Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wii U Pre-Launch Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Pre ordered it early September too and they made no mention of anything to do with having pre ordered it early. Fair play if you get it at that price, but it's a disgrace if different stores have a different policy on this, all pre orders should be the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

irishgeo wrote: »
    is this worth getting for a 4yr old or should we just get him the old one?

I'd probably consider getting the Wii. There's lots of games that are available and it's much cheaper. The WiiU controller is supposed to be very light and with the built in touchscreen it might be a bit risky and fragile for a 4 year old.

Deano7788 wrote: »
    Yeah, I pre-ordered the day after the date was announced. They told me today that the price when I pre-ordered is the price I'll pay. You should say it to your branch that is what other people have been told.

Oh they will be getting a visit from me most definitely. Whether I pre ordered early or not shouldn't really matter though, even though I did, this is what would annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Corholio wrote: »
    Pre ordered it early September too and they made no mention of anything to do with having pre ordered it early. Fair play if you get it at that price, but it's a disgrace if different stores have a different policy on this, all pre orders should be the same price.

As you pre-ordered back then, I'd definitely argue to get it at that price! Hell, even say to them about how you know others that pre-ordered with HMV in other locations are getting it at the original price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

Deano7788 wrote: »
    Guys just to let you know I was just in HMV asking about my preorder. Good news is it's guaranteed. Bad news is apparently they won't be getting some of the editions in until December 15th. I don't know which other one but it definitely includes the ZombiU bundle (which I preordered). I don't know whether this is everywhere or just HMV or what. It doesn't affect me much as I wasn't going to be using it till Christmas but it might affect some of ye.

2nd piece of bad news is apparently Nintendo have increased the price they're charging retailers, so the ZombiU bundle's gone up to €415. I don't about the other versions. However, apparently they'll fullfill whatever price you preordered at if you had it already preordered.)

gave me a bit of a fright when you said all this. had seen the price as walking past hmv in cork and was coming on here to say and then saw your post so went back in to ask about my one. the guy said he had heard nothing about not getting enough to fulfill the preorders at least so i didnt need to worry. cheers for the mini heart attack :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Can anyone that has details handy post games from retailers at launch and download games

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Final list:
    •Funky Barn
    •Call of Duty: Black Ops II
    •Skylanders Giants
    •TRANSFORMERS PRIME
    •DISNEY EPIC MICKEY 2. THE POWER OF TWO
    •EA SPORTS FIFA 13
    •Mass Effect 3 Special Edition
    •Ben 10: Omniverse
    •Family Party: 30 Great Games Obstacle Arcade
    •TANK! TANK! TANK!
    •TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT2 Wii U Edition
    •Nintendo Land
    •New Super Mario Bros. U
    •Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed
    •Warriors Orochi3 Hyper
    •Darksiders2
    •Assassin’s Creed III
    •Just Dance4
    •Rabbids Land
    •Sports Connection
    •Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2013
    •ZombiU
    •Batman: Arkham City Armoured Edition
    •Game Party Champions
    Can anyone that has details handy post games from retailers at launch and download games

see above

In addition to the above, these are the confirmed eshop games:
    • Trine 2
    • Mighty Switch Force HD
    • Toki Tori 2
    • Chasing Aurora
    • Little Inferno
    • Cloudberry Kingdom
    • Nano Assault Neo

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2012-11-20-wii-u-premium-owners-must-spend-62-50-for-5-eshop-voucher

Don't think this was posted. It's details of how the 10% discount for Premium owners works. When you spend €62.50, you get a code for a €5 discount. Haven't a clue how that works out at 10% but anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭LauraW7746

On HMV Cork window:

8wi4uc.jpg

He also told me that Gamestop have had to put up their prices as well, he mentioned something about an extra 20 euro but I can't confirm that or anything.

I really hope Gamestop don't increase the price! I'm hoping HMV just decided to be more in line with the prices Gamestop had listed.

LauraW7746 wrote: »
    I really hope Gamestop don't increase the price! I'm hoping HMV just decided to be more in line with the prices Gamestop had listed.

If GameStop raise prices I'll be telling them tonpiss off to be honest.

Keeping my wii u now :) DELIGHTED!!!

Can't wait to play this now.

Something that really concerned me was a month ago I was told I was 3rd inline for a wiiu and yesterday I was told I was 8th!!????

Guy I know said he hopes staff have not jumped later preorders ahead of me for themselves or friends!! They wouldn't do that **** would they??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

The Wii U is no doubt an innovative system and personally very intriguing... but I do fear for it's longevity. I think forgetting who their main rivals are is a big mistake, it's not the the tablet/mobile gamers who's the threat. All well in good with the tablet influenced gamepad but when the big boys come with the better graphics and so on, it's gonna get stale quick. I fear for Nintendo on this one and it be sad if the Wii U is their demise.

nocoverart wrote: »
    The Wii U is no doubt an innovative system and personally very intriguing... but I do fear for it's longevity. I think forgetting who their main rivals are is a big mistake, it's not the the tablet/mobile gamers who's the threat. All well in good with the tablet influenced gamepad but when the big boys come with the better graphics and so on, it's gonna get stale quick. I fear for Nintendo on this one and it be sad if the Wii U is their demise.

Another machines 'better graphics' won't make Nintendo go stale at all. I dont think Nintendo have targeted tablet competition really, its just a technological step for a games system. Nintendo make a profit once a consumer buys just 1 game for their system, so that should settle some of the financial issues they've had the last year or so. Also I don't think Sony are gonna go all out with whatever their next system is, they have even worse financial trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭smokingman

Sony stock has been downgraded to 'junk' status yesterday so I wouldn't be surprised if there's no ps4 and they end up as publishers only like Sega are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

smokingman wrote: »
    Sony stock has been downgraded to 'junk' status yesterday so I wouldn't be surprised if there's no ps4 and they end up as publishers only like Sega are.

No offence but thats like adding 2+2 and getting 10.

I have craved a Nintendo console that can do what current gen consoles can do and a whole lot more with innovative controller etc!!

The wii u is a completely separate entity than current consoles, I couldn't care what Sony or ms release either way Nintendo can do soo much with this console and its less than a week now :D

**** the begrudgers it will fail blah blah blah theirs no way ninty are thinking it will fail. I think 2013 is nintendos year!!

WII U

Excited much??

HELL YEAH :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I preordered the ZombiU pack, does that come with a pro controller too?

EnterNow wrote: »

Yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

The Wii U + ZombiU bundle comes with a pro controller, yep.

Sweet, cheers lads

do people know if it is against consumer laws to charge someone the new price if they preordered at the lower price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

magnumbud wrote: »
    do people know if it is against consumer laws to charge someone the new price if they preordered at the lower price?

No it isn't, but HMV have a preorder price promise so if the price goes up like it has with the Wii U you will pay the price you preordered at. I know of people who got the Kinect in HMV for €80 at launch as that was the price that they ordered it for.

just rang HMV cork and the guy on the phone told me i would have to pay the new price. i mentioned how i had seen on here how other stores are honouring the price but he just said they know nothing about that.

This is highly annoying cause the only reason i preordered with them in the first place was the price they had in comparison to everyone else. does anyone know if what they are claiming about the price of gamestop going up too is true are not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

On HMV Cork window:

8wi4uc.jpg

Went in about it and asked about the WiiU Premium as I was previously told it would be 350 euro. The staff member said unfortunately that was the price they were now and he, very apologetically, said there was nothing they could do about it except use the 5 euro off every 50 euro spent promotion that they have in the store. He also told me that Gamestop have had to put up their prices as well, he mentioned something about an extra 20 euro but I can't confirm that or anything.

The ZombiU pack is now also 414 euro from 380 euro. 25 euro increase in the Premium and 34 euro increase in the ZombiU one are disgraceful. Was gonna get a game in there on the day too but think I'll get it online now instead of giving HMV more money.

By the way the stickers on the poster are covering the original prices of 350 euro and 380 euro, so they can't say they never told anyone that, as they did me.

well ihope dont change the dublin price, price hasnt since yesterday its €350

play are charging 75 euro for a wii u game lol feck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Don't know why anyone in Ireland would use play when amazon exists, cheaper and faster delivery.

Play used to be very good, but it was years ago. They're located on the island of Jersey or something & as such, had little or no sales tax and that used to make them really affordable. Today though its just mainstream street prices on a webpage, havn't bought off them in literally years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Parkowen

I pre-ordered the Wii U in HMV on the 12th Oct 2012. My receipt does not show the price at which I ordered it only the fact that it is for a Zombi edition, but I remember it being either €369 or €379. They have now upped their price as you can see in the photo above and when I enquired yesterday, a member of staff told me how Nintendo had raised the price by €15 on each edition of the console. It was outside their control, and if I still wanted the Zombi Version I would have to pay the higher price of €414.99. How does an increase of €15 change a price from €369 to €414?

I spoke with afriend of mine who agreed with me - that he ordered his at the same price and was fuming that they would allow such a huge increase. I returned today to the store and was told by another member of staff that the price increase was outside of their control, by Nintendo. When I challenged her on the original price, she confirmed that they had only two prices back then but now have three and I would have no choice but to pay the higher price.

The HMV price promise covers you if the price goes down - then they will sell it to you at the new lower price, but can not see anywhere that they will stand over the original price. All they are by law enforced to do is refund the deposit should I decide not to buy the item at the new higher price.

I intend doing a letter of complaint to HMV and to find out the truth or else kick up such a fuss that they will be sorry that they did not keep the prices the same!

I have Googled the price increase and can not see anything other than this thread that talks of an increase so don't think that Nintendo would get away with a €15 increase at this late stage without it making the news somewhere in Europe so close to their launch date.

Methinks either HMV made a boo-boo and are now trying to cover it up and recoup a potential loss or else have decided that as this is the "everybody wants one for Christmas" that they will raise the price for extra profit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭weemcd

magnumbud wrote: »

nope. next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,182 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Play used to be very good, but it was years ago. They're located on the island of Jersey or something & as such, had little or no sales tax and that used to make them really affordable. Today though its just mainstream street prices on a webpage, havn't bought off them in literally years

Also Play were beter when they allowed us to pay the sterling price instead of forcing us to use their dodgy exchange rate