The Vampire Diaries - Season 4 [US] *Spoilers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Elbi

I just realised it was back on TG4. How many episodes have I missed ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

RIP
    Carol Lockwood
    ....anyone over 25 is fecked on this show! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RIP
    Carol Lockwood
    ....anyone over 25 is fecked on this show! :rolleyes:

No parents or guardians are safe, Caroline better protect her mother the Sheriff she is only one left :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭CatEyed92

Anyone else see tonights episode? :eek::eek:

CatEyed92 wrote: »
    Anyone else see tonights episode? :eek::eek:

Caroline has a big mouth lol

Not convinced by Elena and Damon at all. And I like Damon.. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Show is seriously annoying the sh*t out of me to the point where I think I'll give up. The entire sire bond plot is the most contrived thing ever - a stupid, basic, insulting way to keep the love triangle going when there was no need.

After Elena turned into a vampire, the natural progression was to grow closer to Damon - why introduce this crap about a sire bond?

And we are told that it only occurs in vampires where someone feels strongly for the person who turns then - so voila, it doesn't change a thing.

But the problem is that the show makes it out that Damon is doing the right thing by telling Elena to stay away? How? They made it clear she has feelings for him and that the sire bond doesn't impact on that so what is the problem? It's not as if he is making bad choices for her - he has helped her immensely this season. I just see no logical explanation for the show trying to tell us he is doing the right thing - especially when she is still sired. All he has done is told her to love him somewhere else.

And Caroline, wow. She needs to get a grip - she has this irrational hatred for Damon, especially when taking into account the fact that she has given Klaus a bit of leeway. It all just seems how false - when I watch it I can't believe that the writers would feed that garbage up.

Season 4 was brilliant until the moment they introduced the sire bond. Since that very second it has been cack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Where would I get the vampire diaries boxset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

it's kinda disappointing that everyone is just talking about the disappointing Damon sire subplot since I think the main plot surrounding the professor is actually quite good and Klaus is back to his bad ass self. I'm surprised though that anyone would question why Caroline would hate Damon considering he's tried to kill her, kill her parents and was generally a dick to her in season 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DeWitt

Where would I get the vampire diaries boxset?
    Play.com, HMV, it's also available on netflix.

it's kinda disappointing that everyone is just talking about the disappointing Damon sire subplot since I think the main plot surrounding the professor is actually quite good and Klaus is back to his bad ass self. I'm surprised though that anyone would question why Caroline would hate Damon considering he's tried to kill her, kill her parents and was generally a dick to her in season 1.

Yeah, but that was a long time ago and he has done plenty to help out the group since (and specifically her). It just seems that she is willing to look past the mistakes of others and with Damon it's always just "no no no".

Yeah she does seem to forgive Klaus all his past sins and his body count is way longer than Damon's. Perhaps it's just that she prefers Stefan and he has done way more things for her. I enjoy the scenes there both in together Damon is usually condescending towards her and Caroline is grossed out by him.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,023 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Yeah she does seem to forgive Klaus all his past sins and his body count is way longer than Damon's. Perhaps it's just that she prefers Stefan and he has done way more things for her. I enjoy the scenes there both in together Damon is usually condescending towards her and Caroline is grossed out by him.

I've yet to watch the last few episodes but has it been explained why Elena is "sired" to Damon but Caroline wasn't/isn't "sired" to Stefan?
    Or perhaps she is and that's why she's got such beef with Damon still?

I've yet to watch the last few episodes but has it been explained why Elena is "sired" to Damon but Caroline wasn't/isn't "sired" to Stefan?
    Or perhaps she is and that's why she's got such beef with Damon still?

As a vampire you only end up sired to someone if you have feelings for them before you are turned and even then it is rare.

So..... surely that shows that Elena's feelings are real and were there anyway? I don't understand the issue. They've all compelled people to do/say/forget things at one point or another, so if it's about having an unconscious influence over someone they're all guilty of that.

I'd say the issue is that with the sire bond you could be compelling the other person all the time whether intentional or not. The other person can't disobey you.It seems to have some similarities with Klaus and his hybrids.

I think most people are struggling to understand the issue to be honest. Awful writing in my view. Damon sends her away by using the sire bond - in his effort to give her free will he still takes it away. Could he not just have sired her to have free will? It makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

I'm surprised though that anyone would question why Caroline would hate Damon considering he's tried to kill her, kill her parents and was generally a dick to her in season 1.

+ 1

Has he ever helped her or anybody else for altruistic reasons ??? I'm not so sure myself , its always been about protecting Elena , so she has every right to still hate is guts imo.

The characters in this show are great at compartmentalizing , they all seem to have this "well he he's never hit me , so we're all good" attitude , Caroline has more time for Klaus then Damon as Klaus has never actively set out to hurt her(tho his schemes have hurt those she cares for) whereas Damon treated her like human trash in that first season , likewise Elena despite the fact he treated her best friend like **** for the entire first season allows herself to fall for his charms because he's nice to her.

Sidenote : wonder with all this sirebond S***E will they imply one or the other of the Salvatore brothers was sirebonded to Kathrine as they were both had feelings for her before she turned them.

It really does seem like something they just pulled out of their arses this season to screw with the Damon/Elena pairing. There's been no reference to it before at all.

I can't figure out if the writers are all on team Stefan and just thought they better give the Damon fans a little something but then dismiss it as a "sire bond". Or, if they're team Damon and are going a stupid round about way of proving that Elena really does love Damon and are trying to make him look like a martyr or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

Does anyone else find it ridiculous the lengths they will go to to 'save' Elena? I understand they usually operate to save her life but in this season so far they have callously killed a hybrid who had worked hard on getting free of Klaus and messed around with Jeremy in order to 'possibly' save Elena from vampirism! How is it okay to kill other people and make Jeremy a murderer just on the offchance they can help Elena!? It is all a bit mental.

ViveLaVie wrote: »
    Does anyone else find it ridiculous the lengths they will go to to 'save' Elena? I understand they usually operate to save her life but in this season so far they have callously killed a hybrid who had worked hard on getting free of Klaus and messed around with Jeremy in order to 'possibly' save Elena from vampirism! How is it okay to kill other people and make Jeremy a murderer just on the offchance they can help Elena!? It is all a bit mental.

I guess they've probably killed so many of the hybrids at this stage that they only consider them potential enemies and perhaps don't believe they will ever truly break the bond with Klaus. They seemed to realise it the episode later where they just had Jeremy kill a newly vamped confessed killer. In truth with Klaus being behind turning Elena back to human I'm surprised that he didn't get Jeremy to kill the quota needed in one go.

0:27 :D

I remember reading a review of an episode a while back and they made a similar point. Not necessarily about saving Elena, but about how the show seems to be saying it's okay to kill all these supernatural creatures even when it's not strictly necessary. Even though one of the main points of this show from the beginning was the humanity that the Salvatores (and everyone else who has been turned since) still have despite their being vamps or warewolves or whatever.

So it seems what they're really saying is only the supernatural beings whose names appear at the start of the show are worthy of living. All the rest are expendable and nobody should feel bad about killing them and maybe even should actively encourage it if it's for the benefit of Elena.

EDIT: I suppose this isn't a show that's made to be picked apart or over analysed like that. It's meant to be just entertainment, but it's a shame because I think that up to a point in season 2 it was a really well written, well crafted show. Once they started on about moon stones and hybrids and what not it all got a bit silly.

I think they made a big mistake with killing off Jenna and Alaric tbh

Would of been nice to keep Lexi around rather than the odd flashback!
    Bonnie should turn bad for the craic!

CatEyed92 wrote: »
    I think they made a big mistake with killing off Jenna and Alaric tbh

Would of been nice to keep Lexi around rather than the odd flashback!
    Bonnie should turn bad for the craic!

Jenna was kind if pointless, I liked her but whenever she showed up it always seemed a bit forced. I was never a fan of Ric but I assume this current "bring people back from the dead" thing will see his return when his new show is a massive failure as it's expected to be.

Lexi was a funny one. It was all a bit random how she became so popular after just one episode. She was clearly only intended as a once off character and people really liked her. I do like her more than a lot of the people they've kept around for so much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The pilot, which will air as an episode of The Vampire Diaries on April 25, will focus on Joseph Morgan's Klaus and the members of the Original Family of vampires in New Orleans. "Klaus was the founding father of New Orleans, and the show is set in that venue," Pedowitz said. "Klaus is just a great character and the Original Family has such dysfunctional family dynamics. We felt it was a great way to go to take the show." Also on board for the show is Phoebe Tonkin's Haley

^ The CW always does this. They get someone good on an already existing show and instead of keeping them on that show they give them a spin off, or their own show, which inevitably tanks and then the show they used to be on suffers from their absence too.

Hate saying this.. but does anyone else feel TVD is tanking already?
    I love it so much but lately.. I am just not feeling the storylines anymore and I think Damon and Elena - the way it came about - could be to blame.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

not seen an episode since 3x22...but tuned into tonight out of interest, now i'm somewhat lost plotwise....but it did a pretty good job of giving the gist. rebeacce remains all kinds of awesome....from here opening neckbreak to....no, but it felt good.

loved the round table compelled confessional...lol!, fair dues to becks, she got all the dirt out in the open. so her sire bond aint squat and she truely loves damon, stefen is broody again and hitting the botle.

some stuff about curing elena and maps and immortals and a bar full of dead people.....k, seems i wasnt that long gone to get the general gist of this show.

anywhooo.....this originals idea could be good, if clair holt is a main charcter with klaus and elijah....those three rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

The whole show has gone a bit off the rails. They seem to bring out things when its suits them and then forget things for a few episodes such as the originals being able to compel people. I have no idea why Klaus has chosen not to use this.

I think the whole sire bond thing is ridiculous. They have alienated both Stefan and Elena fans and Damon and Elena fans. They have basically said that it can't be cured unless they find the cure (which you would assume will be the end of the season though knowing the vampire diaries Bonnie will be able to find some hidden spell). I am a really big Delena fan and while I loved the scene on the phone, there's still a part of me questioning how real it is which is just frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

The whole show has gone a bit off the rails. They seem to bring out things when its suits them and then forget things for a few episodes such as the originals being able to compel people. I have no idea why Klaus has chosen not to use this.

I think the whole sire bond thing is ridiculous. They have alienated both Stefan and Elena fans and Damon and Elena fans. They have basically said that it can't be cured unless they find the cure (which you would assume will be the end of the season though knowing the vampire diaries Bonnie will be able to find some hidden spell). I am a really big Delena fan and while I loved the scene on the phone, there's still a part of me questioning how real it is which is just frustrating.