If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Actually it wasn't all that bad. Looks can be deceiving when you look out the window first thing. Didn't encounter any ice though on my trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

I mtb'd in this morning, mainly to give it a "shake down" run for when it may actually be needed. The roads seemed much better on my route than yesterday. It was a very pleasant spin in, though the positioning is different to the road bike so some muscles are a bit stiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Things are looking fairly fine here in cavan today, so much so that I'm tempted to take out the road bike with 23c's. any thoughts?

A lot less frost than yesterday

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

G rock wrote: »
    I'm tempted to take out the road bike with 23c's. any thoughts?
    I've been riding the ol' Joe Dolan on 23's (Durano Plus slicks) these last two days, and never a moment of doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭daragh_

Took the MTB. Should have taken the singlespeed. Was grand. Few patches but nothing serious.

Got overtaken by everyone until I realised I hadn't locked out the suspension. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I had one back wheel wobble in Ballyfermot when a car threatened to pull out of a side road in front of me. I tipped the brakes to slow a little in case he went for it and the back wobbled on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Lumen wrote: »
    Racist! :pac:

Ice-ist!

(I embrace ice of all colour, sometimes throwing myself from the bike in my enthusiasm to hug it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

doozerie wrote: »
    Ice-ist!

(I embrace ice of all colour, sometimes throwing myself from the bike in my enthusiasm to hug it).

Even the 'special' yellow ice......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭droidus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Jawgap wrote:
    Even the 'special' yellow ice......

Mais wee, bien sur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Took the MTB today. Very comfortable and with slightly underinflated tyres, it was fine. A lot more frost around but with wider softer tyres there were no wobbles - pretty slow though. 60mins instead of 50 for 21k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I missed the fun yesterday, but cycled in at half 8 this morning from Rathfarnham to the city centre. Had no issues, and no doubts at any stage. Was a bit disappointed...ah no...but I was expecting at least bit of a skid!

Did anybody else meet any ice this morning? Was cruising down through Ballyfermot, same place as where I had a back wheel wobble last week, and this time both front and back wobbled for a few seconds. I really thought I was going to come off and judging by the face on the driver behind me, he thought so too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭fletch

Did anybody else meet any ice this morning? Was cruising down through Ballyfermot, same place as where I had a back wheel wobble last week, and this time both front and back wobbled for a few seconds. I really thought I was going to come off and judging by the face on the driver behind me, he thought so too!
    Yes I was flying into work this morning with a nice tail wind...didn't notice any ice until both wheels slid down the side of one of those hump roundabouts that I cycle straight over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭davidsatelle100

yeah spots along the way. Irishmotorist where in Ballyfermot did you wobble just curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Yep - R132 was a lot slippier this morning than it was last week - I think because it didn't look like it had been treated. Three times I thought I was going over, compared to zero last week, but it was well treated last week.

Unfortunately the double puncture in Santry could not be blamed on the ice :mad:

yeah spots along the way. Irishmotorist where in Ballyfermot did you wobble just curious

I think it was around here. Heading inbound, a little bit after Cherry Orchard hospital.

https://maps.google.com/?ll=53.344044,-6.374302&spn=0.016423,0.048752&t=m&z=15&layer=c&cbll=53.344061,-6.374448&panoid=5nHwf_sFtI3bbMU3zx-mzQ&cbp=12,91.06,,0,23.69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,652 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Did anybody else meet any ice this morning?
    I did on Riverwood Road/Laurel Lodge Road in D15.
    I was out running last night at 8:30pm and thought that the roads would be grand.

The most annoying thing is that some drivers continue to tail gate me and/or overtake dangerously (into oncoming traffic). I need a helmet camera (but I *know* that Blanchardstown Gardai wouldn't do anything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,505 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Looks like the OPW salted the corners on the cycle tracks in the Phoenix Park this morning.

Perhaps they've been reading this thread. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Back wheel struggled for grip a little on the road out of my estate this morning, might have been due to ice or might have been due to the mega power I was putting out, either way I decided to take the rest of the journey quite leisurely, causing me to miss a meeting :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

colm_gti wrote: »
    Back wheel struggled for grip a little on the road out of my estate this morning, might have been due to ice or might have been due to the mega power I was putting out, either way I decided to take the rest of the journey quite leisurely, causing me to miss a meeting :o

Missed meetings are great. My work car park ie last 50 metres, was deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Top of Stocking lane was very slippy this morning. You know it's time to turn around when the back wheel starts spinning out even when seated. Was one of my slowest descents from there ever.

No signs of gritting or salting up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

While I admire the fact that so many of you are out and about on the bikes, are yis not worried that yis will come off and break something (like a collarbone or wrist, or even the bike), resulting in several weeks off the bike? I know I am, hence, no commuting for me if its frosty or icy. A broken anything would be a right nuisance for me and my preparation for next year. Turbo all the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭nilhg

Roads were very bad around here this morning, I ha an hour to wait around this morning while my van had its MOT, was going to take the bike an go for a spin but thought better of it, bought the paper instead.

Turbo night tonight it looks like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

lennymc wrote: »
    While I admire the fact that so many of you are out and about on the bikes, are yis not worried that yis will come off and break something (like a collarbone or wrist, or even the bike), resulting in several weeks off the bike? I know I am, hence, no commuting for me if its frosty or icy. A broken anything would be a right nuisance for me and my preparation for next year. Turbo all the way!!

There are reasonable and unreasonable risks. At the moment it is still ok to commute, but at a slower and more measured pace.

One could train for an event and break ones collarbone in the first few minutes of said event. Sometimes sh1t happens - it's not enough of a reason to put everything on hold.

All the roads I use are busy enough main roads, and the ice has all been melted off by the time I hit them at about 10am, either by moving traffic or from the sun, so I've been relatively unaffected so far. Despite it being somewhat frosty, the weather has been very pleasant the last few mornings, I love the fresh winter weather when the skies are clear and the sun is beating down, and it'd be a shame not to get out on the bike. That and turbo trainers are the devil...

ROK ON wrote: »
    One could train for an event and break ones collarbone in the first few minutes of said event. Sometimes sh1t happens - it's not enough of a reason to put everything on hold.

Very well said!

i guess im not prepared to lengthen a 2 hour commute, or take (what I consider to be) unneccesary risks. Left the house this morning, saw a van backwards in a ditch. Roads were bad up by me. Im not putting everything on hold tho - the turbo is nice and warm and i can watch the telly.

colm_gti wrote: »
    I hit them at about 10am

id be hitting them at 6 am.

I like cycling in the cold, (i was out last night for a lovely fresh spin) but not when there is (imho) an increased risk of me crashing. If i didnt have the option of the trainer it might be different.

Anyway, fair play to ye all, but for me, i think the risk outweighs the rewards. (Im really just a wuss)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,484 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You can still do the turbo with a broken wrist ...