Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wii U Pre-Launch Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Funky Barn made it, Wii U launch saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Although most of them have been known, looking at them listed, never thought I'd ever see the likes of Call of Duty, Assassins Creed, Darksiders, Arkham City and Mass Effect on launch day for a Nintendo console. Yes they are ports etc, but we weren't even getting them before. Fair play Nintendo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

TANK! TANK! TANK! YES! YES! YES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭ebbsy

EnterNow wrote: »
    They certainly don't make them like that anymore, that game is a masterpiece

They certainly d'ont, however I would have expected a new Mario game on a new Nintendo machine to score nore than 8/10 in EDGE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Latest Metacritic Reviews:

85 - Darksiders II

84 - Batman: Arkham City - Armored Edition

83 - New Super Mario Bros. U

76 - Nintendo Land

76 - Scribblenauts Unlimited

73 - ZombiU

66 - Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge

53 - SiNG Party

50 - Tank! Tank! Tank!

47 - Rabbids Land
    ebbsy wrote: »
    They certainly d'ont, however I would have expected a new Mario game on a new Nintendo machine to score nore than 8/10 in EDGE.

Seems consistent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

ebbsy wrote: »

I seem to be a dying breed in that I put very little, if any, real world impact on what some reviewer/s think of a game. I prefer to play them myself, & let that decide if I buy or not. It seems people these days let reviewers make up their minds for them.

What a game scores in Edge or Metacritic etc really doesn't interest me, I know what kind of games I like, & from the multitude of other sources like youtube lets play's etc, I make my mind up the old fashioned way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

EnterNow wrote: »

I seem to be a dying breed in that I put very little, if any, real world impact on what some reviewer/s think of a game. I prefer to play them myself, & let that decide if I buy or not. It seems people these days let reviewers make up their minds for them.

What a game scores in Edge or Metacritic etc really doesn't interest me, I know what kind of games I like, & from the multitude of other sources like youtube lets play's etc, I make my mind up the old fashioned way
    Metacritic I somewhat believe, as it's averages, but yeah, unless they are universally praised or despised, I'd really just go by my own thoughts for the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Metacritic I somewhat believe, as it's averages, but yeah, unless they are universally praised or despised, I'd really just go by my own thoughts for the game.

Last of a dying breed man :D

This day next week lads, unfortunately, it'll be another month before I get to see it in action!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Final list:
    •Funky Barn
    •Call of Duty: Black Ops II
    •Skylanders Giants
    •TRANSFORMERS PRIME
    •DISNEY EPIC MICKEY 2. THE POWER OF TWO
    •EA SPORTS FIFA 13
    •Mass Effect 3 Special Edition
    •Ben 10: Omniverse
    •Family Party: 30 Great Games Obstacle Arcade
    •TANK! TANK! TANK!
    •TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT2 Wii U Edition
    •Nintendo Land
    •New Super Mario Bros. U
    •Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed
    •Warriors Orochi3 Hyper
    •Darksiders2
    •Assassin’s Creed III
    •Just Dance4
    •Rabbids Land
    •Sports Connection
    •Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2013
    •ZombiU
    •Batman: Arkham City Armoured Edition
    •Game Party Champions

in gamesstop

i saw wii u boxes for
    splinter cell
    Ninja Gaiden 3
    FIFia 13
    Funky Barn
    •Call of Duty: Black Ops II
    •Skylanders Giants
    •TRANSFORMERS PRIME
    •DISNEY EPIC MICKEY 2. THE POWER OF TWO
    •EA SPORTS FIFA 13
    •Mass Effect 3 Special Edition
    •Ben 10: Omniverse
    •Family Party: 30 Great Games Obstacle Arcade
    •TANK! TANK! TANK!
    •TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT2 Wii U Edition
    •Nintendo Land
    •New Super Mario Bros. U
    •Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed
    •Warriors Orochi3 Hyper
    •Darksiders2
    •Assassin’s Creed III
    •Just Dance4
    •Rabbids Land
    •Sports Connection
    •Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2013
    •ZombiU
    •Batman: Arkham City Armoured Edition
    •Game Party Champions[/QUOTE]
    • cabela's dangerous hunts 2013
    • aliens colonial marines
    • rise of Guardians
    which u can preorder now

any wii u experiences coming to liemrick i wanna play it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Guys just to let you know I was just in HMV asking about my preorder. Good news is it's guaranteed. Bad news is apparently they won't be getting some of the editions in until December 15th. I don't know which other one but it definitely includes the ZombiU bundle (which I preordered). I don't know whether this is everywhere or just HMV or what. It doesn't affect me much as I wasn't going to be using it till Christmas but it might affect some of ye.

2nd piece of bad news is apparently Nintendo have increased the price they're charging retailers, so the ZombiU bundle's gone up to €415. I don't about the other versions. However, apparently they'll fullfill whatever price you preordered at if you had it already preordered.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

TANK! TANK! TANK! YES! YES! YES!

Everyone should play this. Even without the online, it should be a brilliant one to sit around with a few mates and some beers, even if it only turns out half the game it was in the arcades.

Deano7788 wrote: »
    Guys just to let you know I was just in HMV asking about my preorder. Good news is it's guaranteed. Bad news is apparently they won't be getting some of the editions in until December 15th. I don't know which other one but it definitely includes the ZombiU bundle (which I preordered). I don't know whether this is everywhere or just HMV or what. It doesn't affect me much as I wasn't going to be using it till Christmas but it might affect some of ye.

2nd piece of bad news is apparently Nintendo have increased the price they're charging retailers, so the ZombiU bundle's gone up to €415. I don't about the other versions. However, apparently they'll fullfill whatever price you preordered at if you had it already preordered.)
    Was coming in to say exactly this!
    Apparently I was the first to pre order in my local HMV, so I have our one sorted for sure.
    And yeah, they're selling them at the pre-ordered price.

more games

resident evil 6

wii u fit

warriors orochi 3 hyper wii u

any wii u experiences coming to liemrick i wanna play it

dont worry

limerick is getting it too

along theres a smyths there, gamestop hmv or argos or xtravision

wampyrus77 wrote: »
    dont worry

limerick is getting it too

along theres a smyths there, gamestop hmv or argos or xtravision

Where did you hear that from? I didn't think the Wii U Experience tour was coming to Ireland at all.

It's not. It's only in the UK. Here's a link to the dates and locations:
    http://www.nintendo.co.uk/News/Events/2012/Experience-Wii-U-before-anyone-else-661063.html#Dates_and_Locations

i i was talking about wii u console, i didnt know there a Wii U Experience tour involed

On HMV Cork window:

8wi4uc.jpg

Went in about it and asked about the WiiU Premium as I was previously told it would be 350 euro. The staff member said unfortunately that was the price they were now and he, very apologetically, said there was nothing they could do about it except use the 5 euro off every 50 euro spent promotion that they have in the store. He also told me that Gamestop have had to put up their prices as well, he mentioned something about an extra 20 euro but I can't confirm that or anything.

The ZombiU pack is now also 414 euro from 380 euro. 25 euro increase in the Premium and 34 euro increase in the ZombiU one are disgraceful. Was gonna get a game in there on the day too but think I'll get it online now instead of giving HMV more money.

By the way the stickers on the poster are covering the original prices of 350 euro and 380 euro, so they can't say they never told anyone that, as they did me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Was coming in to say exactly this!
    Apparently I was the first to pre order in my local HMV, so I have our one sorted for sure.
    And yeah, they're selling them at the pre-ordered price.

+Deano,
    Thats for definite so regarding honoring the preorder price? What HMV stores were they?

FutureGuy wrote: »
    +Deano,
    Thats for definite so regarding honoring the preorder price? What HMV stores were they?

I was told in Cruises Street in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Think I will stick with the order from amazon.fr. No where else seems to be coming near €333 for the premium pack now.

+Deano,

HMV stores couldn't charge different prices could they? Cork are definitely not the original pre order price (see my post above)

Corholio wrote: »
    HMV stores couldn't charge different prices could they? Cork are definitely not the original pre order price (see my post above)

It might be something like Amazon's pre-order guarantee where you're protected if it goes up before it comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

is this worth getting for a 4yr old or should we just get him the old one?

Deano7788 wrote: »
    It might be something like Amazon's pre-order guarantee where you're protected if it goes up before it comes out.

Had mine pre ordered since September, I would say not far off one of the first to do it there. I think people who've pre ordered it from HMV should be checking up on all packs, because I think it's gonna be the increased prices in all their stores, I don't think different stores would charge a different price.

+Deano,

I was told that as I'd pre-ordered early I'd be paying the price I was told back then, it's in their system at that price.

When did you pre order Damo?

Forgot to say, HMv Liffey Valley.
    They were checking the system and said I was the first there. It was back in early September too.

Corholio wrote: »
    Had mine pre ordered since September, I would say not far off one of the first to do it there. I think people who've pre ordered it from HMV should be checking up on all packs, because I think it's gonna be the increased prices in all their stores, I don't think different stores would charge a different price.

Yeah, I pre-ordered the day after the date was announced. They told me today that the price when I pre-ordered is the price I'll pay. You should say it to your branch that is what other people have been told.