Don't you just hate beards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The amount of women who don't appreciate a good beard is shocking. Too busy obsessing over these clean shaven metro-sexual ponces.

They don't know a real man when they see one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

Beards are AWESOME......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Only on women.

MadsL wrote: »
    Any fool can grow a beard, it takes skill to shave like a man.

This is manly.

Ah come here, don't confusing 'manliness' with 'foolishness'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Beards define lazyness and ignorance. Beards are for pretentious

intellectuals and hippies. Come on lads . The 60's is over. Get over it.

Beards are unhygenic,disgusting and look bad. Do ye guys even own a mirror?

The Ladies hate them. I know Jesus himself had a beard. but it was different back then.

There was no Gillete Fusion Pro-Glide!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

gammygils wrote: »

The Ladies hate them. I know Jesus himself had a beard. but it was different back then.

Had to laugh. Anything kept trimmed and neat can look good. The days of growing beards and not looking after them are long gone. Many people do think beards look well and they suit many guys.

If you're thinking that sort of hair is unhygienic and disgusting I'd take a look at how you wash yourself. What is the better alternative, smooth all over without any hair?

Fuk that, it doesn't look good. Having a bit if hair and keeping it under check is masculine and attractive. I'd say many many more agree with that over being a clean shaven hairless guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Sakinah

Beards look really great BUT I insist on a clean shaven upper lip. Moustache stubble really hurts.

If only you could understand the irony of your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

1ZRed wrote: »

Had to laugh. Anything kept trimmed and neat can look good. The days of growing beards and not looking after them are long gone. Many people do think beards look well and they suit many guys.

If you're thinking that sort of hair is unhygienic and disgusting I'd take a look at how you wash yourself. What is the better alternative, smooth all over without any hair?

Fuk that, it doesn't look good. Having a bit if hair and keeping it under check is masculine and attractive. I'd say many many more agree with that over being a clean shaven hairless guy.
    Don't know about that now! I'd have to disagree. What I said about
    unhygenic & disgusting was a little unfair. Sorry.
    Do you shampoo your beard every day? Anyways I do think smooth all over is a better alternative. Why hide your face unless you're ashamed of it? Oh Right!
    Fuk that, it doesn't look good!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

1ZRed wrote: »

Meh. No excuses for trimming or hygiene are required. You shower everyday, beard or no beard, you're as clean as you are without a beard.

This "ladies like whatever" thing is silly. Any man that makes decisions on "what ladies like" may as well chew his own balls off.

Don't know about that now! I'd have to disagree. What I said about
    unhygenic & disgusting was a little unfair. Sorry.
    Do you shampoo your beard every day? Anyways I do think smooth all over is a better alternative. Why hide your face unless you're ashamed of it? Oh Right!
    Fuk that, it doesn't look good!! :pac:
    Because it can add definition and a rugged masculine appeal, not to mention it can make a man look more attractive if it suits his face type. Same can be said for clean shaven men also and it suits them, but many guys can look worse clean shaven and vice versa. It's just all preference and what works for the person, but facial hair can look very good.

And I'm a clean shaven guy, mostly. My facial hair wouldn't be quite full enough to grow a full beard and for it to look somewhat respectable yet. That's not to say I love my stubble when I get lazy for a day or two so I'm not being biased towards having a beard, though I'm looking forward to when I can because I like that sort of look.

Hygene doesn't really come into it. I clean my face fairly thoroughly and in the shower I wouldn't think anything of throwing a bit of shampoo in it to clean it up as well, if I had it. It's easy. To say it's unhygienic would mean you're too lazy/ too much of a slob to look after your hygiene when it's actually easier than exfoliating your skin in the shower.

This "ladies like whatever" thing is silly. Any man that makes decisions on "what ladies like" may as well chew his own balls off.
    Stupid comment. People can do as they like, I couldn't bother my ass to care what they'd do with themselves. But if women do admire some traits in guys and the guy himself would like to take a shot at it to maybe better his appeal, then what harm?

Personally I wouldn't care what a girl liked, or what a guy liked. I only do things on what I like and what goes for me. But I can understand why some guys would take what the opposite/same sex might prefer into account in decition making because it's a competive market and you what to look as best you can, for yourself primarily as well as others even.

To say it's silly and to have your balls chewed off for taking what people like into consideration doesn't make sense to me. So would it be better to have a massive untrimmed beard and matching body hair, just because many women prefer all that trimmed, for the sake of maintaining your idea of having "balls"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

This is progress how? My favourite daily use razor was made in about 1885, shaves a damn sight nicer than a Fusion.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Some well looked after facial hair is very attractive on a man, IMO. And usually the shorter the hair, the more it hurts your partner when kissing...stubble is a killer, properly grown out hair is not ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Beards are the mark of a real man.

Ignore the itch and let that manliness flow from your follicles.

Beards! Beards! BEarDS! beaRDS! BEARDS!

A true hero.

I am beard, you will be assimilated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I've said it before on here:

Kissing a man without a beard, is like eating an egg without salt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Formosa

ruthloss wrote: »

Well said, only losers destroy a lovely egg with salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Never talk bad of beards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭doomed

Beards are great. I have several.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Have you asked him his opinion?

From time to time he may compliment you on your beard, that's what men do, but in his heart of hearts he probably wishes that you would shave yours off.
    Just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Tom Selleck.

I rest my case.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Tom Selleck.

I rest my case.
    Also Santa Clause and my dad.

Case closed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

The only men who hate beards are the ones who can't grow a proper full one.

I can grow a proper full one, and I fupping hate them. I wish I couldn't. Clean shaven is more comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Should the people with beards post a picture of their beard to see who has the best one or is it a bad idea to post pics of yuorself on AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Did Readers Digest do an article called 'The Wildlife In A Beard'?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

My girlfriend hates facial hair with a passion as it gives her loads of rashes so I always have to be clean shaven if I want sex …aparently my man card in currently under review :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Greyfox wrote: »
    My girlfriend hates facial hair with a passion as it gives her loads of rashes so I always have to be clean shaven if I want sex …aparently my man card in currently under review :D

A lot of girls think this will happen but it really only happens when you have rough stubble. if you have a full grown beard it will be soft and shouldnt cause problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭sunrise91

I love a beard on a man. But I'm currently suffering from a severe case of beard rash. It's bittersweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭diabloro

I only grew a beard so that I could explain the pubes on my desk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Beards are sexy :cool:

They LOOK good but I actually don't like kissing guys with beards :(

So the real solution is to find a hot man who will grow a beard so I can look at him and then shave it off before we kiss :P