Preparation for big day of drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

A couple of McDonalds double cheeseburgers and you're good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Drinking contests, the sign of a healthy relationship with alcohol. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The whole purpose of this thread is to give myself the best possible chance of not getting sick and delaying the inevitable messiness until I have a few pubs under my belt.
    A shock to the system like 7 whoppers would but me on the floor after my first beer

Why life line pills? Are they 'perker uppers'

Good call on the water, will have to keep that in mind and not let the machoness rule me

Good points

I think they're just supplements or something.

Just checked they have a twitter account.
    Somebody tweeted this at them.
    @lifeline_hd I had three glasses of wine last night I took a lifeline and I feel good this morning! #amazed

So if you're going to colour outside the lines as much as this person you're gonna want them.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Burgers, the Bread is good soakage too.

Plastic Underpants.

EAT
    • A full stomach helps break down alcohol, but not because your food "soaks up" the alcohol. When you eat a big meal, your stomach's pyloric sphincter, a kind of release valve into the small intestine, closes tightly. Your body knows that you've got food that should get a good going-over in your stomach before it heads straight to the high-absorption small intestine, so it keeps it there, and the AD in your stomach has more time to work on the alcohol. Drink on an empty stomach, and the liquid quickly makes it into the small intestine, where there's more than 200 square meters of surface area for absorption into your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Can anyone gimme some hints and tips to ready myself for a big day of drinking where we have certain timelines per pub rtc.

I want to give myself the best possible chance.

Here's a tip - man the **** up and drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Make sure you are wearing either a) new clothes you got for Christmas or b)a sprog of shamrocks because the only two big days of drinking I can think of are Stephen's Day or Paddy's Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Falcone

7 bacon whoppers.. /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

The whole purpose of this thread is to give myself the best possible chance of not getting sick and delaying the inevitable messiness until I have a few pubs under my belt.
    A shock to the system like 7 whoppers would but me on the floor after my first beer

Why life line pills? Are they 'perker uppers'

Good call on the water, will have to keep that in mind and not let the machoness rule me

Good points

You can get a commission-free sterling or dollars in the post office, but the exchange rate is slightly less than the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

you can get Milk Thistle herbal tablets at most pharmacies. These will protect your liver, and how it does that is by diverting the more harmful toxins away from your liver to your kidneys.. or so google says.

Dont mix your drinks. If your drinking red wine, stick to red. If your drinking lager, dont switch to WKDs, in fact avoid all synthetic drinks such as Smirnoff Ice, wkd, After Shock, and particularly Red Bull. Try not to over-do it on spirits. Personally I can have a good night on 6 or 7 Guinness.

Rice is a good absorbent, so a Chinese or Indian before you go out maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭budgemook

Good feed before hand essential. Drink Smithwicks rather than lager. Unless you're a Guinness drinker.

Also, don't worry about it, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

Lifelines...are a capsule with vitamins and charcoal in them to help with something..not sure what but I don't drink with out them.

On morning of ..lets face it..Binge..

Plenty of water...not fizzy sugary drinks as these will leave you feeling worse.

Dioralyte/Rapolyte available from chemist..when you're picking up LifeLines.

Drink about two of these mixed with water.

Vitamin C...extra if you smoke..

On the night...Lifelines, two after an hour and two more later in the night.

Water regularly between drinks, throw in a Dioralyte if you can.

On return home..

A pint of water, Berrocca, Dioralyte all mixed up with an Alka Selzer for good measure...all down with a motillium. I can garantee one seriously diminished hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

The best way to avoid getting too drunk is to get hammered the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭brianthomas

Lifelines...are a capsule with vitamins and charcoal in them to help with something..not sure what but I don't drink with out them.

On morning of ..lets face it..Binge..

Plenty of water...not fizzy sugary drinks as these will leave you feeling worse.

Dioralyte/Rapolyte available from chemist..when you're picking up LifeLines.

Drink about two of these mixed with water.

Vitamin C...extra if you smoke..

On the night...Lifelines, two after an hour and two more later in the night.

Water regularly between drinks, throw in a Dioralyte if you can.

On return home..

A pint of water, Berrocca, Dioralyte all mixed up with an Alka Selzer for good measure...all down with a motillium. I can garantee one seriously diminished hangover.

Love to be your pharmacist. #rakingitin ;-)

Clondalkin in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Falcone

s

Lightweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 287 ✭✭donkey oatey

My new lifesaver when I'm having a heavy night is 4 x 100mg spirulina pills (from the health food shop) before I head out after having a bit too eat. I imagine having another 2 4 hrs in would help too. They help me not feel tired when I'm drinking and I wake up without a headache or terrible stomach.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Dien

The 12 pubs challenge always ends up messy towards the end regardless, but if you feel you'll need a hand keeping up with the heavy drinkers try the following:

Nice few pints the night before, don't get destroyed but let your body know whats coming all the same.

A good dinner with a pint of milk at around 1 if your drinking at 3. You don't wanna start off stuffed or you'll be falling behind from the get go!

Avoid ice if you're on large bottles/cans of lager.

If you're struggling after 7/8 pints try a pint of water. The heroes that may give a bit of slagging will probably be sick/gone home by pub 12 so don't mind 'em.

If you can handle them, a short in the last few pubs will be easier on the stomach than that 11th or 12th pint.

It's a great night out but just keep in mind that the majority won't drink a pint in each of the 12 pubs so don't ruin a good night by trying to keep up. Have a good one!

Love to be your pharmacist. #rakingitin ;-)

There's always a link sale available..but that hangover cure was manufactured and tested regularly on the floor of a chain chemists I used to work in...those were the days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Take extacy and stick to spirits

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Take extacy and stick to spirits
    I know you're joking, and clean mdma taken on it's own is actually relatively safe (far safer than alcohol imo)- but recommending people combine it with any other drug is quite dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »
    What the flying f__k? The drug cocktails people are recommending here could kill people, where's the moderators?

Simply, as Valium is a sedative, combining it with alcohol can lead to coma and respiratory arrest, this is a good link:

Source(s):

http://www.addictionsearch.com/treatment_articles/article/valium-abuse-and-addiction_29.html

What the flying f__k? The drug cocktails people are recommending here could kill people, where's the moderators?

Which is why I left out the main ingredient of my hangover cure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Full stomach, plenty of sleep beforehand and drink at your own pace, feck them.

Word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Dien wrote: »
    The 12 pubs challenge always ends up messy towards the end regardless, but if you feel you'll need a hand keeping up with the heavy drinkers try the following:

Nice few pints the night before, don't get destroyed but let your body know whats coming all the same.

A good dinner with a pint of milk at around 1 if your drinking at 3. You don't wanna start off stuffed or you'll be falling behind from the get go!

Avoid ice if you're on large bottles/cans of lager.

If you're struggling after 7/8 pints try a pint of water. The heroes that may give a bit of slagging will probably be sick/gone home by pub 12 so don't mind 'em.

If you can handle them, a short in the last few pubs will be easier on the stomach than that 11th or 12th pint.

It's a great night out but just keep in mind that the majority won't drink a pint in each of the 12 pubs so don't ruin a good night by trying to keep up. Have a good one!

Think you might have it wrapped up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Be careful with the myth of the pint of water after a skinful of pints, about 50% of the time I have seen people puke themselves in the pub after it. If you sip it, it might be ok. Generally people I know that do it are "sensible" people who think 6 pints is going on the lash. Have a big feed before hand, but not too big or you will struggle to drink and ruin your day. A quick stop into McDonalds or Burger king while passing for a quick bite will save you 4/5 hours into the session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Can anyone gimme some hints and tips to ready myself for a big day of drinking where we have certain timelines per pub rtc.

I want to give myself the best possible chance.

A good feed beforehand, drink a small glass of water after every drink and the twelve pubs of christmas will be an easy task. Well, easy if you stay to spirits. Beer is a different monster to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

its funny how us Irish think this is perfectly acceptable. just go at your own pace is the answer, you dont have to do a rounds system. dont give into peer pressure

Im no stranger to the odd binge session ,but unless youve had a few drinks the few nights before youre asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭JayzuzHowiye

Drink a good beer like Staropramen or Erdinger, chances are you wont feel as rough the next day if you were to drink shight like Bud or Coors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

The famous oul "sneaky puke in the corner"