Woman viciously assaults barman leaving him permanently scarred, gets no jail time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Debator wrote: »
    No agenda from me. I'm not the one making accusations about this girl. A very snarky post was made by Seaneh which was very offensive to all Trinity graduates. There were undertones on anti-Prostentism in his post also (he brought up the fact she was from the North).

You do know there are middle class Catholics in the North too, don't you? Why do you assume she is Protestant?

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭Debator

Where in seanehs post was religion mentioned?

By the way I am a trinity graduate and I took no offense from the post as there was no suggestion that all trinity graduates go around smashing glasses in peoples faces! :rolleyes:

So because you weren't offended means nobody else on the planet was offended? No need for the childish rolleyes pictures. We can talk about this rationally like adults or you can act like a 5 year old.

From Seaneh's post:
    Seaneh wrote: »
    Pretty blonde trinity graduate from a middle class family in the North who could afford a very good barrister and works in "the arts"?
    Fairly easy see why she got off.

But not some nice petite pretty blonde actress with a degree from Trinners who comes from a nice Northern middle class family, oh heavens no, poor thing, she just had a bad night...

His sarcasm insinuates that Trinity graduates have a tendency to commit these assault crimes. Absolutely no need to mention her university or the fact that she was from the North. Poster Seaneh has a record of being a hardline Sinn Féin supporter and wouldn't be friendly to our Unionist brothers up North. It appears he has a chip on his shoulder and is exploiting the barman's injuries for political point scoring.

So because you weren't offended means nobody else on the planet was offended? No need for the childish rolleyes pictures. We can talk about this rationally like adults or you can act like a 5 year old.

From Seaneh's post:

His sarcasm insinuates that Trinity graduates have a tendency to commit these assault crimes. Absolutely no need to mention her university or the fact that she was from the North. Poster Seaneh has a record of being a hardline Sinn Féin supporter and wouldn't be friendly to our Unionist brothers up North. It appears he has a chip on his shoulder and is exploiting the barman's injuries for political point scoring.

Looks like you were the one trying and failing to point score tbh.

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭Debator

Looks like you were the one trying and failing to point score tbh.

Since you claim that I have an agenda, can you please inform me what my apparent agenda is?

I've said my piece so I'm now leaving this thread. Just beware of agendas and ask yourself why is this poster even bringing up this unimportant detail, whether it be the person's religion or university. You may as well mention that she had cornflakes for breakfast. Would the crime be less tragic if she was a Catholic from Mayo who attended UCD? Food for thought.

Hasta luego amigos x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

What has her university got to do with anything? Are you bitter you didn't get enough points for Trinity (traditionally a bastion of Protestantism in Ireland)? Or is it that she's a Northern Protestant that annoys you?

Genuine questions. In other assault cases the offender's educational/religious background is never mentioned or taken into account. Seems like you have an agenda to me.

Tanya, so good of you to join us :)

Hopefully the DPP will promptly appeal the leniency of this quite ludicrous sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Hasta luego amigos x

Totz ma goatz amazeballs, poster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

No agenda from me. I'm not the one making accusations about this girl. A very snarky post was made by Seaneh which was very offensive to all Trinity graduates. There were undertones on anti-Prostentism in his post also (he brought up the fact she was from the North).

what do mean accusations? She 100% did it and was found guilty in a court of law. She's scum!

Judge Patrick McCartan imposed an 18 month sentence, suspended on condition that she maintains good behaviour and continues with her alcohol counselling.

She basically knew how to play the system.
    Pretend to be reformed and doing something about her alcohol "issues"...

Evidently she was off her rocker on something!

And if the roles had been reversed (i.e. barmaid v's aggressive male) any normal barmaid would have tried to defuse the situation(and not by saying "You're my problem") or else got the hell out of there and gotten back up ~ I know I would have gone for option 2.
    That's what you have security for...

So, in summary: she had no priors, she was from a "good" family, he was a non-national with possibly bad legal advice, she got sound legal advice and got off fairly lightly.

But if she hadn't paid her TV license: now that would have been another story!

And the judges do give suspended sentences for glassing to men too...http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/56774/three-year-suspended-sentence-for-pint-glass-assault
    And another http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/suspended-sentence-for-nightclub-glass-assault-511504.html

Since you claim that I have an agenda, can you please inform me what my apparent agenda is?

A poster who you know to have Republican leanings makes a post which makes absolutely no reference to the religion or politics of the woman, details which are present no-where in the story yet you accuse him of discriminating against her based on her religion and politics. It is blatantly clear what your agenda is.

The question still remains as to why you assume she is a Protestant and a Unionist. Do you know her personally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Clarehobo wrote: »
    And if the roles had been reversed (i.e. barmaid v's aggressive male) any normal barmaid would have tried to defuse the situation(and not by saying "You're my problem")

Ah here (LEAVE IT OUTTTT), do you know how many drunken abusive people barmen/barwomen/security deal with every night on the job? They shouldn't be expected to reason with every nutter that goes off on a mad one.

Different circumstances and all that, but honestly, I don't think you can pin anything on the barman here. It says he tried to flee when she glassed him.

Ah here (LEAVE IT OUTTTT), do you know how many drunken abusive people barmen/barwomen/security deal with every night on the job? They shouldn't be expected to reason with every nutter that goes off on a mad one.

Different circumstances and all that, but honestly, I don't think you can pin anything on the barman here. It says he tried to flee when she glassed him.

Gone Drinking... I do - I worked in bars. My point was the second option was the one I would choose: get out of there and get back up. I would not have responded to her when she was looking for a fight. He shouldn't have either. I have been in the position before where someone tried to get aggressive by using that exact same line - and... I responded no, got out of there and got her kicked out by security.

I'm not saying it's his fault: I am saying that people who say if the roles were reversed...men...barmaids...glass... would result in jail can't say that as in general any barmaid I have known wouldn't be in that position!

She got a suspended sentence, like the two other articles I produced: use google and see how many more you will find...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

How does bringing up the fact that she's from the north have anything to do with "anti-prostemism" whatever that is? If you find it offensive, that's your bloody problem, I just pointed out that a middle class blonde girl with a trinity degree for a suspended sentence for almost blinding a man and assaulting another man and then assaulting two garadi, there is no way in hell that a male from a working class family would have gotten away so lightly. Infact there is a link in this very thread where a lad from north dublin with no priors for 2 years in jail for glassing someone, and he cooperated with gardai after and and didn't resist arrest...

A poster who you know to have Republican leanings makes a post which makes absolutely no reference to the religion or politics of the woman, details which are present no-where in the story yet you accuse him of discriminating against her based on her religion and politics. It is blatantly clear what your agenda is.

The question still remains as to why you assume she is a Protestant and a Unionist. Do you know her personally?

I wouldn't mind, I've not even fecking Catholic... :confused::confused:

Seaneh wrote: »
    I just pointed out that a middle class blonde girl with a trinity degree for a suspended sentence for almost blinding a man and assaulting another man and then assaulting two garadi, there is no way in hell that a male from a working class family would have gotten away so lightly.

How do you know she is from a middle-class background?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

yermandan wrote: »
    Why was the original thread closed?

Maybe PM the mod who closed it and ask?

Since people are already posting her phone number on this thread I'd say it'll be closed soon too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭pcardin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Maybe PM the mod who closed it and ask?

Since people are already posting her phone number on this thread I'd say it'll be closed soon too.

Apologies. Phone removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

She pleaded guilty from the start thats why she didn't go to jail, I don't condone her actions but one incident like this shouldn't define a person, she also can't be held responsible for lack of process in the pub when these incidents happen, I'm sure the pub was insured against this. so its a disgrace that he had to pay for a taxi to hospital out of his own pocket. He should be fairly successful in bringing a claim against the pub in question.

Shes a complete tool the way she carried on but we all do stupid things at some stage, hopefully the guy gets compensated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Folks, do not post personal info about the woman, don't link to any sites that are not directly related to the topic and keep you anger down to the level of polite indignation.

How do you know she is from a middle-class background?

Because I know. How I know is unimportant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

JJJJNR wrote: »
    She pleaded guilty from the start thats why she didn't go to jail, I don't condone her actions but one incident like this shouldn't define a person, she also can't be held responsible for lack of process in the pub when these incidents happen, I'm sure the pub was insured against this. so its a disgrace that he had to pay for a taxi to hospital out of his own pocket. He should be fairly successful in bringing a claim against the pub in question.

Shes a complete tool the way she carried on but we all do stupid things at some stage, hopefully the guy gets compensated.

We all do stupid things, but we don't all glass people, headbut their colleagues and then pick a fight with Gardaí.

She brought €2,500 to court, which was 'accepted on behalf' of the guy concerned. Hopefully it actually went to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

From Seaneh's post:

Off topic and I dont mean to be bad but so what if someone is offended, why is that treated as such a big issue these days. Nothing happens if you are offended, your feelings are hurt but thats all. This is AH, as long as you are not being a complete bigot, I would assume people can express their opinions without having to worry about who they can potentially offend.

Maybe this is something there have been threads about previously but ifyou are not breaking the forum rules why do people feel the need to point out generalisations in others posts. I see it in almost every thread and it is generally the post that takes the discussion away from the intended subject.

On topic, this was a disgusting attack. You hear it more and more these days. How anyone can feel justified to act this way as get away with it is beyond me. Justice should be blind but we all know that it is not. Sad state of affairs in modern Ireland. I have no idea how we can fix the issues with the justice system but it needs to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

FYP. I do agree with you though, and it really irritates me. I've seen it before when I've been in town on nights out, women slapping, yelling at and basically assaulting men but yelling "YOU CAN'T HIT ME, I'M A GIRL!" at them. As a woman, it's something I find very embarrassing. I think the minute a woman starts becoming violent towards someone that negates the whole "I'm a woman you can't hit me" defense.

It's all you ever hear, it's like all offenders are getting suspended sentences at this stage. If the DPP's intention is to make people lose faith in the justice system then they're going the right way about it.

Yup but regardless of the legal or moral side of things if a lad was to react to a girl with even a push if she was attacking him there would undoubtedly be a few have a go hero type lads ready to defend her honour without considering that she may be the one causing the trouble. I worked in pubs and clubs for years and its all too common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭therealgirl

GRMA wrote: »
    Our legal system, the British common law legal system, which gives unelected Judges incredible power is fundamentally flawed. The civil legal system, based on the Napoleonic code, whilst flawed and by no means perfect, is vastly superior as is used on the majority of 1st world countries.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:LegalSystemsOfTheWorldMap.png

We'll never have change the way things are run, the legal sector are a law unto themselves, self regulate etc.

I heard the other day that that psycho from Norway got 21 years jail time for murdering 77 people...he'd be only 54 when he gets out...so I guess the justice system is f*cked in most countries...civil or common law, I'll know never to rely on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

I see no problem with the law or the system in this case.
    I do however have a massive problem in how it was administered by the Judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

It doesn't matter if its Tanya from Trinners or Jacinta from Dolphins Barn, the point that needs to be looked at is that nobody goes to prison for these sorts of crimes. Dont be letting class blind your opinion. You can pretty much attack anybody and get away with it in Ireland. There is a bloke living close to me that broke a girls nose after stealing her phone in a mugging. Despite umpteen convictions, did he do anytime for it? did he ****. I see the chap still walking the streets without a care in the world.

TBH it sounds she had a manic episode and needs mental help.

Sounds like she got hammered to me.

Why does something like this have to be excused by an underlying pyschiatric condition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

I find this case to be extremely disturbing, if the facts have been accurately reported.

Due to one young lady having had too much to drink, this poor man will probably never be the same again, his confidence will have taken a huge battering and of course he will in all likelihood bear the physical scars for life.

Unfortunately there is still an overriding belief in society that the woman can never be at fault in such a situation, therefore had this man decided to strike out (which I believe he would have been perfectly entitled to do so in such a dangerous situation) he would either have been set upon by people in the vicinity, or the girl herself would have taken subsequent legal action.

Thankfully most women are not like this and are aware of the extremely serious consequences of glassing attacks. However, it is somewhat disturbing that this appears not to be an isolated incident and that other similar situations have occurred.

The whole excuse about her being too drunk to realise what she was doing also sounds very fishy, it sounds exactly like a scenario where one says when inebriated what they think in a sober state, just the alcohol gives them the bravery to bring it out in the open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I heard the other day that that psycho from Norway got 21 years jail time for murdering 77 people...he'd be only 54 when he gets out...so I guess the justice system is f*cked in most countries...civil or common law, I'll know never to rely on it

Believe me he'll never get out, the 21 years means nothing, it's a containment sentence which can be extended indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

ItsNoAlias wrote: »
    Off topic and I dont mean to be bad but so what if someone is offended, why is that treated as such a big issue these days. Nothing happens if you are offended, your feelings are hurt but thats all. This is AH, as long as you are not being a complete bigot, I would assume people can express their opinions without having to worry about who they can potentially offend.

Maybe this is something there have been threads about previously but ifyou are not breaking the forum rules why do people feel the need to point out generalisations in others posts. I see it in almost every thread and it is generally the post that takes the discussion away from the intended subject.

Also off topic but I'd just like to add the following quote that your post reminded me of:

'It's now very common to hear people say, "I'm rather offended by that", as if that gives them certain rights. It's no more than a whine. It has no meaning, it has no purpose, it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. "I'm offended by that." Well, so ****ing what?' —Stephen Fry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Hate that stephen Fry quote - makes him seem a bit of a dick. Obviously he's only referring to stuff that Mary Whitehouse types would get offended by, which is fair enough, but as a gay man of Jewish heritage I'm quite sure he'd be offended by fanatical homophobia/anti-semitism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

Madam_X wrote: »
    ...but as a gay man of Jewish heritage I'm quite sure he'd be offended...

With that avatar, I assumed you were a woman.