Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Preparation for big day of drinking

• 10-12-2012 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

Can anyone gimme some hints and tips to ready myself for a big day of drinking where we have certain timelines per pub rtc.

I want to give myself the best possible chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭recyclops

Really tight underwear as it slows down blood flow stopping alcohol getting to your liver as fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Drink water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Start drinking 3 or 4 days in advance to prepare yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Drink bottles, not pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Don't drink out of damp glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Full stomach, plenty of sleep beforehand and drink at your own pace, feck them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Can anyone gimme some hints and tips to ready myself for a big day of drinking where we have certain timelines per pub rtc.

You aren't Brendan Smith, ex-TD and Minister for Agriculture?

Because that would make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Santa hat, cheap beer places, xmassy songs and completely enjoying the xmas spirit with spirits :D or beer whichever really, wanting to do this finally this year, itll be my first one so good luck to me :):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Inject alcohol directly into your veins , it'll save your mouth for later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Just remember that when you've had a few drinks and people look at you funny they either fancy you or want to fight you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I thought all the rtc's were 'IT's now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Please hand over your mancard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

later12 wrote: »
    On the evening before you spend a Friday or Saturday night on the lash, clean your house/ apartment, make your lunch and breakfast for the next day, and leave a recovery pack (chocolate, lucozade, painkillers) on your bedside locker.

That way, when you get up, your house is clean and stress-free and your lunch has been made, and everything is as hassle free as possible.

Also, on nights out you should always keep a €20 stashed somewhere on your person,but not in your wallet. That way, if you lose your wallet, you can still take a taxi home.

Also, put your house key on an old shoelace or some manner of chain, and tie it around you neck. The easiest way to lose your house-keys is by placing them in your pocket, and have them fall out when you stand up from where you've been sitting.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=76734220

Nuffsed.

Smoke some heroin before heading out, it provides great soakage.

Good point actually, I read that somewhere before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Please hand over your mancard.

Is that some sort of duck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pretend to drink beer but instead go into the bathroom to "refill". If you have a Budweiser glass no-one will know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Caveman1 wrote: »

Cant, against the rules
    Full stomach, plenty of sleep beforehand and drink at your own pace, feck them.

Dosnt start till 3, whats a good soakage pre-drinking meal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Is that some sort of duck?
    Yeah, a gay one.

Cant, against the rules

Dosnt start till 3, whats a good soakage pre-drinking meal?

Potatoes...not chips, regular spuds...none of your fancy stuff.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Potatoes...not chips, regular spuds...none of your fancy stuff.

Wouldnt have thought of that but it makes sense.
    Good man

I'd recommend a brown trout before heading out.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I'd recommend a brown trout before heading out.

What does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Falcone

Eat alot, and then some more. Have 7 Whopper burgers 1 hr b4 you start and you will out-last them all.

Falcone wrote: »
    Eat alot, and then some more. Have 7 Whopper burgers 1 hr b4 you start and you will out-last them all.

Make that 7 Double Bacon Whoppers.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

You can get those lifeline pills in the pharmacy beforehand. I think you take some of them before you start boozing.

Have a glass of water for every drink, particularly after 3 or 4.

Do you smoke? Smoking makes my hangovers much worse and I always smoke more when I'm boozin'.

Morning after you'll need a fry. And a place to poop out said fry quite soon after the fry has been had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Eat, drink and be merry.

**** the following morning is a good way to cure the hangover. Sweat some of the drink and bad vitamins out of you. A good ripping fart will settle the stomach as well

Cold pizza and curry leftovers can also come in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

What does that mean?

Taking a dump I assume.

Plenty of rest beforehand, pace yourself - don't race anyone. Adopt a mentality of not going out purely to get langers or you'll get ahead of yourself and something bad could happen i.e massive drunkeness. Eat well before you go out, any 'good' dinner should be useful for this purpose. Drink water or milk before hand (it works, I felt good after a night out doing this). Pre-empting the hangover: drink water when you come in and do the same waking up. Waking up in a bright room helps me personally so I've the blinds a little bit open. Mentality thing.

And that's it, my morals are gone out the window now that I'm encouraging a massive drink session and one that could kill ya - setting up a thread shows intent of a serious one. Good luck and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A couple of big carvery meals during the day will make all the difference

one at 3.30 and another one just before 7

A few valium before drinking and you'll be grand

Falcone wrote: »

The whole purpose of this thread is to give myself the best possible chance of not getting sick and delaying the inevitable messiness until I have a few pubs under my belt.
    A shock to the system like 7 whoppers would but me on the floor after my first beer
    You can get those lifeline pills in the pharmacy beforehand. I think you take some of them before you start boozing.

Have a glass of water for every drink, particularly after 3 or 4.

Why life line pills? Are they 'perker uppers'

Good call on the water, will have to keep that in mind and not let the machoness rule me
    **** the following morning is a good way to cure the hangover. Sweat some of the drink and bad vitamins out of you. A good ripping fart will settle the stomach as well

Good points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

A couple of McDonalds double cheeseburgers and you're good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Drinking contests, the sign of a healthy relationship with alcohol. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The whole purpose of this thread is to give myself the best possible chance of not getting sick and delaying the inevitable messiness until I have a few pubs under my belt.
    A shock to the system like 7 whoppers would but me on the floor after my first beer

Good call on the water, will have to keep that in mind and not let the machoness rule me

Good points

I think they're just supplements or something.

Just checked they have a twitter account.
    Somebody tweeted this at them.
    @lifeline_hd I had three glasses of wine last night I took a lifeline and I feel good this morning! #amazed

So if you're going to colour outside the lines as much as this person you're gonna want them.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Burgers, the Bread is good soakage too.

Plastic Underpants.

EAT
    • A full stomach helps break down alcohol, but not because your food "soaks up" the alcohol. When you eat a big meal, your stomach's pyloric sphincter, a kind of release valve into the small intestine, closes tightly. Your body knows that you've got food that should get a good going-over in your stomach before it heads straight to the high-absorption small intestine, so it keeps it there, and the AD in your stomach has more time to work on the alcohol. Drink on an empty stomach, and the liquid quickly makes it into the small intestine, where there's more than 200 square meters of surface area for absorption into your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Here's a tip - man the **** up and drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Make sure you are wearing either a) new clothes you got for Christmas or b)a sprog of shamrocks because the only two big days of drinking I can think of are Stephen's Day or Paddy's Day!

7 bacon whoppers.. /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

Good points

You can get a commission-free sterling or dollars in the post office, but the exchange rate is slightly less than the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

you can get Milk Thistle herbal tablets at most pharmacies. These will protect your liver, and how it does that is by diverting the more harmful toxins away from your liver to your kidneys.. or so google says.

Dont mix your drinks. If your drinking red wine, stick to red. If your drinking lager, dont switch to WKDs, in fact avoid all synthetic drinks such as Smirnoff Ice, wkd, After Shock, and particularly Red Bull. Try not to over-do it on spirits. Personally I can have a good night on 6 or 7 Guinness.

Rice is a good absorbent, so a Chinese or Indian before you go out maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭budgemook

Good feed before hand essential. Drink Smithwicks rather than lager. Unless you're a Guinness drinker.

Also, don't worry about it, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

Lifelines...are a capsule with vitamins and charcoal in them to help with something..not sure what but I don't drink with out them.

On morning of ..lets face it..Binge..

Plenty of water...not fizzy sugary drinks as these will leave you feeling worse.

Dioralyte/Rapolyte available from chemist..when you're picking up LifeLines.

Drink about two of these mixed with water.

Vitamin C...extra if you smoke..

On the night...Lifelines, two after an hour and two more later in the night.

Water regularly between drinks, throw in a Dioralyte if you can.

On return home..

A pint of water, Berrocca, Dioralyte all mixed up with an Alka Selzer for good measure...all down with a motillium. I can garantee one seriously diminished hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

The best way to avoid getting too drunk is to get hammered the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭brianthomas

Lifelines...are a capsule with vitamins and charcoal in them to help with something..not sure what but I don't drink with out them.

On morning of ..lets face it..Binge..

Plenty of water...not fizzy sugary drinks as these will leave you feeling worse.

Dioralyte/Rapolyte available from chemist..when you're picking up LifeLines.

Drink about two of these mixed with water.

Vitamin C...extra if you smoke..

On the night...Lifelines, two after an hour and two more later in the night.

Water regularly between drinks, throw in a Dioralyte if you can.

On return home..

A pint of water, Berrocca, Dioralyte all mixed up with an Alka Selzer for good measure...all down with a motillium. I can garantee one seriously diminished hangover.

Love to be your pharmacist. #rakingitin ;-)

Clondalkin in Dublin

s

Lightweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭donkey oatey

My new lifesaver when I'm having a heavy night is 4 x 100mg spirulina pills (from the health food shop) before I head out after having a bit too eat. I imagine having another 2 4 hrs in would help too. They help me not feel tired when I'm drinking and I wake up without a headache or terrible stomach.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Dien

The 12 pubs challenge always ends up messy towards the end regardless, but if you feel you'll need a hand keeping up with the heavy drinkers try the following:

Nice few pints the night before, don't get destroyed but let your body know whats coming all the same.

A good dinner with a pint of milk at around 1 if your drinking at 3. You don't wanna start off stuffed or you'll be falling behind from the get go!

Avoid ice if you're on large bottles/cans of lager.

If you're struggling after 7/8 pints try a pint of water. The heroes that may give a bit of slagging will probably be sick/gone home by pub 12 so don't mind 'em.

If you can handle them, a short in the last few pubs will be easier on the stomach than that 11th or 12th pint.

It's a great night out but just keep in mind that the majority won't drink a pint in each of the 12 pubs so don't ruin a good night by trying to keep up. Have a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

Love to be your pharmacist. #rakingitin ;-)

There's always a link sale available..but that hangover cure was manufactured and tested regularly on the floor of a chain chemists I used to work in...those were the days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Take extacy and stick to spirits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Take extacy and stick to spirits
    I know you're joking, and clean mdma taken on it's own is actually relatively safe (far safer than alcohol imo)- but recommending people combine it with any other drug is quite dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced