If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

Sparkly but grand D14-D12. Hard frost on the cars the whole way in, but I don't think it was too slippy. Think they were out gritting last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 chrisly

D14 to town was no problem today, at approx 8am. Hands frozen solid but roads were in good condition.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Very icy coming out of the estate but once on the main road i was grand.

Other than the usual bag bags shouting at me to use the ice rink sorry I mean cycle lane it was a normal morning. Actually that usually happens on a normal morning too. This time it was just colder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭michael.dublin

Blanchardstown a bit icy this morning, but ok if you take it slow, only problem is the car drivers that think they can still go like a bad out of hell.... wonder how many of them got the license

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Blanchardstown a bit icy this morning, but ok if you take it slow, only problem is the car drivers that think they can still go like a bad out of hell.... wonder how many of them got the license

back of a corn flakes box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Caught out again !!!! Local roads looked pretty bad, but main roads were fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

went for a cycle last night, cycle lanes were iced up in lucan, but roads were fine. are the cycle lanes normally gritted? needless to say i turned after a mile and went home again.
    fyi its the lanes aside the footpath, not the lanes on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

kenmc wrote: »
    Sparkly but grand D14-D12. Hard frost on the cars the whole way in, but I don't think it was too slippy. Think they were out gritting last night.

Same as, D14 up to Leopardstown and no real problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Roads were better today than they were last week. That being said I was probably going a good deal slower this morning. Guy in front of me was going even slower but then ran every red light to make up for lost time and nearly got collected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

are the cycle lanes normally gritted?

I wouldn't think so. Those that are level with the road might benefit from grit that happens to scatter further afield than the main traffic lane where it is targeted, but it seems very much hit and miss and the edge of the road seems invariably to be fairly slippy whether there is a cycle lane there or not.

Raised cycle lanes, level with a footpath don't even benefit from any grit hitting them "accidentally".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

smacl wrote: »
    If you're rims are wide enough, and your brakes will clear them, you can pick up spiked tyres for your hybrid. Something like these. Thinking of getting a pair myself.
    Really? I was uner the impression they'd only fit on mtbs, that's great news!
    I've 32s on my hybrid at the mo, so I'm sure that means the clearance is wide enough for some studded tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

doozerie wrote: »
    I wouldn't think so. Those that are level with the road might benefit from grit that happens to scatter further afield than the main traffic lane where it is targeted, but it seems very much hit and miss and the edge of the road seems invariably to be fairly slippy whether there is a cycle lane there or not.
    An important part of gritting is the grit/salt getting driven over. This forces it into the ice so it can melt. It the cycle lane, if nobody's driving in it, the salt will just lie there without interacting much with the ice.
    MB Lacey wrote: »
    Really? I was uner the impression they'd only fit on mtbs, that's great news!
    I've 32s on my hybrid at the mo, so I'm sure that means the clearance is wide enough for some studded tyres.
    Smallest size is 35mm so you should have enough clearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

D14 was ok at 7am, bit sparkly on the bus lanes though but no slips or wheel spins. Cruagh and Military road were a whole different story. There was some evidence at the viewing point of some botched attempts at gritting but the road above that was all white and frosty.

I really need to get a turbo/rollers to stop this madness and get some winter training done.

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Smallest size is 35mm so you should have enough clearance.

Bullox, no, the 32's are a squeeze with my mudguards and I wouldn't remove the mudguards. I had assumed the 29ers smacl linked to were 29mm :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

An important part of gritting is the grit/salt getting driven over. This forces it into the ice so it can melt. It the cycle lane, if nobody's driving in it, the salt will just lie there without interacting much with the ice.

If that's actual salt as in table salt (NaCl) then no pressing in is required. Just sprinkle it on top of the ice and enjoy the crack-pop sounds it makes while melting the ice. I'm not sure about the chemistry/physics behind this but that's how I remember it working on my childhood house's iced over concrete steps and the always slippery drive way in the winters. At below -20 it all became solid again but then again the ice aint that slippery anymore at those temps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Cycle lanes around Dundrum were bad but the roads were mostly ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,491 ✭✭✭Seweryn

It is cool for the last couple of days and I find cars going very slowly through the country roads where I commute. So far I did not notice any ice related danger when cycling this season.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Bullox, no, the 32's are a squeeze with my mudguards and I wouldn't remove the mudguards. I had assumed the 29ers smacl linked to were 29mm :rolleyes:

1.5inch / 37mm. New wider mudguards as well so. Don't you love the way one purchase leads immediately to the next in cycling. Feck it, sure just buy another bike ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

I was up the gap last Wednesday and crashed on the way back and am now in hospital with a fractured hip so stay off the ice it's not worth it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Carpenter wrote: »
    I was up the gap last Wednesday and crashed on the way back and am now in hospital with a fractured hip so stay off the ice it's not worth it :(

Ouch. Hope you get up and about soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭michael.dublin

hope you get back quick.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Sorry for your troubles, hope you heal up soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

godtabh wrote: »

Other than the usual bag bags shouting at me to use the ice rink sorry I mean cycle lane it was a normal morning.

Madness - did you try to explain the issue to them when you caught up?

smacl wrote: »
    1.5inch / 37mm. New wider mudguards as well so. Don't you love the way one purchase leads immediately to the next in cycling. Feck it, sure just buy another bike ;)

Those sks chromos are only available at 35mm (which I assume wouldn't fit over 35mm tyres) or 45mm, but you've made me think (no mean feat) and I will look into the wider mudguard/ winter stud tyres combo for my hybrid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I can't get the Schwalbe Winters for my Sirrus - there isn't enough clearance. So, I took the plunge and did something I've been threatening to do for a while. I dusted off my old mountain bike, got a few bits and pieces locally and have ordered the spiky tyres for it. With any luck, I should be able to use it for any icy days that appear from next week onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Thanks lads they said I would be back on the bike by march which is a bummer because I was hoping to give that around Ireland race a go or would I still have enough time ?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Somebody did link to a spiked Schwalbe Winter which comes in 30mm. That might fit for you?

Lower.....

The continental nordic spike tyres come in 28mm - have a pair and they're grand.

Somebody did link to a spiked Schwalbe Winter which comes in 30mm. That might fit for you?

cool, I'd say they would, cheaper too, less than a tank of petrol
    Jawgap wrote: »
    Lower.....

The continental nordic spike tyres come in 28mm - have a pair and they're grand.

wouldn't you be better with more tyre on the ground than less?

Actually, I just checked - they're 42mm - I was getting confused with some winter trekker tyres I have.