Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

<<At least I think I do..>>

Warm up
    -who gives a ****

Strength

Smolov - Week 1, Day 4:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    182.5kg x2

Floor Press:
    60kg x10
    90kg x5
    105kg x12-8-6rp

Fat Grip Chinzz:
    BW 3x8

Scap Destroyer - 3 round of 10s

Curls/Extensions w/ Fat Gripzz: 10kg 3x10

That's the first time I've never finished a Smolov cycle. My left quad was on the verge of exploding and I knew I wouldn't get 10 sets out of it, and that ever rep increased the risk of something going wrong. So I stopped. ****ing piss the **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭COH

Hanley wrote: »
    That's the first time I've never finished a Smolov cycle. My left quad was on the verge of exploding and I knew I wouldn't get 10 sets out of it, and that ever rep increased the risk of something going wrong. So I stopped. ****ing piss the **** off.

How disappointingly responsible of you.. I actually dare you to man up and finish that session off. Are you saying you... QUIT ... because something could have happened? Here's what else could have happened... victory!

Its ok though, at least we can all go back to not reading your log again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Didn't you say that you were going to book an appointment with a physio BEFORE the start of Smolov??? did you book it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Get your leg sorted. I'll be back training like a non-loser in a few weeks and it's going to be messy so be healthy and ready to embrace excellence.

COH wrote: »
    How disappointingly responsible of you.. I actually dare you to man up and finish that session off. Are you saying you... QUIT ... because something could have happened? Here's what else could have happened... victory!

Its ok though, at least we can all go back to not reading your log again :pac:

Remember that time you ****ed your back up and spent about a year doing rehab?
    gymfreak wrote: »
    Didn't you say that you were going to book an appointment with a physio BEFORE the start of Smolov??? did you book it yet?

Was there last week. Have another Friday. He just said I'd be sore with a new training cycle. I didn't expect isolated soreness across about a 10x5 cm portion. My left leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭COH

Remember that time you ****ed your back up and spent about a year doing rehab?

LOL. I still refuse to do smolov to this day after that last 10x3 that left me on the floor cradling myself between sets. Had planned on doing it over this holiday season too.. but no.. just no.

Ironic though that almost 2 years later now and mangling myself was probably the best thing that's ever happened to my training!

Hope its nothing major anyway.. set backs = come backs

Yes... I said "route", as in "route to". Swear.

380879_10151332385000115_1917348924_n.jpg

197880_10151332385310115_96960463_n.jpg

The absolute f*cking state of my body. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

I can do a full pistol off my left and 1/8th of one off my right. Is hilarious.. and by hilarious i mean soul destroying.

Paudee wrote: »
    I can do a full pistol off my left and 1/8th of one off my right. Is hilarious.. and by hilarious i mean soul destroying.

I'm there now too. About 3 months ago I'd bust out pistols no hassle on either side.

Such a f*cking joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Your pics seem pretty much a carbon copy of the issue I have with my left hip... what do you do to 'level' it out? Once I'm warmed up, hip feels fine - but first thing in the morning or pre-warm-up it's very stiff and tight with limited mobility. Physio work helps here and there but who can afford regular trips to the physio?? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

PS - that's a right scaldy pair of runners ya have there, H :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Yes... I said "route", as in "route to". Swear.

380879_10151332385000115_1917348924_n.jpg

197880_10151332385310115_96960463_n.jpg

The absolute f*cking state of my body. Ugh.
    WHIP IT! wrote: »
    PS - that's a right scaldy pair of runners ya have there, H biggrin.pngpacman.gif

That's 3 of us with similar issues! Hanley that's very similar to what is ****ing with my squat! (eh 1 of many problems, but the latest 1 I'm always giving out about). Anyway, in my case it's allegedly the Piriformis & TFL that are inhibiting my gracilis. I found super couching with blue band (almost went through the wall today) lot's of internal rotation work & adducting v purple band toes to heel is starting to shift the problem! Can't wait for my next bout of dry needling!! :/

Foam rolling TFL/ITB right down to the knee before training seems to be quickest way to get some mobility for all of 5 minutes!

Burkatron wrote: »
    That's 3 of us with similar issues! Hanley that's very similar to what is ****ing with my squat! (eh 1 of many problems, but the latest 1 I'm always giving out about). Anyway, in my case it's allegedly the Piriformis & TFL that are inhibiting my gracilis. I found super couching with blue band (almost went through the wall today) lot's of internal rotation work & adducting v purple band toes to heel is starting to shift the problem! Can't wait for my next bout of dry needling!! :/

Foam rolling TFL/ITB right down to the knee before training seems to be quickest way to get some mobility for all of 5 minutes!

There's SO much bloody stuff that could realistically be going on there that my head's spinning trying to decipher anything of it.

I'm going to see what the physio says on Friday, but right now my thoughts are:
    -roll and stretch adductor group
    -roll ITB/TFL
    -external rotator strengthening/activation
    -force hip extension as my left side rectus femoris is noticeably tighter

Bleh.

Here's another one to consider actually lads...

Do you notice it's worse when doing certain things?

If I lie in the foetal position on my left side (bad leg) I get SIGNIFICANT pain mid way up my left quad on border with ITB quite quickly.

Squatting obviously screws with it.

Stepping into my car, and pressing my clutch do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

You need to see an incredibly posh osteo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Here's another one to consider actually lads...

Do you notice it's worse when doing certain things?

If I lie in the foetal position on my left side (bad leg) I get SIGNIFICANT pain mid way up my left quad on border with ITB quite quickly.

Squatting obviously screws with it.

Stepping into my car, and pressing my clutch do the same.

• Haven't been in a heap on the floor/foetal position lately to notice!
    • Squatting definitely.
    • The car, yep, it's an absolute ****er! I was always told glute medius is the main culprit to look at for that issue! As you said, it could be anything!!
    Self diagnosing & brainstorming on the web, it's what smrt people do!!

kevpants wrote: »
    You need to see an incredibly posh osteo.

My birthdays in July. I'll accept it as a birthday present since ill probably be waiting until then.

<<Oh my...>>

Warm Up
    -lots of band traction
    -balls deep in my glutes
    -scap destroyer - 2 rounds

Strength

Floor Press:
    60kg x10
    90kg x5
    115kg 3x5 ...hilariously easily

Fat Grip Chinzz:
    BW x5
    +15kg 5x3

External Rotations:
    3x15

Exceptionally solid workout. My upper body training is going fantastically. My template, for anyone that cares is basically:

Day 1:
    -Multi Plan Scap Retraction Work (MPSRW)
    -Heavy Floor Press (straight sets, 3-8 x 3-8)
    -Heavy Fat Grip Chinzz (straight sets, 3-5 x 3-5)
    -External rotation

Day 2:
    -MPSRW
    -Ring Dips (bodyweight/light, rest paused)
    -Row variant

Day 3:
    -Multi Plan Scap Retraction Work (MPSRW)
    -Floor Press (rest paused, aiming for 25ish total reps)
    -Fat Grip Chinzz (bodyweight, 3-5 x 8-12, maybe rest paused)
    -External rotation

Day 4:
    -MPSRW
    -Weighted Ring Dips (straight sets, 3-8 x 3-8)
    -Row Variant

Then gunzz work and lower body fits around that. Lower body's very limited at the moment due to ongoing issue. The odd bench session in every now and again to see what's happening. Very moderate workload, but progressively ramping up and leading to some bodyweight PRs.

<<Bend over to the front...>>

Warm Up
    -scap destroyer x3
    -aggressive traction x3mins

Strength

Bench:
    60kg x8
    80kg x8
    100kg x8
    110kg x8

Close Grip Bench:
    100kg 5x3

Chest Supported Row:
    10kg DBs 3x15

Seated DB Curls w/ Fat Gripzz & Extension superset: 3x12

External Rotations: 3x15

Hip Traction: 12 minutes

Alright training session actually. Bench suggests 140kg-ish is there. Not bad after heavy floor pressing yesterday. Exciting to see what happens there over the next few months.

Nutrition's been bleh, hip is screwy and total physio fail today, but I'm happy and things are going well.

Professional shoot is on Tuesday... Very nervous because I'm no where near as lean as I was hoping. Certainly leaner than I was, but... ya know!

6b6dbe56408911e2ac5122000a9f14f8_7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭JoeyDoh

Fair play on the cut! What's the bodyfat % in 09 and now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Ant11

Still impressive no matter what you think, personal opinion is always gona be judgemental.

JoeyDoh wrote: »
    Fair play on the cut! What's the bodyfat % in 09 and now?

No idea on either counts. <9% on calipers using Jackson Pollock 7 site this week. More likely around 12% if measured by DEXA. Don't give a crap either way!!
    Ant11 wrote: »
    Still impressive no matter what you think, personal opinion is always gona be judgemental.

Ah yeah, but I know I've slacked over the last few weeks!! Thanks :)

<<Pump, pump it up...>>

Warm up
    -physio rehab
    -scap destroyer

Strength

Ring Dips:
    bodyweight x24-13-9rp

Fat Grip Chinzz:
    bodyweight x5
    +15kg 5x5

A1) Fat Gripz Seated Curls w/ reverse curl eccentric:
    10kg x15, 12, 12, 10

A2) Fat Bar Band Pushdown:
    3x20, 1x12

Fuuuuuuuuuuuck you pump. Unreal. Can barely hold my phone.

Happy with the dips. Moving in the right direction still. When/if I hit 50rp I'll start to weight them too. Chinzz were awesome. Very surprised at how strong they're feeling. Triples with 17.5kg on my next "heavy" day. Think I'm due multiple sets of 8 w/ 10kg on my next lighter day.

Photoshoot tomorrow. 100% not ready for it. C'est la vie!!

Was with a new physio this morning who's worked with the irish olympic teams and finally feel like i'm on track to get my stuff sorted. Delighted.

Thanks gymfreak for giving me the name of your physio and telling me repeatedly to go get sorted:P:P...is what you meant to say, yeh?

gymfreak wrote: »
    Thanks gymfreak for giving me the name of your physio and telling me repeatedly to go get sorted:P:P...is what you meant to say, yeh?

Funny story - he was recommended years ago. Next time you're in there, look at the framed squat suit outside his door.

It's that of an old training partner from the WDFPF world champs 2009 - I was there with him to help coach.

....so thank you for reminding me of the dude that was recommended years ago. Yah. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Ah its okay. Even if you aren't ready, slap some baby oil/water on you, get some good lighting for the shadows and bob's your uncle!

Funny story - he was recommended years ago. Next time you're in there, look at the framed squat suit outside his door.

It's that of an old training partner from the WDFPF world champs 2009 - I was there with him to help coach.

....so thank you for reminding me of the dude that was recommended years ago. Yah. ;)

Oh...so someone recommended him and he was so memorable that you forgot about him...and then I recommended him...sent on his CV etc to you....then you decided to book an appointment with a different dude...twice.....:rolleyes: I give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

A2) Fat Bar Band Pushdown:
    3x20, 1x12

Do you have an attachment for these, or just loop the band around a bar?

Tried doing them with a bar last week, but I couldn't get it set up right

"after" shots done, now time for some food...

302767_10151341990525115_216977649_n.jpg