Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

€70 delivered for sugar beet :eek:, so expensive I cant afford to buy a load to carry me over to pulling my own which I would normally do. Most crops are only 60% of normal and worse
    How much does it cost to grow an acre of beet in a normal year, what sort of a yield would you get in a dry year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

td5man wrote: »
    How much does it cost to grow an acre of beet in a normal year, what sort of a yield would you get in a dry year

Am sure Bob will have more realistic info for you - but ManofFeeling sent me this link, which has some good info in it...

http://www.teagasc.ie/publications/2012/1106/Crop_Costs&Returns2012.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

td5man wrote: »

no such thing as a normal year :D €800 - €900 depending on rent etc. Its an expensive crop so you have to get a big crop.20t - good yield this year 25t of sugar beet is a good yield, 30 is super, 30+ top of the pops nearly hitting bull**** level. Variety of beet depends on tonnage. You could grow a variety at 15% dm and have a crop up to 45t an acre, or a 22%dm crop would be yielding much more energy at 25t per ac. No years are the same, I spent an arm and a leg on some fields for weed control this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

bought limousin heifers off donedeal. man was crying that my cheque wouldn't clear so i told him to keep the cards until it did. weeks passed and no cards. i was very easy on him because his father was sick, eventually the cards arrived... one short and two more registered as fresians. he agreed to take back the one with no card and promised to get the others sorted.
    i'll soon have them 3 months, he has delayed returning my calls, continually promised to have everything sorted by certain dates and not carried through.
    2 weeks ago he told me he would collect the one with no card inside three days.

what should i do? i feel like telling him to collect the whole lot and cover my expenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Tell him you are going to ring a solicitor .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I'd say mention the solicitor aswell and if that doesnt light a fire under his arse be sure to send the solicitors letter .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

whelan1 wrote: »
    Tell him you are going to ring a solicitor .......

.....and the Dept.

(but having said that; I'd never do it after a previous incident which I'll elaborate on another time. but the threat of it might work)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Yea no big deal changing the two with wrong breed just apply for new card if in your herd.

Is the third one transferred into your herd also? If so just apply for replacement card.
    You may need your vet to sign it not sure on this.

If none in your herd yet then print off a sellers form for this guy fill it in for him. Call up to him n get it signed by him n post it. When this done then you can do assaid previously for the cards.

Forget solicitors for the moment!

i didn't want to put words in yer mouths guys but the solicitor was what i was thinking too.

whelan certainly gives plenty of good advice.

i might threaten the dept wes but would never actually do it, solicitor is another story.

the one with no card isn't on my profile.

dunno if you're farming or not jimmy but the breed on the card counts for plenty, it will affects future heifer icbf figures and eligibility for scws.... yes?

thanks, its amazing for all the perfect deals on donedeal theres always a few bad ones

10 6 month olds eating a bag of weanling ration a day and good grass for september and october and bales since dosed twice. e130 on diesel collecting them and e30 on tolls.

what would i ask for expenses, hoping i don't have to add solicitors costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I hope for your sake the department aren't reading this

I can't believe you took cattle without cards to be honest

tell me about it. feel like an ass since, can only tell it here cos its anonymous.
    i'm not even giving ye d full details, he forged my signature on the movement form because he had left it too late to post it.

if i went to a yard to buy cattle again i would be more observant. i should've known at first glance he was a disaster, place was a mess and he probably had as many rats and cats as cows.

next time i see the likes of it i'll be asking myself what kind of man is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭limo_100

bought limousin heifers off donedeal. man was crying that my cheque wouldn't clear so i told him to keep the cards until it did. weeks passed and no cards. i was very easy on him because his father was sick, eventually the cards arrived... one short and two more registered as fresians. he agreed to take back the one with no card and promised to get the others sorted.
    i'll soon have them 3 months, he has delayed returning my calls, continually promised to have everything sorted by certain dates and not carried through.
    2 weeks ago he told me he would collect the one with no card inside three days.

what should i do? i feel like telling him to collect the whole lot and cover my expenses.

can i ask what difference is the breed on the card going to make? We have limousins registered as CH or AA that we bought in the mart. It doesn't seem to make any difference to them, there still limousins no matter what it says on the card

Bizzum wrote: »
    There's one at home off him. A super calf, I think calved about 295 days or so, but we would see 300 days up and down. You get sick looking at them again they get to 300 days. I won't be much longer now anyway;)

still waiting today, feck her anyway shes left me very tired this last week. Was your hard calved did ya pull him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Ya, it shouln't matter what breed is on the card. Not worth changing it really. Unless you need it for certain schemes like AA or Herdford.

in this part of the country teagasc run 'breeding heifer sales'. The sale is run with a catalogue with values based on the breeding of the heifer. if i was selling heifers in these sales they would be recogonised as half fresian.
    also fresian cows will not qualify for the scws or whatever the new scheme is going to be called.
    i hope i'm being clear?

just do it wrote: »
    High praise from both 1chippy and limo100, over to ICBF for a look quick!!!

What gestation length has he had with you lads? This is one thing that is turning me off LM bulls, particularly for cows with alot of LM breeding in them. It's fecken hard enough to get them calving every 365days without a long gestation thrown in to boot.

Edit: ICBF profile. Good figures but with low reliability. Gestation is excellent at 0.3days for a LM but this figure in particular has low reliability. And no figure at all for docility!
    for me it was 287 days to a charolais cow, i didnt think it was over long for him.

in this part of the country teagasc run 'breeding heifer sales'. The sale is run with a catalogue with values based on the breeding of the heifer. if i was selling heifers in these sales they would be recogonised as half fresian.
    also fresian cows will not qualify for the scws or whatever the new scheme is going to be called.
    i hope i'm being clear?

i have an uncle and he kept some of his fresian cows when he quit the milking and started suckling, hes gets the scws on his fresian cows because i the the paper work for him

If you want a short gestation go with the BB bull, AZL. he is in the top 1% across all breeds. 285 days. Very handy for the late calvers.

pakalasa wrote: »
    If you want a short gestation go with the BB bull, AZL. he is in the top 1% across all breeds. 285 days. Very handy for the late calvers.

had him in the quickest gestation i seen in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Darragh you were in the AD game, why not just load a boat in France where they can get at least another 10t per acre just with the better growing conditions than sticking in on a boat in Cork. Dont make sense to me as something is fishy. presume if the crops are grow locally (within Ireland) the tariff is bigger or else there must be a tax advantage. With your experience could you provide me with a figure of what beet is worth to a AD at say 20% DM, energy figure would be much higer than maize silage, around 50% more energy in a ton of DM beet over a DM ton maize

presume it is having an effect on price but yeild is also. probably lots of guys with contracted tonnages to be filled using the Fodder beet to make up the tonnage of contract thus reducing the supply. Alternatively animal ration is at €330 a ton and 4t of sugar beet would equal it so €60 - 70 a ton is about right in feed terms.

I don't really know how much they were talking about a ton for beet with these digesters, but for grass they were saying 20 pounds a ton for 20% DM, 25 pounds a ton for 25% DM, 30 pounds for 30% DM etc. And that would be the owner of the digester collecting it (up to 8miles away) How that would translate for beet, I don't know. I was more involved in the construction than the nitty gritty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

limo_100 wrote: »
    can i ask what difference is the breed on the card going to make? We have limousins registered as CH or AA that we bought in the mart. It doesn't seem to make any difference to them, there still limousins no matter what it says on the card
    For collecting scws ,if fr is an the card you can't draw it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 vmfg

Many thanks everyone for your invaluable helpful. Much appreciated

caseman wrote: »
    For collecting scws ,if fr is an the card you can't draw it

actually just looking at the book there, there mountbellairds. Maybe hes not getting paid for them i just fill in the form he gets the cheques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

My Ai man reckons demand is huge for him at the moment. Not always that easy landed from heifers though.
    The King of them all up here at the moment is GZP.. straws are pricier but exceptional calves off both cows and heifers.
    Wesley, what price are the Gzp straws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Wesley, what price are the Gzp straws?

€40 a pop but he said the next batch will be at least €60 due to limited availability.
    Thats getting saucy but is it a lot either if you get the calf you wanted..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

€40 a pop but he said the next batch will be at least €60 due to limited availability.
    Thats getting saucy but is it a lot either if you get the calf you wanted..?

Well if it's a bull calf you're after each of them will be costing €150 in A.I. charges as a dropped calf.

absolutely lashing here and really dark

Really bad Weather last night. Saw a high tide this morning, so checked the tide tables. Highest tide this month is for the next 3 days (5.5m in Galway). If more proof was needed that the high tides bring the wind and the rain.

http://www.sailing.ie/Racing/Tides/TidesGalway.aspx