Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i want to keep the bottom two drive cage for some backup storage, although i have seen it done with the hdd's laying on their sides rather than horizontally, not sure how id fix them that way and whether or not it would be stable, ive never used the less conventional means of fixing hard drives. also i thought the cage might somehow lend a bit of stability to the overhang of the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

HWVS wrote:
    2012-12-14 at 15:51 The goods are ready for collection or assembling.

Love seeing that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

it was really difficult finding a decent psu for the prodigy that was 650W+, fully modular and had some sort of fanless operation. in the end I settled on the ax750. its a tight fit but it works, €150 ain't cheap, but it's got a 7 year warranty so will probably outlive the rest of my gear. the alternative is the silverstone strider st650 @140mm (!!!) but it doesn't have a passive state and is quite a bit more expensive.

I won't have any HDDs. 2x 256gb raid0 Samsung 830’s instead. anything that doesn't fit on there will be streamed from the HTPC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

I take it you're going water as well, or?

What GPU(s) were you thinking of? 650 is a bit of an annoying wattage; it's not really powerful enough for dual GPUs, so you could go with something like the AX750, or Super-Flower's 500W passive unit (probably what I'd go for).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

lads, you know new updated youtube interface? its ****ing really annoys me!!!

they mashed recomended videos and subscription vidoes in to the same homepage! how the feck to disable those recomended vidoes in main page?

Serephucus wrote: »
    I take it you're going water as well, or?

What GPU(s) were you thinking of? 650 is a bit of an annoying wattage; it's not really powerful enough for dual GPUs, so you could go with something like the AX750, or Super-Flower's 500W passive unit (probably what I'd go for).

yea. if the prodigy is as good as the pics look, ill be going water. if not ill stick to the stryker. either way, im out of money for now. thats a january project.

520w (the fanless x series) will be cutting it too close with the gtx 690 for my liking. it'll be running ~100% all the time.

if i dont like the prodigy, my HTPC will be thrown into it. a pentium g2120 + 6450 passive, corsair A70 (run passive) AX750 (passive even when HTPC is at full load.) so the only fan will be a single GT typhoon (or SP120 cause i ordered 2 to compare them) which will be damn near awesome.
    lads, you know new updated youtube interface? its ****ing really annoys me!!!

they mashed recomended videos and subscription vidoes in to the same homepage! how the feck to disable those recomended vidoes in main page?

this times a million. its even worse cause the lads subscribed me to justin beiber et al when i left myself logged in. even though ive removed the subscriptions, i still get the suggestions.

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    yea. if the prodigy is as good as the pics look, ill be going water. if not ill stick to the stryker. either way, im out of money for now. thats a january project.

520w (the fanless x series) will be cutting it too close with the gtx 690 for my liking. it'll be running ~100% all the time.

if i dont like the prodigy, my HTPC will be thrown into it. a pentium g2120 + 6450 passive, corsair A70 (run passive) AX750 (passive even when HTPC is at full load.) so the only fan will be a single GT typhoon (or SP120 cause i ordered 2 to compare them) which will be damn near awesome.

Fair enough. Do let me know what you think of the SP120s. I've been wondering how they compare to GTs myself since I got mine.

What colour are you thinking of anyway? Bearing in mind that only the black gives you that front mesh.
    this times a million. its even worse cause the lads subscribed me to justin beiber et al when i left myself logged in. even though ive removed the subscriptions, i still get the suggestions.

What I find really stupid is that it's recommending me videos I've already watched... from subscribed videos... that it knows I've watched.

i just checked and i misses on sooooo many videos from subs, because i did not see them under the SEA OF **** RECCOMENDED STUFF!!!

i know about the black mesh, but im still going for a white. by my understanding, the white will still provide inlets that will be sufficient for the rad. I havent purchased a 200mm fan yet (theyre bloody expensive for 1!) so i dont yet know how its going to work. it wont be the end of the world if i have to just cool my CPU. the 690 is incredibly quiet anyway.

ill let you know about the SP120's anyway. ive got a fan controller that goes from 0->100% so i can test them at any load. ive noticed stock fans on the storm stryker whine at anything under ~40% so theyve since been removed.

EDIT: if youve still got that spektra for sale in 2 weeks ill probably buy it off you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Eboggles

RE the whole YT thing, how the hell do you disable those recommendations on the front page? It annoys me so much :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Eboggles wrote: »
    RE the whole YT thing, how the hell do you disable those recommendations on the front page? It annoys me so much :mad:.

http://www.youtube.com/feed/subscriptions/u

make that your youtube frontpage rather than youtube.com.

or follow this simple guide I just made: http://i.imgur.com/2InWI.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Shorty11857

Hope it's okay to post this in here but how reliable are UPS with their delivery dates? Originally said it would arrive yesterday, then they changed it to today and now there's no estimated delivery date listed, was hoping I would have got my delivery before the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭shane547

I've had a day or two past the estimated delivery, if it's not there tomorrow get onto the live chat they're fairly helpful. Maybe an error on the address.

http://www.youtube.com/feed/subscriptions/u

make that your youtube frontpage rather than youtube.com.

or follow this simple guide I just made: http://i.imgur.com/2InWI.png

a jaysus man! thanks! made it my favorite hompage for youtube. ffs its back to normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Telchak

Anybody know anywhere that has a decent price for the U2312HM?

Amazon have it for about €215. I paid around €180 for my first one a year ago :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Telchak wrote: »
    Anybody know anywhere that has a decent price for the U2312HM?

Amazon have it for about €215. I paid around €180 for my first one a year ago :(

155 GBP no? Which should still work out under 200 allowing for Irish VaT. Unless there is no super saver?

I thought that was pretty cheap didn't know it was going for 180 ish in the past. :)

shane547 wrote: »
    I've had a day or two past the estimated delivery, if it's not there tomorrow get onto the live chat they're fairly helpful. Maybe an error on the address.

It arrived today :)

Completely failing at getting the CPU fan onto the motherboard, is there something really basic you're meant to do that I'm missing?

Scythe Mugen 3, für alle Sockel geeignet is the fan and
    ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP, Sockel 1155, ATX is the motherboard

Anyone know what I'm probably doing wrong, probably the most basic thing

how far have you got?

pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Telchak

marco_polo wrote: »

155 GBP no? Which should still work out under 200 allowing for Irish VaT. Unless there is no super saver?

I thought that was pretty cheap didn't know it was going for 180 ish in the past. :)

Forgot to check Supersaver :') Comes to €203,62. Not awful, I guess I'm just annoyed that the price has gone up compared to what I paid on Komplett a year ago :L Unfortunately they don't stock it anymore ):

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

It arrived today :)

Completely failing at getting the CPU fan onto the motherboard, is there something really basic you're meant to do that I'm missing?

Scythe Mugen 3, für alle Sockel geeignet is the fan and
    ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP, Sockel 1155, ATX is the motherboard

Anyone know what I'm probably doing wrong, probably the most basic thing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlyFWybK8Mw

NCIX.com now ships internationally.

:o

Fluffy!

how much is shipping!!!!11!

$30.

Just tested with a 512GB M4 there. €379 inc. shipping from HWVS, €324 from NCIX inc. shipping, but ex. customs.

Expanded it a bit:

512GB M4
    GTX 670
    AX750
    600T

$1,510 inc. shipping = €1,165
    And, inc. shipping from HWVS = €1,285.

not bad, but probably not worth the risk of customs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Eboggles

How long would it take to get here from Canada?

tuxy wrote: »

Should have looked for that before I went through with it, took hours to get it in properly but everything else was fine.

Have it all running now and everything seems to be good so I'm happy. CPU seems to sit at 35C idle and I played a bit of Sleeping Dogs and the GPU went up to 65C, so nothing too crazy. Not sure if I'll try overclocking it today or leave it for now just happy it all turned on first try to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Should have looked for that before I went through with it, took hours to get it in properly but everything else was fine.

Have it all running now and everything seems to be good so I'm happy. CPU seems to sit at 35C idle and I played a bit of Sleeping Dogs and the GPU went up to 65C, so nothing too crazy. Not sure if I'll try overclocking it today or leave it for now just happy it all turned on first try to be honest!

Hmm, would have to look it up but that seems a tad warm unless the room is quite warm. With a beasty cooler like that i'd want to be below 30 idle.

So... snag.

Long story short, I'm in need of a D5 o-ring. Has anyone got one they're not using? I can get one from Specialtech, but cost of delivery vs. cost of part, long waiting times, etc. Don't suppose someone is in a good mood? (I'm not)

Edit: And of course I find the damn thing after searching for almost an hour, but only a minute after posting this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Serephucus wrote: »
    So... snag.

Long story short, I'm in need of a D5 o-ring. Has anyone got one they're not using? I can get one from Specialtech, but cost of delivery vs. cost of part, long waiting times, etc. Don't suppose someone is in a good mood? (I'm not)

Edit: And of course I find the damn thing after searching for almost an hour, but only a minute after posting this...

Mate if you could give me the size you need I should be able to get one from work on monday

Missed your edit...no worries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

ED E wrote: »
    Hmm, would have to look it up but that seems a tad warm unless the room is quite warm. With a beasty cooler like that i'd want to be below 30 idle.

Depends, some people think the temp in bios is the idle temp. The cpu is not at idle in bios so temps will be higher.