what position were they in when they had you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

However, removing some cells that could eventually grow into a child is not wrong.

Happy now?

Embryo then foetus then child I think.
    Nobody is killing children.
    Why? Because children are already born!

Wooooosh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

bluewolf wrote:
    If your mother had given your father a bj instead, neither would you.

Oral sex is wrong.
    Same could be true if his father had a ****, or his mother was more amenable to a spot of bum loving on that faithful day. Do you have a point at all?

All wrong wrong WRONG!
    Sarky wrote:
    Or if they'd shagged in a different position, another sperm would have gotten there first and someone else entirely would have been born.

That's wrong, missionary position only.
    Gaffs89 wrote:
    So where do you stand on the" moral issue" of priests raping children?

That's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭PurpleSt4in

A bunch of old virgins who preach morals from a church which has been outed as covering up child molesters, oh yes I'll listen to them loads. Tell me more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Really does anyone pay any attention to this antiquated bull**** spouted by a bunch of child molesters and their protesters anymore?

The Catholic Church is dying a slow and painful death in this country, I only wish we could change the slow part. The vast majority are culturally catholic now, don't go to mass on Sundays but still bring their kids to be christened, go to Xmas mass etc. Anyone who can stand by this bunch of morally inept, subhuman scum and their teachings make me sick, they have done nothing but cause pain and misery to the people of this island and the sooner they are squashed the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,019 ✭✭✭✭tk123

They're entitled to their opinions yes..but I was under the impression I lived in the republic of Ireland, that I voted in elections to award power (or keep power away from gombeens) to govern the Republic of Ireland and my taxes etc are paid to the State which is - you've probably guessed it by now - the Republic or Ireland - not the Vatican or Roman Catholic Church of Ireland. So IMO Enda should tell them they'll take their ideas on board but the work for us the people of Ireland and not the f@@king church! GAH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yes, nothing like having the expertise of someone who doesn't have a family, in an organisation plagued with child abuse cases, still attempts to control how the country is run, how it's people and visitors are treated and has dire relationships and views towards women and homosexuals.

Their opinions are always rational and valid.

*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Sarky wrote: »
    The question is what position were they in when they had you?

Reverse cowgirl FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

mikom wrote: »

....what do you call that many gob****es when they flock together?

Anyhoo.......
    http://www.herald.ie/news/spindoctor-calls-libertas-poll-failure-simons-psychotic-bitch-1778048.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

mikom wrote: »

Ugh, the 'irishy' flutes in the background just make me cringe. They keep bringing up our maternal death rate as though it's relevant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Nodin wrote: »
    ....what do you call that many gob****es when they flock together?

An affliction of thundercnuts is the correct term I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

According to the news at half five Enda is going to meet with Church leaders in the new year to discuss the issue. Why doesn't he make the effort to talk to the people actually affected by this ie the women of Ireland who have had to travel to the UK for abortions rather than listening to this bunch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

eviltwin wrote: »
    According to the news at half five Enda is going to meet with Church leaders in the new year to discuss the issue. Why doesn't he make the effort to talk to the people actually affected by this ie the women of Ireland who have had to travel to the UK for abortions rather than listening to this bunch?

I do hope the media will be there for pictures of Inda kneeling before each bishop and kissing the ring on their finger, just to display who really is in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

fecking virgins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I don't know why people are surprised at the reaction from the church, did ye think they were going to support killing unborn children.
    This thread will bash and insult the catholic church and anyone who prays in it, the usual from the outraged AH posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Fairplay to the Archbishops.

They are effective at getting their message out, an upset Rabbitte and some upset on boards.ie.
    It is fun to sit back and watch the reaction. I don't agree with some views of others, but they are entitled to their opinion, even if one thinks they are wrong.

Speaking of Rabbittes, the funny thing is a lot of the Labour party will be like the rabbit in Fatal Attraction or more aptly...aborted from power.
    Though maybe Pat will not be boiled...sad really :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

eviltwin wrote: »
    According to the news at half five Enda is going to meet with Church leaders in the new year to discuss the issue.

Meeting at the top of Croagh patrick alongside Trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

No doubt neckless Enda will immediately backtrack.

He is ok with raping peoples finances but god forbid he upsets the country parishioners :rolleyes:

No doubt neckless Enda will immediately backtrack.

He is ok with raping peoples finances but god forbid he upsets the country parishioners :rolleyes:

It could be a double coup of the wrong kind for Enda, excommunicated for bringing in abortion and he finally loses his in Mayo in the next election.
    FG voters were promised no legislation for abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭Morag

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/293214_567216713304146_248588224_n.jpg

Cardinal Séan Brady who knew what sort of a monster Brendan Smith was and kept quiet and even helped swear two of the kids he raped to silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 WeNeed Another General Election

it's a crying shame that some priests weren't aborted themselves!

Min wrote: »
    It could be a double coup of the wrong kind for Enda, excommunicated for bringing in abortion and he finally loses his in Mayo in the next election.
    FG voters were promised no legislation for abortion.

He's not bringing in abortion though is he? The legislation is a rule that will aid a womans survival in case of something going fatally wrong during labour or before. He's not exactly replicating the system that is in the UK?

The proposed legislation is in line with the UN etc rules for the rights of woman so if those anti-choice minded people have a problem, they should take it up with the UN!

He's not bringing in abortion though is he? The legislation is a rule that will aid a womans survival in case of something going fatally wrong for during labour or before. He's not exactly replicating the system that is in the UK?

The proposed legislation is in line with the UN etc rules for the rights of woman so if those anti-choice minded people have a problem, they should take it up with the UN!

In the UN, abortion is not a right.

Suicide leaves the door open, because humans lie.

Morag wrote: »
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/293214_567216713304146_248588224_n.jpg

Cardinal Séan Brady who knew what sort of a monster Brendan Smith was and kept quiet and even helped swear two of the kids he raped to silence.

He didn't but it is a nice urban myth, it was part of the church investigation, the parents brought the children to the bishop and it was Fr Sean Brady who took the notes. He didn't make anyone swear to silence.

In the UN, abortion is not a right.

Suicide leaves the door open, because humans lie.
    Abortion isn't but the right to health is - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1218/1224327960438.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He didn't but it is a nice urban myth, it was part of the church investigation, the parents brought the children to the bishop and it was Fr Sean Brady who took the notes. He didn't make anyone swear to silence.

He was involved. The second meeting he was on his own, so he would have been the one to have the victim swear to secrecy.
    In a statement, the Catholic Communications Office gave details of two meetings at which he was present. It insisted both of these were with teenage boys.
    The first meeting took place in Dundalk, Co Louth, on March 29, 1975, and involved a 14-year-old boy. The second took place at the Parochial House in Ballyjamesduff, Co Cavan, on April 4, 1975, and was with a 15-year-old boy.
    A spokesman insisted the cardinal was only present during these two interviews and was not involved in any interview with a girl.
    At the first meeting, Cardinal Brady, then a 36-year-old priest, was joined by two other priests. His role was to take notes. At the second, he was alone with the child and was responsible for conducting the inquiry and taking notes.
    The spokesman claimed the decision to ask the children to sign an oath of secrecy was to "avoid potential collusion in the gathering of the inquiry's evidence and to ensure that the process was robust enough to withstand challenge by the perpetrator, Fr Brendan Smyth".
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/shamed-plea-buys-brady-more-time-to-stay-as-leader-2102852.html