Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman viciously assaults barman leaving him permanently scarred, gets no jail time

• 19-12-2012 1:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/suspended-sentence-for-actress-who-left-barman-permanently-scarred-after-glassing-incident-3331414.html

I don't want to live on this planet anymore. :mad:
    The barman advised his colleague not to talk to her because she was too drunk, but a short time later he noticed the blonde girl trying to get into the cellar.

When he asked her to leave the staff area she said “What's your problem?”

The barman responded “You're my problem.”

Gda Grey told Fiona Murphy BL, prosecuting, that Tanya Wilson then slapped the barman across the face and chased him with a glass in her hand when he tried to get away.

He said that she was acting “really crazy” and he put up his hand up to try and block her. He then followed her out a fire escape and put his hand on her arm to calm her down.

Wilson then said “You can't touch me, I'm a girl,” and smashed the Bulmers glass into the barman's face.

He grabbed her arm and brought her to the bar while she was screaming: “Let me go, let me go; he attacked me.”

The court heard the barman was bleeding very badly from his face when he went to get security.

The gardai were called before he was put in a taxi to the Mater Hospital where he waited for seven hours to be treated.

He received 3 stitches across the bridge of his nose which were later removed leaving a scar, and was also treated for 8 or 9 secondary wounds including small cuts to both eyelids, bruising and a black eye.

Meanwhile, another staff member at the Mezz Bar asked a colleague to get a tissue for Wilson's bleeding hand and tried to calm her down.

He said she became calm for a few minutes and then got very aggressive again and tried to slap him five or six times, connecting with one slap in the face and one punch under the chin.

She also head-butted this staff member in the chest and eventually had to be restrained on the floor.

Gda Grey said when he arrived at the scene Wilson punched him several times and said “Don't ****ing touch me.” She was very aggressive and vomited in the garda car on the way to Pearse Street Station.

The court heard that when Wilson was taken down to a cell to be searched by two female gardaí she was “roaring abuse” and attempting to hit and kick gardaí.

There are literally so many utterly f*cked up things about this I don't even know where to start. I find the "you can't touch me I'm a girl" before whacking the guy with a glass particularly incendiary, but that's just my general hatred for people who abuse double standards. The entire story is horrific, and the fact that she's got off scott free sickens me.

HOW does a scumbag like this get a suspended sentence???
    F*ck this country's legal system. I'm getting more despairing about it every day. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Here we go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Court Service of Ireland.. They left justice out !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Wilson brought €2,500 to court as a token of her remorse, which was accepted on behalf of the Brazilian barman.

Judge McCartan said the crime was “appalling”, adding that it was “remarkable that a young woman like yourself, who has never been in trouble of any sort, would find the capacity to swing a glass into the face of another person, with potentially catastrophic consequences. That takes some doing. ” he said.

Seems odd that he didn't go custodial if they were his thoughts. The article doesn't seem to give his reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Lapin wrote: »
    Here we go again.

We're allowed, see previous thread ending:p

This was a terrible attack and due to the number of incidents etc, not something done on the spur of the moment.:( Sentence is shocking, but not suprising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Firstly I am horrified at the attack full stop. Being a barman, I deal with these lunatics all the time (but thankfully have not had any incidents like this ever)

Secondly, to get a suspended sentence for this is just scandalous. Really shows that the legal system is messed up in this country.

The third thing, and the thing that confuses me is the comment of 'you can't hit me, I'm a girl'. In retrospect, if the barman had given her a few smacks, would he have been prosecuted despite the fact he was defending himself?

With the media up in arms regarding equality, should he have been able to give her a few smacks as he would have more likely done to an aggressive male? Even in defending himself?

A suspended sentence is just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Firstly I am horrified at the attack full stop. Being a barman, I deal with these lunatics all the time (but thankfully have not had any incidents like this ever)

Secondly, to get a suspended sentence for this is just scandalous. Really shows that the legal system is messed up in this country.

The third thing, and the thing that confuses me is the comment of 'you can't hit me, I'm a girl'. In retrospect, if the barman had given her a few smacks, would he have been prosecuted despite the fact he was defending himself?

With the media up in arms regarding equality, should he have been able to give her a few smacks as he would have more likely done to an aggressive male? Even in defending himself?

I imagine the answer to that question is 100% yes. Genders reversed, a guy would have done serious time for assaulting a female barmaid in this manner.
    To be honest, I made this thread more to decry our legal system's appalling leniency than the sexism and misandry involved, but now that you mention it, that's definitely true IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Our legal system, the British common law legal system, which gives unelected Judges incredible power is fundamentally flawed. The civil legal system, based on the Napoleonic code, whilst flawed and by no means perfect, is vastly superior as is used on the majority of 1st world countries.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:LegalSystemsOfTheWorldMap.png

We'll never have change the way things are run, the legal sector are a law unto themselves, self regulate etc.

I knocked out a girl who tried to glass someone and nothing was said except plaudits from the staff. Dunno if Guards got involved later on, I never heard anything anyway.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

he should have burst the geebag before it got that far,sounds like the judge needed it as well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Zab wrote: »
    Seems odd that he didn't go custodial if they were his thoughts. The article doesn't seem to give his reasoning.

Pretty blonde trinity graduate from a middle class family in the North who could afford a very good barrister and works in "the arts"?
    Fairly easy see why she got off.

Absolute farce. She could have killed or blinded that poor man, all because she was trying to steal from the store room and got caught and started acting like a spoiled little cu*t and threw a temper tantrum, and then went on to assault another member of staff and two female Gardai...

If it was a lad he would have gotten atleast 6 months jail, maybe more.

But not some nice petite pretty blonde actress with a degree from Trinners who comes from a nice Northern middle class family, oh heavens no, poor thing, she just had a bad night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

GRMA wrote: »
    Our legal system, the British common law legal system, which gives unelected Judges incredible power is fundamentally flawed. The civil legal system, based on the Napoleonic code, whilst flawed and by no means perfect, is vastly superior as is used on the majority of 1st world countries.

We'll never have change the way things are run, the legal sector are a law unto themselves, self regulate etc.

If it's any consolation justice mc cartan was a TD before he was a judge, his buddies from the workers party landed him the court gig after they wound up in govt. :)

Seaneh wrote: »
    Pretty blonde trinity graduate from a middle class family in the North who could afford a very good barrister and works in "the arts"?

Absolute farce. She could have killed or blinded that poor man, all because she was trying to steal from the store room and got caught and started like a spoiled little cu*t and threw a temper tantrum, and then went on to assault another member of staff and two female Gardai...

But not some nice petite pretty blonde actress with a degree from Trinners who comes from a nice Northern middle class family, oh heavens no, poor thing, she just had a bad night...
    Bang on.

This is not a gender issue, but a class one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Seaneh wrote: »

Absolute farce. She could have killed or blinded that poor man, all because she was trying to steal from the store room and got caught and started like a spoiled little cu*t and threw a temper tantrum, and then went on to assault another member of staff and two female Gardai...

Agreed, the sentence is outrageous. And only €2,500 for a facial scar? A postman was awrded €36k yesterday for a scar on his hand from a dog bite.
    I hope the barman has a civil suit ready to roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

And to be clear, I abhor violence in society by anyone of any gender to any other/same gender, what have you. I just honestly fear for firstly the 'sentence', and secondly the 'equality' aspect of it all.

I am only (attempting to..and failing to) stimulate conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

I imagine the answer to that question is 100% yes. Genders reversed, a guy would have done serious time for assaulting a female barmaid in this manner.
    To be honest, I made this thread more to decry our legal system's appalling leniency than the sexism and misandry involved, but now that you mention it, that's definitely true IMO.

This. For a gender that has endured inequalities in a true sense at one time, women are really milking the gender excuse lately. The tables have turned and now us women are treating men the exact way we don't want to be treated.

If she were a real 'lady' in the first place, this would not have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

wyndham wrote: »
    Agreed, the sentence is outrageous. And only €2,500 for a facial scar? A postman was awrded €36k yesterday for a scar on his hand from a dog bite.
    I hope the barman has a civil suit ready to roll.

A civil suit is one thing (absolutely justified), but what pisses me off is, why doesn't the DPP start appealing these constant suspended sentences? It's getting to the point where if I was attacked I would be 100% positive that justice would not be done. Something has to give. Surely the DPP has a responsibility to appeal the leniency of these sentences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

He should have hit her back, and kept hitting her until she stopped attacking him.

He could easily have been blinded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

rule 1

don't give it if you cant take it*

*having tits doesn't count for mitigating circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

CuriousG wrote: »
    This. For a gender that has endured inequalities in a true sense at one time, some women are really milking the gender excuse lately.

FYP. I do agree with you though, and it really irritates me. I've seen it before when I've been in town on nights out, women slapping, yelling at and basically assaulting men but yelling "YOU CAN'T HIT ME, I'M A GIRL!" at them. As a woman, it's something I find very embarrassing. I think the minute a woman starts becoming violent towards someone that negates the whole "I'm a woman you can't hit me" defense.
    A civil suit is one thing (absolutely justified), but what pisses me off is, why doesn't the DPP start appealing these constant suspended sentences? It's getting to the point where if I was attacked I would be 100% positive that justice would not be done. Something has to give. Surely the DPP has a responsibility to appeal the leniency of these sentences?

It's all you ever hear, it's like all offenders are getting suspended sentences at this stage. If the DPP's intention is to make people lose faith in the justice system then they're going the right way about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What a fùckin' scumbag to glass another person.....

Plus she attacked other staff members.....

Plus attacks the Gardaì......

Then gets a suspended sentence?

I've seen fellas get charge sheets and suspended sentences for being drunk and rude to Gardaì, no fists raised to anyone.

I always assumed assaulting one lands you in massive trouble. But, if you come from a well-off background........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

What a horrible thing to do. She should be behind bars. Rotten cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

A glass would be too good for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Why is there no picture of her beside the article, like they usually do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭4AV

Bitches be crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I think everyone is missing the most outrageous part of the story here. A guy was glassed at work, and, from the way story seems anyway, made to pay for a taxi to the hospital himself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Take a read of the description of the woman in the link supplied by hatrickpatrick in the original post:

"an actress and Trinity graduate" who "has worked as a voice-over actress and set up a production company which put on three successful shows."

Then take a look at the picture of Tanya Wilson from the voiceover agency website from wydham's link:

http://www.tnenterprises.com/media/t_134079783313_TanyaheadshotNEW.jpg

Finally, read the judge's drooling rationalization of the events:

...it was “remarkable that a young woman like yourself, who has never been in trouble of any sort, would find the capacity to swing a glass into the face of another person, with potentially catastrophic consequences. That takes some doing. ” [Judge Patrick McCartan] said.

Why it's as though the Judge was quite smitten with the lady - "that takes some doing" even manages to strike a note of near admiration - and considered her too fragrant and delicate a flower to be sent slumming it with the oiks.

Being from the right social class in Ireland is almost literally a Get Out Of Jail card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

She did not have previous convictions, she pleaded guilty and expressed remorse for her actions. A suspended sentence was always likely here whether it be a man or woman.But the compo figure is a joke. For permanent facial scars you'd want a lot more than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Its sickening that anyone, regardless of class or sex, should get off so lightly for an attack like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

She should have gotten jailtime solely based off having a retarded yuppy name like 'Tanya'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

WumBuster wrote: »
    She did not have previous convictions, she pleaded guilty and expressed remorse for her actions. A suspended sentence was always likely here whether it be a man or woman.But the compo figure is a joke. For permanent facial scars you'd want a lot more than that.

I googled "glass attack" and "no previous convictions". The very first result of an Irish court case that came up was this one:

Student starts jail for glass attack

Thursday, May 20, 2010

A 22-year-old who glassed a Scottish medical student has been remanded in custody to begin his three-year sentence after having the commencement of the term deferred for a month to allow him complete his college exams.

Barry Maguire of Knockfield Manor, Knocklyon headbutted and smashed a glass into his victim’s face after his drink was accidentally spilled. Mr John Frawley was left with two permanent scars after the attack.

Garda Breraton agreed with Mr Kennedy that Maguire was very apologetic and co-operated fully with nightclub staff and gardaí after the incident.

Mr Kennedy said he had recently graduated with a business certificate from DIT and was now studying for his business management degree. He has no previous convictions and offered €20,000 towards Mr Frawley’s medical bills which was accepted.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/student-starts-jail-for-glass-attack-458492.html

Personally, I'd expect any attack of the severity of a glassing to draw a custodial sentence, regardless of gender or lack of previous convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Interesting how little media attention this got. Had the shoe been on the other foot you can be sure someone would have said something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

How come the other thread about this was deleted? :confused:

Bang on.

This is not a gender issue, but a class one.

Are we not doing "Judges/this country doesn't care about women" in this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Glassing someone has got to be one of the lowest violent crimes out there, she should have had the book thrown at her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Am I right in saying that it was the Brazilian bar man who got glassed?

Had he been Irish, would the sentence had been different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

as a person in the trade, if anyone - male or female was acting like that, they would have been put on the floor and gardai called before they had a chance to glass me. inexperienced barman perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

None of this surprises me one bit the whole thing is pretty much how i figured it would of went. Other way around and it would of been national Rte news type stuff believe me.

Ive seen on many occasions both in Ireland and in other country's women kicking ****e out each other or doing just as bad to a fella and there was very little if anything done about it.

Ill give a personal example of how ''equal'' things are leading up to these situations. I was in a club one night out in the smoking area talking to a few mates this group of young ones where behind me and one smacked into the back of me clearly it was her own fault i wasn't even drunk either.

Her drink and her mates went flying and smashed she went mental started shouting at me threw an ashtray at me lucky i was wearing a big kinda padded jacket ha. Anyway i shouted at her and told her to **** off away from me or ill kill her. Guess who got dragged out the club and told they where barred ;)

She clearly was not part of the upper class of Dublin either :pac:. Unfortunately in a lot of cases not all thank god its one rule for women and another for men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭dMaN24

Oh dear. I just happened to link both her profile and the news article on my facebook-page.

I guess it's time to hide from wielding glasses now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

kraggy wrote: »
    Am I right in saying that it was the Brazilian bar man who got glassed?

Had he been Irish, would the sentence had been different?
    No, I think you're missing the point here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Cydoniac wrote: »
    No, I think you're missing the point here.

No, I'm not. There can be 2 points to a story.

Besides the class issue, race can come into it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

kraggy wrote: »
    No, I'm not. There can be 2 points to a story.

Besides the class issue, race can come into it too.

Don't forget gender too.

Disgusting.. If I did that to a barmaid, my life would be null and void.

Really think these cases should be given to the judge and jury with the genders changed.. I've seen it done in PI threads and it's a great way to give a level playing field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm not sure TBH if the fact that she was a rich little college girl was the reason that she got off so lightly.

There have been cases as well where scumbags and skangers have got off scot free because they come up with some hard luck story.

The justice system is too lenient here in Ireland and I think that is the problem, hell if you kill someone with remission you could be out in 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I wish i could see this.
    Why??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

GRMA, we seldom agree but I am fully with you on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Bambi wrote: »
    If it's any consolation justice mc cartan was a TD before he was a judge, his buddies from the workers party landed him the court gig after they wound up in govt. :)
    MR Justice Abbot also ex TD, Mr Justice Birmingham also an ex TD and Junior Minister, and thats just a few, at least one Supreme Court member was a founder member of the P.D.'s and was appointed directly to the Supreme Court by a P.D. Minister for Justice having never held judicial office prior to that.
    Politics and the Judiciary in Ireland have very very close links.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Surely the DPP has a responsibility to appeal the leniency of these sentences?

They do indeed! Infact they're appealing the 6 months that Anthony Lyons got so yes, they can and do appeal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Isn't it remarkable that judges and courts have almost no accountability to anyone....this needs to change. These people live in a bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/suspended-sentence-for-actress-who-left-barman-permanently-scarred-after-glassing-incident-3331414.html

I don't want to live on this planet anymore. :mad:

There are literally so many utterly f*cked up things about this I don't even know where to start. I find the "you can't touch me I'm a girl" before whacking the guy with a glass particularly incendiary, but that's just my general hatred for people who abuse double standards. The entire story is horrific, and the fact that she's got off scott free sickens me.

HOW does a scumbag like this get a suspended sentence???
    F*ck this country's legal system. I'm getting more despairing about it every day. :(
    i know how you feel.dont let despair win though..its when you hear horrific things like this one has to stay strong..behind the scenes that animal will get what she deserves.