If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

WRH proposed downgrade - protest on Saturday the 23rd of Feb

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Nypd wrote: »
    One thing is voting for a party and their "ideas"
    Another thing is being totally shafted by said party as they plough aimlessly through agendas and leave a massive trail of broken pre election promises behind them.

How can you consistently defend these idiots !!

Bring back Lizzy, we made a mistake, we are sorry your majesty !!!!

A fair point and something I don't disagree with.

Absolute rubbish,The people in Roscommon voted for Frank Feighan because he said on many occasions that he would fight tooth and nail against the downgrading of services at their hospital.Guess what,he lied through his teeth.There was a risk all right,electing a greedy good for nothing liar.
    Are you saying those people voted for Fine Gael party policy?

What he said before the election,(one of many examples)

Also in mid-January Deputy Frank Feighan condemned then Health Minister Mary Harney over the “indignity” of patients being on trolleys. Stating that Ms. Harney and the HSE top brass should hang their heads in shame over the crisis at Roscommon Hospital, Deputy Feighan said “…..Fine Gael is determined that its plan to retain and enhance services at hospitals like Roscommon will finally put a halt to this much-touted reconfiguration plan of hospitals in the West which essentially amounts to downgrading by stealth.”

The people up in Roscommon found out the hard way it seems,many of them are now saying they wont forget.

It was completely stupid to make the promises and then enter power and realise they didn't have much of a choice. They made that mistake repeatedly and its not something I agreed with. The FG vote in Roscommon is shattered and they have made their point in various referendums.

That hospital was going to close regardless of who was in power and it appears that Fine Gael went with this promise on poor information. A big mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Swissarmyknife

Anyone know if a protest is planned later,Or is there a different approach to the ministers visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,747 ✭✭✭deisemum

Well it looks like the authorities are expecting trouble with all the gardai and armoured garda vans that are at the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

deisemum wrote: »
    Well it looks like the authorities are expecting trouble with all the gardai and armoured garda vans that are at the hospital.

I think this is overkill. If there's anything that will turn a peaceful protest into a non-peaceful one its a large Garda presence.

Hope nothing kicks off as I know that was never the aim.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I think this is overkill. If there's anything that will turn a peaceful protest into a non-peaceful one its a large Garda presence.

Hope nothing kicks off as I know that was never the aim.

May have been informed who was attending the protest or who was organising it, so added extra protection. But in general, I think most Ministers get some level of Garda protection anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I have met the minister before a few times , never had any garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Sully wrote: »
    May have been informed who was attending the protest or who was organising it, so added extra protection. But in general, I think most Ministers get some level of Garda protection anyway.

That's a bit of a stretch Sully. From memory, I can't remember any protests in Waterford where there was trouble, never mind something that would warrant the Garda presence that was apparently in place today.

Actually the last big protest in Waterford was the Rural Ireland Says Enough, 5 k marched in protest at the Greens, there was full riot squad in attendance ( behind the Tower Hotel in minibuses)

Chiparus wrote: »
    Actually the last big protest in Waterford was the Rural Ireland Says Enough, 5 k marched in protest at the Greens, there was full riot squad in attendance ( behind the Tower Hotel in minibuses)

And was there any trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

nkay1985 wrote: »

That's a bit of a stretch Sully. From memory, I can't remember any protests in Waterford where there was trouble, never mind something that would warrant the Garda presence that was apparently in place today.

Don't you remember Jimmy Kelly throwing himself on the bonnet of Berties car ,the plonker Kelly that is actually both of them in hindsight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

50 Garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭jad2007

A bit of realism is needed here, a earlier post reffered to a " Armoured Garda Vans " and another mentioned "fifty Garda" .

I was out in the hospital today visiting a friend and the armoured van is simply a standard Paddy Wagon fitted with windscreen mesh wich can be lowered if needed ( it wasnt lowered) every garda unit has these and the same van can be seen around town any day.

I saw about a dozen gards and certainly not fifty.

For the record I am all for the campaign to save WRH and but believe that elements in Waterford are trying to hijack it as they did with the issue of the merger.

There are many valid points around the merger issue and certainly WRH is THE ISSUE facing the southeast but in my opinion a lot if hysteria is being wipped up by people pushing their own agendas.

This was evident by the staff of WRH and the Save Waterford campaign asking for no protests today ( along with David Cullinane) and people still going out to the hospital to protest.

The reason why last weeks march was so effective was that it was a mass protest that was dignified and couldnt be ignored.

Or on the other hand we could do a Jimmy Kelly on it and throw ourselves on the bonnet of a ministers car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

That lying Fkucer should never be allowed within the county boundary

By the way, my wife saw two riot vans and the guts of 50 garda, plus there was barracading as well. The Garda were expecting more of a crowd and trouble.

How much does it cost the public for this jumped up snotty nosed political hate figure to visit different parts of the country? Still whats another few thousand compared to the millions the cnut has squandered so far.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    And was there any trouble?

No, but I talked to one of the riot squad who told me they were not expecting any, but tend to be prepared anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Dickys Back Garden

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/st-luke-s-is-safe-hogan-1-4475804

Surprised this hasn't come to the fore! Saw this today, 13 million upgrade for St Lukes in Kilkenny. Hogan saying Kilkenny's central location and population warrants "major hospital" status! Am I being paranoid thinking something is seriously askew? I smell a slow burning rat here? I wouldn't be celebrating the "success" of our march just yet. Can't see why they would invest 13 million in Lukes in a time of recession when the "regional" hospital 30 miles down the road is being readied for pillaging. Beware of the flattery of Reilly-remember flattery is alright so long as you don't inhale.

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/st-luke-s-is-safe-hogan-1-4475804

Surprised this hasn't come to the fore! Saw this today, 13 million upgrade for St Lukes in Kilkenny. Hogan saying Kilkenny's central location and population warrants "major hospital" status! Am I being paranoid thinking something is seriously askew? I smell a slow burning rat here? I wouldn't be celebrating the "success" of our march just yet. Can't see why they would invest 13 million in Lukes in a time of recession when the "regional" hospital 30 miles down the road is being readied for pillaging. Beware of the flattery of Reilly-remember flattery is alright so long as you don't inhale.

That's been on the cards since before the election and was stated as an election commitment. The hospital, in some parts including their A&E, isn't in great condition at the moment.

Yea that was first announced 5 years ago, just the usual political milking of the good news/"look what I done for you" story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I was one of the people protesting, I am not a member of any party.
    IMO a visiting minister, especially at a time when a decision is pending, is a golden opportunity to let your voice be heard. I dont know any of the people who met the minister yesterday yet people seem to accuse protesters ONLY of having hidden agendas.

There was a few comments made on FB that any protest will turn nasty and the decent people will not protest, to those people I would like to say: are you disappointed that none of us got nasty and your prejudgements were proven wrong? I will protest when and where I see fit, but nobody has the right to assume I will turn violent, think they are better than me because they stay away, or ask me not to.

I estimate garda numbers at least 60 at the hospital entrance, there were more towards tesco, others at the old entrance and bottom entrance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

nice_very wrote: »
    IMO a visiting minister, especially at a time when a decision is pending, is a golden opportunity to let your voice be heard. I dont know any of the people who met the minister yesterday yet people seem to accuse protesters ONLY of having hidden agendas.

There was a few comments made on FB that any protest will turn nasty and the decent people will not protest, to those people I would like to say: are you disappointed that none of us got nasty and your prejudgements were proven wrong? I will protest when and where I see fit, but nobody has the right to assume I will turn violent, think they are better than me because they stay away, or ask me not to.

I estimate garda numbers at least 60 at the hospital entrance, there were more towards tesco, others at the old entrance and bottom entrance

Was many at the protest, really wanted to go but couldn't get off work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Nypd wrote: »
    Was many at the protest, really wanted to go but couldn't get off work.

between about fifty or sixty, 1 guard for each of us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Has there been any coverage of the protest at WRH in the news on telly or newspapers? Haven't watched RTE news in while and didn't see anything in Irish Times or Indo.

Also, have Ciara Conway and John Deasy replied to people's e-mails and clarified their positions on this whole thing?

I agree 100%. A golden opportunity lost to show that "minister" how strongly we felt - in person.

That's been on the cards since before the election and was stated as an election commitment. The hospital, in some parts including their A&E, isn't in great condition at the moment.

Sully, when are you going to wake up? Your constant defence of FG is, to put it mildly, becoming very tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Fair play to you for protesting , would have been there myself but for medical reasons I was unable to be there . I too agree that it was an opportunity lost and we may pay in the long run for not keeping the momentum going with this protest. The silent protest was an excellent idea and the scaremongering on Facebook has done the campaign a disservice. As they say strike while the iron is hot . I saw 4 paddywagons myself in the service station on the Dunmore road full of cops happily munching on doughnuts perhaps?? Complete overreaction and probably would have frightened off anyone of the peaceful 15000 contemplating showing their disapproval of Reilly's visit to WRH . Are we to expect a similar presence in the event of a potential future march of the Waterford "mob " from Ballybricken ?? And btw I too am non political (they're all the same in my book , a shower of self centred wasters ) but it seems important to state this else we'll be accused of having an "agenda".

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Has there been any coverage of the protest at WRH in the news on telly or newspapers? Haven't watched RTE news in while and didn't see anything in Irish Times or Indo.

Also, have Ciara Conway and John Deasy replied to people's e-mails and clarified their positions on this whole thing?

I've had no reply from either of them anyway. Think I'll send them on again.

jad2007 wrote: »
    A bit of realism is needed here, a earlier post reffered to a " Armoured Garda Vans " and another mentioned "fifty Garda" .

I was out in the hospital today visiting a friend and the armoured van is simply a standard Paddy Wagon fitted with windscreen mesh wich can be lowered if needed ( it wasnt lowered) every garda unit has these and the same van can be seen around town any day.

I saw about a dozen gards and certainly not fifty.

You need to pick up an abacus my friend. There were - at 3:00pm - around a dozen guards at the main (vehicular) entrance; plus around another 8 to 10 up the ring road; plus the ones at the Ballinakill entrance; plus the ones at the actual hospital main entrance. There were four to six paddy wagons, plus an amount of Garda cars.
    For the record I am all for the campaign to save WRH and but believe that elements in Waterford are trying to hijack it as they did with the issue of the merger.
    Yep, those 15,000 aren't to be trusted at all.:rolleyes:
    There are many valid points around the merger issue and certainly WRH is THE ISSUE facing the southeast but in my opinion a lot if hysteria is being wipped up by people pushing their own agendas.

Hysteria about what? And these people would be?
    This was evident by the staff of WRH and the Save Waterford campaign asking for no protests today ( along with David Cullinane) and people still going out to the hospital to protest.

The reason why last weeks march was so effective was that it was a mass protest that was dignified and couldnt be ignored.

Or on the other hand we could do a Jimmy Kelly on it and throw ourselves on the bonnet of a ministers car.

So because someone acted the eejit several years ago we're supposed to abstain from golden opportunities. As I said before the event it was said that the opportunity was bottled.

7upfree wrote: »
    Sully, when are you going to wake up? Your constant defence of FG is, to put it mildly, becoming very tiresome.

Wheras its clear that most people are getting fed up listening to you whining about FG, Phil Hogan, Kilkenny and the government. Give it a rest FFS and get a new hobby.

I wont begrudge Kilkenny getting work done on their existing facilities nor will I begrudge any town or city getting such done. This was stated before the election that work would be done on its services. The services are there, the hospital is there and it wont be closed down but improved. I have absolutely no objection to that nor would I if any other hospital in the South East received similar funding. When Kilkenny Hospital was under threat, hardly anybody in Waterford did or said anything for supporting them. Now you expect likewise from them for WRH.

WRH has received a lot of money over the years and has seen investment within very recently including improvements to its own A&E services. Waterford has received a fair chunk of investment recently and in previous years, but as soon as Kilkenny gets some people like you are up in arms and to be honest with you, its a disgusting attitude to have towards your fellow neighbours. This whole anti-Kilkenny vibe from some people including yourself is extremely tiresome and downright insulting.

Yes its a benefit they have a Minister and yes you can be damn sure he will look after his constituents, because if he doesn't, he wont be re-elected. But don't begrudge them. Kilkenny people are very nice, respectable and decent people. He is elected to look after them. We were looked after when we had our own Minister, and nobody complained here. In fact, we are calling for it to be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

Dan133269 wrote: »

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1117/1224326702048.html
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1116/waterford-hospital-james-reilly.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

7upfree wrote: »
    Yep, those 15,000 aren't to be trusted at all.:rolleyes:

I dont normally like pointing out peoples stupidity but my God, you are being obtusely thick on this point. Obviously the poster is referring to the groups of people who will gatecrash protests and meetings for their own agenda, such as the Household Charge and Merger issues, which have been pushed not only during the recent protest but at all entrances of the IDA the past few weeks, trying to bully people into attending all Household Charge related meetings. Its obviously an issue when it comes to large groups protesting about the downgrading of WRH.

Seeing you being tied in knots by your fellow posters who have a modicum, of, you know. common sense, is a tad amusing I admit and more shame me for biting to your stupid comment but heres a bit of advise- instead of replying in detail to pratically every single post on this thread, why not take a step back and see what exactly people are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

Wheras its clear that most people are getting fed up listening to you whining about FG, Phil Hogan, Kilkenny and the government. Give it a rest FFS and get a new hobby.

I wont begrudge Kilkenny getting work done on their existing facilities nor will I begrudge any town or city getting such done. This was stated before the election that work would be done on its services. The services are there, the hospital is there and it wont be closed down but improved. I have absolutely no objection to that nor would I if any other hospital in the South East received similar funding. When Kilkenny Hospital was under threat, hardly anybody in Waterford did or said anything for supporting them. Now you expect likewise from them for WRH.

WRH has received a lot of money over the years and has seen investment within very recently including improvements to its own A&E services. Waterford has received a fair chunk of investment recently and in previous years, but as soon as Kilkenny gets some people like you are up in arms and to be honest with you, its a disgusting attitude to have towards your fellow neighbours. This whole anti-Kilkenny vibe from some people including yourself is extremely tiresome and downright insulting.

Yes its a benefit they have a Minister and yes you can be damn sure he will look after his constituents, because if he doesn't, he wont be re-elected. But don't begrudge them. Kilkenny people are very nice, respectable and decent people. He is elected to look after them. We were looked after when we had our own Minister, and nobody complained here. In fact, we are calling for it to be back.
    Sully I don't think any right thinking Waterfordian would begrudge St. Luke's getting investment to secure their services. The beef is with it's plan to pull out of the SE hospitals group, rendering the grouping too small to stand on its own resulting in a Reilly/Hogan orchestrated WRH downgrade and a CUH takeover. Have you not been paying attention?