Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for the pics of the stokbord!!!! :D:p:D:p

Ya it'I be bought. Just want to get a good one. I think they have the Prima tech ones (made in U.S. I think) in local place here

Would you loose drench if you turned up hook or is there a valve in them or what bob?

Will you have patients, Jasus if I was only after getting married stokbord and a hook drencher would be the last think on my mind with the missus due to walk in the door :D:D

went to take the pictures 20mins ago of stokbord and the batteries were gone dead, will have a pic up before midnight

hook drencher has a vaccum so that does doesnt drip out unless lever is pushed. I have put hundreds of litres through mine, will check the make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Jasus if I was only after getting married stokbord and a hook drencher would be the last think on my mind with the missus due to walk in the door :D:D

Now now bob, what goes on between two consenting adults behind closed doors is nobodys business but their own:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

mf240 wrote: »

Now now bob, what goes on between two consenting adults behind closed doors is nobodys business but their own:D:D:D
    Any pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

td5man wrote: »
    Any pics

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Durrus Boy

The gun itself is a prima tech 70ml one which your man told be is 65e by itself, he wanted 79e for the gun and the hook but I got it for 75. The hook itself is a fairly solid piece of equipment and the gun comes with a normal dosing nozzle and a nozzle for putting on pouron. I cant tell ye how good the gun is until I get to use it but your man made out they are one of the best of them.

photo-948.jpg

Bought exact same gun last year - only issue i had was that the plunger is 'driven' by the top of the grey handle which wraps around it and sits into 2 notches( all plastic). When i was dosing the cattle last year the wrap-around part cracked and slips over the notches - there can be a fair bit of pressure when pumping over 50ml. Have it sealed together again but always keep an eye on it when dosing and tend to pump smaller amounts if a large dosage required.

Anyone know of any other makes of a better design? - i.e less plastic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

a buddy of mine sold a very average blue by AZL...280-290kg E710 and he only got contacted by the mart to get vet to stamp form that he was going for export.. "export Quality" at E710? Seriously?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

going north or to spain maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

going north or to spain maybe?

Tunisia was on the form

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

naughto wrote: »
    not sure what the hell is going on here
    http://youtu.be/4TczQZUboe0
    It would'nt take those lads long to plough a field. No need for fancy reversables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

naughto wrote: »
    not sure what the hell is going on here
    http://youtu.be/4TczQZUboe0

That fella reseeded a field for me 3 years ago . Decent lad, he put speedbumps in for me every 10 yards, and didn't charge a penny extra :p

just in case Im keeping muckit up, waiting for late night dirty pictures of stokbord. picture is of the same dividing gate back and front. The outside is 2" gal piping with the internal bars 1.5" piping. the stokbord is bolted onto the perimeter bars with welded 30mmX5mm flat with holes in it. This stops the stokbord "peeling" with animals scratching as the edge of the stokboard is hiding under the piping IYKWIM. Can get better pic during daylight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ah fair play to ya bob :D I'm off to dream about stokbord now! :p:D

strange, has Mr Goodman taken over the running of the Dept of Ag or what

http://www.aibp.ie/

dont know what I was doing on the ag site and noticed the web address, strange

anyway good news from de minister
    http://www.aibp.ie/press/pressreleases/2012/december/title,67957,en.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Could this be done with Dairy Cows to get the perfect Latte ?

IN the lush hills of northern Thailand, a herd of 20 elephants is excreting some of the world's most expensive coffee.

Trumpeted as earthy in flavour and smooth on the palate, the exotic new brew is made from beans eaten by Thai elephants and plucked a day later from their dung. A gut reaction inside the elephant creates what its founder calls the coffee's unique taste.

Stomach turning or oddly alluring, this is not just one of the world's most unusual specialty coffees. At $1,100 (€850) per kilogramme, it's also among the world's priciest.

Called Black Ivory Coffee, it was launched last month at a few luxury hotels, with the price tag of about $50 (€38) a cup.

Irish Independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

colrow wrote: »
    Could this be done with Dairy Cows to get the perfect Latte ...
    Snobby people, will believe anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

colrow wrote: »
    Could this be done with Dairy Cows to get the perfect Latte ?

IN the lush hills of northern Thailand, a herd of 20 elephants is excreting some of the world's most expensive coffee.

Trumpeted as earthy in flavour and smooth on the palate, the exotic new brew is made from beans eaten by Thai elephants and plucked a day later from their dung. A gut reaction inside the elephant creates what its founder calls the coffee's unique taste.

Stomach turning or oddly alluring, this is not just one of the world's most unusual specialty coffees. At $1,100 (€850) per kilogramme, it's also among the world's priciest.

Called Black Ivory Coffee, it was launched last month at a few luxury hotels, with the price tag of about $50 (€38) a cup.

Irish Independent
    You can get weasel coffee too. something similar in production processes only fed through weasels. mad expensive ****.

1chippy wrote: »
    You can get weasel coffee too. something similar in production processes only fed through weasels. mad expensive ****.

and stuff through a cat. humans next I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

was in carnew mart today with 2 fr cull cows

580 kg €880 br fr type nice bit of flesh dry a good while
    660 kg €990 hol ave flesh dry month

both had no extra feeding and would need a good bit more

had to ask auctioneer if i heard bid right:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

dar31 wrote: »
    was in carnew mart today with 2 fr cull cows

580 kg €880 br fr type nice bit of flesh dry a good while
    660 kg €990 hol ave flesh dry month

both had no extra feeding and would need a good bit more

had to ask auctioneer if i heard bid right:D

:eek::eek::eek: some difference towards what ive seen recently
    anyone see any fr cull cows selling resonable enough? :):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

started a discussion on hunting but yet again it was closed:confused: have sheep grazing my land as it was too wet to be grazed by cattle/cows, yesterday there was abig red dog bigger than the sheep had 1 sheep cornered ... i rang the gun club, as we heard gun shots and rang owner of sheep... he had only been through them half an hour before hand .. when the owner of sheep arrived the dog ran away, he said it was as if the owner had called it away, i know in my mind a dog attacking a sheep doesnt leave it til the job is done... he hadnt his gun ready.... gun club said they have only weekend shooting in force, and dog description did not match any of their dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

whelan1 wrote: »
    started a discussion on hunting but yet again it was closed:confused: have sheep grazing my land as it was too wet to be grazed by cattle/cows, yesterday there was abig red dog bigger than the sheep had 1 sheep cornered ... i rang the gun club, as we heard gun shots and rang owner of sheep... he had only been through them half an hour before hand .. when the owner of sheep arrived the dog ran away, he said it was as if the owner had called it away, i know in my mind a dog attacking a sheep doesnt leave it til the job is done... he hadnt his gun ready.... gun club said they have only weekend shooting in force, and dog description did not match any of their dogs
    What breed of dog do you think it was? What are they out hunting? Those there sheep are impossible to mind!

i hate sheep, only place for them is a lamb chop or a wooly jumper, but i have land that hasnt been grazed since august so let them in to graze it off. i do not like to see animals being cornered like that.apparently they are hunting pigeons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

i hate sheep, only place for them is a lamb chop or a wooly jumper, but i have land that hasnt been grazed since august so let them in to graze it off. i do not like to see animals being cornered like that.apparently they are hunting pigeons

Hunting fcuking pigeons you are kidding me, they must be bored, send them to Italy the place is full of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Hi Whelan,

So there was lads in hunting pigeons, with a dog, and the dog had a sheep cornered?...

Any idea who they were?

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

One of the nicest sights i think myself in the farming community. Field of new born lambs in spring in a nice field of grass:eek: wooly jumpers

Jeez whealan1, put up another post. You're on 6666, that can't be a lucky number :D

Hi Whelan,

So there was lads in hunting pigeons, with a dog, and the dog had a sheep cornered?...

Any idea who they were?

no idea. rang gun club and sheep owner... i did my duty. i am fed up of anytime i start a thread on the hunting forum to ask an innocent question it gets closed:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

no idea. rang gun club and sheep owner... i did my duty. i am fed up of anytime i start a thread on the hunting forum to ask an innocent question it gets closed:confused:

Well, my experience is lads hunting cause more problems than anything else... :(

I guess the hunting forum dont like these sort of 'awkward' questions... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

"those there sheep are hard to mind "not that hard to mind if you put up a good fence. These people that cannot control their f...... dogs are the problem .Had a number of attacks on mine over the years.Between killed and having to be put down,not nice ,not nice at all.And then have to listen to "not my dog sure he would not hurt a fly":mad:

Worth a look: