Looks like they are researching the risk of Skynet happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Pottler wrote: »
    They will be defeated by batteries. Apart from remote controls(which everyone knows run forever on even totally flat batteries), anything that has a battery is fecked pretty rapido. last time I checked, robots had batteries.

I'm pretty sure by the time we get to the stage that AI could destroy the human race batteries will be the least of there worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

baraca wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure by the time we get to the stage that AI could destroy the human race batteries will be the least of there worries.
    Unlikely. Show me one electronic device that does not require a power source... even rfid chips have to be energised..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Unlikely. Show me one electronic device that does not require a power source... even rfid chips have to be energised..

My UPC remote, if there was a fuppin inanimate carbon rod in it it still wouldnt work right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Automated nuclear power, possibly fusion. And a system complex enough to sport killbots should have no problem with ancillary power supplies and fuel cell carrying drones and the like. That's if automated missile systems don't just blow us all to hell without the need for much work in the strictly physical.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Monorail! Monorail! Monorail!
    Monorail!

Operator 1: Wait a minute! We could just shut off the power!
    Operator 2: No such luck– it’s solar powered
    Operator 1: Solar power…When will people learn?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

What a crap thread, I'm outa here but dont worry.............. ILL BE BACK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

Whatever about technology destroying mankind, it's the threat from particles in comet tails that will get the machines to rise up against us :eek: : http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091499/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Once they successfully develop an AI software which can rewrite its own programming it will fairly quickly destroy us all. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Just install Windows Vista on all skynet systems.

Hasta la vista baybee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Spiritual wrote: »
    I love the way these "researchers" can come up with this kind of sh!t and call it work.
    bb1234567 wrote: »
    The scientists said that to dismiss concerns of a potential robot uprising would be "dangerous".
    How in the name of sense did these "scientists" manage to wrangle funding for this "research".

They definitley sat around smoking weed, watching Robocop and Irobot and the like.
    Wils110 wrote: »
    The new call of duty is getting all the soldiers ready lol

As said before how they get funding for this

Don't worry I have a new theorem that will mean their funding can be cancelled immediately:

Can technology wipe out humanity ???

Theorem: Erm....Yes.

Q.E.D.

Can I have tenure please ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Don't worry I have a new theorem that will mean their funding can be cancelled immediately:

Can technology wipe out humanity ???

Theorem: Erm....Yes.

Q.E.D.

Can I have tenure please ?

Sure why not. Ill transfer some funds to get you started. Just PM me your account details, name, address, dob and all relevant details. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

When the robot uprising happens this thread will be racist. Then you'll be sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

This is the Matrix lads, Skynet and the like happened 388 years ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Skynet could never happen. Miles Dyson blew a load of important stuff up, and John Corror fecked the rest of the important stuff into the molten stuff, so we're grand lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭h2005

Spiritual wrote: »
    Humans will have destroyed themselves well before the toaster figures out how to.
    The toaster is actually the greatest threat! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiSwnWw65Wo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

It's all fun and games lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Skynet will be the Iphone Mini, next years Iphone update, it will come with a dna thumb scanner which will reverse engineer the human gnome.

Dobby? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I've studied all the robot uprising TV shows and movies in depth and the way to beat them is to implant one with a virus that spreads from one to another over their network.

Do robots watch RTE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

How in the name of sense did these "scientists" manage to wrangle funding for this "research".

They definitley sat around smoking weed, watching Robocop and Irobot and the like.

I'd love that job...

But there is an argument, I mean imagine a similar study done in the thirties on the impact that nuclear weapons (the concept for which was just coming into scientific thinking) would have politically and sociologically. I'm sure it would have been equally dismissed and probably wouldn't achieve anything since they didn't know the full effects but umm... pass the joint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

would love to hear this topic being debate on JOEEEEEEE DUFFYYYYY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I know the majority people laugh at this , robots at war with humans :rolleyes: come on but it will happen I'm absolutely sure of it. We won't be around to see it , but think about it and bear with my insanity for a moment.

Think how much technology has come along in the past 100 years , now think of 500 years and 1000 years we've come on leaps and bounds. Every year we get more and more involved with technology taking over our lifes , complete connectivity , Ipods , Xbox kinnect , voice commands. Even the way 'war' is looked at has changed , another world war wouldn't be fought on the ground for the majority it'd be fought be pushing buttons and anilating countries.

Now think of another 1000 years on and another 1000 years on top of that , where do you think we'll be? Do you not think at some point there is even the possibility that we'll have bitten off more than we can chew and suddenly 'machine' 'technology' that one step to far becomes self aware and it'll grow , enslave the human race and then destroy it. It's not a war we would win either we'd be crushed very quickly out of existence. We'll have caused our own demise.

I'd imagine they will then come on leaps and bounds and since they won't require oxygen or sleep they will travel far greater distances through space than we could dream of and we will just be that gap in time that created the rise of this new race.

Dinosaurs had their time and are now just a distant memory after once ruling the world.

Man will have his time too and we'll create our fate , when you look at the human race as a whole we claim the title of top of the food chain and yes we are obviously the most intelligent but underneath it all we are all at least in some ways selfish , killers , easily led , blind to facts and most of the world around us (starving children in the third world' haha sure that doesn't effect me and my friends'), (Some mad German locking people up and gasing them? ' sure that couldn't be happening) (Some robot malfuncioned and killed somebody' sure that couldn't happen to me and my friends i'm sure it's nothing) and the time will come when our time...simply ends.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I know the majority people laugh at this , robots at war with humans :rolleyes: come on but it will happen I'm absolutely sure of it. We won't be around to see it , but think about it and bear with my insanity for a moment.
    If you do think about it you'd see it would be fairly difficult for a robot to get the better of the human race.

First of all if we invent an artificial intelligence there's nothing to say it will have access to the military.

Second of all why do we assume an artificial life is going to want to destroy humans. It doesn't have the same needs as us, it doesn't have the emotions that we do. You'd probably have to convince or force an artificial life form to become needlessly violent.

There's 7 billion of us and counting. How is a robot army going to appear with enough speed to realistically take on 7 billion humans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Think how much technology has come along in the past 100 years , now think of 500 years and 1000 years we've come on leaps and bounds. Every year we get more and more involved with technology taking over our lifes , complete connectivity , Ipods , Xbox kinnect , voice commands. Even the way 'war' is looked at has changed , another world war wouldn't be fought on the ground for the majority it'd be fought be pushing buttons and anilating countries.

Now think of another 1000 years on and another 1000 years on top of that , where do you think we'll be? Do you not think at some point there is even the possibility that we'll have bitten off more than we can chew and suddenly 'machine' 'technology' that one step to far becomes self aware and it'll grow , enslave the human race and then destroy it. It's not a war we would win either we'd be crushed very quickly out of existence. We'll have caused our own demise.

I'd imagine they will then come on leaps and bounds and since they won't require oxygen or sleep they will travel far greater distances through space than we could dream of and we will just be that gap in time that created the rise of this new race.

Dinosaurs had their time and are now just a distant memory after once ruling the world.

Man will have his time too and we'll create our fate , when you look at the human race as a whole we claim the title of top of the food chain and yes we are obviously the most intelligent but underneath it all we are all at least in some ways selfish , killers , easily led , blind to facts and most of the world around us (starving children in the third world' haha sure that doesn't effect me and my friends'), (Some mad German locking people up and gasing them? ' sure that couldn't be happening) (Some robot malfuncioned and killed somebody' sure that couldn't happen to me and my friends i'm sure it's nothing) and the time will come when our time...simply ends.

TL; DR and all that craic, but this line caught my attention. Was there a war between dinosaurs and robots? Because that'd be pretty damn cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

ScumLord wrote: »
    If you do think about it you'd see it would be fairly difficult for a robot to get the better of the human race.

First of all if we invent an artificial intelligence there's nothing to say it will have access to the military.

Second of all why do we assume an artificial life is going to want to destroy humans. It doesn't have the same needs as us, it doesn't have the emotions that we do. You'd probably have to convince or force an artificial life form to become needlessly violent.

There's 7 billion of us and counting. How is a robot army going to appear with enough speed to realistically take on 7 billion humans?

Doesn't have to happen at speed could be very slow , maybe we wouldn't know what hit us. True they don't have the same needs as us or emotions unless in 1000 years we give that to technology as well, if not why would they have any use for us? Sure if we look at our own history what we do is colonise other races and slaughter animals so we can eat them.

Stephen Hawking put it brilliantly once regarding life on other planets.

''If they find us they will come here and they will colinize , take our resources and move on'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

It's here already Sky net is an abbreviation of Sky internet beware all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ_8op17BAD7Y1lxIONDIWKQxW8RBZMMhQurlYrEJLkYSOP72BzRA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

This is where they start to farm humans as a power source.

It's true. I saw Keanu Reeves talking about it.

He said 'whoa'.

Stephen Hawking put it brilliantly once regarding life on other planets.

''If they find us they will come here and they will colinize , take our resources and move on'
    I think that's slightly simplistic. Those aliens would have to pass trillions of tons of resources floating around in space just the same as they'd find on earth. Why pass the easy to get resources just to pick a fight with what might be their only peers in the entire universe?

It likely humans will merge with technology rather than be usurped by it.