Luke Ming Flanagan - what you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I might not agree with him on every issue (turf cutting comes to mind or openly commending law breaking) but I honestly believe he believes in everything he argues for rather than arguing because a topic is a good vote grabber. I admire his ability to see that our country's problems are not fixed by wearing an expensive suit while debating the issues or saying prayers too.

If Ireland had as many people who got into politics because of their passion rather than their pay cheque or to get Daddy's one now he's retired I'd imagine the country would be much better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

Pricky politician just like every other TD.Only he tries to convince stupid people that he's not,by not wearing a suit and growing a crap beard.

Ah it`s an okay beard to be fair. Reilly has a crap beard, he`s like a sasquatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My opinion on him is similar to that of my opinion on the ecological balance in the Congo.

I don't really care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If he'd walked outside, set fire to himself and screamed until dead; this thread would be closed by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

If he'd walked outside, set fire to himself and screamed until dead; this thread would be closed by now.

He would stop screaming after 2 minutes, but still be alive but not able to tell us, so the thread wins, which is something I think he would stand up for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

I like Ming for a few reasons.

1. When he was elected he attended a night course on economics (think it was given by David McWilliams) so he would be able to offer suggestions and understand all the discussions on finance, debt etc. which is one of if not the main issue in todays Dail.

2. As people said before, he has passion for the issues affecting his constituents. To this end he has donated half of his salary to local issues such as fixing the roof of the local hall or swimming pool (can't remember which). This is refreshing that he hasn't forgotten the people who voted him in like many politicians do until the next election.

3. He seems to be a true independent, some independent TD's always side with the opposition etc. Ming however, has his own opinions (now not everyone will agree with them) and regardless of if these opinions place him on the same side as the Government, opposition or on his own he will air them.

Too many politicians are quiet when they should speak up, succumbing to group think. If someone had spoken up for example during the bank deal we could have a very different Ireland. Ming to strikes me as someone for better or worse who will always speak his mind.

Anyway that's my two cents as Kent Brockman would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

1. When he was elected he attended a night course on economics (think it was given by David McWilliams) so he would be able to offer suggestions and understand all the discussions on finance, debt etc. which is one of if not the main issue in todays Dail.

2. As people said before, he has passion for the issues affecting his constituents. To this end he has donated half of his salary to local issues such as fixing the roof of the local hall or swimming pool (can't remember which). This is refreshing that he hasn't forgotten the people who voted him in like many politicians do until the next election.

3. He seems to be a true independent, some independent TD's always side with the opposition etc. Ming however, has his own opinions (now not everyone will agree with them) and regardless of if these opinions place him on the same side as the Government, opposition or on his own he will air them.

Too many politicians are quiet when they should speak up, succumbing to group think. If someone had spoken up for example during the bank deal we could have a very different Ireland. Ming to strikes me as someone for better or worse who will always speak his mind.

Anyway that's my two cents as Kent Brockman would say

And he is also ripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭markbld65

i like him

seems to me some members in leinster house what to make him look like a fool to direct attention away from themselves

he is passionate about this country eg true passion not like some in this goverment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I think he's Ming'n...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ming is a fairly decent politician from I have heard of him. Always comes across well in interviews and seems to always research the topic he is talking about.

He is going to propose a cannabis bill to the Dail in April, so we will actually see a discussion of marijuana in the Dail for once.

I would recommend watching his documentary, to see him get into politics with no backing and rise up against those who said he never had a chance is a nice story.

I don't have the foggiest clue about turf policies though.

Except for the bog issue, spouting crap to suit his constituents.

I like Ming, seems a decent sort but Wallace is a fecking disgrace.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Young woman goes to dole office in pyjamas to collect €186. Ireland goes mad.

Elected politician goes to Dáil looking like he just fell out of bed and gets paid ten times more. Ireland applauds his individuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Mr. Nice

MagicSean wrote: »
    Young woman goes to dole office in pyjamas to collect €186. Ireland goes mad.

Elected politician goes to Dáil looking like he just fell out of bed and gets paid ten times more. Ireland applauds his individuality.

He stands for honesty, integrity and social justice. He swims against the stream of slurry in a cesspit full of self-serving vultures. If people like him were in charge, it would be a better country.

But what he wears really matters :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ihateusernames

Well paid actor, thats my opinion. Just like the vast majority of self serving independent td's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Why is he called Luke Ming Flanaghan in everything from here to the news on tv and radio to the papers? Just like Pat "the cope" Gallagher. Does everyone get a free nickname that must always be used when referring to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ihateusernames

Mr. Nice wrote: »

He stands for honesty, integrity and social justice. He swims against the stream of slurry in a cesspit full of self-serving vultures. If people like him were in charge, it would be a better country.

But what he wears really matters :rolleyes:

Really?
    Seem him the other day passing the halfpenny bridge on one of those people pulled carriages ( sorry the proper name of them has escaped my head), he did a great job at ignoring some homeless guy asking for change. Looks like he had quite the day's shopping too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I admire him for getting off his arse and taking a stand. He first ran for election to oppose his then landlord Frank Fahey.

He didn't come to politics by the usual route of the student union presidents of Labour or the me father was a TD and me grandfather before him of so many of Fianna Fail and Fine Gael.

From everything I hear about him he is well liked by his constituents. It says something that probably everyone in the country knows this TD from Roscommon. How many government backbench TDs can you name from constituencies other than your own?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    I admire him for getting off his arse and taking a stand. He first ran for election to oppose his then landlord Frank Fahey.

He didn't come to politics by the usual route of the student union presidents of Labour or the me father was a TD and me grandfather before him of so many of Fianna Fail and Fine Gael.

From everything I hear about him he is well liked by his constituents. It says something that probably everyone in the country knows this TD from Roscommon. How many government backbench TDs can you name from constituencies other than your own?

Yeah he took a stand. He shut down the Dail today because he was upset at a comment about his clothes. A real man of action on the important issues.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Yeah he took a stand. He shut down the Dail today because he was upset at a comment about his clothes. A real man of action on the important issues.

So you think he is a disgrace because of how he dresses in the Dail?

Haughey, Lowry, Burke, Ahern, Lawlor, all attended the Dail suited and booted, some even in expensive Charvet shirts, paid for by the taxpayer. I know which I think has more integrity, regardless of attire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

:eek: Afterwards? So the people of Roscommon voted him in beforehand. I'm sure that'll work for me at my next job interview. "Yeah, I know f*** all about the position but shure I'll do a few night courses if ya hire me, be grand like"
    So now we know the price of a TD seat in Roscommon-South Leitrim.

I'm all for politicians being independently-minded and able to defend their position. But it's too easy to do that as an independent TD. Try doing it as a member of a political party and aim to mold the views of your fellow party colleagues and I'd have more respect.

However Ming is in the cushy position of not being expected to change anyone's mind. A few populist soundbites to play to his electrorate - job done.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    :eek: Afterwards? So the people of Roscommon voted him in beforehand. I'm sure that'll work for me at my next job interview. "Yeah, I know f*** all about the position but shure I'll do a few night courses if ya hire me, be grand like"

So now we know the price of a TD seat in Roscommon-South Leitrim.

I'm all for politicians being independently-minded and able to defend their position. But it's too easy to do that as an independent TD. Try doing it as a member of a political party and aim to mold the views of your fellow party colleagues and I'd have more respect.

However Ming is in the cushy position of not being expected to change anyone's mind. A few populist soundbites to play to his electrorate - job done.

You are aware of the party whip system?

Yes, whips coordinate voting in the Dáil. Party members are still free to speak their mind.

Really?
    Seem him the other day passing the halfpenny bridge on one of those people pulled carriages ( sorry the proper name of them has escaped my head), he did a great job at ignoring some homeless guy asking for change. Looks like he had quite the day's shopping too.

So he used a rickshaw and didn't give money to a homeless guy, in fairness it's pretty hard to land a coin in a cup whilst moving.

And ooohh, shock horror - a guy with a family did shopping, what next...?

If he had driven past in a chauffeur driven limo with tinted windows you wouldn't have noticed and probably would have gotten a warm fuzzy feeling inside.

So you think he is a disgrace because of how he dresses in the Dail?

Haughey, Lowry, Burke, Ahern, Lawlor, all attended the Dail suited and booted, some even in expensive Charvet shirts, paid for by the taxpayer. I know which I think has more integrity, regardless of attire.

No I think he shows a complete disregard for his position and a lack of respect to those who he represents. I also think he shows a comlpete contempt for the law and is merely a selfish Me Feiner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

i like ming, irish politics needs more people like him although he can be parish pump at times. i suppose its his 1st term as a td so i can give him some time to make the transistion.

Yes, whips coordinate voting in the Dáil. Party members are still free to speak their mind.

If more of them had the balls to have the courage of their convictions and tell the whip to f*** off maybe we would have real leadership on Kildare St.

The whip can't take away their seat, to which they were elected by their constituents, it's an undemocratic device.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

I don't think he needs to wear a suit, but he could make an effort to clean himself up. He actually looks dirty and so does worzel gummidge who sits on his lip.
    You dont need to wear a suit to look respectable, but if you are being beamed around the world on tv representing Ireland you should at least wear a jumper thats not 25 years old and looks it!!

If more of them had the balls to have the courage of their convictions and tell the whip to f*** off maybe we would have real leadership on Kildare St.

The whip can't take away their seat, to which they were elected by their constituents, it's an undemocratic device.
    The whip does serve some purpose though. It stops party members cherry-picking which policies they support.

Otherwise you get TDs piggybacking on their party's popularity but absolving themselves from unpopular or difficult decisions.

I don't think he needs to wear a suit, but he could make an effort to clean himself up. He actually looks dirty and so does worzel gummidge who sits on his lip.
    You dont need to wear a suit to look respectable, but if you are being beamed around the world on tv representing Ireland you should at least wear a jumper thats not 25 years old and looks it!!

Why not close your eyes and just listen. Or, even better, imagine you are a blind person who has had your benefits cut. The physical appearance of one of the best politicians in Ireland should be the farthest thing from your mind. How shallow do you have to be to judge a person based on appearance if they stand up and fight for you as a citizen?
    He was wearing an Aran jumper in his anti-budget speech, an article of clothing which is uniquely Irish and has a special history.
    Would you prefer a droid who f***ed you six ways from Saturday, but looked great in a suit?

The whip does serve some purpose though. It stops party members cherry-picking which policies they support.

Otherwise you get TDs piggybacking on their party's popularity but absolving themselves from unpopular or difficult decisions.

i.e. real democracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Why not close your eyes and just listen. Or, even better, imagine you are a blind person who has had your benefits cut. The physical appearance of one of the best politicians in Ireland should be the farthest thing from your mind. How shallow do you have to be to judge a person based on appearance if they stand up and fight for you as a citizen?
    He was wearing an Aran jumper in his anti-budget speech, an article of clothing which is uniquely Irish and has a special history.
    Would you prefer a droid who f***ed you six ways from Saturday, but looked great in a suit?

I don't need to imagine being a blind person to understand anything!!! (bizarre).
    As I said "I don't think he needs to wear a suit" but He could look a tad respectable.