Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

in new ross...?

was in new ross for first time the other night,only bought 2 heifers,big enough sale for last weanling sale and good quality, reckon ill be back next year,wasnt getting it handy off my local dealers,seemed very interested in lots i started bidding on,ah well i went to my limit for them,if i got them i got them,one thing ill say about the place is its a cold spot,couldnt wait to get into jeep and blast the heat out of it,also had one of the things i like in marts is how many moves an animal has had,dealers cant hide as much when this is up,some marts even show how long the owner has had the animal(2,384d)2nd owner,384 days,i think its a great thing, is this shown in marts any of ye visit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

simx wrote: »
    was in new ross for first time the other night,only bought 2 heifers,big enough sale for last weanling sale and good quality, reckon ill be back next year,wasnt getting it handy off my local dealers,seemed very interested in lots i started bidding on,ah well i went to my limit for them,if i got them i got them,one thing ill say about the place is its a cold spot,couldnt wait to get into jeep and blast the heat out of it,also had one of the things i like in marts is how many moves an animal has had,dealers cant hide as much when this is up,some marts even show how long the owner has had the animal(2,384d)2nd owner,384 days,i think its a great thing, is this shown in marts any of ye visit?

Connacht Gold have it anyway, but there's a wee glitch with the infoscience mart system. Lets say Joe Bloggs booked in 5 cattle, two for him and three for a neighbour, we'll input the cards in the office and then as it shows up they're in the wrong herd to be sold out of, they're transferred to the correct seller. It will then show on the board that the animal was only a day in the sellers herd, despite being changed over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

What were prices like?

Tis a raw spot alright - you wouldn't be going there without a coat and wooly cap!

nashmach wrote: »
    What were prices like?

Tis a raw spot alright - you wouldn't be going there without a coat and wooly cap!

prices were good,hat a wooly hat and coat and still nearly shivering,got 2 ch heifers,good square types 350kg,690e,was one of first few lots

what does enniscorthy be like for prices/quality??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

prices were good,hat a wooly hat and coat and still nearly shivering,got 2 ch heifers,good square types 350kg,690e,was one of first few lots

what does enniscorthy be like for prices/quality??

They sound like value enough to be fair.

Enniscorthy tends to have better quality but is a harder mart to buy at IMV.

Not as much stock as in Ross though for the regular sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

reilig wrote: »
    Sorry to hear leg wax

Our best cow died last night, exactly 7 days after a section. She had a serious infection and we just couldn't get her to eat.

Haven't had a section around the place in 20 years. Worried about the rest of the autumn calvers now. We weined them early and gave them a good run in the back end because we thought they needed it because of the bad summer. It was a mistake. They are all on a diet of mainly rolled oats and straw now :o

You have them on the right type of diet. Most of the damage in terms of big calves is done in the last couple of weeks/last month of pregnancy.

We were averaging at least one section per year at one point still less than 1% for us at the time. We noticed a huge difference in how well cows recovered depending on the vet who carrried out the operation. We never lost a cow because of a section but the chances of a cow going back in calf varied depending on which vet did the section. Cleanliness is vital if you think you're going to have a continuing problem talk to a BB breeder in your area about which vets are giving them the best results. I think pedigree Blondes have a fairly high section rate also. We always felt a section was a better option than a very hard pull. You know what the result will be when you start the section, when you start tearing with a jack you won't know until you're finished what you're going to have. Too often a very sick and sore cow and a dead calf. The section is an even better option now especially since the vets are using long lasting anesthetics and painkillers. Just my opinion/experience.

nashmach wrote: »
    They sound like value enough to be fair.

Enniscorthy tends to have better quality but is a harder mart to buy at IMV.

Not as much stock as in Ross though for the regular sales.

heard there was better value for a couple in kk yesterday, lad i know only got one heifer out of it 385kg 705e looks a grand beast too,saw her last night,said he had another one 375kg at same money but seller ran her again made 735 2nd time,still wouldnt be dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

They are all on a diet of mainly rolled oats and straw now :o

Unfortunate with your cow. Shocking especially after having a section. Once vet is there, I always think to myself I've done all I can do (once cow wasn't left too long forcing).

Are you giving a shake of precalving loose mineral or lick bucket awell Reilig?

Giving loose nuitribo mineral for first time to the few we have calving this year. It can only be a help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

....We were averaging at least one section per year at one point still less than 1% for us at the time. We noticed a huge difference in how well cows recovered depending on the vet who carrried out the operation.....
    I helped the vet do a C-Section for a neighbour a few weeks back. First time seeing a section done. The Vet was foreign and trained in Belgium. She was saying that she would often do 4 sections a night in Belgium. Belgium farmers would do 4 sections on the usual side of the BB cow and another 2 on the far side.
    You're right in what you are saying about cleanliness. I was only helping her, but I had to gown up and scrub clean. She was absolutely meticolous. A pleasure to be honest to watch her work, in what was your normal farm shed. Calf was dead though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

pakalasa wrote: »
    I helped the vet do a C-Section for a neighbour a few weeks back. First time seeing a section done. The Vet was foreign and trained in Belgium. She was saying that she would often do 4 sections a night in Belgium. Belgium farmers would do 4 sections on the usual side of the BB cow and another 2 on the far side.
    You're right in what you are saying about cleanliness. I was only helping her, but I had to gown up and scrub clean. She was absolutely meticolous. A pleasure to be honest to watch her work, in what was your normal farm shed. Calf was dead though.

if Im thinking who the vet is, she is more irish than ourselves nowadays! the effort that she puts into dealing with problems goes well beyond the call of her job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭naughto

574464_519850528040117_1519511524_n.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hard luck there legs, it's a tough year, it'll soon be over.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I did a bit of work experience with a guy in Merseyside back in the day. He had a large dairy herd and reasonable sized pedigree BB herd. He had a bull in either Enfield or Dovea in the late nineties. The Uof Liverpool vet college were his vets he had a fairly sweet deal with them other than night calls he only paid for meds flip side was he'd have 20 students turn up with a vet for pregnancy diagnosis on 6-8 cows.

Anyway one of his ped BB heifers caught him on the hop and actually calved naturally, complete mess. She was torn asunder, internal rips in the vagina, damage to urethra and anus anywhere else straight to factory though nowadays probably knackers bullet. The vet college took her in as a training exercise/just to see if they could repair the damage. I went with the guy to collect her around 3 weeks later and she could just about walk into the trailer. She recovered and fattened but that was that. Hence the 4 sections per week for that vet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Its only recently i,ve taken a real interest in what the vets have been giving the animals, prior to that i just presumed they were doing whatever was best for the animal. Draxin is what we have been hitting them with recently, because it seems to work. I didnt take what was given before but i can check the book if i remeber to.
    They are vacinated for everything. All weanlings got done with tribovax t again yesterday, just in case we missed a few.
    I took a few side sheets of 2 of the sheds so as to increase airflow.
    got a new load of straw today to replace the cinders./
    Got the first of this years calves tagged and dehorned, hopefully they all keep coming like these, smashing calves all thriving well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

leg wax wrote: »
    the blonde cow that has and had the super bb heifer that made the big money,dead in her cubical this morn
    Our best cow died last night, exactly 7 days after a section.

Sorry to read these lads. Always the good ones! We lost a good BB calf from a super cow lately too, it's sickening but at least we still have the cow.

We had none for years and then 3 last year. 3 heifers, one powerful big heifer that we AI'd and 2 younger heifers that proved incalf. 2 have been fattened and factoried since and the other we chanced AI on her. I think she's incalf. One was a shook unit for a month after calving, I dunno how she lived, but she did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

We had none for years and then 3 last year. 3 heifers, one powerful big heifer that we AI'd and 2 younger heifers that proved incalf. 2 have been fattened and factoried since and the other we chanced AI on her. I think she's incalf. One was a shook unit for a month after calving, I dunno how she lived, but she did.[/QUOTE]

Just wondering would you have any rough idea of the calving percentage of the bull you put on the powerful heifer you had to c-section? I'd be at work when they're calving and hoping to avoid this kind of scenario.

johnpawl wrote: »
    Just wondering would you have any rough idea of the calving percentage of the bull you put on the powerful heifer you had to c-section? I'd be at work when they're calving and hoping to avoid this kind of scenario.

I can't even remember the bull, don't mind his calving figures! Lim for sure.
    The problem was nothing to do with the bull though. I knew within 20 seconds of handling her that she wasn't gonna calve. It was a no brainer to CS her. Huge heifer to look at, no room in her to handle. There's a couple of pics of her in the photo thread (somewhere!), taken before and after CS. Go take a look and tell me what ya think;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Anyone on here near Moville, Donegal?!

Saw two of the most super pb BB calves sucking on the one recipient on seaside of road on way into moville... Quality animals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Connacht gold in ballymote also do the breed of the animal.Handy if buying for the angus scheme.Dont have to be going in to office checking what is on the card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Tis a cold 1, sitting in queue in mart, couple of hills on the way
    thought would be dodgy weren't too bad, all I need now is egar buyers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Sorry to hear leg wax

Our best cow died last night, exactly 7 days after a section. She had a serious infection and we just couldn't get her to eat.

Haven't had a section around the place in 20 years. Worried about the rest of the autumn calvers now. We weined them early and gave them a good run in the back end because we thought they needed it because of the bad summer. It was a mistake. They are all on a diet of mainly rolled oats and straw now :o
    its times like this reilig that i can say i am not the only one losing stock,but why the fook was ut not a black lim or bad bastered of a cow,thats 2 cows this year that dropped for no apparent reason only that they new i liked them and that they were safe from going out the gate,i wonder is there a bit of sheep in my cows,as lads with sheep say they find new ways to die every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

leg wax wrote: »
    its times like this reilig that i can say i am not the only one losing stock,but why the fook was ut not a black lim or bad bastered of a cow,thats 2 cows this year that dropped for no apparent reason only that they new i liked them and that they were safe from going out the gate,i wonder is there a bit of sheep in my cows,as lads with sheep say they find new ways to die every year.

We have had an unlucky run. Had a calf born paralised in back legs a month ago and had to put him down. A cow scanned for twins calved a month early with a big calf and a small calf and the big one died. Then the section, the calf lived, but the cow died. I put it down to bad luck. We get a run of it every couple of years. Hopefully it will be gone with the death of the cow. We will watch cows more closely. We will restrict feed more as well.

Its murphy's law - you always lose the best animals!!
    All you can do is pick yourself up and keep going. It would be a whole lot worse if it was human life!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Tis a cold 1, sitting in queue in mart, couple of hills on the way
    thought would be dodgy weren't too bad, all I need now is egar buyers

Yea.
    Out early in the dark trying to get three pigs into trailer, feckin torture!
    Got them off to slaughter, they'll be back vac-packed in a few weeks, yum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Lads, anyone any experience with charlaois bull , maerdy impeccable (MYI) looking at a bull which is offspring, fine animal, stars ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

Connacht gold in ballymote also do the breed of the animal.Handy if buying for the angus scheme.Dont have to be going in to office checking what is on the card

Sorry to jump in but while you are on the topic, for the Angus scheme, when buying cattle, is it enough that it says aa or AAX on the card for them to be acceptable for the scheme? Or do you need to know if the sire was an AI or purebred bull? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

starting to get ready for ai,ing again (mid jan). I have been looking into the eurogene catalogue particularly the blues. Has anyone any thoughts on the bulls ar any advice on what to go or what to avoid.
    I like the look of colosse and ross a but reckon ross might just throw an ordinary calf. we would have mainly lim x sim cows which would all be fairly big square sort of animals anything else will probably just get the stock bull. Anything suitable for export will be sold as weanlings everything else will probably be held.
    cheers.

1chippy wrote: »
    starting to get ready for ai,ing again (mid jan). I have been looking into the eurogene catalogue particularly the blues. Has anyone any thoughts on the bulls ar any advice on what to go or what to avoid.
    I like the look of colosse and ross a but reckon ross might just throw an ordinary calf. we would have mainly lim x sim cows which would all be fairly big square sort of animals anything else will probably just get the stock bull. Anything suitable for export will be sold as weanlings everything else will probably be held.
    cheers.

We use Eurogene. I didn't use that much BB over the years, but from what I did use and chatting with our AI man Satyre (SZS) seems to be doing well and aint brutal calved. Here he is on ICBF.
    http://herdplus.icbf.com/bull-search/view/animalId/713682345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

my quiet saturday night a couple of weeks back:D:D:o http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6A2H4C59Beg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

my quiet saturday night a couple of weeks back:D:D:o http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6A2H4C59Beg

you like your spandex:D:D good show, you need balls to do that, or lack of them for those pants :D