A nation of obedient ****-takers ~ Christy Moore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

File under populist rants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

Christy has become obsessed with the bloody recession.

Went to see him last and noticed he had even changed the lyrics to some of his songs ..

How's it gowin everybody?
    From Cork, New York, Dundalk, Gortahork and Glenamaddy.

Here we are now and our cupboards are bare.
    Sure it's been a long, long way from here to there.
    We still have the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher,
    But now I'm thinking of jumping, to be sure, to be sure.

When it was music you'd want, off we'd go to Clare.
    But now we're all broke and can't afford the fare.
    Everybody used to love a break, we climb mountains and eat loads of cake.

Some headed off to exotic places,
    Now they suck off horses at the Galway Races.
    Mattie used to go to the South of France,
    Now he's lucky to get a handjob after the local dance.

That cousin of mine still goes potholing,
    And we've lost poor ole Joe Dolan.
    Summer still comes around each year
    But we can't go there, so now theyl come here.

Nobodies jetting off to Frijiliana,
    Sure we can't even afford to go to fcuking Lisdoonvarna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Attabear

Warren Buffet might disagree with you on that.

He. Wouldn't. Dare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

But they don't. :confused:
    Jesus. How, might I ask, did you come to that conclusion?

One of many surveys.
    HE true scale of the tax burden on low- and middle-income earners as a result of the austerity drive is revealed in staggering new figures published today.

Estimates released by the Department of Finance showed that those who earn the least have been worst hit by tax hikes while the country's top earners contributed marginally less. The figures provide a detailed snapshot of how the increased tax burden caused by the economic crisis has weighed more on the less-well-off than the richest.

They showed that the "coping classes" earning anything from €17,543 to €50,000 are bearing the brunt of austerity. The biggest burden has fallen on those earning €17,542 to €20,000, who have collectively paid three times more tax in 2011 than they did in 2010 -- or a shocking 215 per cent increase.

Those earning €20,001 to €30,000 are paying 36 per cent more tax than they did in 2010 and those earning between €40,001 and €50,000 are paying 23 per cent more. The huge tax burden was attributed to the introduction of the Universal Social Charge and on a reduction in tax credits in the Government's bid to raise more than €1bn in extra income tax in 2011. However, leadings tax consultants said yesterday the figures showed how the tax hikes have had a "disproportionate effect" on the lower paid while leaving the country's highest earners largely unscathed. For example, the 118 people in the country who earn more than €2m paid 0.3 per cent less in tax in 2011 than they did in 2010; the 1,148 who earned between €400,001 and €450,000 paid just 1.1 per cent more in tax.

The tax drop for Ireland's top earners is no doubt linked to the fact that they earned less last year: their taxable income fell by €9.2m in 2011. However, the figures clearly showed that the hard-pressed lower and IPmiddle income workers also earned significantly less last year but contributed proportionally more in taxes. Those earning €40,001 to €50,000 a year were typical: more than 207,900 of them paid €866m in tax in 2010; last year, there were 3,000 fewer people in that salary range yet their collective tax contribution soared to €1.058bn.

High earners on €100,000 to €125,000 paid €61m more in taxes although their ranks were depleted by 629 in 2011. The Finance Minister admitted in the Dail last month that under half of Irish millionaires paid less than 30 per cent income tax in 2009.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/shocking-injustice-of-austerity-taxes-revealed-3017101.html

I wish I was a millionaire. My income tax rate is 41%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

smash wrote: »
    That's rubbish and you know it.

Excellent rebuttal.

If we're talking about income tax (in isolation) then the well-off pay more.

Looking at income taxes alone is a dopey way of considering who pays for society and who benefits most from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I wonder was he out on the streets protesting with the rest of them??? I doubt it! He's full of ****. It's easy for him to sit there and complain about the rest of us mere mortals while he rakes in millions. Think he's extremely talented and I like his music but on a personal level he's gone way down in my estimation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭iMyself

Tax everyone but me! Tooraloora loo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

So we've had Sinead O' Connor, Steve Wall, Gabriel Byrne and now Christy Moore, all resurected from obscurity to pìss and moan about the "apathetic Irish" that made them incredibly wealthy with tax exemptions for their chosen careers?

I'm off to flagellate myself for my apathy before Bono wades in on a surf board to offer his two cents.

Talk about biting the hand that feeds you! I wonder did he have that little rant tattooed on the inside of his eyelids?

lukesmom wrote: »
    I wonder was he out on the streets protesting with the rest of them??? I doubt it! He's full of ****. It's easy for him to sit there and complain about the rest of us mere mortals while he rakes in millions. Think he's extremely talented and I like his music but on a personal level he's gone way down in my estimation.

Agree with all of this except the extremely talented and like his music part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

I'm sure he was. I've seen him at countless protests over the years. He often turns up with his guitar and plays some songs for the protesters to keep their spirits up.

GRMA wrote: »
    I'm sure he was. I've seen him at countless protests over the years. He often turns up with his guitar and plays some songs for the protesters to keep their spirits up.

As if they didn't have enough problems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

keep their spirits up / advertise for free to huge crowds/ be the voice of the movement/ sell albums .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Just in time to buy his album for Christmas too. Pull another one Christy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Yeah Im awaiting the announcement that because of the recession hes selling live at the point for half price this christmas . Great stocking filler .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

I read that part, I saw no solution?

Anyone can be a hurler on the ditch, why doesn't he get off his well heeled arse and do something if he thinks he can.
    Easy for him to sit on his big fat rich arse and complain about the rest of us. He's no ordinary man.

This " What is your alternative?" ****e is wearing thin and its not difficult to know where he got "**** taker" idea.

Lets say you go to the dentist with a toothache. Dentist doesn't fix your problem but you still pay an obscene amount of money. Are you honestly telling us you have no right to complain because YOU don't understand how to fix it?
    Moore pays his tax and is entitled to voice dissatisfaction at the governments failures. In all this quagmire people are forgetting everybody is entitled to their opinion.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    why would he,he's a millionaire.

You know he remortgaged his home to fight the legal battle against Carnsore point? Doubt I'd have the bottle to do that. Would you?

keep their spirits up / advertise for free to huge crowds/ be the voice of the movement/ sell albums .
    So he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Wicklowrider: If he's just going to blanket condemn Irish people as a nation (of which he's part) asking him what alternatives he'd suggest seems reasonable to me. After all, he's condemning others for not coming up with alternatives.

Every time this discussion comes up, you get idiots saying "Useless bunch sitting on their holes" from their computer, also doing nothing and sitting on their holes. I fail to see how Moore is any different.

The prevailing mantra isn't "Ah shur it'll be grand" - as some like to say all the time; it's "Can't someone else do it?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I have honestly never seen a more completely fuccking cynical shower than on this website.

If you're famous your opinions are invalid, are they? "Oh sure he has an agenda"-EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOUR OWN OPINIONS WILL BE BASED ON AN AGENDA OF SOME KIND, FFS.

Always be weary of charity giggs . If a lad does a charity gigg for 40 000 people . If hes good he will sell thousands of albums off the back of it .
    Christy's gigs hardly pull that number and haven't tended to be for the most politically correct things, but none the less worthy causes.

I have honestly never seen a more completely fuccking cynical shower than on this website.

If you're famous your opinions are invalid, are they? "Oh sure he has an agenda"-EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOUR OWN OPINIONS WILL BE BASED ON AN AGENDA OF SOME KIND, FFS.
    I don't think he has an agenda, to be fair. I think he's a hypocrite though - famous or not. No different to the non famous people here day to day who drone out the same whinge and do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

This " What is your alternative?" ****e is wearing thin and its not difficult to know where he got "**** taker" idea.

Tough luck, expect more of it. All I read was a pointless rabble rant written by a millionaire.

How much tax do artists pay these days?

Madam_X wrote: »
    Wicklowrider: If he's just going to blanket condemn Irish people as a nation (of which he's part) asking him what alternatives he'd suggest seems reasonable to me. After all, he's condemning others for not coming up with alternatives.

Every time this discussion comes up, you get idiots saying "Useless bunch sitting on their holes" from their computer, also doing nothing and sitting on their holes. I fail to see how Moore is any different.

The prevailing mantra isn't "Ah shur it'll be grand" - as some like to say all the time; it's "Can't someone else do it?"

Christy has never sat on his hole for fcuks sake!

He's just a musician and does what he can, to make people aware of causes, to support them, to raise money for them. And often as a result of this he has his record launches raided with all his albums nicked by the garda, been arrested by the RUC, spent hours being held in lots of different places by police being harassed for simply having the balls to stand up for what he believes in.

What the hell have you ever done?

I guarantee he has done far more than whatever you have done!

Ignorance is un fcuking real from some people here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BASHIR

What about the rest of us who have worked hard and achieved something with our lives throughout this recession. "A nation of obedient docile **** takers" F off Christy with your generic labeling of everyone with the same brush.

Some of us have a bit more cop on that not everyone is the same and don't use some waffle to get a bit of air time to sell our (begrudgingly good) work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,326 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

He's just a musician and does what he can, to make people aware of causes, to support them, to raise money for them. And often as a result of this he has his record launches raided with all his albums nicked by the garda, been arrested by the RUC, spent hours being held in lots of different places by police being harassed for simply having the balls to stand up for what he believes in.

I agree, he didnt become a millionaire overnight, he worked hard for where he is today, I wouldnt be a fan of his later stuff now, but have been following him since his moderate success in the 1970s and with Planxty too.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I wonder how much tax he pays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Icepick

Ghandee wrote: »
    When the lowest paid in society pay more taxes than the rich do, you know you're in a banana republic.
    we clearly aren't then
    http://economic-incentives.blogspot.ie/2011/03/who-pays-income-tax.html
    http://www.ronanlyons.com/2012/04/10/paying-tax-in-ireland-where-the-richest-and-poorest-pay/

Fair enough, he's done stuff - but what in relation to this issue? Not very logical to complain about others doing nothing when doing nothing yourself. To ask me what *I've* done is missing the point - I don't bitch about others doing nothing, unless they have the audacity to moan about others doing nothing, yet do nothing themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

As long as I have an iPhone 5 or Samsung Galaxy S3; I don't mind.

Madam_X wrote: »
    Fair enough, he's done stuff - but what in relation to this issue? Not very logical to complain about others doing nothing when doing nothing yourself. To ask me what *I've* done is missing the point - I don't bitch about others doing nothing, unless they have the audacity to moan about others doing nothing, yet do nothing themselves.
    He's been to protests, helped out and leant support to things such as occupy dame street. He's using his fame to speak out and to try and to rouse people from their apathy.

He's done far more than the gob****es saying you can't speak out unless you satisfy a laundry list of demands, you can't protest unless you have a foolproof plan to fix things. You are proving his point for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear