Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A nation of obedient ****-takers ~ Christy Moore

• 07-12-2012 4:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭

”There’s no doubt they have us where they want us. We seem to have become a nation of docile, obedient ****-takers with a few exceptions the same galoots are in the driving seat, the banking elite have become, if anything, even more arrogant, the PAYE workers,the poor, the elderly, the infirm, the special needs, these are the ones paying for the sins of the greedy…for the laissez faire attitude of Bertie Ahearn and his Government,the Ray (Dublin Bay) Burkes,the Pee Flynns and Ray McSharry’s and their team of lickers, the Brian Cowans, Mary Hanaffins, Mary Coughlans, Mary Harneys most of them, and many others, gone out to ( the very long) grass with awesome pensions. The Johnny Ronans, Bernard McNamara’s,Tom McFeeleys, and their numerous counterparts are still lingering at the trough.The nameless Banker Tycoons who fed these monsters endless millions to chase sick fantasies, to fuel helicopters and Maybachs, champagne swilling lifestyles, endless acquisitive ego-boosting and criminal behaviours… all these lauded by the same Bertie who suggested that those who tried to call a halt, would be better of committing suicide…What a dirty slur that was. What sort of a ( repeatedly elected ) leader cur would utter such a crass and low exortation to his electorate from the platform…. At a time when thousands of families were suffering the pain of such loss and deprivation…

They seem to have us where they want us alright…supine on the couches of the nation, hypnotised by Football, X Factor and Downton Abbey.
    We are are back again at the same spot…. countless thousands pay the price…..” ~ Christy Moore

From the daily star, is he right? I have to say I think there is some truth to this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Oh no! not christy moore!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

I just read that in his voice whilst sweating like a rapist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Christies spot on as usual.

This country needs a revolution.

Its time we started to say no to bondholders and euro dictators.

When the lowest paid in society pay more taxes than the rich do, you know you're in a banana republic.
    THE true scale of the tax burden on low- and middle-income earners as a result of the austerity drive is revealed in staggering new figures published today.

Estimates released by the Department of Finance showed that those who earn the least have been worst hit by tax hikes while the country's top earners contributed marginally less. The figures provide a detailed snapshot of how the increased tax burden caused by the economic crisis has weighed more on the less-well-off than the richest.

They showed that the "coping classes" earning anything from €17,543 to €50,000 are bearing the brunt of austerity. The biggest burden has fallen on those earning €17,542 to €20,000, who have collectively paid three times more tax in 2011 than they did in 2010 -- or a shocking 215 per cent increase.

Those earning €20,001 to €30,000 are paying 36 per cent more tax than they did in 2010 and those earning between €40,001 and €50,000 are paying 23 per cent more. The huge tax burden was attributed to the introduction of the Universal Social Charge and on a reduction in tax credits in the Government's bid to raise more than €1bn in extra income tax in 2011. However, leadings tax consultants said yesterday the figures showed how the tax hikes have had a "disproportionate effect" on the lower paid while leaving the country's highest earners largely unscathed. For example, the 118 people in the country who earn more than €2m paid 0.3 per cent less in tax in 2011 than they did in 2010; the 1,148 who earned between €400,001 and €450,000 paid just 1.1 per cent more in tax.

The tax drop for Ireland's top earners is no doubt linked to the fact that they earned less last year: their taxable inome fell by €9.2m in 2011. However, the figures clearly showed that the hard-pressed lower and IPmiddle income workers also earned significantly less last year but contributed proportionally more in taxes. Those earning €40,001 to €50,000 a year were typical: more than 207,900 of them paid €866m in tax in 2010; last year, there were 3,000 fewer people in that salary range yet their collective tax contribution soared to €1.058bn.

High earners on €100,000 to €125,000 paid €61m more in taxes although their ranks were depleted by 629 in 2011. The Finance Minister admitted in the Dail last month that under half of Irish millionaires paid less than 30 per cent income tax in 2009.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/shocking-injustice-of-austerity-taxes-revealed-3017101.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Tell us what to do Christy, is it time for parcel bombs and burning things???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

meoklmrk91 wrote: »

We are are back again at the same spot…. countless thousands pay the price…..” ~ Christy Moore

Developed a stammer, the poor cunt.

Ghandee wrote: »

When the lowest paid in society pay more taxes than the rich do, you know you're in a banana republic.

Well by the way revolutions work that would mean

revolution>civil war>back to where we are now just crapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I read that part, I saw no solution?

Anyone can be a hurler on the ditch, why doesn't he get off his well heeled arse and do something if he thinks he can.

why would he,he's a millionaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

It's called learned helplessness, Irish have suffered from it since before the "famine"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Christy Moore loves a recession its when his music sells.

Christy Moore over the years has done tons of things to aid causes he believes in, those telling him to get off his arse are talking through theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Can't see that selling many cd's, it doesn't even rhyme!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

But they don't. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Moore information please, then I will be able to come to whatever they tell me to decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Exactly. Sick sh1t of the "Everyone else is being too complacent but somehow I'm above them despite being absolutely no different" rubbish.

If a person is living in this country and doing fuk all about the dreadful way things have gone, they are in zero position to complain about "us" (i.e. everyone else but not them) being complacent. Unless they're whinging about themselves, which is doubtful.

Yes he is right. And...? Let's not forget plenty of those who are so *angry* now and nodding their heads vigorously at what Christy's saying, were very happy to vote FF six years ago.

He could at least be more specific instead of this "We as a nation" sh1t. Don't blame us all for e.g. the Lowry sycophants.

Yeah Christie ye nob why you judging me ?

Have a look at yourself .

And whats wrong with being hypnotised by the x factor or downton abbey or the football ?
    Sure isnt it entertainment . Is this just a dig at any form of entertainment apart from yer own .
    If we were sat at home hypnotised by christie live at the point albums im sure youd be alot more upbeat .

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Well then he should definitely shut the fuk up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Easy for him to sit on his big fat rich arse and complain about the rest of us. He's no ordinary man.

He should RIDE ON that fella .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Income tax? No.

Tax in general? As much as if not more proportionate to income.

Tax proportionate to wealth? The richer you are the less you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Jesus. How, might I ask, did you come to that conclusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Cue the chorus of "this mess is our fault, we should just bend over and take whatever injustice they decide to throw at us and thank them profusely afterwards"

What the hell happened to the nation which once forced out the world's biggest empire by refusing to be bullied? :(

Down through the years christy has done countless charity gigs, done charity albums too(got him into big trouble with his record company) and has suffered harassment and arrests from police all over the island, raids etc.

As musicians go Christy is one of the most conscientious and politically active. He most certainly hasn't sat on his arse.

A national treasure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Attabear

Income tax? No.

Don't think that's true either.

Cue the chorus of "this mess is our fault, we should just bend over and take whatever injustice they decide to throw at us and thank them profusely afterwards"

What the hell happened to the nation which once forced out the world's biggest empire by refusing to be bullied? :(
    It's full of people who like to blame others but not do anything?

I used to get all indignant over the "It's our own fault" stuff but now, while I don't think it's totally that simple, there's a certain amount of truth to it. Sure, there were lots of corrupt, greedy people in power, but also ordinary people who took the piss with money that wasn't there.
    Of course there are the rest - probably the majority - who just lived within their means, but at the same time, many of them - us - got to enjoy aspects of what conditions prevailed. For instance, I got paid a stupidly high salary for what my job entailed in 08/09 - from a pot of non existent money. We shouldnt all have to pay back the same amount of course though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Oh no! not christy moore!

Jaysus we've seen him loadsa times before. We're going to miss Gay Byrne and the Late Late Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Income tax? No.

That's rubbish and you know it.

GRMA wrote: »
    Down through the years christy has done countless charity gigs, done charity albums too(got him into big trouble with his record company) and has suffered harassment and arrests from police all over the island, raids etc.

As musicians go Christy is one of the most conscientious and politically active. He most certainly hasn't sat on his arse.

A national treasure!
    Always be weary of charity giggs . If a lad does a charity gigg for 40 000 people . If hes good he will sell thousands of albums off the back of it .

Attabear wrote: »
    Don't think that's true either.

Warren Buffet might disagree with you on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

File under populist rants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

Christy has become obsessed with the bloody recession.

Went to see him last and noticed he had even changed the lyrics to some of his songs ..

How's it gowin everybody?
    From Cork, New York, Dundalk, Gortahork and Glenamaddy.

Here we are now and our cupboards are bare.
    Sure it's been a long, long way from here to there.
    We still have the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher,
    But now I'm thinking of jumping, to be sure, to be sure.

When it was music you'd want, off we'd go to Clare.
    But now we're all broke and can't afford the fare.
    Everybody used to love a break, we climb mountains and eat loads of cake.

Some headed off to exotic places,
    Now they suck off horses at the Galway Races.
    Mattie used to go to the South of France,
    Now he's lucky to get a handjob after the local dance.

That cousin of mine still goes potholing,
    And we've lost poor ole Joe Dolan.
    Summer still comes around each year
    But we can't go there, so now theyl come here.

Nobodies jetting off to Frijiliana,
    Sure we can't even afford to go to fcuking Lisdoonvarna.

Warren Buffet might disagree with you on that.

He. Wouldn't. Dare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Jesus. How, might I ask, did you come to that conclusion?

One of many surveys.
    HE true scale of the tax burden on low- and middle-income earners as a result of the austerity drive is revealed in staggering new figures published today.

Estimates released by the Department of Finance showed that those who earn the least have been worst hit by tax hikes while the country's top earners contributed marginally less. The figures provide a detailed snapshot of how the increased tax burden caused by the economic crisis has weighed more on the less-well-off than the richest.

They showed that the "coping classes" earning anything from €17,543 to €50,000 are bearing the brunt of austerity. The biggest burden has fallen on those earning €17,542 to €20,000, who have collectively paid three times more tax in 2011 than they did in 2010 -- or a shocking 215 per cent increase.

Those earning €20,001 to €30,000 are paying 36 per cent more tax than they did in 2010 and those earning between €40,001 and €50,000 are paying 23 per cent more. The huge tax burden was attributed to the introduction of the Universal Social Charge and on a reduction in tax credits in the Government's bid to raise more than €1bn in extra income tax in 2011. However, leadings tax consultants said yesterday the figures showed how the tax hikes have had a "disproportionate effect" on the lower paid while leaving the country's highest earners largely unscathed. For example, the 118 people in the country who earn more than €2m paid 0.3 per cent less in tax in 2011 than they did in 2010; the 1,148 who earned between €400,001 and €450,000 paid just 1.1 per cent more in tax.

The tax drop for Ireland's top earners is no doubt linked to the fact that they earned less last year: their taxable income fell by €9.2m in 2011. However, the figures clearly showed that the hard-pressed lower and IPmiddle income workers also earned significantly less last year but contributed proportionally more in taxes. Those earning €40,001 to €50,000 a year were typical: more than 207,900 of them paid €866m in tax in 2010; last year, there were 3,000 fewer people in that salary range yet their collective tax contribution soared to €1.058bn.

High earners on €100,000 to €125,000 paid €61m more in taxes although their ranks were depleted by 629 in 2011. The Finance Minister admitted in the Dail last month that under half of Irish millionaires paid less than 30 per cent income tax in 2009.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/shocking-injustice-of-austerity-taxes-revealed-3017101.html

I wish I was a millionaire. My income tax rate is 41%

smash wrote: »
    That's rubbish and you know it.

Excellent rebuttal.

If we're talking about income tax (in isolation) then the well-off pay more.

Looking at income taxes alone is a dopey way of considering who pays for society and who benefits most from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I wonder was he out on the streets protesting with the rest of them??? I doubt it! He's full of ****. It's easy for him to sit there and complain about the rest of us mere mortals while he rakes in millions. Think he's extremely talented and I like his music but on a personal level he's gone way down in my estimation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭iMyself

Tax everyone but me! Tooraloora loo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

So we've had Sinead O' Connor, Steve Wall, Gabriel Byrne and now Christy Moore, all resurected from obscurity to pìss and moan about the "apathetic Irish" that made them incredibly wealthy with tax exemptions for their chosen careers?

I'm off to flagellate myself for my apathy before Bono wades in on a surf board to offer his two cents.

Talk about biting the hand that feeds you! I wonder did he have that little rant tattooed on the inside of his eyelids?

lukesmom wrote: »
    I wonder was he out on the streets protesting with the rest of them??? I doubt it! He's full of ****. It's easy for him to sit there and complain about the rest of us mere mortals while he rakes in millions. Think he's extremely talented and I like his music but on a personal level he's gone way down in my estimation.

Agree with all of this except the extremely talented and like his music part.

I'm sure he was. I've seen him at countless protests over the years. He often turns up with his guitar and plays some songs for the protesters to keep their spirits up.

As if they didn't have enough problems.

keep their spirits up / advertise for free to huge crowds/ be the voice of the movement/ sell albums .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Just in time to buy his album for Christmas too. Pull another one Christy

Yeah Im awaiting the announcement that because of the recession hes selling live at the point for half price this christmas . Great stocking filler .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Easy for him to sit on his big fat rich arse and complain about the rest of us. He's no ordinary man.

This " What is your alternative?" ****e is wearing thin and its not difficult to know where he got "**** taker" idea.

Lets say you go to the dentist with a toothache. Dentist doesn't fix your problem but you still pay an obscene amount of money. Are you honestly telling us you have no right to complain because YOU don't understand how to fix it?
    Moore pays his tax and is entitled to voice dissatisfaction at the governments failures. In all this quagmire people are forgetting everybody is entitled to their opinion.

You know he remortgaged his home to fight the legal battle against Carnsore point? Doubt I'd have the bottle to do that. Would you?

keep their spirits up / advertise for free to huge crowds/ be the voice of the movement/ sell albums .
    So he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't?

Wicklowrider: If he's just going to blanket condemn Irish people as a nation (of which he's part) asking him what alternatives he'd suggest seems reasonable to me. After all, he's condemning others for not coming up with alternatives.

Every time this discussion comes up, you get idiots saying "Useless bunch sitting on their holes" from their computer, also doing nothing and sitting on their holes. I fail to see how Moore is any different.

The prevailing mantra isn't "Ah shur it'll be grand" - as some like to say all the time; it's "Can't someone else do it?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I have honestly never seen a more completely fuccking cynical shower than on this website.

If you're famous your opinions are invalid, are they? "Oh sure he has an agenda"-EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOUR OWN OPINIONS WILL BE BASED ON AN AGENDA OF SOME KIND, FFS.

Always be weary of charity giggs . If a lad does a charity gigg for 40 000 people . If hes good he will sell thousands of albums off the back of it .
    Christy's gigs hardly pull that number and haven't tended to be for the most politically correct things, but none the less worthy causes.

I have honestly never seen a more completely fuccking cynical shower than on this website.

If you're famous your opinions are invalid, are they? "Oh sure he has an agenda"-EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOUR OWN OPINIONS WILL BE BASED ON AN AGENDA OF SOME KIND, FFS.
    I don't think he has an agenda, to be fair. I think he's a hypocrite though - famous or not. No different to the non famous people here day to day who drone out the same whinge and do nothing.