Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD Bar to close?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

As ****ty as the bar was, at least there was one on campus.

I guess the price had to paid at some stage for years of SU embezzlement and mismanagement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

When I entered UCD in 1989 (before many here I suspect were even born) things were a little different; the Bar and the Montrose Hotel bar (before Lonnegans) were the only drinking spots around, unless you ventured further outside compass, and the Montrose was largely for post debate drinks, whenever there was no reception organized in B107 in the Arts block.

A coffee in the restaurant was about 25p, and no doubt the quality has not improved to this day, and you could still smoke in the Arts, Ag or Science buildings (the others had not yet been built) and even in the lecture theatres during student events and debates. The first residencies appeared around then, if I remember correctly.

We had Michaelmas, Hillary and Trinity terms, rather than semesters. We also used to use a technology call 'handwriting' back then, when taking lecture notes, BTW.

But despite it's refurbishments over the years, the Bar was an immutable icon of UCD campus life. A place to hide when skipping a class or lecture, or have a toasted cheese sandwich wrapped and toasted in that orange plastic that never quite came fully off when you were trying to eat it.

Being friendly with the Bar staff was important; it meant you could open a tab, but importantly also that you'd not be served slops, like the rest of the students that they generally despised - this was always fun to watch, if you took residence at the end of the Bar (with the alcoholic lecturers who lived there) and had a clear view of it being done.

And sex. The Bar was an excellent place to hook up, especially if you had any kind of public profile in college. All you'd have to do is wander around and some groupie would inevitably 'bump into you'.

I can't say what ultimately caused the demise of the bar; corruption (there was plenty in my day), incompetence (ditto) or that students have become dull in the face of semesterization.

Whatever the reason, and despite the fact that it was objectively a complete dump, I'm sorry to hear of it's demise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Being friendly with the Bar staff was important; it meant you could open a tab, but importantly also that you'd not be served slops, like the rest of the students that they generally despised - this was always fun to watch, if you took residence at the end of the Bar (with the alcoholic lecturers who lived there) and had a clear view of it being done.

And sex. The Bar was an excellent place to hook up, especially if you had any kind of public profile in college. All you'd have to do is wander around and some groupie would inevitably 'bump into you'.

I can't say what ultimately caused the demise of the bar; corruption (there was plenty in my day), incompetence (ditto) or that students have become dull in the face of semesterization.

Whatever the reason, and despite the fact that it was objectively a complete dump, I'm sorry to hear of it's demise.

I think you pointed to the reason further back in your post; the bar staff were terribly unfriendly and begrudging. Never a "Hi, how are you? What can I get you?" Never a "Cheers" or "thank you" when giving your change back, never even a smile. In a pub/bar (as opposed to a club) the staff have a huge part to play in the atmosphere of the venue, and the lads behind the bar they had in the Student bar acted as if they were being forced to work there.

They were always friendly to me. Then again, I'd generally behave myself, pay my tab on time and chat with them on a regular basis.

I think the reason they didn't much like the customer base was because they saw it as a bunch of over-privileged and largely immature kids, who would drink too much, smoke joints, vomit and otherwise behave in a manner that would have had them barred from any pub in the Real World.

And in fairness, I could see their point.

Did the bar close down because students stopped going as a result of their rudeness? TBH, I'd find that hard to believe.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

stop wrote: »
    Just passed by the Forum/Clubhouse bar there. Construction work seems to have stopped

Make of that what you will, plenty of rumours abound that the firm has gone bust.

Where am I going to pull now?

And by pull I mean play pool by myself. :(

But seriously on that note, is there now no pool tables in UCD either? First they got rid of the trap now this?! Are we not allowed have fun anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

They were always friendly to me. Then again, I'd generally behave myself, pay my tab on time and chat with them on a regular basis.

I think the reason they didn't much like the customer base was because they saw it as a bunch of over-privileged and largely immature kids, who would drink too much, smoke joints, vomit and otherwise behave in a manner that would have had them barred from any pub in the Real World.

Did the bar close down because students stopped going as a result of their rudeness? TBH, I'd find that hard to believe.

Again I feel that is their problem, not the students and that is the large contribution to them creating a terrible atmosphere in the bar which lead to most students not bothering to make the bar a part of their night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 UCD Gal

Miss the place already.

Facebook Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,546 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Two words to set the campus bar nostalgia off for anyone of a certain vintage:

Fosters Dollars.

I cant understand the attitudes some people have towards losing an iconic campus amenity. Sure it wasnt the fanciest but it certainly was as good as many of the "hip" bars in town. The forum bar (when I was last in it) was one of the most ignorant establishments I have ever frequented. Although I might be still resentful of it since they effectively forced the closure of the Sports bar to try and tempt patrons into their garish setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

We need a speakeasy in UCD set up along with a few pool tables and a music system smuggled in. Then we just hope no Rex Banner finds out. It'll be grand. And cans will be sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Old sports bar ftw, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SlyBacon93

I'm slightly jealous of trinity's student bar especially during freshers week :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Gary The Gamer

Were you Van Wilder or something? Big man on campus?

How did you deduce that from what you quoted?

I cited what the bar staff used to think of students in general, back in my day. You hardly need to be a big man on campus to figure that out - anyone with some cop on could figure that out.

How did you deduce that from what you quoted?

I cited what the bar staff used to think of students in general, back in my day. You hardly need to be a big man on campus to figure that out - anyone with some cop on could figure that out.
    When I entered UCD in 1989 (before many here I suspect were even born) things were a little different; the Bar and the Montrose Hotel bar (before Lonnegans) were the only drinking spots around, unless you ventured further outside compass, and the Montrose was largely for post debate drinks, whenever there was no reception organized in B107 in the Arts block.

A coffee in the restaurant was about 25p, and no doubt the quality has not improved to this day, and you could still smoke in the Arts, Ag or Science buildings (the others had not yet been built) and even in the lecture theatres during student events and debates. The first residencies appeared around then, if I remember correctly.

We had Michaelmas, Hillary and Trinity terms, rather than semesters. We also used to use a technology call 'handwriting' back then, when taking lecture notes, BTW.

But despite it's refurbishments over the years, the Bar was an immutable icon of UCD campus life. A place to hide when skipping a class or lecture, or have a toasted cheese sandwich wrapped and toasted in that orange plastic that never quite came fully off when you were trying to eat it.

Guessing it was more to do with this :rolleyes:

AdamD wrote: »
    Guessing it was more to do with this :rolleyes:
    And of all I wrote that's all they took away from it? Talk about issues :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 UCD Gal

Feel sorry for the staff. Forced redundancy and now they can't even get paid. :eek:

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

Any UCD heads know if the forum/centre/student-centre bar is reopen yet? Or when it reopens?

Long time since I was a student, but its handy for a pint after 5-a-side if theres footy on the telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,503 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

beglee wrote: »
    Any UCD heads know if the forum/centre/student-centre bar is reopen yet? Or when it reopens?

Long time since I was a student, but its handy for a pint after 5-a-side if theres footy on the telly

Nah it's not. Construction stopped on it a while back. Was meant to end up being a top quality sports bar too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

The contractor doing the refurb went bust and presumably took any monies paid down with him as well. It'll get finished off eventually but with the SU bailout and general shortage of funds all round I wouldn't hold my breath...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

beglee wrote: »

There's a new contractor who's starting in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

When the old contractor upped-and-left in orientation week in the beginning of September, and they've been gone since, having the new contractor only start in January is a bit much, in my opinion. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

When the old contractor upped-and-left in orientation week in the beginning of September, and they've been gone since, having the new contractor only start in January is a bit much, in my opinion. :/

Situation only got finalised later in the semester, then they had to find a new contractor, starting late in the semester made no sense because they'd have to start building and stop for xmas which would cost a weeks holidays for x builders...

Makes sense.

Oh, I've no doubt it makes sense.... still doesn't make me happy about it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

They'll be lamenting about this in 50 years.... the dry year, the poor souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭TW Mr Tayto

Us first years have never experienced the wonders of a bar on campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Us first years have never experienced the wonders of a bar on campus.

It's also been a long time since there was a decent bar on campus

*fondly remembers the forum*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

So is it likely that there will there be a bar around for incoming first years next year? :D

At that stage? I'd feckin' well hope so!
    But yeah, more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

BX 19 wrote: »
    It's also been a long time since there was a decent bar on campus

*fondly remembers the forum*

Bah humbug last decent bar was the sports bar, basically got closed because the Forum bar couldn't compete!